🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Behavior Analyst Licensure in South Dakota: BCBA and State License Requirements

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

South Dakota licenses behavior analysts under SDCL chapter 36-38, a 2016 act administered by the Board of Social Work Examiners with a three-member advisory committee.

There is one licence, behavior analyst, and it restricts both practice and the title.

The route is a master's or doctoral degree plus current BCBA certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, a five-year record free of disqualifying convictions, and verification of no pending discipline elsewhere.

Assistants and paraprofessionals need no licence: they work under a conditioned exemption, with fingerprint background checks whose fees the supervising analyst pays.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In South Dakota, that is the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners (Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee).

At a glance

State credential

One licence: behavior analyst.

SDCL ch. 36-38 creates no assistant licence; assistants and paraprofessionals practise under a conditioned exemption (§ 36-38-5(6)).

Regulator

The Board of Social Work Examiners established in chapter 36-26 (§ 36-38-1(3)), advised by a three-member Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee appointed by the Governor (§ 36-38-4).

BCBA as the route

Yes.

An applicant must hold a current certification as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, Inc., or any successor in interest to that organization, plus a master's degree or a doctoral degree (§ 36-38-7).

Assistant credential

None.

The chapter issues no assistant licence; an assistant behavior analyst or paraprofessional is exempt when working under a behavior analyst's extended authority and direction, with BACB-standard supervision and background checks (§ 36-38-5(6)).

Technicians and RBTs

No state licence or registration.

A paraprofessional is exempt under the assistant conditions and must use a title such as ABA technician, behavior technician, tutor, or line therapist; a felony or moral-turpitude misdemeanor conviction in the past five years bars the work (§ 36-38-26); the statute does not mention RBT certification (§ 36-38-5(6)).

Practice or title protection

Both.

Section 36-38-6 bars representing oneself as a behavior analyst and engaging in or attempting to practise applied behavior analysis without the licence; unlicensed practice is a Class 2 misdemeanor (§ 36-38-19).

Governing law

SDCL ch. 36-38 (SL 2016, ch 199), amended by SL 2019 ch 175, SL 2020 ch 167, SL 2021 ch 168 and SL 2023 ch 172; the sections read do not state an effective date for the act.

The South Dakota credential ladder

  1. Assistant behavior analyst or paraprofessional (exempt)Other

    Not a credential: an exemption for a person who delivers applied behavior analysis services under the extended authority and direction of a behavior analyst, supervised per BACB requirements, using a title that indicates assistant or paraprofessional status, after a criminal background check and fingerprint checks the supervising behavior analyst pays for (§§ 36-38-5(6); 36-38-25).

  2. Behavior analystIndependent

    The licence required to represent oneself as a behavior analyst and to practise applied behavior analysis in South Dakota, issued to an applicant with a master's or doctoral degree, current BCBA certification, no disqualifying conviction in the past five years, and verification of no pending discipline elsewhere (§§ 36-38-6; 36-38-7).

One licence, and both practice and the title are restricted

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-6; 36-38-19; 36-38-22

South Dakota issues a single credential: the behavior analyst licence.

Section 36-38-6 restricts both directions at once — you may not represent yourself as a behavior analyst, and you may not engage in or attempt to practise applied behavior analysis, unless you are licensed or exempt.

Unlicensed practice is a Class 2 misdemeanor (§ 36-38-19), and the chapter is also enforceable in civil court: the state's attorney may seek an injunction, and any citizen of the state may sue (§ 36-38-22).

The definition section scopes the licence to the provision of applied behavior analysis as §§ 36-38-2 and 36-38-3 define it, and ties the title to meeting the qualifications of subdivision 58-17-159(2), a cross-reference whose text is not in the sources read.

No assistant licence appears anywhere in the chapter.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

“No person may represent himself or herself as a behavior analyst, or engage in the practice of, or attempt to practice applied behavior analysis unless licensed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter as an applied behavior analyst or exempted under the provisions of this chapter.”

The four qualifications: degree, current BCBA certification, record, discipline status

📜 SDCL § 36-38-7

An applicant needs four things.

First, a master's degree or a doctoral degree — the chapter names no required field.

Second, current certification as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, Inc., or any successor in interest to that organization: BACB certification is the route, not a substitute.

Third, no conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, as subdivision 22-1-2(25) defines it, during the past five years.

Fourth, verification that the applicant is not subject to any disciplinary proceeding or pending complaint before any other licensing board — unless this board considers that proceeding or complaint and agrees to licensure.

The chapter adds no coursework, fieldwork or hour rule of its own; those standards ride in through the BACB certification.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

“The board may grant a license as a behavior analyst to an applicant who: (1) Has earned a master's degree or a doctoral degree; (2) Holds a current certification as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, Inc., or any successor in interest to that organization;”

No state exam is named; certification carries the exam load

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-7; 36-38-27

The qualification list names no South Dakota examination.

The exam a candidate actually sits is the BACB's own, embedded in the BCBA certification the statute requires — the BACB's exam rules are national and belong to the how-to-become coverage, not this page.

Section 36-38-27 does let the board promulgate rules delineating qualifications for licensure, and the board's rules were not among the sources read, so whether any state-specific exam or jurisprudence test exists is not stated in the sources read.

Check the application instructions on the board's page before you file.

Assistants and paraprofessionals: no licence, but titled, supervised and fingerprinted

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-5(6); 36-38-25; 36-38-26

There is no assistant licence to apply for.

An assistant behavior analyst or paraprofessional works lawfully under an exemption with four conditions: services are delivered under the extended authority and direction of a behavior analyst and supervised per BACB requirements; the person may not represent himself or herself as a behavior analyst; the person uses a title showing assistant or paraprofessional status — the statute lists assistant behavior analyst, ABA technician, behavior technician, tutor, or line therapist; and the person submits to a criminal background check and fingerprint checks through the Division of Criminal Investigation.

Two rules matter for employers.

The supervising behavior analyst, not the assistant, is responsible for the fingerprinting and background-check fees, and the resulting records stay confidential (§ 36-38-25).

And a person convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude in the past five years may not deliver services under a behavior analyst's direction at all (§ 36-38-26).

The statute does not mention RBT certification.

“Assistant behavior analyst or paraprofessional who delivers applied behavior analysis services under the extended authority and direction of a behavior analyst provided that the services are supervised in accordance with the requirements of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, Inc. The assistant behavior analyst or paraprofessional may not represent himself or herself as a behavior analyst, and shall use a title that indicates assistant or paraprofessional status, such as an assistant behavior analyst, ABA technician, behavior technician, tutor, or line therapist.”

What the licence covers: behavior change programs, not diagnosis or therapy

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-2; 36-38-3; 36-38-24

The practice of applied behavior analysis means applying principles of operant and respondent learning, including designing, supervising, evaluating and modifying treatment programs — for individuals with an autism spectrum disorder, for individuals and for groups — plus consultation to individuals and organizations.

The exclusions matter just as much for reading a job description: diagnosis, counseling, psychological testing, personality, intellectual and neuropsychological assessment, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, family therapy, care coordination, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy and long-term counseling are all outside the practice.

The behavior analyst licence itself does not authorize diagnosis or therapy — the chapter limits what counts as the practice of applied behavior analysis.

The chapter also makes the relations and communications between a licensee and a person consulting them in a professional capacity confidential (§ 36-38-24).

“The term, practice of applied behavior analysis, does not include diagnosis, counseling, psychological testing, personality assessment, intellectual assessment, neuropsychological assessment, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, family therapy, coordination of care, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy, or long-term counseling as a treatment modality.”

Moving to South Dakota: qualify like everyone else; short visits are exempt only on conditions

📜 SDCL § 36-38-5(2)

The chapter as read contains no reciprocity or endorsement section: an out-of-state behavior analyst applies under the same four qualifications as anyone else (§ 36-38-7).

The one movement rule is an exemption for a non-resident provider — one who has established an office in this state — whose in-state services stay within a twenty-day aggregate in a year and who is authorized to perform these activities where they live.

The drafting is awkward (the statute says the period must not 'exceed an aggregate of more than twenty days'), so confirm the counting with the board before relying on it.

If the provider exceeds twenty consecutive days of practice in a calendar year, they must report to the board, in writing, the nature and extent of their practice in the state.

For ongoing work, plan to apply.

“Provider who is not a resident of this state, and who has established an office in this state, who provides behavior analyst services in this state for a period which does not exceed an aggregate of more than twenty days during any one year if the provider is authorized under the laws of the state or country of residence to perform these activities and services.”

Annual renewal on the board's schedule; fees capped by statute

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-8; 36-38-10; 36-38-27; Board of Social Work Examiners website

Section 36-38-27 authorizes board rules specifying requirements for the annual renewal of licensure, and the board's fee page prices that renewal at $300.00 a year.

The statute caps the amounts: an application fee set by board rule, not to exceed $300 (§ 36-38-8), and an initial-licensure fee, due after the applicant presents evidence of certification, not to exceed $350 (§ 36-38-10).

The board's page lists a $350.00 initial application fee and a $300.00 annual licensing fee — $650.00 in total for a first licence — and its labels do not line up one-to-one with the statute's, so confirm the current schedule with the board before you pay.

Fees for BACB certification itself are paid directly to the BACB.

No continuing education total appears in the chapter; any CE rule would sit in the board's rules, which were not read, so it is not stated in the sources read.

Four later amendments; the sources read do not say what they changed

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-4; 36-38-21; 36-38-22; 36-38-23; 36-38-25

The chapter's own source notes record four amendments after the 2016 act.

SL 2019, ch 175, § 1 amended § 36-38-25, the background-check section.

SL 2020, ch 167, § 10 amended § 36-38-4, the advisory-committee section.

SL 2021, ch 168, §§ 47 and 48 repealed § 36-38-21 outright.

SL 2023, ch 172, § 1 amended both § 36-38-22 (injunctions, including the citizen suit) and § 36-38-23 (money credited to the board's fund).

The saved sources show the amended sections' current text but not the session laws themselves, so what each amendment changed, and when each took effect, is not stated in the sources read.

The licence requirement (§ 36-38-6), the qualifications (§ 36-38-7), the exemptions (§ 36-38-5) and the rule-writing authority (§ 36-38-27) still carry only their 2016 source notes.

Who else is exempt, and who regulates

📜 SDCL §§ 36-38-5; 36-38-4; 36-38-11

Section 36-38-5 exempts eleven groups: (1) employees of a regionally accredited academic institution performing teaching, training or research duties; (3) physicians, psychologists, counselors, social workers, clergy and other listed professionals within their profession's standards and without a behavior analyst title; (4) students in a defined program directly supervised by a behavior analyst in this state, an instructor in a course sequence approved by the certifying entity, or another qualified faculty member, using a training-status title; (5) family members implementing plans under a behavior analyst's direction; (7) practice with nonhumans; (8) organization-level consultants with no direct services to any person; (9) unlicensed people accruing BACB-supervised experience under a training-status title; (10) school board employees performing the duties of their position; and (11) anyone meeting subdivision 58-17-159(1), whose text is not in the sources read.

(2) and (6) are covered above.

Behind the licence sit the Board of Social Work Examiners and a three-member Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee — two licensees and one public member, meeting at least annually — and the board must adopt a code of ethics (§ 36-38-11).

“The Governor shall appoint an applied behavior analyst advisory committee composed of three members. Two of the members shall be behavior analysts licensed under this chapter and the other member shall represent the public and be unaffiliated with the profession.”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the South Dakota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners (Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners (Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in South Dakota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

I am a BCBA moving to South Dakota. Do I need a state licence?

Yes, unless an exemption in SDCL § 36-38-5 fits your work.

Section 36-38-6 bars both representing yourself as a behavior analyst and practising applied behavior analysis without the licence.

The route is the same for everyone: a master's or doctoral degree, current BACB BCBA certification, no felony or moral-turpitude misdemeanor in the past five years, and verification that no disciplinary proceeding or pending complaint is open elsewhere (§ 36-38-7).

The chapter as read has no reciprocity section; a non-resident provider with an established SD office, authorized where they live, is exempt within the twenty-day aggregate (§ 36-38-5(2)).

Do RBTs or behavior technicians need a South Dakota credential?

No state licence or registration exists for them in the chapter.

A paraprofessional is exempt under SDCL § 36-38-5(6) when delivering applied behavior analysis under a behavior analyst's extended authority and direction, supervised per BACB requirements, using a title such as ABA technician, behavior technician, tutor, or line therapist, and after the fingerprint background checks submitted under § 36-38-25 — fees the supervising analyst pays.

A person with a felony or moral-turpitude misdemeanor conviction in the past five years may not deliver services under a behavior analyst's direction at all (§ 36-38-26).

The statute never mentions RBT certification; employers and payers may still require it.

What does the South Dakota behavior analyst licence cost?

The statute caps the amounts: the application fee is set by board rule and may not exceed $300 (§ 36-38-8), and the initial-licensure fee, paid after you present evidence of certification, may not exceed $350 (§ 36-38-10).

The board's fee page lists a $350.00 initial application fee and a $300.00 annual licensing fee — $650.00 total for a first licence — plus a $300.00 annual renewal.

The page's labels and the statute's do not line up one-to-one, so confirm the current schedule with the board before paying.

BACB certification fees go directly to the BACB.

Is there a South Dakota exam or continuing education requirement?

The chapter names no state examination: the exam you sit is the BACB's own, built into the BCBA certification § 36-38-7 requires.

It sets no continuing education total either.

Section 36-38-27 authorizes board rules covering qualifications, annual renewal and supervision of assistants, and the board's rules were not among the sources read, so any state-specific exam or CE rule is not stated in the sources read.

Check the board's application and renewal instructions before you file.

Who can provide applied behavior analysis in South Dakota without the licence?

SDCL § 36-38-5 exempts eleven groups.

Highlights: school board employees performing their position's duties (they may not call themselves behavior analysts unless licensed).

Listed professionals — physicians, psychologists, counselors, social workers, clergy and more — are exempt working within their profession's standards without a behavior analyst title.

So are family members implementing plans under a behavior analyst's direction, students in a defined program directly supervised by a behavior analyst, a certifying-entity-approved course-sequence instructor, or another qualified faculty member, using a training-status title.

Also exempt: supervised-experience seekers and non-resident providers with an established SD office, authorized at home, within the twenty-day aggregate.

Assistants and paraprofessionals need the § 36-38-5(6) conditions.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in South Dakota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Dakota & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners (Applied Behavior Analyst Advisory Committee).