🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Behavior Analyst Licensure in Indiana: BCBA and State License Requirements

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Indiana licenses behavior analysts at two levels, the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LABA), under Indiana Code 25-8.5, with licence applications open since May 13, 2025.

BACB certification is the route: the LBA goes to a current BCBA, the LABA to a BCaBA who files a signed supervision contract with a licensed behavior analyst.

No state credential exists for RBTs.

The statute text was not among the sources read, so the exemptions and the date licensure became mandatory are not established on this page.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Indiana, that is the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (Behavior Analyst Committee).

At a glance

State credential

Two licences: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LABA), both issued by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.

Applications for both went live on May 13, 2025.

Regulator

The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (IPLA); a Behavior Analyst Committee verifies each applicant's BACB certification and acts on applications.

Administrative rules sit at 844 IAC 21 (Behavior Analysts; Certification).

BCBA as the route

Yes.

The board's FAQ: “per IC 25-8.5-3-1 and IC 25-8.5-3-2 you must have your certification by the BACB for your Behavior Analyst or Behavior Analyst Assistant license.”

Assistant credential

Licensed assistant behavior analyst (LABA): current BCaBA certification in good standing with the BACB, plus a signed supervision contract with a licensed behavior analyst, BACB-approved to provide supervision under 844 IAC 21-4-6, filed with the application.

Technicians and RBTs

No state registration.

The board's FAQ says RBT certifications are not issued by IPLA — the credential comes from the BACB.

Whether Indiana's law exempts technicians from licensure is not stated in the sources read.

Practice or title protection

Not stated in the sources read.

The statute text (IC 25-8.5) was not retrieved, so whether the law restricts practice, the title, or both could not be verified.

Governing law

Indiana Code 25-8.5 (Behavior Analysts), enacted 2021 per the BACB's map, with rules at 844 IAC 21.

LBA and LABA applications opened May 13, 2025; the date a licence became mandatory is not established.

The Indiana credential ladder

  1. Licensed assistant behavior analyst(LABA)Other

    The licence the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency issues to an applicant the Behavior Analyst Committee verifies as currently certified as a BCaBA in good standing with the BACB, who files a $75.00 application and a signed supervision contract with a licensed behavior analyst approved by the BACB to provide supervision under 844 IAC 21-4-6.

  2. Licensed behavior analyst(LBA)Independent

    The licence IPLA issues to an applicant the Committee verifies as currently certified as a BCBA in good standing with the BACB; the application adds a criminal background check and a $100.00 fee, and opened on May 13, 2025.

Two licences, and a program that opened in 2025

📜 IC 25-8.5-3-1; 25-8.5-3-2; IPLA Behavior Analyst page

Indiana issues two licences: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LABA).

Both are administered by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, whose Behavior Analyst Committee verifies each applicant's certification, and both opened to applications on May 13, 2025.

The route to each runs through BACB certification, as the board's FAQ puts it.

What the sources read do not say is what the licence does: the statute text (IC 25-8.5) was not retrieved, so whether Indiana restricts practice, the title, or both — and who is exempt — could not be verified on this page.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

“Do I need to be BACB certified to apply for licensure? Yes, per IC 25-8.5-3-1 and IC 25-8.5-3-2 you must have your certification by the BACB for your Behavior Analyst or Behavior Analyst Assistant license.”

The application: a certification number, not transcripts

📜 IPLA Behavior Analyst Licensing Information page

Indiana's application checklist contains no state degree, coursework or supervised-experience rule.

The Committee verifies that an LBA applicant is currently certified as a BCBA, and a LABA applicant as a BCaBA, each in good standing with the BACB; the checklist says the certification number is the only information the applicant supplies for it.

Transcripts are not required, per the FAQ.

Every application adds a criminal background check — reviewed case by case, with a statement and court documents if you answer yes to any disclosure question — your Social Security number, which is mandatory, and a fee of $100.00 for the LBA or $75.00 for the LABA.

An application whose requirements are still outstanding after one year is abandoned.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

“The only information required from the applicant is your certification number which is required during the online application process.”

No Indiana exam appears in the sources read

📜 IPLA Behavior Analyst Licensing Information page (FAQ)

The application checklist names no Indiana examination.

The board's FAQ sends exam scheduling to the certifying body: exams for BACB certification are scheduled through the BACB, which fits a route where certification is complete before you apply.

Whether Indiana's rules (844 IAC 21) add a state jurisprudence or law exam is not stated in the sources read — the checklist lists none, and the rule text was not among the documents read.

Check the online application instructions before you file.

Assistants: the supervision contract follows the licence

📜 844 IAC 21-4-6; IPLA Behavior Analyst Licensing Information page

Supervision is where the LABA differs from the LBA.

The assistant applicant uploads a signed contract with a licensed behavior analyst who is approved by the BACB to provide supervision under 844 IAC 21-4-6 — the same contract filed with the BACB for the assistant certification, a copy of which satisfies Indiana.

The obligation does not end at issuance: at each renewal the LABA submits a written record of the supervision provided during the preceding renewal period and ensures the supervisor's own licence is current, and a change of supervisors means uploading the replacement contract to the assistant licence.

The text of 844 IAC 21-4-6 itself — ratios, contact frequency — was not among the sources read.

“Provide a copy of a signed contract with a licensed behavior analyst that is approved by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) to provide supervision under 844 IAC 21-4-6.”

Moving to Indiana: reciprocity on similar requirements

📜 IPLA Behavior Analyst Licensing Information page

Indiana reciprocity is open to an applicant who holds a current licence in another state whose requirements are similar to Indiana's for the corresponding licence — education, experience and certification alike.

The reciprocity fee is $75.00 for the LBA and $50.00 for the LABA.

The LBA checklist adds one item the standard application lacks: a statement of the scope of your practice in the other state or states of licensure.

Both reciprocity checklists also require verification of licensure completed by the issuing state — copies of licence cards are not accepted — and the LABA route keeps its signed supervision contract with a licensed behavior analyst, uploaded with the application.

Current BACB certification is still verified, so reciprocity changes the paperwork, not the certification requirement.

“For Applicants who are applying as a Licensed Behavioral Analyst by Reciprocity and hold a current license in a state or territory of the United States that requires similar education, experience, and certification as required for corresponding licensure in Indiana.”

Renew every odd-year December 31, with two Indiana CE units

📜 844 IAC 21-3-1; IPLA Behavior Analyst Licensing Information page

Every LBA and LABA expires on December 31 of odd-numbered years, and a renewed licence runs two years to the next odd-year deadline; reminders go out on or around 90 days before expiration.

Renewal takes the fee — $100.00 for the LBA and $75.00 for the LABA, plus a $50.00 penalty if you renew after expiry but within three years; reinstatement is $200.00 and $150.00 — plus Indiana's own continuing education, one unit each in the two areas quoted below.

The LBA renewal attests to holding a current BCBA; the instructions print that attestation for LABAs as well, though a LABA is certified as a BCaBA, so assistants should confirm with IPLA what they attest to.

BACB continuing education can count toward both if the sponsor is approved and the course falls inside Indiana's licence renewal cycle, which the board warns may differ from the BACB's.

“In accordance with 844 IAC 21-3-1, each licensee shall complete the following continuing education units: (1) one (1) continuing education (CE) unit in trauma informed care; and (2) one (1) CE unit in either of the following: (A) Abuse and neglect. (B) Mandatory reporting.”

A 2021 law whose licences went live in 2025

📜 IC 25-8.5; IPLA Behavior Analyst page

The BACB's map dates Indiana's behavior analyst law to 2021, but the licensing program is new in practice: the board page links a December 30, 2024 IPLA announcement on administrative rules promulgation and on enforcement of certain telehealth regulations under IC 25-1-9.5 (the release itself was not among the sources read), and on May 13, 2025 LBA and LABA applications went live.

The sources read do not establish the date from which a licence became mandatory to practise — between the 2021 enactment and the 2025 launch lies a gap this page cannot fill.

Confirm enforcement timing with IPLA.

“5/13/2025: Licensed Behavior Analyst and Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst applications are now live!”

The open question: who is exempt from the licence

📜 IC 25-8.5; IPLA Behavior Analyst page

The largest gap on this page is the exemption list.

The statute text (IC 25-8.5) was not retrievable when the research was saved — the General Assembly's site serves it only through JavaScript and the legal mirror blocked automated access — so who may work without an Indiana licence is not stated in the sources read, and nothing here confirms or denies an exemption for any particular group.

The same gap covers the scope-of-practice definition, discipline, and any practice or title restriction: all of it lives in text this page could not read.

Ask IPLA directly before relying on an exemption.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Indiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (Behavior Analyst Committee) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (Behavior Analyst Committee) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Indiana that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

I'm a BCBA in another state. What does Indiana require of me?

Apply to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency for the licensed behavior analyst licence.

The Committee verifies current BCBA certification in good standing with the BACB — you supply the certification number — plus a criminal background check and the $100.00 fee.

If you hold a behavior analyst licence in a state with similar education, experience and certification requirements, the reciprocity route ($75.00) adds a scope-of-practice statement and licence verification.

Applications opened May 13, 2025; confirm current steps with IPLA.

Do RBTs need a license or registration in Indiana?

No state credential exists for RBTs at IPLA.

The board's FAQ is blunt: “RBT certifications are not issued by our office,” and applicants are sent to the BACB.

What Indiana's statute does with technicians — whether any exemption lets them work without a licence — is not stated in the sources read, because the statute text was not retrieved.

Employers and payers may still require the BACB's RBT certification.

Confirm your situation with IPLA before starting work.

What continuing education does Indiana require to renew?

Per rule 844 IAC 21-3-1, each renewal cycle — licences expire December 31 of odd-numbered years — requires one continuing education unit in trauma informed care and one unit in either abuse and neglect or mandatory reporting.

CE completed for BACB recertification can double-count if the sponsor is approved and the course falls within Indiana's licence renewal cycle, which may differ from the BACB's.

Renewal costs $100.00 for the LBA and $75.00 for the LABA.

I'm a BCaBA. What does the assistant licence require?

The licensed assistant behavior analyst application needs current BCaBA certification in good standing with the BACB, the $75.00 fee, a criminal background check, and a signed supervision contract with a licensed behavior analyst approved by the BACB to supervise under 844 IAC 21-4-6.

The contract is filed with your application, replaced with the new supervisor's contract if supervision changes, and evidenced at renewal by a written supervision record, with your supervisor's licence current at renewal.

Does Indiana require transcripts or its own exam?

No transcripts: the FAQ states they are not required for the licence application.

No separate Indiana exam appears in the sources read either — the application turns on BACB certification, and exam scheduling happens at the BACB.

Whether the state's rules add a jurisprudence exam is not stated; check the online application.

One deadline applies to everyone: an application is abandoned if its requirements are not completed within one year of filing.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in Indiana
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Indiana & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (Behavior Analyst Committee).