๐Ÿงญ Behavior analyst licensure

Do You Need a State License to Be a BCBA in West Virginia? What Applies Instead

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

No. West Virginia has no behavior analyst licence.

The professions chapter of the West Virginia Code, Chapter 30, whose article index runs from Article 1 to Article 43, lists no behavior-analyst article, so there is no state board, no state exam and no registration, and the BACB's list of regulating jurisdictions omits the state.

The one state document in the sources read is a June 2012 sunrise report that found BACB oversight adequate.

For a behavior analyst in West Virginia, the credential in play is the BACB's BCBA, a private certification, not a licence.

Verify before you rely on this

Laws change, and this page is career information, not legal advice. West Virginia has no state board for this profession, so confirm with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) and with the agency, payer or employer whose rule applies to the job.

At a glance

State credential

None.

The W.

Va.

Code Chapter 30 (Professions and Occupations) article index runs from Article 1 to Article 43 with no behavior-analyst article, and the BACB's aggregate list (2026-09-16) omits West Virginia.

Regulator

No state licensing board.

Chapter 30's article index names boards and practice acts for psychologists, social workers and licensed professional counselors, among others โ€” none for behavior analysts.

BCBA as the route

Not applicable: with no state credential, there is no route for BCBA certification to be part of.

The 2012 sunrise report found the BACB's own oversight adequate for the state.

The BCBA is a private national certification, not a state permission.

Assistant credential

None.

The Chapter 30 article index has no behavior-analyst article, so the state issues no assistant credential and no board exists to administer one.

Technicians and RBTs

No state registration or certification.

West Virginia Medicaid and insurer staffing rules were not part of the research, so whether a funder requires RBT certification is not stated in the sources read.

Practice or title protection

Neither, as far as the research went: Chapter 30 has no behavior-analyst article that could restrict practice or the title.

The check was the article index and Article 21's section list, not a full-text search of the whole Code.

Governing law

No behavior analyst statute found.

Checked: the Chapter 30 article index and Article 21's section list (retrieved 2026-09-24) and the BACB aggregate (2026-09-16), which omits West Virginia.

The 2012 sunrise report is a background fact, not current law.

No West Virginia licence, and no board to apply to

๐Ÿ“œ W. Va. Code Chapter 30 article index (West Virginia Legislature website); BACB, Licensure of Behavior Analysis in the United States (modified 2026-09-16)

There is no West Virginia licence to apply for and no board to ask.

Chapter 30 of the West Virginia Code is the professions chapter: its article index runs from Article 1 to Article 43 and names boards and practice acts for psychologists, social workers, licensed professional counselors and many other occupations โ€” with no behavior-analyst article among them, and no behavior-analyst section inside Article 21 either.

The BACB's own aggregate list of jurisdictions that regulate the profession omits West Virginia.

For a BCBA relocating to the state, the move crosses no state credential boundary, because none exists: the BACB's certification and maintenance rules simply continue as before.

The absence is established at the primary level as far as the article index goes โ€” it shows which professions have chapters, and behavior analysis is not one of them.

For how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

โ€œNo behavior-analyst licensure law found. W. Va. Code Chapter 30 (Professions and Occupations) article index lists Articles 1โ€“43 including "ARTICLE 21. PSYCHOLOGISTS; SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGISTS", "ARTICLE 30. SOCIAL WORKERS", "ARTICLE 31. LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS" and no behavior-analyst article; Article 21's section list contains no behavior-analyst section. BACB aggregate (2026-09-16) does not list WV.โ€

Without a state rule, the BACB sets the written standard

๐Ÿ“œ BACB, BCBA Handbook (updated 06/2026), p. 1

Because West Virginia writes no degree, coursework, fieldwork or exam rule of its own, nothing in state law tells a graduate or a supervisor-in-training how many hours to count or whom to train under: those numbers come from the BACB, a private certification body, and they change on the BACB's schedule โ€” including the move to two eligibility pathways on January 1, 2027 โ€” not the state's.

This page stays at the state layer; the BCBA articles carry the coursework, fieldwork and exam details.

The BACBโ€™s own degree, coursework, fieldwork and exam requirements are covered in how to become a BCBA.

โ€œThe Board Certified Behavior Analystยฎ (BCBAยฎ) is a graduate-level certification in behavior analysis.โ€

The 2012 sunrise report: an audit, not a law

๐Ÿ“œ WV Legislative Auditor, PERD, "Sunrise Report: Board Certified Behavior Analysts of West Virginia", June 2012

West Virginia's most official word on behavior analyst oversight is not a law but an audit.

In June 2012 the Legislature's Performance Evaluation and Research Division reviewed a Sunrise application from the Board Certified Behavior Analysts of West Virginia, which sought the Legislature's acceptance of BACB certification as adequate regulatory oversight for the practice of behavior analysts.

The question was precipitated by House Bill 2693, the 2011 autism-insurance mandate, which the report describes as covering applied behavioral analysis treatment only when performed by BACB-certified behavior analysts.

The Auditor's Finding 1 held that oversight by the national certifying board provides adequate protection, and its Recommendation 1 determined that the Legislature's recognition of the national certification provides adequate and sufficient protection to the public.

That is a 2012 finding, not current law: the Chapter 30 article index read on 2026-09-24 has no behavior-analyst article, and current insurer coverage rules were not part of this research.

โ€œThe Legislative Auditor concludes that the BACB provides adequate and sufficient protection to the public.โ€

Checked as far as the research went: the statute index, not the whole Code

๐Ÿ“œ W. Va. Code Chapter 30 article index (West Virginia Legislature website); BACB, Licensure of Behavior Analysis in the United States (modified 2026-09-16)

Nothing on this page is new, and the research states its own limits: it labels the finding a negative from the statute index โ€” the Chapter 30 article index and Article 21's section list were read, not a full-text search of the whole Code.

The sources are dated snapshots: the Code pages on 2026-09-24 and the BACB's aggregate list on 2026-09-16.

A chapter created after those reads, or a bill pending before the Legislature, would not appear in either.

If the existence of a licence law matters to your plans โ€” where to locate, which credential to fund โ€” search the Legislature's bill records before relying on the absence of one.

What this page cannot tell you: funder and employer rules

๐Ÿ“œ WV Legislative Auditor, PERD, Sunrise Report, June 2012; W. Va. Code Chapter 30 article index (West Virginia Legislature website)

A missing licence law is not a statement that anyone may practise.

Medicaid programs, insurers and employers can write their own staffing standards, and this research did not read them: whether a West Virginia funder requires BCBA certification for the analyst, or RBT certification for the technician, is not stated in the sources read.

The one insurance fact on record here is the 2012 sunrise report's description of the 2011 autism-insurance mandate โ€” dated 2012, and current coverage rules were not read.

Ask the employer which credential the job's funding source requires before you accept an offer or start a certification you did not plan on.

What This Page Does โ€” and Doesnโ€™t โ€” Cover

This page summarizes the West Virginia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state behavior analyst licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how BACB certification and a state licence fit together, see BACB certification vs. state behavior analyst licensure.

Confirm every requirement with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply โ€” and before you take one of the board certified behavior analyst jobs in West Virginia that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to practice ABA in West Virginia?

No state licence exists.

The West Virginia Code Chapter 30 article index has no behavior-analyst article, and the BACB's aggregate list of jurisdictions that regulate behavior analysts omitted West Virginia as of 2026-09-16.

That does not settle what a job requires: employers and funders write their own staffing rules, and this research did not read them.

Ask the employer which credential the position's funding source requires before you accept.

Did West Virginia decide against licensing behavior analysts?

No such decision appears in the sources read.

What exists is a June 2012 sunrise report: the Board Certified Behavior Analysts of West Virginia asked the Legislature to accept BACB certification as adequate regulatory oversight, and the Legislative Auditor concluded that the BACB provides adequate and sufficient protection to the public.

That is an audit finding, not a statute, and no behavior-analyst article appears in the Chapter 30 index.

Check the Legislature's bill records for anything newer.

Does West Virginia require BCBA certification?

Not by state law: with no behavior analyst statute, there is no state credential that certification could satisfy.

The 2012 sunrise report describes the state's 2011 autism-insurance mandate as covering applied behavioral analysis treatment only when performed by BACB-certified behavior analysts, but that description is from 2012 and current insurer rules were not part of this research.

The employer or funder behind a specific job can tell you what it requires today.

Do RBTs need to register in West Virginia?

No behavior-analyst law exists in the sources read, so there is no state registration or certification for behavior technicians and no board that could maintain one.

RBT certification is issued by the BACB, a private body, not by West Virginia.

Whether a West Virginia funder adds an RBT requirement of its own is not stated in the sources read; the employer running the program will know what its funding contracts require.

Could West Virginia pass a behavior analyst licensure law?

The sources read cannot rule it out.

The finding rests on the Chapter 30 article index and Article 21's section list, read on 2026-09-24, plus the BACB's aggregate list dated 2026-09-16 โ€” not current legislation, so a pending bill would not appear in them.

In 2012 the question did reach the Legislature as a sunrise report, and the Auditor found BACB oversight adequate; for anything newer, search the Legislature's bill records.

Find Board Certified Behavior Analyst Jobs in West Virginia
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More West Virginia & Board Certified Behavior Analyst Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice โ€” confirm current rules with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB).