Massachusetts licenses applied behavior analysts through its Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions, in the same chapter that licenses counselors, MFTs and educational psychologists.
Two licences exist — licensed applied behavior analyst and licensed assistant applied behavior analyst — plus a temporary permit good for up to one year.
The statute writes its own education rule, 60 or 30 graduate credit hours in behavior analysis, and requires a board-approved examination; it never names the BACB.
Licences renew every two years.
Whether unlicensed practice is barred is not settled by the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Two licences in the allied mental health chapter, M.G.L. c.
112: licensed applied behavior analyst and licensed assistant applied behavior analyst, plus a temporary permit the board may issue for up to one year (§§163, 165, 167).
The Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions; the board's own page places it under the Department of Public Health's Bureau of Health Professions Licensure.
Not by name.
The statute requires its own degree rule (a minimum of 60 or 30 graduate credit hours in behavior analysis, or a board-approved certificate program with an approved course sequence) and a board-approved examination; whether 262 CMR 10.00 treats BACB certification as that exam is not stated in the sources read.
Licensed assistant applied behavior analyst: a bachelor's degree with a minimum of 135 classroom hours of instruction specifically in behavior analysis, a board-approved course sequence, or course work which otherwise meets professional standards as determined by the board, plus a practicum, a board-approved examination, and practice under the supervision of a licensed applied behavior analyst or a qualified physician or psychologist.
No provision found: the sources read name no state technician registration or certification, and no rule conditioning technician work on the RBT credential.
Partly open.
Section 164 bars practice as a licensed mental health professional by anyone not licensed or exempted, with a carve-out for individuals not eligible for licensure who practise as counselors or therapists without holding out as licensed; whether that phrase reaches applied behavior analysts is not established.
Its title list as retrieved names no ABA title, and §171 fines holding out as a licensed behavior analyst or licensed assistant behavior analyst without a licence.
M.G.L. c.
112 §§163–172 (allied mental health and human services professions; the BACB's map dates enactment to 2013).
The sections read establish no effective date for the applied behavior analyst licence provisions.
Not a licence: the board may issue a temporary permit, effective for up to one year, to an applicant whose licence application is being processed or who is awaiting the first examination offered by the board after filing (M.G.L. c.
112 §167).
A licence to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis under the supervision of a licensed applied behavior analyst, or of a physician or psychologist qualified to practice applied behavior analysis if consistent with the accepted standards of their respective professions (§§163, 165).
The full licence: an individual who, by training, experience and examination, meets the board's requirements and is duly licensed to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis in the commonwealth (§§163, 165).
Massachusetts issues two behavior analyst licences inside its allied mental health chapter: the licensed applied behavior analyst and the licensed assistant applied behavior analyst.
The analyst is licensed to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis in the commonwealth; the assistant practises that same work under supervision.
The board may also issue a temporary permit, effective for up to one year, while an application is pending or a candidate waits for the first examination after filing.
Because the licences sit in the allied mental health chapter, the definitions, discipline and renewal provisions they ride on are shared with the chapter's counselors, marriage and family therapists, rehabilitation counselors and educational psychologists.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
“'Licensed applied behavior analyst', an individual who, by training, experience and examination, meets the requirements for licensing by the board and is duly licensed to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis in the commonwealth.”
The statute does not point to BACB coursework.
An applied behavior analyst applicant needs a doctoral degree with a minimum of 60 graduate credit hours in courses related to the study of behavior analysis, or a master's degree with a minimum of 30, or — for a master's or doctoral degree in another field of human services — successful completion of a board-approved certificate program in behavior analysis from a recognized educational institution combined with an approved course sequence formally approved by the board.
Every applicant must also meet the chapter's baseline clauses: good moral character and no conduct that would be grounds for denial under section 169.
Nothing in the sections read makes BACB coursework or fieldwork the standard; the practicum standard is the board's.
The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
The statute requires a board-approved examination related to the principles and independent practice of applied behavior analysis for the analyst licence, and one related to the principles and practice for the assistant licence; it never names the BCBA examination.
Whether the board's rules (262 CMR 10.00) treat BACB certification as the approved exam is not stated in the sources read, so confirm with the board before relying on your certification.
The board conducts examinations at least twice a year, and a candidate who fails must sit out at least six months before the next one.
The assistant licence is defined by supervision: the holder is licensed to practice applied behavior analysis under the supervision of a licensed applied behavior analyst, or of a physician or psychologist qualified to practice applied behavior analysis where consistent with the accepted standards of their respective professions.
For an associate choosing where to work, that supervisor list matters — the statute names physicians and psychologists alongside the full licence.
The practicum or supervised experience both tiers need meets standards the board establishes; those standards are not in the sources read.
No technician registration or technician-supervision provision appears in the sections read, so the state layer says nothing about how RBTs are supervised here.
“an individual who, by training, experience and examination, meets the requirements for licensing by the board and is duly licensed to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis under the supervision of a licensed applied behavior analyst or a physician or psychologist qualified to practice applied behavior analysis if it is consistent with the accepted standards of their respective professions.”
The chapter defines the practice of applied behavior analysis as the design, implementation and evaluation of systematic instructional and environmental modifications to produce socially significant improvements in human behavior, including functional assessment and analysis.
It excludes psychological testing, neuropsychology, diagnosis of mental health or developmental conditions, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, psychopharmacological recommendations, hypnotherapy and academic teaching by college or university faculty.
Section 164 does more than list protected titles: it bars practice as a licensed mental health professional by anyone not licensed or exempted, but does not prevent individuals not eligible for licensure from advertising and practising as counselors or therapists if they do not hold themselves out as licensed.
Whether that phrase reaches applied behavior analysts is not established by the sources read, and the title list as retrieved names no ABA title.
Section 171 fines holding out as a licensed behavior analyst or licensed assistant behavior analyst without a licence — up to five hundred dollars for a first offense — and lets the board seek an injunction.
“Except as otherwise provided in sections one hundred and sixty-three to one hundred and seventy-two, inclusive, commencing March first, nineteen hundred and eighty-nine, no individual who is not licensed or exempted from licensure under said sections shall advertise the performance of or use a title or description of: (1) licensed mental health counselor, advisor or consultant or licensed supervised mental health counselor, advisor or consultant; (2) licensed marital or marriage and family therapist, advisor or consultant; (3) licensed rehabilitation counselor, specialist, advisor or consultant; or (4) licensed educational psychologist, specialist, advisor or consultant.”
For a clinician moving to Massachusetts, the endorsement lever is examination waiver: the board shall issue a licence without examination to an applicant licensed in a comparable field in another state whose requirements the board determines to be equivalent to or exceed the commonwealth's.
Whether an out-of-state behavior analyst licence is comparable is the board's call, and the sources read do not show how it is applied to behavior analysts.
Section 167 offers the bridge: while an application is being processed, or while you await the first examination after filing, the board may issue a temporary permit effective for up to one year.
Section 166 also waives the examination on a civil-service route with no obvious application to behavior analysts.
“The board, at its discretion, may issue a temporary permit, effective for up to one year, to an individual whose application for licensure under this chapter is being processed by the board, or to a person awaiting the opportunity to take the first written examination offered by the board after filing such application.”
Every licence under the chapter runs two years.
The board's secretary sends the renewal application on or before September 30 of the year before expiry; return the completed form with the renewal fee by November 30 and the board issues the new licence for the year commencing January 1.
Renewing an expired licence costs a re-registration fee, and fee amounts are set by the commissioner of administration under chapter 7, section 3B, not by the board.
The sections read state no continuing-education requirement for behavior analyst renewal; section 163's Approved Continuing Education is a definition, not a stated hour rule.
“Licenses shall be valid for two years and must be renewed biennially.”
The board's page, saved in September 2026, carries a Bureau of Health Professions Licensure news item dated July 31, 2026 announcing that the board has issued revised licensing regulations.
What the revision changed — including whether the rules at 262 CMR 10.00 name BACB certification as the board-approved examination — is not stated in the sources read.
The same page lists a September 19, 2024 notice of one-time fee waivers for behavioral health professional licence applications; whether it reached applied behavior analyst applicants is not stated.
Because the rules themselves were not among the sources read, confirm current requirements with the board before applying.
On a majority vote the board can deny, revoke or suspend a licence for a criminal conviction it finds renders the person unfit to practice, ethical violations of a similar nature, fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining the licence, or other just and sufficient cause.
Suspension or revocation requires prior notice and a hearing, except that the board may suspend for up to one year without notice the licence of an individual convicted of a qualifying crime.
Client communications are confidential under section 172, waivable only in the circumstances it lists.
These provisions are chapter-wide and apply to the applied behavior analyst licences as members of the chapter.
This page summarizes the Massachusetts statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Massachusetts that asks for it.
The statute never names the BACB.
A Massachusetts licence requires the education rule in M.G.L. c.
112 §165 — a minimum of 60 or 30 graduate credit hours in behavior analysis, or a board-approved certificate program plus an approved course sequence — a practicum, and a board-approved examination.
Whether the board's rules (262 CMR 10.00) treat BACB certification as the approved examination is not stated in the sources read.
Ask the board before assuming your certification carries you through.
No provision appears in the sources read: the sections read name no state technician registration and no rule conditioning technician work on the RBT credential.
RBT certification itself is a BACB credential, covered in the site's RBT guides.
What employers, funders or insurers require in Massachusetts was not researched, so confirm with the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions before working without a state credential.
Through the examination-waiver route in M.G.L. c.
112 §166: the board shall issue a licence without examination to an applicant licensed in a comparable field in another state whose requirements it determines to be equivalent to or exceed the commonwealth's.
Equivalency is the board's determination, and the sources read do not say how it is applied to behavior analyst licences.
A temporary permit, effective for up to one year, can bridge the application period under §167.
Two years.
M.G.L. c.
112 §168 says licences shall be valid for two years and must be renewed biennially.
The board sends the renewal application by September 30 of the year before expiry; the completed form and fee are due by November 30, and the new licence runs from January 1.
Renewing an expired licence costs a re-registration fee.
The sections read state no continuing-education requirement.
The sources read do not settle it.
Section 164 bars anyone not licensed or exempted from practice as a licensed mental health professional, but carves out individuals not eligible for licensure who advertise and practise as counselors or therapists without holding out as licensed — and whether that phrase covers applied behavior analysts is not established by the sources read.
Its title list names no ABA title, and which exemptions apply to behavior analysts is not established.
Section 171 does fine holding out as a licensed behavior analyst without a licence — up to five hundred dollars for a first offense.
Confirm with the board before practising.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions.