🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Behavior Analyst Licensure in Kansas: BCBA and State License Requirements

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Kansas licenses behavior analysts at two levels under the Applied Behavior Analysis Licensure Act: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LaBA), whose practice the Act conditions on LBA supervision.

Certification is the route β€” the board cannot issue a licence until an applicant proves they met a certifying entity's certification requirements β€” but the licence itself comes from the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.

The practice restriction has applied since July 1, 2016, with exemptions for IDEA and Section 504 services, the HCBS autism waiver and several licensed professions.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Kansas, that is the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.

At a glance

State credential

Two licences: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LaBA), under the Applied Behavior Analysis Licensure Act.

A licence has been required to practise since July 1, 2016.

Regulator

The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board β€” the "board" the Act defines, created under K.S.A.

74-7501 β€” issues both licences and adopts the implementing rules and regulations.

BCBA as the route

Yes.

The board may not issue a licence until the applicant proves they met the certification requirements of a certifying entity: the "national accredited behavior analyst certification board" or another equivalent nationally accredited nongovernmental agency the board approves.

Assistant credential

Licensed assistant behavior analyst: certification from the certifying entity as a certified assistant behavior analyst, the board's licensing criteria, and practice only while working under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst.

Technicians and RBTs

No registration appears in the Act, which defines a line therapist implementing interventions under an LBA's direct supervision but creates no technician licence or registration.

How Kansas treats unlicensed technicians is not stated in the sources read.

Practice or title protection

Practice.

On or after July 1, 2016, no person may practise applied behavior analysis in Kansas unless they are on the statute's list of permitted categories; the statute text read contains no separate title-protection provision.

Governing law

Applied Behavior Analysis Licensure Act, K.S.A.

65-7501–65-7505 (L.

2014, ch. 62; July 1); 65-7504 and 65-7505 amended by L.

2023, ch. 90.

The practice restriction took effect on or after July 1, 2016.

The Kansas credential ladder

  1. Line therapistOther

    Not a credential: the Act defines a line therapist who provides supervision of an individual diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and other neurodevelopmental disorders and implements specific behavioral interventions under the direct supervision of a licensed behavior analyst, but no line-therapist licence or registration appears in K.S.A.

    65-7501–65-7505 (K.S.A.

    65-7502(j)).

  2. Licensed assistant behavior analyst(LaBA)Other

    A licence for an individual certified by the certifying entity as a certified assistant behavior analyst who meets the licensing criteria the board establishes by rules and regulations; the practice list admits LaBAs only while working under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst (K.S.A.

    65-7502(h); 65-7503(a)(2)).

  3. Licensed behavior analyst(LBA)Independent

    The licence required to practise applied behavior analysis in Kansas, issued to an individual certified by the certifying entity as a certified behavior analyst who meets the board's licensing criteria (K.S.A.

    65-7502(i); 65-7503(a)(1)).

Two licences, and practice itself is restricted

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7502(h), (i); 65-7503(a)

Kansas issues two licences: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the licensed assistant behavior analyst (LaBA).

Both are defined by certification from a certifying entity plus licensing criteria the board establishes by rules and regulations.

The Act works as a practice restriction: from July 1, 2016, nobody may practise applied behavior analysis in Kansas unless they fall into subsection (a)'s categories β€” LBAs, LaBAs under an LBA's supervision, supervised fieldwork candidates, or licensed psychologists.

Practice is what the statute text read restricts; it contains no separate title-protection clause.

The definitions sit in an autism-services frame: an "autism service provider" is defined to include anyone licensed by the board as an LBA or LaBA.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

β€œOn or after July 1, 2016, no person shall practice applied behavior analysis in this state unless they are: (1) Licensed behavior analysts; (2) licensed assistant behavior analysts working under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst; (3) an individual who has a bachelor's or graduate degree and completed course work for licensure as a behavior analyst and is obtaining supervised field experience under a licensed behavior analyst pursuant to required supervised work experience for licensure at the behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst level; or (4) licensed psychologists practicing within the rules and standards of practice for psychologists in the state of Kansas and whose practice is commensurate with their level of training and experience.”

The route: certification first, and Kansas sets education requirements too

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7502(e); 65-7503(a)(3), (c); 65-7505(c)

Certification is the gate, but Kansas is not degree-free.

The board may not issue a licence until the applicant proves they met the certification requirements of a certifying entity β€” the "national accredited behavior analyst certification board" (the BACB) or another equivalent nationally accredited nongovernmental agency the board approves.

Beyond that gate, the Act reaches education twice: the supervised-fieldwork practice category is open only to someone who has "a bachelor's or graduate degree and completed course work for licensure as a behavior analyst" (65-7503(a)(3)), and the board's rules must set "the educational and training requirements" for both licences (65-7505(c)).

Those rules were not read, so the degree and coursework Kansas demands of each licence are not stated in the sources read.

The BACB's own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are national and live in the BCBA articles.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

β€œThe board shall not issue a license under this act until the license applicant provides proof that such applicant has met the certification requirements of a certifying entity.”

Every rung below full licensure runs through an LBA

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7502(j); 65-7503(a)(2), (3); 65-7505(e), (f)

Supervision attaches to lawful practice, not to the licences themselves.

The LaBA licence is defined by certification plus the board's licensing criteria (65-7502(h)); supervision enters through the practice list β€” subsection (a)(2) admits LaBAs to practice only while working under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst, so an assistant cannot practise unsupervised without leaving the statute's permitted categories.

Subsection (a)(3) authorises practice for an individual with a bachelor's or graduate degree who completed course work for licensure and is obtaining supervised field experience under an LBA; a student still completing coursework sits instead under the enrolled-student exemption (65-7503(b)(4)).

It permits the practice; it does not say Kansas counts those hours toward a licence β€” that question sits with the certifying entity and the board's rules, which were not read.

The Act also defines a line therapist implementing interventions under an LBA's direct supervision, but creates no line-therapist credential, and the practice list does not name technicians.

The board's rules must cover the characteristics of supervision and supervised clinical practicum experience (65-7505(e), (f)); those rules were not read.

What the Act regulates, and who else may practise

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7502(a), (b); 65-7503(b)

Applied behavior analysis is defined as the design, implementation and evaluation of environmental modifications to produce socially significant improvement in human behavior, including direct observation, measurement and functional analysis.

Among the exemptions, 65-7503(b)(1) covers any person licensed by the board who practices "any component of applied behavior analysis within the scope of such person's license and scope of practice as required by law" β€” and the board licenses professions well beyond this Act's two licences, its own listing spanning addiction counselors, marriage and family therapists, master's level psychologists, professional counselors, psychologists and social workers.

The remaining exemptions mix settings, statuses and professions: services provided under IDEA and under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, students in supervised clinical study, autism specialists and other providers qualified under the home and community based services autism waiver, occupational therapists, and speech-language pathologists or audiologists, each within their licensed scope.

For a job seeker, a school or waiver role may sit outside the licence even where general ABA practice does not β€” fit is a question for the board.

β€œ"Applied behavior analysis" means the design, implementation and evaluation of environmental modifications, using behavioral stimuli and consequences, to produce socially significant improvement in human behavior, including the use of direct observation, measurement and functional analysis of the relationship between environment and behavior;”

Moving to Kansas: no reciprocity provision in the Act read

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7501–65-7505

The five sections of the Act read β€” citation, definitions, the practice restriction, discipline and rulemaking β€” contain no reciprocity, endorsement or compact provision for behavior analysts.

The route the saved text shows an out-of-state BCBA is therefore the standard one: prove certification under K.S.A.

65-7503(c) and meet the board's licensing criteria, with nothing in the Act shortening the path for holding a licence elsewhere.

Whether the board's rules add an endorsement process is not stated in the sources read.

Confirm application requirements with the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board before relocating.

Renewal details live in board rules, not in the Act

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7505(a), (b), (g)

The Act directs the board to adopt rules covering the form and procedures for initial and renewal applications and reinstatement, the fees for licences and renewals, and the continuing-education requirements for both licence levels.

The rule text itself was not read, so the renewal cycle, the CE hours and the fee amounts are not stated in the sources read.

The practical takeaway for a licensee: renewal paperwork, deadlines and continuing-education hours are set by the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board's rules, so check with the board rather than the statute.

Enacted 2014, practice restriction from 2016, amended 2023

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7504–7505 (L. 2023, ch. 90, Β§Β§ 27–28)

The Act dates to L.

2014, ch. 62, and its practice restriction took effect on or after July 1, 2016 β€” that date, not the 2014 enactment, is when the licence requirement bit.

The only later amendment shown in the saved text is L.

2023, ch. 90, which amended the discipline section (65-7504, Β§ 27) and the rulemaking section (65-7505, Β§ 28).

What those amendments changed is not stated in the sources read.

The licence definitions and the practice restriction carry only the 2014 history line in the saved text, so no later change to them appears there.

Discipline: the grounds the board can act on

πŸ“œ K.S.A. 65-7504(a)

The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a licence, condition, limit, revoke or suspend one, censure a licensee publicly or privately, or impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per violation.

Grounds include use of controlled substances or alcohol that impairs practice, convictions for offenses related to the profession or involving fraud, dishonesty, violence or moral turpitude, fraud in securing a licence, incompetence, misconduct or gross negligence, discipline in another jurisdiction, and violating a board order.

Section (a)(10) matters for supervisors: assisting or enabling a person who is not eligible to practise is itself a discipline ground.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Kansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Kansas that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

I am a BCBA. Do I need a Kansas licence, or does my certification cover me?

You need the licence.

K.S.A.

65-7503(a) has barred unlicensed practice of applied behavior analysis since July 1, 2016, and 65-7503(c) says the board shall not issue a licence until the applicant proves they met a certifying entity's certification requirements.

BACB certification is the route to the licence, not a substitute for it.

Contact the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board before starting work.

Do RBTs or line therapists need to register in Kansas?

Nothing in the Act read creates a technician registration.

K.S.A.

65-7502(j) defines a line therapist implementing interventions under an LBA's direct supervision, but no line-therapist licence or registration appears in K.S.A.

65-7501–65-7505, and the practice list does not name technicians.

How Kansas treats unlicensed technicians is not stated in the sources read; confirm with the board, and note that employers and payers can set their own requirements.

Can I practise and gain supervised field experience in Kansas before I am licensed?

The Act authorises the practice, not the credit.

Under K.S.A.

65-7503(a)(3), an individual with a bachelor's or graduate degree who has completed course work for licensure may practise while obtaining supervised field experience under a licensed behavior analyst, pursuant to the required supervised work experience for licensure at either level.

A student still completing coursework is instead covered by the enrolled-student exemption (65-7503(b)(4)).

Whether those hours count toward licensure is not answered by the Act; it is set by the certifying entity's requirements and the board's rules, which were not read.

Confirm hour-crediting with the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.

Who can practise applied behavior analysis in Kansas without this licence?

Licensed psychologists are on the practice list itself (K.S.A.

65-7503(a)(4)).

The first exemption, 65-7503(b)(1), covers any person licensed by the board who practices any component of applied behavior analysis within the scope of that person's license and scope of practice as required by law β€” and the board licenses addiction counselors, marriage and family therapists, master's level psychologists, professional counselors, psychologists and social workers as well as behavior analysts.

Exemptions then cover IDEA and Section 504 services, students in supervised clinical study, HCBS autism waiver providers, occupational therapists, and speech-language pathologists or audiologists within scope (65-7503(b)(2)–(7)).

Whether a specific role fits is a question for the board.

What can a licensed assistant behavior analyst do in Kansas?

A LaBA is an individual certified by the certifying entity as a certified assistant behavior analyst who meets the licensing criteria the board establishes by rule (K.S.A.

65-7502(h)) β€” supervision is not written into the licence definition itself.

The practice list admits LaBAs only while working under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst (K.S.A.

65-7503(a)(2)), so lawful practice as an LaBA is supervision-conditioned: outside an LBA's supervision, none of subsection (a)'s categories apply.

Confirm the board's current criteria with the BSRB.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in Kansas
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Kansas & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.