Vermont has licensed behavior analysts since July 1, 2016 — applied behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts.
The state writes its own eligibility rules: a degree with a BACB-approved course sequence, supervised-experience minimums of 1,500 hours (analyst) and 1,000 hours (assistant), and a nationally recognized examination adopted from the BACB.
Practice runs on referrals from licensed health professionals or authorized school officials; BCBA certification is one endorsement route into the licence.
School-employed behavior interventionists and paraprofessionals are exempt under a licensed supervisor's close direction.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Two licences: applied behavior analyst and assistant behavior analyst, created by 26 V.S.A. ch. 95, in effect since July 1, 2016.
The Office of Professional Regulation (Director) within the Secretary of State issues the licences; three advisor appointees — two applied behavior analysts and one parent of an individual with autism or a developmental disorder who receives applied behavior analysis services — advise the Director.
Partial.
Vermont sets its own degree, supervised-experience and examination requirements; the examination is adopted from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, and BCBA certification appears in the statute as the second endorsement route.
Licensed assistant behavior analyst: a bachelor's degree, at least 1,000 hours of practicum or supervised experience over not less than one calendar year with at least 50 hours of direct one-to-one supervisor contact, the examination, and a minimum of five hours per month of off-site case supervision by an applied behavior analyst.
No state registration or certification.
A behavior interventionist or paraprofessional employed by a school is exempt when working under the close direction of a licensed supervisor; the statute does not mention RBT certification.
Both.
No one may hold themselves out as practicing, practice, or offer to practice as an applied behavior analyst or an assistant behavior analyst without a current licence, and implying either title while unlicensed, or employing an unlicensed person to practise as one, is a violation of the chapter.
26 V.S.A. ch. 95 (Applied Behavior Analysis), §§ 4901–4931; Added 2015, No. 38, § 46, effective July 1, 2016; since amended by 2015, No. 97 (Adj.
Sess.), § 86 (§ 4902) and 2019, No. 30, § 25 (§§ 4925, 4927); § 4925 amended again by 2021, No. 117 (Adj.
Sess.), § 7, effective July 1, 2023.
A licence to practise applied behavior analysis under the supervision of an applied behavior analyst, issued to an applicant with a bachelor's degree from a Director-approved program with an approved course sequence of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, at least 1,000 hours of approved practicum or supervised experience over not less than one calendar year with at least 50 hours in direct one-to-one contact with a supervisor, and the adopted examination (26 V.S.A. §§ 4902(2), 4922, 4929).
The licence required to practise applied behavior analysis in Vermont: a doctoral or master's degree from an ABAI-accredited or Director-approved program with an approved BACB course sequence, at least 1,500 hours of approved practicum or supervised experience over not less than one calendar year with at least 75 hours in direct one-to-one contact with a supervisor, and the adopted examination — and even this licence covers only practice undertaken on a qualifying referral (26 V.S.A. §§ 4901, 4921, 4928).
Vermont issues two licences, and section 4901 restricts them three ways: a person shall not hold themselves out as practicing, practice, or offer to practice, as an applied behavior analyst or an assistant behavior analyst, unless currently licensed under the chapter.
Section 4903 reaches the people around the practitioner.
No one may use words, letters, signs, or figures that imply an unlicensed person is an applied behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst, and — the rule employers need to read — no one may employ an unlicensed or unauthorized person to practice as either.
Penalties sit in 3 V.S.A. § 127.
A BCBA moving to Vermont is therefore certified, not licensed: the state licence is the permission to practise.
For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
“In order to safeguard the life and health of the people of this State, a person shall not hold himself or herself out as practicing, practice, or offer to practice, as an applied behavior analyst or an assistant behavior analyst unless currently licensed under this chapter.”
The statute does not route applicants through certification; it enumerates its own requirements.
The degree is a doctoral or master's from a recognized educational program accredited by the Association for Behavior Analysis International Accreditation Board, or from a program at a recognized educational institution approved by the Director that substantially meets the educational standards of that board or of the Behavior Analysis Certification Board — and any qualifying program must include an approved course sequence of the BACB.
The experience requirement is an approved practicum or supervised experience in the practice of applied behavior analysis totaling at least 1,500 hours over not less than one calendar year, of which at least 75 hours are in direct one-to-one contact with a supervisor.
Count and document those hours to Vermont's statute; OPR's application form governs how they are shown.
The BACB’s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.
“Successfully complete an approved practicum or supervised experience in the practice of applied behavior analysis, totaling at least 1,500 hours over a period of not less than one calendar year, of which at least 75 hours are in direct one-to-one contact with a supervisor.”
The examination requirement is Vermont's, but its content is borrowed: an applicant must successfully complete, as defined by the Director, a nationally recognized examination adopted from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board and approved by the Director.
The statute adds that this does not require the Director to develop or administer any examination.
Which examination the Director has adopted, and whether current BACB certification satisfies anything at the examination route itself, is not stated in the sources read — OPR's administrative rules were not part of the research.
The assistant licence carries the same kind of requirement (§ 4922(3)), so an applicant at either tier should confirm the accepted examination with OPR before filing.
“Successfully complete, as defined by the Director, a nationally recognized examination adopted from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board and approved by the Director, related to the principles and practice of applied behavior analysis. This subdivision (3) shall not be construed to require the Director to develop or administer any examination.”
Supervision is built into the assistant licence.
The definition makes an assistant behavior analyst a licensee who practises applied behavior analysis under the supervision of an applied behavior analyst, and section 4929 sets the statutory floor: a minimum of five hours per month of off-site case supervision.
The supervising analyst may require that supervision exceed the minimum, including that it be on-site, so the five hours are a floor the supervising analyst can raise, never a ceiling.
For an associate-level clinician choosing a position in Vermont, the supervision relationship is a term of the licence itself, not an employment courtesy.
Students preparing for practice are exempt only while their title indicates training status and they work under an analyst's supervision in a recognized training institution or facility (§ 4904(2)).
“An assistant behavior analyst shall only engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis if he or she has a minimum of five hours per month of off-site case supervision by an applied behavior analyst.”
Two statutory limits shape what a Vermont licence covers.
First, practice is referral-gated: a licensee may engage in applied behavior analysis only upon, and within the scope of, a referral from a licensed health professional or a school official duly authorized to make one.
Second, section 4928(b) excludes the following activities: psychological testing, neuropsychology, diagnosis of mental health or developmental conditions, psychotherapy, cognitive therapy, sex therapy, psychoanalysis, psychopharmacological recommendations, hypnotherapy, and academic teaching by college or university faculty.
Section 4904 then exempts an unlicensed person acting in the course of customary duties who does not use the term behavior analysis or similar descriptors suggesting licensure, in eight listed settings: the practice of a religious ministry; employment or rehabilitation counseling; employment by or contract with the Agency of Human Services; mediation; an official evaluation for court purposes; membership in a self-help group such as Alcoholics Anonymous, peer counseling, or domestic violence groups, whether or not for consideration; work as a respite caregiver, foster care worker, or hospice worker; and practice incident to any other legally recognized profession or occupation.
“A person licensed under this chapter shall only engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis upon, and within the scope of, a referral from a licensed health professional or school official duly authorized to make such a referral.”
Section 4923 is the route an out-of-state BCBA will actually use.
It licenses an applicant who either holds a valid registration or licence to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis issued by the appropriate regulatory authority of another US state, territory or possession, or the District of Columbia, based on requirements shown by the application to be equal to or greater than Vermont's, or is certified as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board — the one place the statute names certification as a qualification.
Every endorsement applicant must also meet any active-practice requirements established by the Director by rule; what those require is not stated in the sources read.
That is why this page's certification answer is partial: BCBA certification opens the endorsement door, while the examination route stands on Vermont's own education, hours and exam.
“A person may be licensed under this chapter if he or she: (1)(A) possesses a valid registration or license to engage in the practice of applied behavior analysis issued by the appropriate regulatory authority of a state, territory, or possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, based on requirements and qualifications shown by the application to be equal to or greater than the requirements of this chapter; or (B) is certified as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board; and (2) meets any active practice requirements established by the Director by rule.”
Licences renew every two years on a schedule the Director determines, on payment of the renewal fee (§ 4925(a)); the amounts are those set forth in 3 V.S.A. § 125(b) (§ 4926).
Continuing education is discretionary: the Director may by rule require a licensee to show completed CE as a condition of renewal, and requirements so adopted must include one or more CEUs in systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice or related topics.
The Director may also accept proof of current Behavior Analyst Certification Board certification as evidence of continuing competency, but only if the Director finds that maintaining the certification implies appropriate continuing education consistent with the subsection and Board rule.
Synchronous virtual CE is approvable as live in-person training, and CE units count across the Title 26 mental health professions a licensee holds.
The CE hour total is not stated in the sources read.
Unprofessional conduct includes failing to notify the Director in writing within ten days of the loss, revocation, discontinuation, or invalidation of any certification or degree offered to support eligibility or demonstrate continuing competency (§ 4931(a)(14)).
“The Director may accept proof of current certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as evidence of continuing competency if the Director finds that the maintenance of such certification implies appropriate continuing education consistent with this subsection and Board rule.”
The chapter took effect July 1, 2016, and the saved history notes record three post-enactment acts.
Section 4902, the definitions section, was amended by 2015, No. 97 (Adj.
Sess.), § 86; what that amendment changed is not stated in the sources read.
Sections 4925, renewals, and 4927, applications, were amended by 2019, No. 30, § 25, and section 4925 was amended again by 2021, No. 117 (Adj.
Sess.), § 7, effective July 1, 2023.
As section 4925 now reads, synchronous virtual continuing education is approvable as live in-person training, any CE requirements the Director adopts must include one or more CEUs in systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice or related topics, CE units count across the Title 26 mental health professions a licensee holds, and subsection (d) is repealed; which amendment added which provision, and what subsection (d) formerly provided, is not stated in the sources read.
No amendment in the saved text touches licensure eligibility, the referral rule, the supervision floor or the exemptions — the eligibility rules a 2026 applicant meets are the 2015 originals.
OPR's Applied Behavior Analysis page carries a standing notice pointing licensees to a Mental Health Licensure page for a study and proposed draft statutes that would restructure and streamline Vermont's mental health licensing.
Whether that restructuring reaches chapter 95 was not researched and is not stated in the sources read.
The chapter as saved remains in force, and Vermont governs the profession through the advisor model: the Director seeks the advice of three appointees, two experienced Vermont-licensed applied behavior analysts and one parent of an individual with autism or a developmental disorder who receives applied behavior analysis services (§ 4912).
“Visit the Mental Health Licensure page for the most up-to-date information on the Mental Health restructuring! Here, you can read the study and the proposed draft statutes and find out how to participate!”
This page summarizes the Vermont statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Office of Professional Regulation (Director), Vermont Secretary of State publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.
Confirm every requirement with the Office of Professional Regulation (Director), Vermont Secretary of State before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in Vermont that asks for it.
No. Section 4901 of 26 V.S.A. ch. 95 bars holding oneself out as practicing, practicing, or offering to practice as an applied behavior analyst without a current licence.
Certification is not the licence.
Your two routes are the examination route in § 4921, or licensure by endorsement under § 4923, which accepts an applicant certified as a board certified behavior analyst by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board who also meets any active practice requirements the Director has established by rule — what those require is not stated in the sources read.
Apply through the Office of Professional Regulation before practising.
The chapter creates no technician registration, and it does not mention RBT certification.
Its exemption for direct implementers is school-specific: a behavior interventionist or paraprofessional employed by a school may work under the close direction of a licensed supervisor, directly implementing skill-acquisition and behavior-modification plans and collecting or assessing data the supervisor designs, while the supervisor retains ultimate responsibility (§ 4904(3)).
Outside that exemption, unlicensed work is protected only in the § 4904 settings that also avoid behavior-analysis descriptors.
Employers and payers may set their own requirements; confirm with OPR.
No. Section 4928(b) says the practice of applied behavior analysis shall not include diagnosis of mental health or developmental conditions, psychological testing, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, psychopharmacological recommendations, and other named modalities.
Practice is also referral-gated: § 4928(a) allows a licensee to practise only upon, and within the scope of, a referral from a licensed health professional or a school official duly authorized to make one.
Job descriptions and intake workflows should be consistent with both limits.
The statute's minimums are its own.
For the applied behavior analyst licence: an approved practicum or supervised experience totaling at least 1,500 hours over a period of not less than one calendar year, of which at least 75 hours are in direct one-to-one contact with a supervisor (§ 4921(2)).
For the assistant licence: at least 1,000 hours over not less than one calendar year with at least 50 direct one-to-one supervisor-contact hours (§ 4922(2)).
OPR's application instructions govern how the hours are documented.
Licences renew every two years on a schedule the Director determines (§ 4925(a)).
Continuing education applies only if the Director requires it by rule; requirements so adopted must include at least one CEU in systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice or related topics, and synchronous virtual CE counts as live in-person training (§ 4925(c)(2)).
The Director may accept proof of current BACB certification as evidence of continuing competency if the Director finds the certification implies appropriate continuing education (§ 4925(c)(1)).
If a certification your licence relies on is lost or invalidated, notify the Director in writing within ten days (§ 4931(a)(14)).
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Office of Professional Regulation (Director), Vermont Secretary of State.