Connecticut licenses behavior analysts at one level: the behavior analyst licence issued by the Department of Public Health to an applicant certified by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board — in DPH's words, a Board Certified Behavior Analyst.
Practice and the title are both restricted.
There is no state assistant licence and no technician registration: BCaBAs and supervised implementers work through statutory exemptions.
The licence renews annually on proof of current BACB certification, a $180 fee, and a two-hour PTSD and suicide-prevention training required in the first renewal period and at least once every six years after.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
One licence: behavior analyst.
Connecticut issues no assistant licence and no technician credential; the lower rungs are statutory exemptions, not credentials.
The Connecticut Department of Public Health licenses behavior analysts; there is no separate behavior analyst board.
Yes.
The licence goes to an applicant certified as a behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (§ 20-185k(a)); DPH's requirements page states the applicant must be a BCBA certified by the BACB.
No state licence.
The statute defines assistant behavior analyst as a BACB-certified assistant working under a behavior analyst's supervision (§ 20-185i(a)(4)), and makes misusing the BCABA title a class D felony (§ 20-185i(b)).
No state registration.
Technicians are covered by the § 20-185j(c)(5) exemption for a person who implements an intervention based on behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst; the statute does not mention RBT certification.
Both.
No person may practise behavior analysis without a licence, and no person may use the title behavior analyst, or anything reasonably confused with licensure, without one (§ 20-185j(a), (b)).
C.G.S. ch. 382a, §§ 20-185i to 20-185m, June Sp.
Sess.
P.A.
17-2, effective July 1, 2018.
The text read is an unofficial Justia copy (cga.ct.gov was unreachable on 2026-09-24); confirm against the official statute.
Not a credential: chapter 382a creates no technician registration.
Front-line implementers are exempt from licensure under § 20-185j(c)(5) while implementing an intervention based on behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst; the statute does not mention RBT certification.
Not a state licence: chapter 382a defines an assistant behavior analyst as a person certified as an assistant behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, assisting in the practice of behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst (§ 20-185i(a)(4)).
The § 20-185j(c)(4) exemption requires that supervision to follow BACB standards, and § 20-185i(b) makes misusing the board certified assistant behavior analyst or BCABA title a class D felony.
The licence required to practise behavior analysis in Connecticut: the Commissioner of Public Health grants it to an applicant who furnishes satisfactory evidence of certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (§ 20-185k(a)), for a $350 application fee.
Connecticut regulates behavior analysts at a single level: the behavior analyst licence.
Subsection (a) of § 20-185j bars practising behavior analysis without a licence, and subsection (b) separately bars using the title behavior analyst — or any title, words, letters or abbreviations that may reasonably be confused with licensure — unless licensed.
For a BCBA relocating, the two bans bite in sequence: before the licence issues, you can neither practise as a behavior analyst in Connecticut nor present yourself under that title, including on a job listing.
Both subsections point to licensure under section 20-185k or 20-185l; the saved text read covers §§ 20-185i to 20-185k, so what § 20-185l adds to the licence scheme is not stated in the sources read — one more reason to confirm the application against the official statute on cga.ct.gov.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
“No person may practice behavior analysis unless licensed pursuant to section 20-185k or 20-185l.”
Section 20-185k(a) directs the Commissioner of Public Health to grant the licence to any applicant who furnishes satisfactory evidence of certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, and DPH's requirements page states the same thing as an eligibility rule: the applicant must be a Board Certified Behavior Analyst certified by the BACB. § 20-185k writes no degree, coursework or fieldwork rule of its own — what stands behind the certification is the BACB's rule set.
Whether § 20-185l, the other licensing section § 20-185j cites, adds anything is not stated in the sources read.
The application is accepted online only, and the $350 fee appears in both the statute and on the DPH page.
DPH verifies BCBA certification online itself and contacts the applicant only if additional information is needed.
The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
“The Commissioner of Public Health shall grant a license as a behavior analyst to any applicant who furnishes evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that such applicant is certified as a behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board.”
Chapter 382a imposes no Connecticut examination.
The licence turns entirely on certification: § 20-185k(a) asks for evidence of BACB certification, and the DPH requirements page lists verification of that certification as the document that matters, which the Department confirms online.
Neither the statute nor the department's application instructions name a state law exam, jurisprudence test or any other Connecticut-only assessment, so none is stated in the sources read.
The examination inside the BCBA credential — its length, content outline and retake limits — belongs to the BACB, not to Connecticut.
The lower tiers of an ABA organization live in § 20-185j(c)'s exemptions, not in a second credential.
A BCaBA in Connecticut holds no state licence, because there is none to hold: the statute defines assistant behavior analyst as a person the BACB has certified as an assistant behavior analyst, assisting under the supervision of a behavior analyst (§ 20-185i(a)(4)), and exemption (4) requires that supervision to follow BACB standards.
Exemption (2) covers students in a BACB-accredited behavior analysis educational program, or a graduate program with behavior analysis integrated into the course of study, performing or assisting in behavior analysis under a behavior analyst's direct supervision.
Technicians are exemption (5): a person who implements an intervention based on behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst — no registration, no listed titles, no supervision ratios, and no mention of RBT certification anywhere in the chapter.
Misusing the board certified assistant behavior analyst or BCABA title without the certification is a class D felony under § 20-185i(b).
“The provisions of this section shall not apply to a person who (1) provides behavior analysis or assists in the practice of behavior analysis while acting within the scope of practice of the person's license or certification and training, provided the person does not hold himself or herself out to the public as a behavior analyst, (2) is a student enrolled in a behavior analysis educational program accredited by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, or a graduate education program in which behavior analysis is an integral part of the student's course of study and such student is performing such behavior analysis or assisting in behavior analysis under the direct supervision of a behavior analyst, (3) is an instructor in a course approved by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, (4) is an assistant behavior analyst working under the supervision of a behavior analyst in accordance with the standards established by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, (5) implements an intervention based on behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst, or (6) is a family member, guardian or caretaker implementing a behavior analysis treatment plan under the direction of a behavior analyst.”
The licensed practice is behavior analysis as the statute defines it: the design, implementation and evaluation of environmental modifications using behavior stimuli and consequences, including direct observation, measurement and functional analysis of the relationship between the environment and behavior, to produce socially significant improvement in human behavior.
The definition then excludes named treatment modalities: psychological testing, neuropsychology, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy, cognitive behavioral therapy, psychotherapy and long-term counseling.
That exclusion list matters when reading Connecticut job posts: work described in those modalities is not behavior analysis under chapter 382a — those services sit outside the chapter's definition altogether, so no exemption is needed to provide them.
Exemption (1) works the other way around: it covers a professional licensed in another discipline who provides behavior analysis, or assists in its practice, within the scope of their own licence, certification and training, provided they do not hold themselves out to the public as a behavior analyst.
The chapter as read creates no reciprocity or endorsement track, and none is needed for the common case: § 20-185k(a), the licensing provision in the saved text, grants the licence to any applicant who furnishes satisfactory evidence of current BACB certification, so a behavior analyst licensed in another jurisdiction applies on the same terms under that provision.
Whether § 20-185l, the other licensing section § 20-185j cites, adds a second route is not stated in the sources read.
What the state does ask relocating licensees for is paperwork.
DPH's application instructions require verification of all out-of-state behavior analyst licences held, current or expired, submitted directly to the department from the issuing state, to document that the applicant has not been the subject of disciplinary action; the Department will not perform these verifications online.
Build that mail time into a move.
A Connecticut licence may be renewed annually, under the general renewal provisions of § 19a-88, for a fee of $180 for licences expiring on or after October 1, 2021 — P.A.
21-121 raised the fee from $175, effective July 6, 2021.
Renewal requires evidence of current BACB certification and, on and after January 1, 2022, completing not less than two hours of training on screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief and on suicide prevention, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter.
The hours must be offered or approved by the Connecticut Association for Behavior Analysis, a hospital or other licensed health care institution, or a regionally accredited institution of higher education, and the youth suicide prevention training program under § 17a-52a can satisfy the suicide-prevention component.
No other continuing education appears in the statute as read — keep the BACB certification current, because renewal depends on it.
“Each behavior analyst applying for license renewal shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the commissioner of (1) having current certification with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, and (2) on and after January 1, 2022, completing not less than two hours of training or education, offered or approved by the Connecticut Association for Behavior Analysis, a hospital or other licensed health care institution or a regionally accredited institution of higher education, on (A) screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (B) suicide prevention training, during the first renewal period and not less than once every six years thereafter.”
This page summarizes the Connecticut statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Connecticut Department of Public Health publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the Connecticut Department of Public Health before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Connecticut that asks for it.
A licence from the Department of Public Health.
Connecticut restricts both the practice of behavior analysis and the title, so current BACB certification alone is not enough to take a Connecticut role.
The application is online with a $350 fee; DPH verifies your BCBA certification itself, and any behavior analyst licences you hold elsewhere, current or expired, must be verified directly by each issuing state.
The practice and title bars apply until you are licensed, so file before you start work.
No registration or licence for technicians exists in Connecticut, and the statute never mentions RBT certification.
Chapter 382a exempts a person who implements an intervention based on behavior analysis under the supervision of a behavior analyst (§ 20-185j(c)(5)), which is how front-line ABA staff, including RBT-certified technicians, work lawfully in the state.
The exemption says nothing about credentials, titles or supervision hours.
An employer may still require RBT certification as a hiring condition, but that is company or payer policy, not Connecticut law.
Yes, but not under a state credential: Connecticut issues no assistant behavior analyst licence.
Chapter 382a defines an assistant behavior analyst as someone the BACB has certified as an assistant behavior analyst, assisting under the supervision of a behavior analyst, and § 20-185j(c)(4) exempts that person when the supervision follows BACB standards.
The flip side is title protection: using the board certified assistant behavior analyst or BCABA title without holding the certification is a class D felony under § 20-185i(b).
Annually.
Section 20-185k(b) renews the licence under § 19a-88 for a $180 fee for licences expiring on or after October 1, 2021.
Each renewal needs evidence of current BACB certification plus, on and after January 1, 2022, not less than two hours of training covering screening for post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention.
That training is required during your first renewal period and not less than once every six years after that, and must be offered or approved by the Connecticut Association for Behavior Analysis, a hospital or licensed health care institution, or a regionally accredited institution of higher education.
The sources read — C.G.S. §§ 20-185i to 20-185k and DPH's requirements page — name no behavior-analyst compact and no reciprocity or endorsement route.
The licence § 20-185k(a) grants goes to any applicant — including one already licensed in another jurisdiction — who furnishes evidence of current BACB certification.
The second licensure section § 20-185j names, § 20-185l, was not read, so whether it offers a separate track is not stated; confirm with DPH before you file.
DPH's one move-specific step: verification of every out-of-state behavior analyst licence held, current or expired, sent directly from the issuing state to document a clean disciplinary record.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Connecticut Department of Public Health.