Maryland has required a licence to practice behavior analysis since January 1, 2015.
The state issues one credential, the licensed behavior analyst, through the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists.
BACB certification is the route: applicants need a current BCBA or BCBA-D certification and a master's degree or higher from a BACB-accredited behavior analysis program.
The sections saved (§§ 17-6A-01 to -20) create no assistant licence and no technician registration, and no exemption for technicians was found in them.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
One licence: the licensed behavior analyst, required to practice behavior analysis in Maryland since January 1, 2015.
The sections saved (§§ 17-6A-01 to -20) define only this credential.
The State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists, advised by a Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee within the Board (Md.
Code, Health Occ. § 17-6A-05).
Yes.
An applicant must have a current certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board or its successor and a master's degree or higher from a BACB-accredited behavior analysis educational program (§ 17-6A-11(c)).
None.
The sections saved define only the licensed behavior analyst; no assistant licence was found in them.
No technician registration appears in the sections saved, and no technician or paraprofessional exemption was found in them.
Section 17-6A-02 leaves other Health Occupations Article licensees practicing within their own scope.
COMAR 10.58.16 was not read.
Practice.
Section 17-6A-10 bars practicing behavior analysis without a licence from January 1, 2015; a separate title-only restriction was not found in the sections read.
Md.
Code, Health Occupations Title 17, Subtitle 6A (§§ 17-6A-01 to -20 read; later sections not saved); rules at COMAR 10.58.16 (linked from the Board, not read).
The only credential in the sections saved: the licence required to practice behavior analysis in Maryland, issued by the Board to an applicant who holds current BACB certification and a master's degree or higher from a BACB-accredited behavior analysis educational program (Md.
Code, Health Occ. §§ 17-6A-10, 17-6A-11).
In the sections saved, Maryland creates a single credential: the licensed behavior analyst, defined as an individual licensed by the Board to practice behavior analysis.
Since January 1, 2015, an individual must hold that licence before practicing behavior analysis in the State.
The licence section's own exception is a student on an unpaid clinical educational experience, and § 17-6A-02 separately preserves the right of other Health Occupations Article licensees to practice their occupation within scope.
The licence authorizes its holder to practice while it is effective.
The sections read contain no associate, assistant or supervised tier, and no separate title-only provision — the operative restriction is on practice itself.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
“A behavior analyst license authorizes the licensee to practice behavior analysis while the license is effective.”
An applicant must be at least 18 years old and of good moral character, hold a current certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board or its successor, and have received a master's degree or higher from a behavior analysis educational program accredited by the BACB or its successor.
The Board may also require English competency and anything else it establishes by rule.
One waiver is written into the statute: an individual certified by the BACB on or before December 31, 2014, who is currently in good standing, does not have to meet the education requirement.
Beyond pointing to the BACB's accreditation, the sections read add no coursework or hour rule of Maryland's own.
The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
“(1) Have a current certification by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board or its successor organization; (2) Have received a master's degree or higher from a behavior analysis educational program that is accredited by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board or its successor organization;”
The sections saved name no licensing examination of their own.
Section 17-6A-09(3) directs the Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee to develop, and recommend to the Board, criteria for a professional competency examination and testing of applicants for a license.
Whether the Board adopted an additional Maryland exam, or treats BACB certification alone as satisfying the exam side, would sit in the rules at COMAR 10.58.16, which the research did not read — it is not stated in the sources read.
Check the Board's application instructions before you file.
The sections saved have no assistant licence and no technician registration, so there is no supervised middle tier in them.
Practice outside the licence appears in two places in the sections saved.
Section 17-6A-02(b) does not limit an individual authorized to practice a health occupation under the Health Occupations Article who practices that occupation within scope, and § 17-6A-10(b) excepts a student enrolled in a program meeting § 17-6A-11(c)(2)'s education criteria while engaged in an unpaid clinical educational experience.
No exemption for technicians, paraprofessionals, school staff or family members appears in the sections saved, and no RBT provision.
A licensee can be disciplined for aiding or abetting an unauthorized person in practicing behavior analysis.
Whether COMAR 10.58.16 adds relevant provisions is not stated in the sources read.
“This section does not apply to a student enrolled in an educational program that meets the criteria of § 17-6A-11(c)(2) of this subtitle while engaged in an unpaid, clinical educational experience of behavior analysis.”
The practice of behavior analysis means the design, implementation and evaluation of systematic instructional and environmental modifications to produce socially significant improvements in human behavior, including functional assessment and analysis and interventions grounded in scientific research and the direct observation and measurement of behavior and environment.
The definition expressly carves out psychological testing, diagnosis of disorders, psychotherapy, counseling and the other modalities listed below, so the licence is not a psychology or therapy licence.
Section 17-6A-02 also does not limit an individual authorized to practice a health occupation under the article who uses the terms behavior analysis or behavioral analysis within their own scope of practice.
“"Practice of behavior analysis" does not include psychological testing, diagnosis of a mental or physical disorder, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy, counseling, or any subdiscipline of psychology as treatment modalities.”
The saved sections of Subtitle 6A contain no reciprocity or endorsement provision.
Every applicant, including a behavior analyst licensed in another state, qualifies through § 17-6A-11: current BACB certification and a master's or higher from a BACB-accredited program, unless the pre-2015 waiver applies.
That waiver is the closest thing to a moving provision in the sections read: it rewards tenure with the certifying body, not licensure elsewhere.
Whether the rules at COMAR 10.58.16 provide an endorsement path is not stated in the sources read.
Confirm the application requirements with the Board before assuming an out-of-state licence carries over.
A licence expires on a date set by the Board.
To renew, a licensee must otherwise be entitled to be licensed, pay the renewal fee set by the Board, file the renewal application, and submit satisfactory evidence of compliance with any continuing education requirements the Board establishes.
The statute authorizes CE but sets no total; the actual hour requirement is not stated in the sources read, because the Board's CE rules sit at COMAR 10.58.16, which was not read.
A licensee can move to inactive status and return by meeting then-current renewal and CE requirements.
A lapsed licence can be reinstated within 5 years after it expires; after that, the analyst must meet the current requirements for a new licence.
“The Board may establish continuing education requirements as a condition of the renewal of licenses under this section.”
The substantive licence rules in the saved consolidation date to the subtitle's adoption, with the licence requirement in force since January 1, 2015.
What has moved recently is process.
The Board's behavior analyst page states that applicants must obtain a criminal history records check before submitting their application, and that beginning June 20, 2026 the Board transitions to an online-only application process, with the new portal launching July 1, 2026.
Neither change alters who qualifies; both change how you file.
Confirm the current filing steps on the Board's page before applying.
An application takes the Board's form, the application fee, and a criminal history records check under § 17-501.1 of the title.
The Board must issue a licence within 30 days of receiving a complete application that meets the requirements, or within 50 days after receiving additional information on one that was incomplete.
The Board's behavior analyst page tells applicants to obtain the criminal history records check before applying and to allow at least 30 to 45 business days for a completed initial application.
Behind the licence sits a five-member Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee — four BACB-certified analysts with at least 5 years of clinical experience and one consumer member — which recommends the regulations, ethics code, licence requirements and continuing education rules the Board adopts.
This page summarizes the Maryland statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists (Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists (Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Maryland that asks for it.
From the 23 active board certified behavior analyst listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active board certified behavior analyst listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 23 jobs →Practice requires it.
Md.
Code, Health Occ. § 17-6A-10 has required a licence to practice behavior analysis in Maryland since January 1, 2015, and BACB certification is the route, not a substitute: § 17-6A-11(c) requires a current BACB certification and a master's or higher from a BACB-accredited program.
The carve-outs in the sections saved are § 17-6A-02 for individuals already authorized under the Health Occupations Article and the student exception — neither fits an arriving BCBA without another Maryland credential.
Apply to the Board, obtain the criminal history records check first, and allow processing time.
None in the sections saved.
They define only the licensed behavior analyst: no technician registration, no assistant licence, and no exemption for technicians, paraprofessionals, school staff or family members appear in them.
The carve-outs in the sections saved are § 17-6A-02, which preserves the right of an individual licensed, certified or otherwise authorized under the Health Occupations Article to practice that occupation within scope, and the § 17-6A-10(b) student exception, neither of which creates a technician credential.
Whether COMAR 10.58.16 addresses technicians is not stated in the sources read.
BACB's RBT certification remains a private, national credential; employers and payers can still require it.
Section 17-6A-11(c)(2) requires a master's degree or higher from a behavior analysis educational program accredited by the BACB or its successor, alongside current BACB certification.
There is one waiver: the education requirement is waived for an individual certified by the BACB on or before December 31, 2014 who is currently in good standing.
The BACB's own coursework, fieldwork and exam standards are national and are covered in the how-to-become article rather than here.
The statute sets outer limits: the Board must issue a licence within 30 days of receiving a complete application that meets the requirements, or within 50 days after receiving additional information on an incomplete one.
The Board's own page tells applicants to allow at least 30 to 45 business days for a completed initial application and to obtain the criminal history records check before submitting.
Build that window into any start date.
The statute lets the Board establish continuing education requirements as a condition of renewal, and renewal requires satisfactory evidence of compliance with whatever the Board has set.
The hour total itself is not stated in the sources read, because the Board's CE rules sit at COMAR 10.58.16, which the research did not read.
Check the Board's renewal instructions for the current requirement before your licence expires.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists (Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee).