🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Behavior Analyst Licensure in Arkansas: BCBA and State License Requirements

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Arkansas does not license behavior analysts — it registers them.

Act 432 of 2025 created the registered behavior analyst: a Psychology Board registration for an individual who practices behavior analysis independently, issued on current BCBA or BCBA-D certification, a criminal background check and a fee capped at $200.

Only the title is protected: the Act bars no practice and lists no exemptions.

Registration lasts two years and renews on evidence of current certification, with no state-required training or continuing education.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Arkansas, that is the Arkansas Psychology Board.

At a glance

State credential

One registration, not a licence: the registered behavior analyst, created by the Arkansas Behavior Analyst Registration Act (Act 432 of 2025) and defined as an individual registered to practice behavior analysis independently by the Arkansas Psychology Board.

Regulator

The Arkansas Psychology Board administers the subchapter, may adopt implementing rules, and reviews, verifies and issues registrations.

Act 432's Section 2 requires at least one of the board's appointed members to be a licensed psychologist who is a BCBA or has behavior analysis experience — a composition requirement, not a new seat.

BCBA as the route

Yes under the Act: applicants file evidence of certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as a BCBA or BCBA-D, plus a criminal background check and a fee capped at $200.

The board's page also accepts QABA's QBA credential.

Assistant credential

None.

The Act creates no assistant registration; a board certified assistant behavior analyst (BCaBA) appears only in the temporary-registration route for short-term practice (§ 17-97-606), never as a full registrant — and the board's page lists only BCBA, BCBA-D or QBA for that route, so a BCaBA should confirm eligibility with the board.

Technicians and RBTs

No state registration, and the Act does not mention RBTs: it contains no practice prohibition, no exemption list and no technician tier.

The Psychological Technician registration on the board's page is a psychology credential, not an ABA tier.

Practice or title protection

Title protection only.

Section 17-97-603 bars an unregistered person from holding out as a registered behavior analyst or using the term; the Act contains no practice prohibition and no exemption list.

Governing law

Ark.

Code §§ 17-97-601 to -608, the Arkansas Behavior Analyst Registration Act, Act 432 of 2025 (HB1245), approved April 3, 2025.

The Act's exact effective date is not stated in the sources read.

The Arkansas credential ladder

  1. Temporary registrationOther

    A short-term status, not a licence: § 17-97-606(a) is open to a behavior analyst licensed in another jurisdiction, or holding current certification as a board certified behavior analyst, board certified behavior analyst-doctoral, board certified assistant behavior analyst, or an equivalent the board approves to practice independently, providing applied behavior analysis services in Arkansas on a short-term basis.

    The board's page caps this at 30 days per calendar year but, differing from the statute, lists only BCBA, BCBA-D or QBA for the route — confirm with the board (§ 17-97-606).

  2. Registered behavior analystIndependent

    The registration the Arkansas Psychology Board issues under the Act — its only credential — defined as an individual registered to practice behavior analysis independently; granted on an application, a fee of up to $200, a criminal background check, and current BCBA or BCBA-D certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (§§ 17-97-602; 17-97-604).

One registration, and only the title is protected

📜 Ark. Code §§ 17-97-602; 17-97-603

Arkansas registers behavior analysts; it does not license them.

The Act's only credential is the registered behavior analyst, defined in § 17-97-602 as an individual registered to practice behavior analysis independently by the Arkansas Psychology Board — so the state creates no supervised associate tier and no registration for assistants.

Section 17-97-603(a) bars an unregistered person from holding out as a registered behavior analyst or using any combination or abbreviation of the term.

Although the section is captioned unlawful practice of applied behavior analysis, the research records that the Act contains no practice prohibition and no exemption list: the two title acts are the only prohibited conduct.

An unregistered violator faces a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000; a registered violator faces administrative sanctions, a fine of up to $5,000 and revocation (§ 17-97-603(b)).

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

“Unless registered under this subchapter, a person shall not: (1) Hold himself or herself out to be a registered behavior analyst; or (2) Use any combination or abbreviation of the term 'registered behavior analyst' to indicate or imply that he or she is a registered behavior analyst.”

The route: current BACB certification, a background check, and nothing else in the Act

📜 Ark. Code § 17-97-604; Arkansas Psychology Board website

The application has four parts: an application, an application fee that does not exceed $200, evidence of a completed criminal background check, and evidence of certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as a board certified behavior analyst or a board certified behavior analyst-doctoral (§ 17-97-604(a)).

Section 17-97-604(b) adds that the section does not require additional training or continuing education with any state or national association — Arkansas writes no coursework rule of its own, so the BACB's requirements are the whole educational gate.

The board's applicants page records one difference from the statute: it asks for current certification as a BCBA, BCBA-D, or Qualified Behavior Analyst (QBA), with the QBA issued by the Qualified Applied Behavior Analysis Credentialing Board.

The Act names only BACB credentials, so confirm with the board before relying on a QBA.

The board also asks that documentation reach its office by the first of the month to make that month's meeting agenda.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

“You must hold current certification as BCBA, BCBA-D, or Qualified Behavior Analyst (QBA). These certifications must be issued by the Behavioral Analyst Certification Board Inc. or Qualified Applied Behavior Analysis Credentialing Board.”

No Arkansas exam is named in the Act

📜 Ark. Code §§ 17-97-604; 17-97-608

The Act names no examination of its own.

Registration rests on the certification evidence in § 17-97-604(a)(4), so the BCBA examination enters an Arkansas application only as part of holding BACB certification — it is the certifying entity's requirement, not a state rule, and the national requirements behind it belong to the BCBA articles.

Because the board may adopt implementing rules under § 17-97-608 and the sources read do not establish whether any rules have been adopted, whether an Arkansas application adds a jurisprudence or other exam is not stated in the sources read.

Confirm with the board before filing.

What the Act does not do: no practice ban, no exemption list

📜 Ark. Code § 17-97-603; Act 432 of 2025

Read § 17-97-603 together with what the Act leaves out.

Its caption says unlawful practice of applied behavior analysis, but the two prohibited acts are holding out as a registered behavior analyst and using the term or an abbreviation of it.

The Act contains no practice prohibition and no exemption list, so the sources read name no exempt professions, school settings, supervisors or family caregivers — and, as the research reads the Act, they bar no unregistered practice.

For a certificated BCBA the practical question is whether you need the state title: an employer, payer or referral source may require it even where the Act itself would not reach your work.

Any board rules adopted since the Act are not in the sources read.

Moving to Arkansas: temporary registration and reciprocity

📜 Ark. Code §§ 17-97-606; 17-97-607

Two routes exist for people credentialed outside Arkansas.

Temporary registration (§ 17-97-606) is open to a behavior analyst licensed in another jurisdiction, or holding current certification as a board certified behavior analyst, board certified behavior analyst-doctoral, board certified assistant behavior analyst, or an equivalent the board approves to practice independently, who provides applied behavior analysis services in Arkansas on a short-term basis; the applicant files an application, a board-set fee and evidence that the practice is temporary as the board's rules define it, and the board verifies the licensure or certification status with the relevant entity.

The board's page frames this as a maximum of 30 days per calendar year, requires the ability to practice independently, and lists only BCBA, BCBA-D or QBA for the temporary route — dropping the statute's BCaBA and adding QABA's QBA; confirm with the board.

It says the board must verify and vote before services can begin.

Reciprocity (§ 17-97-607) lets the board register a person currently licensed in good standing in a jurisdiction whose requirements are comparable, who also meets § 17-97-604.

Two-year registration, renewed on current certification

📜 Ark. Code § 17-97-605

A registration is granted for a period of two years (§ 17-97-605(a)).

Renewal takes a renewal application, a renewal fee that does not exceed $150, and evidence of verification of current certification — and the section states it requires no additional training or continuing education with any state or national association.

Renewal therefore rides on BACB recertification: if your certification lapses, you cannot file the evidence § 17-97-605 requires.

The board's applicants page confirms registration is valid for two years.

“This section does not require additional training or continuing education with any state or national association.”

New in 2025: Act 432, and what is still unsettled

📜 Act 432 of 2025 (HB1245); Ark. Code §§ 17-97-608; 17-97-201

The Act is the recent change: Act 432 of 2025 (HB1245), approved April 3, 2025, added Subchapter 6 (§§ 17-97-601 to -608), Behavior Analysts, to Chapter 97 of Arkansas Code Title 17 (the Act's SECTION 1 prints Subchapter 97 — a drafting slip).

It carries no emergency clause, so its effective date follows Arkansas's general rule and the exact date was not established in the sources read; whether the board has adopted rules is also not established.

Section 17-97-608 lets the board adopt rules to implement the subchapter and possibly adopt the BACB's Ethics Code for Behavior Analysts as existing on January 1, 2025.

The Act's Section 2 amends § 17-97-201(a)(3) to require at least one of the board's appointed members to be a licensed psychologist who is either a board certified behavior analyst or has a background and experience providing behavior analysis services.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Arkansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Arkansas Psychology Board publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Arkansas Psychology Board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Arkansas that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Arkansas license behavior analysts?

No — it registers them.

Act 432 of 2025 created the registered behavior analyst credential, issued by the Arkansas Psychology Board, and the research on the Act records it as title protection only: § 17-97-603 bars an unregistered person from holding out as or using the title, and the Act contains no practice prohibition and no exemption list.

BACB certification is the route — applicants file evidence of current certification as a BCBA or BCBA-D under § 17-97-604.

Do I have to be a BCBA to register in Arkansas?

Under the Act, yes: § 17-97-604(a)(4) requires evidence that you are certified by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as a board certified behavior analyst or a board certified behavior analyst-doctoral.

The board's applicants page also accepts QABA's Qualified Behavior Analyst (QBA) credential — a difference between board practice and the statute, so confirm with the board before relying on a QBA.

No Arkansas training or continuing education requirement exists; § 17-97-604(b) says so.

Do RBTs or assistant behavior analysts need to register in Arkansas?

The sources read record no technician or assistant registration: the Act creates no such tier, does not mention RBTs, and contains no exemption list.

The Psychological Technician registration on the Psychology Board's page is a psychology credential, not an applied behavior analysis tier.

A BCaBA appears only in the temporary-registration route for short-term practice (§ 17-97-606) — and the board's page lists only BCBA, BCBA-D or QBA for that route, so a BCaBA should confirm eligibility with the board before relying on it.

How long does an Arkansas behavior analyst registration last?

Two years.

Section 17-97-605 grants the registration for a period of two years and renews it on a renewal application, a renewal fee of no more than $150, and evidence of verification of current certification.

The section states that it does not require additional training or continuing education with any state or national association, so renewal rides on keeping your BACB certification current; if the certification lapses, the required evidence is gone.

The board's page confirms the two-year term.

I'm licensed in another state — can I practice briefly in Arkansas?

Possibly, through the temporary registration in § 17-97-606, which is open to a behavior analyst licensed in another jurisdiction or holding current BCBA, BCBA-D or BCaBA certification (or an equivalent the board approves to practice independently) and providing applied behavior analysis services in Arkansas on a short-term basis.

The board's page caps this at 30 days per calendar year, requires the ability to practice independently, and lists only BCBA, BCBA-D or QBA — not the statute's BCaBA — so confirm with the board; it must verify and vote before services begin.

For ongoing work, § 17-97-607 offers reciprocity for licensees of comparable jurisdictions.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in Arkansas
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Arkansas & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Arkansas Psychology Board.