No. Pennsylvania issues no behavior analyst licence; the state is absent from the BACB's list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts (list dated 2026-09-16), and pending bills were not checked.
The adjacent credential is the Licensed Behavior Specialist, issued by the State Board of Medicine under 49 Pa.
Code §§18.521–18.527: a master's degree in a listed field, 1 year of functional behavior assessment experience, 1,000 hours of qualifying clinical or ASD-related experience and 90 coursework hours, with no examination.
The BCBA is not its route.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
None for behavior analysts.
Pennsylvania is absent from the BACB's list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts (dated 2026-09-16); the credential the research documents instead is the Licensed Behavior Specialist.
Whether a behavior analyst licensure bill is pending was not checked.
No behavior analyst board.
The State Board of Medicine administers the adjacent behavior specialist licence under 49 Pa.
Code §§18.521–18.527; its requirements snapshot is published on pa.gov.
No. The behavior specialist criteria in § 18.524 are a master's degree in a listed field, 1 year of functional behavior assessment experience, 1,000 hours of in-person clinical experience with individuals with behavioral challenges or 1,000 hours of experience in a related field with individuals with autism spectrum disorders, and 90 coursework hours.
The board's snapshot states "No Examination Required," and BACB continuing education credits can count toward the 90 hours (§ 18.524(e)(2)).
None.
The behavior specialist subchapter creates a single credential; the research's Pennsylvania row records no assistant title and no technician title.
No state registration found at the Board of Medicine.
The DHS IBHS staffing rules (55 Pa.
Code ch. 5240, including § 5240.81, cross-referenced from § 18.524) were not read, so what they require of ABA staff is not stated in the sources read.
None to describe: with no behavior analyst law, the research records no practice or title restriction for behavior analysts in Pennsylvania.
The behavior specialist subchapter says it is not intended to require dual licensure for professionals whose scope covers autism treatment (§ 18.521).
The adjacent rule: 49 Pa.
Code §§18.521–18.527, implementing section 635.2(g) of The Insurance Company Law of 1921 (40 P.S. §764h(g)) — Act 62 of 2008, the autism insurance law. §§ 18.523 and 18.525 were amended effective March 26, 2022 (52 Pa.B.
1899); the Code pages do not show which text changed.
A State Board of Medicine licence for individuals who design, implement or evaluate the behavior-modification component of a treatment plan for autism spectrum disorders; the BCBA is not its route and the board's snapshot states no examination is required.
Pennsylvania has no behavior analyst licence to apply for.
The BACB's list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts omits the state, dated 2026-09-16, and what the research documented instead is a behavior specialist licence written into the state's autism insurance rules.
The credential is not aimed at BCBAs: the State Board of Medicine licenses a behavior specialist, defined as an individual who designs, implements or evaluates the behavior-modification intervention component of a treatment plan, including plans based on applied behavioral analysis, for autism spectrum disorders.
The subchapter's own purpose clause ties the licence to section 635.2(g) of The Insurance Company Law of 1921, not to any behavior-analyst practice act.
Whether a behavior analyst licensure bill is pending in Pennsylvania was not checked.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
“This subchapter implements section 635.2(g) of The Insurance Company Law of 1921 (40 P.S. §764h(g)) to provide for the licensure of behavior specialists.”
Section 18.524 sets the criteria.
The applicant needs a master's or higher degree from a Board-approved, accredited institution with a major in at least one listed field: school, clinical, developmental or counseling psychology; special education; social work; speech therapy; occupational therapy; professional counseling; behavioral analysis; nursing; or another related field.
Then at least 1 year of experience involving functional behavior assessments of individuals under 21 years of age, including developing and implementing behavioral supports or treatment plans, and at least 1,000 hours of in-person clinical experience with individuals with behavioral challenges or at least 1,000 hours of experience in a related field with individuals with autism spectrum disorders.
Plus 90 hours of course work in evidence-based practices, or training approved by the BACB or the Bureau of Autism Services: 3 hours of professional ethics approved by the BAS, 18 autism-specific, 16 assessments, 16 instructional strategies, 8 crisis intervention, 8 comorbidity and medications, 5 family collaboration and 16 addressing specific skill deficits.
Syllabus-documented degree hours, BACB continuing education credits and Bureau-approved training can count toward the 90 (§ 18.524(e)).
The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
“at least 1,000 hours of in-person clinical experience with individuals with behavioral challenges or at least 1,000 hours of experience in a related field with individuals with autism spectrum disorders”
The board's requirements snapshot lists the examination requirement in three words: No Examination Required.
That is the practical headline for a BCBA reading this page: there is no state exam to take or waive into, because the adjacent licence does not test at all.
The snapshot's other headline items are the master's degree, the 1 year of experience, and 3 hours of continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for the initial licence.
The absence of an exam does not make the licence automatic: the application must clear the criminal-history and child-abuse clearances described in § 18.523.
“No Examination Required”
The definition is practice-scoped to autism treatment: a behavior specialist designs, implements or evaluates the behavior-modification intervention component of a treatment plan to produce socially significant improvements in human behavior or to prevent loss of attained skill or function.
The definitions around it set the frame: a treatment plan is one developed by a licensed physician or psychologist, and the § 18.522 definition of a diagnostic assessment lists physicians, physician assistants, psychologists and certified registered nurse practitioners.
The carve-out that follows is not limited to that list: for anyone who holds a professional license whose scope of practice includes the diagnostic assessment or treatment of autism spectrum disorders, the subchapter is not intended to require dual licensure, impact the licensee's scope of practice or impact the licensee's ability to qualify as a participating provider.
Read together, the credential governs the behavior-modification component for the insurance law's purposes; it is not a general behavior analyst licence and the subchapter does not create one.
“To the extent that an individual holds a professional license whose scope of practice includes the diagnostic assessment or treatment of autism spectrum disorders, this subchapter is not intended to require dual licensure, impact the licensee’s scope of practice or impact the licensee’s ability to qualify as a participating provider.”
The snapshot describes two doors for applicants trained elsewhere.
Licensure by endorsement under Section 27 of the Medical Practice Act is available where an applicant does not meet the standard requirements but has achieved cumulative qualifications the Board endorses as equivalent.
Act 41, the portability act, authorizes boards to endorse out-of-state licences where the applicant holds a current, active license in good standing in another jurisdiction whose requirements are substantially equivalent to or exceed Pennsylvania's, has no disciplinary action or criminal convictions, has been actively engaged in the licensed practice of the profession for at least two of the last five years, and demonstrates competence as determined by the Board.
The snapshot names no behavior analyst credential among the routes, so a BCBA relocating to Pennsylvania should read the criteria as the checklist and confirm with the Board how prior qualifications map.
“The Board will grant a license without restriction to an applicant who does not meet the standard license requirements if the applicant has achieved cumulative qualifications that are endorsed by the Board as being equivalent to the standard requirements for the license.”
A behavior specialist licence expires on December 31 of the even-numbered year unless renewed for the next biennium, and renewal costs the same as the initial application: $75.
The only continuing education the rule and snapshot describe is child-abuse training: verification of at least 3 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting at application, and at least 2 hours as a condition of each biennial renewal.
No behavior-analytic CE is attached to the licence, because it is not a behavior analyst credential; a BCBA's own recertification cycle runs on the BACB's calendar, not the Board's.
“A license issued under this subchapter expires on December 31 of the even-numbered year unless renewed for the next biennium.”
Sections 18.523 and 18.525 were both amended by the same notice, effective March 26, 2022 (52 Pa.B.
1899), and their Authority lines cite the child-abuse training mandate, 23 Pa.C.S. § 6383(b)(2), alongside section 8 of the Medical Practice Act of 1985.
The saved Code pages record only that the sections were amended — immediately preceding text appears at serial pages — so which passages the 2022 amendments changed is not shown by the sources read.
What can be described is what § 18.523 requires now: conviction bars (a felony under the insurance law provision unless 10 years have elapsed with demonstrated rehabilitation; Megan's Law registration offenses without regard to elapsed time; good moral character) and the application clearances — a state-police criminal history report covering the previous 10 years, a child abuse history clearance and an FBI record check, each no more than 90 days old.
For a behavior analyst with any past record, these bars are the part of the application worth reading before paying the fee.
“Has been convicted of a felony offense as provided in section 635.2(g)(3) of The Insurance Company Act of 1921 unless at least 10 years have elapsed from the date of conviction and the applicant has satisfactorily demonstrated to the Board that the applicant has made significant progress in personal rehabilitation since the conviction that licensure of the applicant should not be expected to create a substantial risk of harm to the health and safety of the applicant’s patients or the public or a substantial risk of further criminal violations.”
A missing licence law does not mean no one sets staffing rules.
The cross-reference list at the end of § 18.524 points to 55 Pa.
Code § 5240.81, the staff-qualifications rule for ABA services in the DHS IBHS regulations, and the research did not read chapter 5240, so what Pennsylvania requires of behavior technicians and other ABA staff in those settings is not stated in the sources read.
Medicaid programs, insurers and employers can also write their own credential requirements, and those were outside this research.
If you are staffing an IBHS program or taking insurance-funded ABA work in Pennsylvania, ask the funding source and check the Department's chapter 5240 rules for which credential each role needs before you hire or accept an offer.
This page summarizes the Pennsylvania statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the State Board of Medicine (Pennsylvania Department of State) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the State Board of Medicine (Pennsylvania Department of State) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Pennsylvania that asks for it.
From the 53 active board certified behavior analyst listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active board certified behavior analyst listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 53 jobs →There is no behavior analyst licence to hold.
The BACB's list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts omitted Pennsylvania when it was read in September 2026, and the research found no behavior analyst credential in the sections it reviewed; pending bills were not checked.
That does not make every job credential-free: insurance-funded ABA and DHS IBHS programs set their own staffing rules, and the IBHS chapter was not read.
Ask the employer which credential its funding source requires.
No. The behavior specialist licence is issued by the State Board of Medicine under the autism insurance law, and its criteria are different: a master's degree in a listed field, 1 year of functional behavior assessment experience with individuals under 21, 1,000 hours of in-person clinical experience with individuals with behavioral challenges or 1,000 hours of experience in a related field with individuals with autism spectrum disorders, and 90 coursework hours, with no examination required.
The BCBA is not the route, though BACB continuing education credits can count toward the 90 hours under § 18.524(e)(2).
No state registration for behavior technicians was found at the Board of Medicine, which administers the behavior specialist licence.
The research did not read the DHS IBHS staffing rules at 55 Pa.
Code chapter 5240, so what those regulations require of ABA staff is not stated in the sources read.
RBT certification is issued by the BACB, not Pennsylvania, and any funder or employer requirement sits outside licensure.
Confirm with the program before you staff ABA hours.
Parts of it, in the ways the rule names.
The 90 coursework hours may come from hours completed during a master's degree or post-master's program as noted in a course syllabus, from BACB continuing education credits, or from Bureau of Autism Services-approved training.
The degree must still be in a listed field, and the year of functional behavior assessment experience and the 1,000-hour experience requirement — in-person clinical work with individuals with behavioral challenges, or experience in a related field with individuals with autism spectrum disorders — are measured by the rule, not by BACB fieldwork totals.
Confirm hour by hour with the Board before you apply.
The board's snapshot describes two routes.
Endorsement under Section 27 of the Medical Practice Act applies where your cumulative qualifications are endorsed by the Board as equivalent to Pennsylvania's standard requirements.
Act 41 portability requires a current, active license in good standing in another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent or exceeding requirements, no disciplinary action or criminal convictions, active practice for at least two of the last five years, and demonstrated competence.
Fees are $75 initial and $75 renewal.
Confirm your situation with the Board of Medicine.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the State Board of Medicine (Pennsylvania Department of State).