New York licenses behavior analysts under Education Law Article 167: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the certified behavior analyst assistant (CBAA), who works under an LBA's supervision.
Since November 22, 2022, Pathway Two has let a current BCBA apply for the LBA licence on certification alone β a path to licensure, not an exemption from it.
An LBA's practice runs on a diagnosis and prescription or order from an authorized professional.
Technicians hold no state credential; multi-disciplinary teams and early intervention ABA aides have their own exemptions.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Two credentials under Education Law Article 167: the licensed behavior analyst (LBA) and the certified behavior analyst assistant (CBAA), with a limited permit and a graduate permit sitting below them.
The New York State Education Department's Office of the Professions; section 8808 creates a state board for applied behavior analysis of seven members appointed by the Board of Regents.
Yes, since November 22, 2022: Pathway Two allows an LBA application on current BCBA certification, verified by a letter sent from the BACB to the department β a path to licensure, not an exemption from licensure.
Certified behavior analyst assistant: a bachelor's or higher degree, experience, an exam, age 21 and good moral character ($150 initial, $75 per triennial registration); supervised by an LBA, and never more than six at a time.
No state technician credential or registration.
Unlicensed members of a multi-disciplinary team may implement an ABA plan under section 8807(5), and early intervention ABA aides work under a qualified supervisor under section 8807(6); the statute does not mention RBT certification.
NYSED states that any use of the title licensed behavior analyst requires licensure, and the article applies to the practice of ABA and the use of both titles; whether and how the certified behavior analyst assistant title is restricted sits in section 8803, which was bot-blocked and never read, so its exact wording is not stated in the sources read.
Education Law Article 167, sections 8800 through 8808 (the most recent revision of section 8800 is dated September 22, 2014); the Pathway Two certification route took effect November 22, 2022.
Not a licence: a permit that authorizes a graduate of an acceptable program to practise applied behavior analysis in New York under the supervision of a New York licensed behavior analyst while completing supervised experience and/or examination requirements for BACB certification ($10; expires three years from issue).
A one-year permit, renewable once at the department's discretion, for an applicant who meets every qualification for licensure except the examination and/or experience requirements; the holder practises only under supervision, at $70 per permit and renewal.
A certification to perform patient-related applied behavior analysis tasks assigned by a supervising licensed behavior analyst, under supervision as the commissioner's regulations provide; no LBA may supervise more than six CBAAs.
The licence Article 167 sets for the practice of applied behavior analysis, defined as ABA pursuant to a diagnosis and prescription or order from an authorized professional for the purpose of behavioral health treatment, and the credential that supervises CBAAs, permit holders and supervised graduates.
Article 167 creates two credentials for applied behavior analysis: the licensed behavior analyst and the certified behavior analyst assistant.
The article applies to the profession and practice of ABA and to the use of the two titles, and NYSED's requirements page states that any use of the title licensed behavior analyst within New York State requires licensure; how the CBAA title itself is restricted sits in section 8803, which was not read.
A BCBA moving to New York is therefore certified but not licensed until NYSED acts on an application.
Below the two credentials sit two permits: the limited permit, for an applicant who has met everything except the exam and/or experience requirements, and the graduate permit, for a graduate completing BACB requirements under supervision.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
βThis article applies to the profession and practice of applied behavior analysis and to the use of the titles "licensed behavior analyst" and "certified behavior analyst assistant".β
Pathway One is the standard route: a master's or higher degree from a program registered by the department or determined substantially equivalent, experience satisfactory to the board and the department, an acceptable examination, age 21, good moral character, and the child-abuse training course under Education Law Β§ 6507(3)(a).
The statute states no hour total for the experience requirement; it delegates that to the commissioner's regulations, which the saved sources name (Subpart 79-17) but do not quote.
Pathway Two, effective November 22, 2022, is the certification route: you apply on current BCBA certification, and NYSED accepts the verification letter only when the BACB sends it to [email protected] β not from you or any other party.
The CBAA requires a bachelor's or higher degree, not a master's.
The BACBβs own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
βBACB certification alone is not sufficient to practice as an LBA in New York State. Such certification provides a path to licensure; it is not an exemption from licensure.β
Both credentials require passing an examination acceptable to the board and the department in accordance with the commissioner's regulations.
Which examination New York accepts is not stated in the sources read: the saved materials point to Subpart 79-17 of the Commissioner's Regulations without quoting it, so confirm with NYSED which exam satisfies Pathway One.
Pathway Two removes the question: section 8805 lets an applicant who meets every requirement except examination, experience and education, but who holds certification or registration from a national certifying body with standards acceptable to the commissioner, be licensed without those additional requirements.
Under that pathway, the BACB's certification carries the exam weight.
Supervision rules attach at every level below the LBA.
A CBAA works under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst as the commissioner's regulations provide, and the statute caps the load: six assistants per supervisor.
Limited-permit holders practise only under supervision as those regulations determine.
A graduate performing services in New York to complete supervised experience and/or examination requirements for BACB certification must obtain a graduate permit and work under a New York LBA; it costs $10, expires three years from issue, and is re-issued when supervisors change.
Section 8807(9) adds conditions: the LBA must be licensed and registered in New York and employed by an authorized setting, must file a sworn statement on commencing the supervision, must tell the patient β or, for a minor or an individual incapable of consenting, the legally responsible person β that a graduate will provide services, must give that person an opportunity to object to a graduate providing services, and remains responsible for the graduate's work, under the full disciplinary authority of the Board of Regents and the department.
βNo licensed behavior analyst shall supervise more than six certified behavior analyst assistants.β
New York defines an LBA's practice as the design, implementation and evaluation of environmental modifications using behavioral stimuli and consequences β including direct observation, measurement and functional analysis β carried out pursuant to a diagnosis and prescription or order from a professional authorized to provide them, for the purpose of behavioral health treatment.
Prescriptions and orders are limited to behavioral health conditions that appear in the most recent edition of the DSM or an equivalent system the department determines, and the LBA must report to the prescriber at least annually on the individual's status.
The practice itself excludes diagnosing a disorder and prescribing or ordering ABA, and the statute bars licensees from prescribing or administering drugs and from invasive procedures, which it defines to include surgery, lasers, ionizing radiation, therapeutic ultrasound and electroconvulsive therapy.
The practical read for an applicant: the referring professional's order is part of lawful ABA practice in New York, not paperwork.
βThe practice of applied behavior analysis shall not include diagnosis of a disorder or condition for which ABA may be appropriate, or prescribing or ordering ABA for a particular individual.β
The saved text of Article 167 β sections 8800 through 8808, with section 8803 unread β states no reciprocity or endorsement route built on a behaviour analyst licence issued elsewhere, and the NYSED requirements page describes none.
A clinician licensed in another jurisdiction applies the way anyone does: Pathway One on a qualifying degree and experience, or Pathway Two on current BCBA certification, with the verification letter sent by the BACB directly to the department.
Nothing on the read pages shortens the process for holding a licence already.
Confirm application specifics with NYSED's Applied Behavior Analysis Unit before you relocate.
New York registers both credentials in three-year cycles: the statute sets a $200 initial licence fee and $100 for each triennial registration period for the LBA, and $150 and $75 in the same pattern for the CBAA.
NYSED's requirements page posts a combined $300 for licensure and first registration as a licensed behavior analyst, and notes that the fee due is the one in law when your application is received.
A limited permit costs $70 for each permit and each renewal; the graduate permit is $10, and no new fee is required for a re-issue on a supervisor change.
A continuing-education requirement for behavior analysts is not stated in the sources read.
βThe fee for licensure and first registration as a licensed behavior analyst is $300.β
The operative recent change is Pathway Two: changes to Education Law took effect on November 22, 2022, allowing LBA applications based on certification from an acceptable national certifying body β in practice, current BCBA certification.
NYSED adds a bridge for applicants who previously filed under Pathway One without meeting its requirements: if they hold BCBA certification, they may apply under Pathway Two using Form 1A.
Section 8800 carries an older stamp: nysenate.gov shows its most recent revision dated September 22, 2014, and 2014 is the year the BACB's licensure map lists for New York.
Neither date is the one that matters to a current applicant; November 22, 2022 is.
Unlicensed people work on ABA cases via Article 167's exemptions; there is no technician registration.
Employees of federal, state, county or municipal agencies, chartered elementary or secondary schools, and degree-granting institutions may perform LBA or CBAA duties in that employment; certified teachers and teaching assistants, other than pupil personnel services professionals, may work in approved programs or deliver early intervention services; students, interns and residents take part under training-status titles.
Multi-disciplinary teams may implement an ABA plan when they include a professional licensed under this article or Articles 131, 153, 154 or 163; restricted practices stay with the licensed.
Early intervention ABA aides assist with implementation and data collection under a qualified supervisor, on tasks not requiring professional skill or judgment.
Family, household and friend care, including by someone employed primarily in a domestic capacity, is exempt when the person neither holds out nor accepts employment as licensed.
Not summarised: (1) (other professions' scopes), (2)(d) (Education Law Β§ 4410(6)(d)), (5)'s first sentences (work unrelated to ABA plans), and (8) (substance use disorder programs).
The statute does not mention RBT certification.
βA license under this article shall not be required for persons to participate as a member of a multi-disciplinary team to implement an ABA plan; provided, however, that such team shall include one or more professionals licensed under this article or articles one hundred thirty-one, one hundred fifty-three, one hundred fifty-four or one hundred sixty-three of this chapter; and provided further that the activities performed by members of the team shall be consistent with the scope of practice for each team member licensed or authorized under this title, and those who are not so authorized may not engage in the following restricted practices: creation, modification or termination of an ABA plan; diagnosis of mental, emotional, behavioral, addictive and developmental disorders and disabilities; patient assessment and evaluating; provision of psychotherapeutic treatment; provision of treatment other than psychotherapeutic treatment; and development and implementation of assessment-based treatment plans, as defined in section seventy-seven hundred one of this title.β
This page summarizes the New York statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the New York State Education Department (NYSED), Office of the Professions β state board for applied behavior analysis publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the New York State Education Department (NYSED), Office of the Professions β state board for applied behavior analysis before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in New York that asks for it.
No. NYSED is explicit that BACB certification alone is not sufficient to practise as an LBA in New York State: it is a path to licensure, not an exemption from licensure.
Apply under Pathway Two β Form 1, the fees, a BACB verification letter sent by the BACB to [email protected], the child-abuse training, and attestation of age 21 and good moral character.
Article 167 exempts some settings, such as government agencies and chartered schools, so confirm yours with NYSED's Applied Behavior Analysis Unit before starting work.
No state technician credential or registration exists.
Unlicensed staff work lawfully in two main ways: as a member of a multi-disciplinary team implementing an ABA plan, provided the team includes a professional licensed under Article 167 or Articles 131, 153, 154 or 163 and restricted practices stay with licensed members; or as an early intervention ABA aide under a qualified supervisor.
The statute never mentions RBT certification; employers and payers may still set their own requirements.
The saved text of Article 167 β sections 8800 through 8808, with section 8803 not readable β states no reciprocity or endorsement route based on a licence issued elsewhere.
An out-of-state clinician applies under Pathway Two with current BCBA certification, or Pathway One with a qualifying degree and experience; NYSED requires the BACB verification letter to come from the BACB directly.
Contact NYSED's Applied Behavior Analysis Unit before you rely on any out-of-state credential.
The statute sets a $200 initial licence fee and $100 for each triennial registration period for a licensed behavior analyst; NYSED's page posts $300 for licensure and first registration combined.
A CBAA pays $150 initially and $75 per triennial period.
A limited permit is $70 per permit and per renewal, and a graduate permit is $10.
NYSED notes the fee due is the one in law when your application is received, so confirm current fees before filing.
No on both counts.
The practice of applied behavior analysis does not include diagnosing a disorder or prescribing or ordering ABA, and section 8802(4) prohibits licensees from prescribing or administering drugs or performing invasive procedures.
The licence works the other way around: an LBA practises pursuant to a diagnosis and prescription or order from a professional authorized to make them, and reports to that prescriber at least annually.
Direct scope questions to NYSED's Office of the Professions.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the New York State Education Department (NYSED), Office of the Professions β state board for applied behavior analysis.