🧭 Behavior analyst licensure

Behavior Analyst Licensure in Tennessee: BCBA and State License Requirements

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Tennessee licenses behavior analysts at two levels, the Licensed Behavior Analyst and the Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst, under Part 3 of the psychologists' chapter, Title 63, chapter 11.

BACB certification is the route: an LBA applicant must be a current BCBA or BCBA-D, an LABA applicant a current BCaBA supervised by an LBA.

Unlicensed persons may deliver ABA under a licensee's extended authority and direction; the statute does not mention RBT certification.

Renewal is biennial, on current BACB certification plus three hours of cultural-diversity CE.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Tennessee, that is the Applied Behavior Analyst Licensing Committee (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards).

At a glance

State credential

Two licences: Licensed Behavior Analyst and Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst, under Part 3 of Title 63, chapter 11 (Acts 2014, ch. 918).

The committee was created in 2014, and its rules chapter took effect June 21, 2017.

Regulator

The five-member Applied Behavior Analyst Licensing Committee at the Tennessee Department of Health's Division of Health Related Boards: three licensed behavior analysts, one assistant behavior analyst and one consumer member, all appointed by the governor; its chair sits on the Board of Examiners in Psychology.

BCBA as the route

Yes.

LBA applicants must be certified as a BCBA or board certified behavior analyst-doctoral at the time of application; LABA applicants must be certified as a board certified assistant behavior analyst at that time (T.C.A. § 63-11-304(a)(4)–(5)).

Assistant credential

Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst: BCaBA certification at application, no certifying-entity disciplinary action, and proof of ongoing supervision by an LBA who is currently certified as a BCBA or BCBA-D, consistent with the certifying entity's supervision requirements (T.C.A. § 63-11-304(a)(5)).

Technicians and RBTs

No state registration.

Unlicensed persons are exempt when they deliver ABA under the extended authority and direction of an LBA, or of an LABA who is supervised by an LBA, and may not represent themselves as professional behavior analysts (T.C.A. § 63-11-306(2)); the statute does not mention RBT certification.

Practice or title protection

Both, as the rules frame it: rule 1180-05-.03 requires a current Tennessee licence before engaging in practice as an LBA or LABA unless exempt, makes it unlawful for an unlicensed person to represent themselves as licensed, and gives licensees the right to the titles.

The saved statute text covers §§ 63-11-304 and 63-11-306 only, so the statute's own restriction wording was not read.

Governing law

Tenn.

Code Ann. §§ 63-11-301 et seq., Part 3 of chapter 11 (Psychologists); Acts 2014, ch. 918; § 63-11-304 amended 2023, ch. 426, § 7; rules chapter 1180-05, originally effective June 21, 2017, with fee amendments effective May 7, 2025.

The Tennessee credential ladder

  1. Exempt unlicensed personOther

    Not a credential: an unlicensed person is exempt from the part while delivering applied behavior analysis services under the extended authority and direction of an LBA, or of an LABA who is supervised by an LBA, and may not represent themselves as a professional behavior analyst (T.C.A. § 63-11-306(2)).

  2. Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst(LABA)Other

    A committee licence issued to a current BCaBA who is free of certifying-entity discipline and proves ongoing supervision by an LBA certified as a BCBA or BCBA-D; holding it gives the right to use the title and practise applied behavior analysis under supervision (T.C.A. § 63-11-304(a)(5); Rule 1180-05-.03(3)).

  3. Licensed Behavior Analyst(LBA)Independent

    The committee's full licence, issued to a current BCBA or BCBA-D who meets the application requirements; it carries the right to use the title Licensed Behavior Analyst and to practise applied behavior analysis in Tennessee (T.C.A. § 63-11-304(a)(4); Rule 1180-05-.03(3)).

Two licences, and the titles are reserved for licensees

📜 T.C.A. § 63-11-306(4), (7); Rules 1180-05-.03(2), 1180-05-.03(3)

The committee issues exactly two licences, and rule 1180-05-.03(3) attaches the right to use the titles Licensed Behavior Analyst and Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst to holding the matching licence.

Rule 1180-05-.03(2) makes it unlawful for anyone not licensed under T.C.A. §§ 63-11-301 et seq. to represent themselves as licensed, including through titles on signs, stationery, telephone listings and calling cards.

The exemption section adds a title nuance: behavior analysts who practise with nonhumans (§ 63-11-306(4)) and people whose teaching or research of behavior analysis does not involve delivering direct behavior analytic services (§ 63-11-306(7)) may use the plain title behavior analyst without a licence, but may not present themselves as LBAs or LABAs unless the committee issued their credential.

For exempt unlicensed deliverers the bar is lower still: they may not represent themselves as professional behavior analysts at all.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

“Prior to the engagement of the practice as a licensed behavior analyst or licensed assistant behavior analyst in Tennessee, a person must hold a current Tennessee license unless exempted from licensure pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-11-306.”

The route: current BACB certification, not a Tennessee degree rule

📜 T.C.A. §§ 63-11-304(a)(1), (3), (4), (5); Rules 1180-05-.04, 1180-05-.05

Tennessee writes no degree, coursework or fieldwork rule of its own.

The application must show the applicant is at least twenty-one (21) years of age, of good moral character and working to the certifying entity's ethical standards, holds no refused, revoked, suspended or restricted professional credential and has no pending complaint, allegation or investigation for unprofessional conduct unless the committee finds the conduct corrected or mitigated.

For the licence itself, an LBA applicant shows current BCBA or BCBA-D certification and an LABA applicant current BCaBA certification, each with no certifying-entity disciplinary action.

The rules then fix the documents: a passport-style photograph and certified birth certificate, proof of certification sent directly from the certifying entity, two character letters from professionals dated within the preceding 12 months, and a criminal background check sent directly from the vendor the committee identifies.

A legacy route exists for people qualified by the Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities before July 12, 2012, if the requirements of T.C.A. § 63-11-307(c) are met.

The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

“LBA applicants shall: (A) Be certified as a BCBA or board certified behavior analyst-doctoral at the time of application; and (B) Not be the subject of disciplinary actions by the certifying entity”

The certifying entity's exam stands in; no Tennessee exam is named

📜 Rule 1180-05-.07(7)(b); T.C.A. § 63-11-304

Neither § 63-11-304 nor the saved rules chapter names a Tennessee examination for behavior analysts.

Licensure rides on the certification itself, and BACB certification follows the BCBA or BCaBA examination; the BACB's exam details are covered in the BCBA articles, not here.

The rules mention examinations only generically, in application processing: an application file may be closed if the applicant fails to take or retake required examinations within the specified time frame (1180-05-.07(7)(b)).

Whether the committee requires any additional state-specific exam is not stated in the sources read, so read the current application instructions before filing.

Who works under a licensee: assistants, exempt deliverers and trainees

📜 T.C.A. §§ 63-11-306(2), (6), (8); Rule 1180-05-.04(2)(c)

Supervision is load-bearing at both lower levels.

An LABA licence depends on proof of ongoing supervision by an LBA who is currently certified as a BCBA or BCBA-D, in line with the certifying entity's requirements for supervising assistants, so losing a supervisor is a licensing problem, not just an employment one.

Unlicensed deliverers are exempt under § 63-11-306(2) when they work under the extended authority and direction of an LBA, or of an LABA who is supervised by an LBA — a condition the LABA's licence already imposes, since § 63-11-304(a)(5)(C) requires ongoing supervision by an LBA.

Students, interns and postdoctoral fellows in a defined program of study are exempt when directly supervised by an in-state LBA or an instructor in a BACB approved course sequence, and must use trainee titles such as behavior analysis student, intern or trainee.

People pursuing experiential training consistent with the BACB's experience requirements are exempt when an in-state LBA who meets BACB supervisor requirements supervises the experience under BACB standards.

Supervision ratios for exempt unlicensed deliverers are not stated in the sources read.

“Unlicensed persons who deliver applied behavior analysis (ABA) services under the extended authority and direction of an LBA or an LABA who is supervised by an LBA. Such persons shall not represent themselves as professional behavior analysts”

What the licence covers, and who is exempt without it

📜 Rules 1180-05-.01(3), 1180-05-.02; T.C.A. § 63-11-306(1), (3), (5)

The rules define applied behavior analysis as the design, implementation and evaluation of environmental modifications by a behavior analyst to produce socially significant improvements in human behavior, including functional assessment and analysis.

The practice expressly excludes psychological testing, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy and long-term counseling as treatment modalities, and no licence authorises administering, dispensing or prescribing drugs or practising medicine.

Other human services professionals licensed, registered or certified by the state are exempt when working within the scope of their professions, training and competence, so a licensed psychologist or counselor does not need the LBA for work inside their own scope.

Family members implementing ABA procedures under a licensee's extended authority are exempt but, like unlicensed deliverers, may not represent themselves as professional behavior analysts, and providers of general ABA services to organizations are exempt where the services benefit the organizations and involve no direct services to individuals.

Section 63-11-306 contains no explicit school-employee exemption.

“The practice of applied behavior analysis expressly excludes psychological testing, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, hypnotherapy and long-term counseling as treatment modalities.”

Moving to Tennessee: reciprocity procedure and the out-of-state FAQ

📜 Rules 1180-05-.05(3), 1180-05-.05(1)(i), 1180-05-.05(2)(j); Tennessee Department of Health ABA Committee page

The rules give reciprocity applicants a procedure, not a short-cut: comply with the same licensure-by-criteria steps as everyone else, except the two good-moral-character letters (1180-05-.05(3), waiving the clauses at 1180-05-.05(1)(f) and 1180-05-.05(2)(g)).

An applicant who holds or has ever held a behavior-analysis licence or certificate in another jurisdiction must file a verification from that regulator showing active status and good standing, or standing at the time it lapsed.

The committee's page adds two practice points for movers: a provider must be licensed in Tennessee to treat a client in Tennessee, including by telehealth, unless operating in a free clinic environment, and active-duty servicemembers and military spouses have a portability application route under the Military Families Licensing Recognition Act.

The statute's substantive reciprocity standard, T.C.A. § 63-11-308, is named in the rule's authority line but its text was not saved, so confirm eligibility with the committee.

Biennial renewal on current BACB certification plus three cultural-diversity hours

📜 Rules 1180-05-.06, 1180-05-.08, 1180-05-.09, 1180-05-.12, 1180-05-.13

A licence renews by the expiration date on the initial licence: a signed renewal application, the renewal fee plus the $10 state regulatory fee, proof of current B.A.C.B. certification, and proof of three (3) continuing education hours on cultural diversity.

Fees in effect since May 7, 2025: LBA renewal $150 biennial, LABA $100, application $50, late renewal $100, reinstatement $100.

Licensees must maintain their national certification and meet the certifying entity's continuing education requirements; licensees not certified through the BACB accrue hours under BACB standards.

The committee adopts the BACB's Ethical Code, with state law and committee position statements controlling in a conflict.

Retired licensees re-enter on current B.A.C.B. certification, a reactivation application and fees, with no criminal or practice-act violations that would prohibit initial licensure, if out of clinical practice or an educational setting two (2) years or less or licensed in good standing and in continuous practice in another state when retired.

Out longer than two (2) years adds six (6) months of clinical supervision by a licensed behavior analyst holding BACB or BACB-D certification.

“It is the responsibility of every licensee to maintain his or her national certification and comply with all continuing education requirements of the credentialing entity, regardless of whether he or she receives direct reminders to do so.”

What changed in 2023–2025

📜 T.C.A. § 63-11-304(b) (2023, ch. 426, § 7); Rule 1180-05-.06 (amendments effective May 7, 2025)

The saved history shows two recent changes.

The 2023 amendment (2023, ch. 426, § 7) added § 63-11-304(b), a decision clock: within sixty (60) days of receiving a completed application for initial licensure, the board must render a decision or inform the applicant of the need to appear, and a completed application is defined as one that satisfies all statutory and board rule requirements.

The fee schedule was then amended effective May 7, 2025, producing the fees on this page.

The cultural-diversity CE requirement and the current renewal provisions date from rule amendments effective August 17, 2021, after a 75-day stay.

Neither change touched the certification route or the exemption list in the saved text.

Practising while your application pends: the temporary authorization

📜 Rule 1180-05-.07(3); T.C.A. § 63-1-142

A completed Tennessee application does not have to sit idle.

After a committee designee's initial determination that the file shows all requirements for licensure, renewal or reinstatement are met, a temporary authorization to practice may issue under T.C.A. § 63-1-142; it lasts until the committee and the Board of Examiners in Psychology make a final decision, for no more than six months.

Two clocks punish drift: an application is deemed abandoned if not completed within 60 days after initial submission and review, or within 60 days of a request for more information, and an abandoned file requires a new application.

For a BCBA relocating for a job, filing a complete file the first time is what unlocks the temporary authorization.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Tennessee statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Applied Behavior Analyst Licensing Committee (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Applied Behavior Analyst Licensing Committee (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Tennessee that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

I am a BCBA certified in another state. Can I practise in Tennessee right away?

Not until the committee issues your licence.

BACB certification is the route to the licence, not a substitute for it: T.C.A. § 63-11-304(a)(4) requires LBA applicants to be certified as a BCBA or BCBA-D at application, and rule 1180-05-.03 requires a current Tennessee licence before engaging in practice unless an exemption applies.

The committee's FAQ says a provider must be licensed in Tennessee to treat a client in Tennessee, including by telehealth, except in a free clinic environment.

Reciprocity applicants follow the standard steps minus the two character letters.

Do RBTs or behavior technicians need a Tennessee licence or registration?

No state registration for technicians appears in the sources read.

T.C.A. § 63-11-306(2) exempts unlicensed persons delivering ABA services under the extended authority and direction of an LBA, or of an LABA who is supervised by an LBA, provided they do not represent themselves as professional behavior analysts.

The statute does not mention RBT certification, though employers and payers may still require it.

The saved rules chapter sets no technician supervision ratios, so confirm conditions with the committee before starting work.

How long does the Tennessee LBA application take?

A 2023 amendment put a clock on it: within sixty (60) days of receiving a completed application for initial licensure, the board must render a decision or inform the applicant of the need to appear before it, and completed means an application satisfying all statutory and board rule requirements (T.C.A. § 63-11-304(b)).

An incomplete file is abandoned if not finished within 60 days of a request for more information.

Once a designee confirms the completed file shows all requirements, a temporary authorization to practice may issue for up to six months while the committee decides.

What keeps a Tennessee behavior analyst licence active at renewal?

Renewal is biennial and rests on two proofs: current national certification by the B.A.C.B. and three (3) continuing education hours on cultural diversity (rules 1180-05-.08 and 1180-05-.12).

Your BACB recertification and the state renewal move together: let the certification lapse and you cannot prove the renewal requirement.

Fees in effect since May 7, 2025: $150 per biennial renewal for an LBA, $100 for an LABA, plus the $10 state regulatory fee.

Confirm current requirements with the committee before your expiration date.

Is there a grandfather route for people qualified under the old DIDD system?

Yes, and it is narrow.

Rule 1180-05-.04(1)(c) lets the committee license a behavior analyst who was qualified by the Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (DIDD) to provide behavior analysis services prior to July 12, 2012, if the requirements of T.C.A. § 63-11-307(c) are met; the same route exists for assistants at 1180-05-.04(2)(d).

The text of § 63-11-307(c) was not in the saved sources, so ask the committee what documentation it expects before relying on this route.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in Tennessee
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Tennessee & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Applied Behavior Analyst Licensing Committee (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards).