🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Do You Need a State License to Be a BCBA in South Carolina? What Applies Instead

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

No. South Carolina has no behavior analyst licence: the chapter index of S.C. Code Title 40, Professions and Occupations, lists no behavior analyst chapter, so there is no state board, state exam or state registry.

What exists instead is school access: Act 186 of 2026, effective 05/18/26, defines school private providers to include BCBAs, BCaBAs, BCBA-Ds and supervised RBTs whose services a district must consider on a parent's request.

It governs public-school access; it is not a licence and does not reach practice outside schools.

Verify before you rely on this

Laws change, and this page is career information, not legal advice. South Carolina has no state board for this profession, so confirm with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) and with the agency, payer or employer whose rule applies to the job.

At a glance

State credential

None.

South Carolina issues no behavior analyst licence, and the chapter index of S.C. Code Title 40, Professions and Occupations, lists 64 chapters and no behavior analyst chapter.

Regulator

No state licensing board.

For the adjacent school-access rule, the State Board of Education writes a model policy (due January 6, 2027), and each district adopts it or its own compliant policy, subject to department approval, by July 1, 2027 — school administration, not professional licensure.

BCBA as the route

Not a licence route, since there is no licence.

For school work, Act 186 (effective 05/18/26) names board-certified behavior analysts among private providers; where state licensure is not available, the provider must be certified by and in good standing with a national certification or accreditation organization.

The statute does not name the BACB.

Assistant credential

None issued by the state.

Act 186's private-provider definition includes board-certified assistant behavior analysts for school access; the statute does not name the certifying body, and it is not a state credential.

Technicians and RBTs

No state registration or certification.

Act 186 (effective 05/18/26) includes registered behavior technicians among school private providers, but only under the appropriate supervision of a board-certified behavior analyst or board-certified assistant behavior analyst and subject to the definition's other conditions — State licensure or, where licensure is not available, national certification in good standing, and no district or department employment (§ 59-10-510(1)).

Practice or title protection

Neither, as far as the research went: the Title 40 chapter index has no behavior analyst chapter, and Act 186 governs school access only.

The check was a chapter-index read, not a full-text search of the whole Code.

Governing law

No behavior analyst statute found in S.C. Code Title 40 (chapter index read; the BACB aggregate, page modified 2026-09-16, does not list South Carolina).

The adjacent rule is Act No. 186 (H.3974), effective 05/18/26, adding S.C. Code § 59-10-510 et seq. — school private providers; it does not create a licence.

What South Carolina recognizes instead

  1. Registered behavior technician (school private provider)Other

    Not a state credential: Act 186 of 2026 names registered behavior technicians among the school private providers who may render ABA therapy or perform evaluations in a South Carolina public school, but only under the appropriate supervision of a board-certified behavior analyst or board-certified assistant behavior analyst, and subject to the definition's remaining conditions — State licensure or, where licensure is not available, national certification in good standing, and no school district or State Department of Education employment (§ 59-10-510(1)).

  2. Board-certified assistant behavior analyst (school private provider)Other

    Not a state credential: Act 186's private-provider definition includes board-certified assistant behavior analysts serving South Carolina public schools, subject to the same conditions — State licensure or, where licensure is not available, national certification in good standing, and no school district or department employment (§ 59-10-510(1)).

  3. Board-certified behavior analyst (school private provider)(BCBA)Other

    Not a state licence: Act 186 names board-certified behavior analysts and board-certified behavior analyst-doctoral among school private providers; the BCBA-D is a designation on the BCBA, not a separate certification.

    The rest of the definition — public-school setting, licensure or national certification in good standing, no school district or State Department of Education employment — applies the same (§ 59-10-510(1)).

No South Carolina licence, and no board to apply to

📜 S.C. Code Title 40 chapter index; BACB, Licensure of Behavior Analysis in the United States (page modified 2026-09-16)

Title 40 of the S.C. Code holds the state's profession and occupation laws, and its chapter index lists 64 chapters — psychologists, social workers, professional counselors, marriage and family therapists and genetic counselors among them — and no behavior analyst chapter.

The BACB's own list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts did not include South Carolina either (aggregate page modified 2026-09-16).

So a BCBA moving to South Carolina has nothing to apply for at the state level: no board, no application, no state exam.

The negative has a stated limit: the research read the Title 40 chapter index, and it was not a full-text search of the whole Code.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

“In the profession of applied behavior analysis, the BACB's primary role is to operate certification programs, which involves responsibilities similar to regulatory boards.”

Without a state rule, the BACB sets the written standard

📜 BACB, BCBA Handbook (updated 06/2026), p. 1

Because South Carolina sets no degree, coursework, supervised-hours or exam rule of its own, the written requirements that remain for a South Carolina behavior analyst outside the school-access rule are the BACB's.

The BCBA is a graduate-level certification in behavior analysis, and its holders practise as independent practitioners under the BACB's ethics code and discipline system.

Those rules are national and change on the BACB's schedule, not South Carolina's — this site's BCBA guides cover the degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements in detail.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

“The Board Certified Behavior Analyst® (BCBA®) is a graduate-level certification in behavior analysis.”

Act 186: school access on a parent's request, not a licence

📜 Act No. 186 (H.3974), eff. 05/18/26; S.C. Code §§ 59-10-510(1), 59-10-520

Act 186 adds Article 5, Private Providers, to Chapter 10 of Title 59, the education title.

A private provider renders ABA therapy or performs an evaluation or observation under such therapy, serves or seeks to serve in a South Carolina public school, is licensed by this State and in good standing or, where state licensure is not available, certified by and in good standing with a national certification or accreditation organization, and is not a public school district or State Department of Education employee.

The definition names board-certified behavior analysts, assistant behavior analysts, BCBA-Ds and registered behavior technicians under appropriate supervision.

Districts must consider a parent's request case by case under ADA standards, and a request does not automatically entitle a student to services; the services at issue are medically necessary services authorized by an independent third-party payor, defined around treating functional impairments associated with an autism spectrum disorder diagnosis.

This is a school-access rule, not a licence, and it creates no credential for work outside schools.

““Private provider” means a provider who: (a) renders Applied Behavior Analysis therapy or performs an evaluation or observation pursuant to such therapy, and includes: (i) board-certified behavior analysts; (ii) board-certified assistant behavior analysts; (iii) board-certified behavior analyst-doctoral; and (iv) registered behavior technicians under the appropriate supervision of a board-certified behavior analyst or board-certified assistant behavior analyst; (b) provides or seeks to provide services in a South Carolina public school; (c) is licensed by this State and in good standing or, if state licensure is not available, is certified by and in good standing with a national certification or accreditation organization; and (d) is not an employee of a public school district or the State Department of Education.”

Act 186's implementation clock: district policies due July 1, 2027

📜 S.C. Code § 59-10-540 (Act No. 186 of 2026)

Act No. 186 (H.3974) was ratified May 14, 2026 and approved May 18, 2026; the act takes effect upon approval by the Governor, and the bill page records the effective date as 05/18/26.

The case-by-case district review in § 59-10-520 is therefore already in force.

Two dates structure what comes next: the State Board of Education must finalize its model policy by January 6, 2027, and each district must adopt the model policy or its own policy meeting the model's minimums, subject to department approval, by July 1, 2027.

Those minimums include documentation of completed background checks before a provider enters a school building, professional liability insurance, and a written agreement with the district.

“The board shall finalize its model policy by January 6, 2027. Districts must adopt the model policy or develop their own policy that meets the minimum requirements of the model policy and is subject to department approval by July 1, 2027.”

What this page cannot tell you: funder and employer rules

📜 S.C. Code Title 40 chapter index; BACB aggregate list of jurisdictions (page modified 2026-09-16)

A missing licence law does not mean no one sets requirements.

Medicaid, insurers and employers can write their own staffing standards, and those were outside this research: whether a South Carolina funder requires BCBA certification for the analyst or RBT certification for the technician is not stated in the sources read.

The negative itself is scoped: this page rests on a read of the Title 40 chapter index, not a full-text search of the whole Code, so a rule sitting outside that index would not have been caught.

Ask the employer which credential the job's funding source requires before you accept an offer or start a certification you did not plan on.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the South Carolina statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in South Carolina that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to practice ABA in South Carolina?

No state licence exists.

The chapter index of Title 40 of the S.C. Code, the professions title, lists no behavior analyst chapter, and the BACB's list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts did not include South Carolina (aggregate page modified 2026-09-16).

That is not a promise every job is open: employers and funders can require BCBA certification, and their rules were outside this research.

Ask the employer which credential the position needs, and check the General Assembly's site for anything newer.

Can a BCBA provide ABA inside a South Carolina public school?

Yes, under Act 186 (effective 05/18/26) — the statute defines private providers; it creates no licence.

A board-certified behavior analyst fits the definition when providing or seeking to provide services in a South Carolina public school, holding State licensure in good standing or, where licensure is not available, national certification in good standing, and not being a school district or State Department of Education employee (§ 59-10-510(1)).

The district weighs a parent's request case by case under ADA standards (§ 59-10-520); a request does not automatically entitle a student to services, which must be medically necessary services authorized by an independent third-party payor, tied to autism spectrum disorder treatment.

Do RBTs need a South Carolina registration or certification?

No state registration or certification exists for behavior technicians; RBT certification is issued by the BACB, a private body.

Act 186 names registered behavior technicians in the school private-provider definition, but they must meet its other conditions: appropriate supervision by a board-certified behavior analyst or board-certified assistant behavior analyst, State licensure or national certification in good standing, and no school district or State Department of Education employment (§ 59-10-510(1)). § 59-10-530 requires the model policy (due January 6, 2027) to make providers submit completed background-check documentation before entering a school building and maintain professional liability insurance.

Whether a funder requires RBT certification is not stated in the sources read.

I hold a behavior analyst licence in another state. Does it transfer?

There is nothing to transfer into: South Carolina issues no behavior analyst licence, so there is no endorsement or reciprocity process at the state level.

What travels is your national certification: Act 186 names board-certified behavior analysts among school private providers, though the statute does not name the certifying body (§ 59-10-510(1)).

What a given employer, insurer or Medicaid program accepts was outside this research, so ask before accepting an offer.

For anything newer than this page's sources, check the South Carolina Legislature's site.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in South Carolina
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Carolina & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB).