🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Louisiana: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Louisiana issues three social work licenses β€” registered social worker (RSW), licensed master social worker (LMSW) and licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) β€” plus a temporary certified social worker (CSW) certification, all under the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners.

The LCSW statute requires 3,000 hours of postgraduate practice over two to four years under a board-approved clinical supervisor, a 2021 figure the board's 2020 rule has not caught up with.

The ASWB examination is recognized with a pass score of 70.

Louisiana enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact in 2024.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Louisiana, that is the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners (LABSWE).

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) β€” 3,000 postgraduate hours over two to four years under a board-approved clinical supervisor (statute, effective January 1, 2022).

Other license levels

Registered Social Worker (RSW) and Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), plus the temporary Certified Social Worker (CSW) certification.

Degree

An accredited social work degree at every level: bachelor's or master's for the RSW, master's for the LMSW and LCSW.

Supervised experience

3,000 hours of postgraduate practice over a minimum of two years and a maximum of four years (statute); the board's 2020 rule still prints 5,760 / 3,840 / 96.

ASWB exam

ASWB examinations recognized; pass score 70 for the LCSW and LMSW.

The ASWB category per tier: Not stated in the sources read.

Supervisor requirement

An LCSW who is also a board-approved clinical supervisor (BACS): three years of full-time LCSW-level experience, references, board orientation and a supervision workshop.

Social Work Compact

Enacted in 2024 (Act No. 791, R.S.

37:2731); the compact commission was issuing no multistate licenses as of September 2026.

Renewal & CE

Every credential lapses annually on August 31; 20 CE clock hours per renewal including three ethics hours every two years; LCSWs at least 10 clinical hours.

The Louisiana credential ladder

  1. Registered Social Worker(RSW)Other

    A registration, not a license: a bachelor's- or master's-level social work degree qualifies the RSW to practice social work as an employee in an agency, without advanced or clinical practice.

  2. Certified Social Worker(CSW)Pre-licensure

    A temporary certification β€” not a license β€” for master of social work graduates who meet every LMSW requirement except passing the examination, held for up to three years while pursuing licensure.

  3. Licensed Master Social Worker(LMSW)Pre-licensure

    The master's-level license: clinical social work and psychotherapy within an agency under LCSW supervision, in person or virtually, and work as an employee only in an agency setting.

  4. Licensed Clinical Social Worker(LCSW)Independent

    The independent clinical license: an LCSW may work as an employee in a practice setting or independently in private practice, on 3,000 postgraduate hours over two to four years under a board-approved clinical supervisor.

  5. Board Approved Clinical Supervisor(BACS)Supervisor

    A designation held on the LCSW, not a separate license: supervising licensure hours requires an LCSW with the BACS β€” three years of full-time LCSW-level experience plus board orientation and a supervision workshop.

The ladder: RSW, CSW, LMSW and LCSW

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2703; 37:2706; 37:2707; 37:2708; LAC 46:XXV Β§303, Β§305

Louisiana's Practice Act names every tier exactly.

The registered social worker practices social work as an employee in an agency; the statute does not extend clinical practice to it.

The licensed master social worker holds the master's-level license.

The certified social worker is not a fourth license but a temporary certification for master's graduates who have met every LMSW requirement except the examination.

The licensed clinical social worker is the independent clinical tier.

The letters do not carry across state lines, so match your current credential to Louisiana's ladder rung by rung rather than by abbreviation.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œ"Certified social worker (CSW)" means a temporary certification which entitles the master of social work graduate to perform the duties and responsibilities within the scope of practice of the licensed master social worker for up to three years, while pursuing licensure.”

Degrees: an accredited social work program at every level

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2706; 37:2707; 37:2708; LAC 46:XXV Β§305

The registered social worker needs a bachelor's or master's degree from an accredited social work program.

The LMSW and the LCSW both build on a master's degree in social work; the LCSW adds the supervised postgraduate practice requirement rather than a different degree.

The rule's qualification schedule, LAC 46:XXV Β§305, spells out the per-tier items the board checks at application β€” degree, references and experience β€” and the statutory degree clauses for the master's levels are written in terms of accredited programs.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

The LCSW hours: the statute says 3,000 over two to four years

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2708(A)(3); Acts 2021 No. 215; LAC 46:XXV Β§503(D)–(E)

The controlling figure is statutory: at least 3,000 hours of postgraduate social work practice over a minimum of two years and a maximum of four years under a board-approved clinical supervisor, with the board able to consider circumstances warranting more than four years (Acts 2021, No. 215, effective January 1, 2022).

The administrative rule has not caught up: LAC 46:XXV Β§503(D)–(E), last amended in 2020, still prints 5,760 practice hours, 3,840 supervised hours and 96 hours of face-to-face supervision.

The statute post-dates the rule and controls on the totals, so do not build a plan on 5,760.

Whether the 96-hour face-to-face supervision figure still applies on top of the statutory total: Not stated in the sources read β€” confirm with LABSWE before counting.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œHas completed at least three thousand hours of postgraduate social work practice over a minimum of two years and a maximum of four years while under the supervision of a board-approved clinical supervisor. The board shall consider circumstances warranting more than four years to complete this experience requirement.”

Exams: a board-approved examination; ASWB recognized, pass score 70

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2707; 37:2708; LAC 46:XXV Β§307

The statute requires each applicant to have passed an examination approved by the board.

The rule names the Association of Social Work Boards examinations and sets a pass score of 70 for the LCSW and LMSW examinations.

Which ASWB category the board assigns to each Louisiana tier: Not stated in the sources read; the board's examination materials settle it.

The CSW exists for applicants who have met everything except this examination β€” the rule requires the examination within the first six months of certification and annually for the following two and a half years, or the certificate is recalled.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œThe Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners recognizes the examinations of the Association of Social Work Boards as the national examination for social workers.”

Your supervisor must be an LCSW with the BACS designation

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2703(7), (18)–(19); LAC 46:XXV Β§503(A)–(B), (F), Β§507

Louisiana's statutory definition of clinical supervision requires that licensure supervision come from an LCSW who is also a board-approved clinical supervisor (BACS).

Supervision for the LCSW license can begin once the MSW has obtained the LMSW (rule Β§503A).

A BACS holds the LCSW, verifies three years of full-time LCSW-level experience, supplies references, completes board orientation and a supervision workshop, and keeps three CE hours in clinical supervision every two years (rule Β§507).

The 2020 rule caps group supervision at one-half of its 96-hour supervision requirement β€” 48 hours, up to 72 with board approval on a written request showing the rationale, no more than five supervisees per group (rule Β§503F).

Because it is not confirmed whether the 96-hour figure survives the 2021 statute, confirm the group limit with LABSWE.

Since 2024 the statute allows supervision in person or remotely through telesupervision β€” real-time, face-to-face synchronous interactive conferencing (Acts 2024, No. 457).

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œSupervision for meeting the requirements of licensure as a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) shall be provided by a licensed clinical social worker who is also a board-approved clinical supervisor (BACS).”

Scope: only an LCSW practices independently

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2707(B); 37:2708(B); LAC 46:XXV Β§303(B), (D)

The statute lets the LCSW work as an employee in a practice setting or independently in private practice, and the rule states it flatly: only a licensed clinical social worker may engage in the independent and private practice of social work.

The LMSW may practice clinical social work and psychotherapy within an agency under LCSW supervision, in person or virtually, and may work as an employee only in an agency setting; the rule adds that LMSWs and CSWs may not contract directly, bill (except government contracts) or receive direct payment.

A statutory exception permits an LMSW to provide services on contract for a federal, state or local governmental agency.

β€œA social worker licensed at the licensed master's social worker level may practice clinical social work and psychotherapy within an agency under the supervision, in-person or virtually, of a licensed clinical social worker. A licensed master's social worker may work as an employee only in an agency setting.”

Endorsement: equivalence, good standing and the open-book law exam

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2712; LAC 46:XXV Β§503(O)

An out-of-state social worker comes in through endorsement, in its current form since Acts 2021, No. 215.

The statute's elements: be credentialed and in good standing with the other jurisdiction's board based on substantially equivalent educational, supervision and examination requirements; pass an open-book examination on the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act; and pay the fee.

Louisiana's supervision clock is portable in a specific way β€” the rule accepts out-of-state supervision where the supervisor was licensed, at the time of supervision, at a level substantially equivalent to an LCSW-BACS, using the board's forms (rule Β§503O).

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œBe credentialed and in good standing with their respective social work regulatory board or agency based on substantially equivalent educational, supervision, and examination requirements for a Louisiana licensed clinical social worker, licensed master's social worker, certified social worker, or registered social worker.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted in 2024, not yet issuing licenses

πŸ“œ 2024 La. Acts No. 791 (HB 888); La. R.S. 37:2731

Louisiana enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact through 2024 Regular Session Act No. 791 (HB 888), codified at La.

R.S.

37:2731.

The act's approval date is not legible in the enrolled copy read, and the compact was not operational at the research date.

The compact commission was issuing no multistate social work licenses as of September 2026, so a Louisiana license keeps its holder practicing on the single-state credential and moving jurisdictions by endorsement.

Compact status is time-sensitive β€” verify current operational status with the commission and LABSWE before relying on it.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

β€œThe Social Work Licensure Compact is hereby recognized and enacted into law and entered into by this state with all states legally joining therein in the form substantially as follows:”

Renewal every August 31; 20 CE hours, three in ethics every two years

πŸ“œ La. R.S. 37:2714; LAC 46:XXV Β§311, Β§317

Every Louisiana social work license, certificate and registration lapses annually on August 31 (rule Β§311).

The statute requires twenty clock hours of board-approved continuing education before each renewal date, including three hours of ethics every two years, and sets a clinical floor for the LCSW: no less than ten clock hours of the continuing education requirement shall be clinical content including diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.

The rule collects CE on a July 1 to June 30 cycle and caps distance-learning hours at ten.

A lapse of six months or less renews at a doubled fee; longer lapses add the Practice Act examination and additional continuing education.

β€œTwenty clock hours of continuing education in programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to each renewal date, including three hours of ethics every two years. In addition, for renewal of a licensed clinical social work license, no less than ten clock hours of the continuing education requirement shall be clinical content including diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.”

Three recent acts moved the hours, supervision and the CSW

πŸ“œ Acts 2021 No. 215; Acts 2024 No. 457; 2025 Act No. 431 (SB 153); LAC 46:XXV Β§503 (LR 46:791)

Acts 2021, No. 215 rewrote the LCSW experience requirement to 3,000 hours over two to four years, effective January 1, 2022.

Acts 2024, No. 457 put telesupervision into the statute and rewrote the LMSW scope so clinical practice inside an agency can be supervised in person or virtually.

2025 Act No. 431 (SB 153) amends R.S.

37:2724(B) so that a CSW who has provided CPST services pursuant to R.S.

40:2162 and meets every LMSW qualification except the examination may petition, at least sixty days before the certification expires, for an extension of up to three years solely to provide CPST services; the board shall approve qualifying petitions.

Per its Section 2, the act takes effect upon the governor's signature β€” or, if not signed, when the constitutional time for bills to become law without signature expires (Article III, Section 18).

The signature line was blank in the copy read, so the effective date: Not stated in the sources read.

The rule section on LCSW supervision was last amended in 2020 (LR 46:791).

The supervision contract deadline and the superseded remote rule

πŸ“œ LAC 46:XXV Β§503(C), (H)

Rule Β§503(C) sets a filing deadline, not a waiting period.

The supervisee files the supervision contract β€” signed by the supervisor, the supervisee and the agency supervisor, with an employment verification β€” with the board office within 60 days of the first supervision session, and a contract filed on time takes credit from that first session.

If it is filed late, supervision is credited only from the date that is 60 days from the date the board received it.

A new contract is due within 60 days of any change of employer, supervisor or agency supervisor.

On format, the rule still carries Β§503(H), which allows remote supervision only by board approval for hardship; that provision pre-dates the 2024 telesupervision statute, which supersedes it β€” follow the statute and confirm any unusual arrangement with LABSWE before counting hours.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Louisiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners (LABSWE) publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Louisiana, MFT licensure in Louisiana, or what therapists earn in Louisiana.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners (LABSWE) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Louisiana that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many supervised hours does Louisiana require for the LCSW?

The statute requires at least 3,000 hours of postgraduate social work practice over a minimum of two years and a maximum of four years, under a board-approved clinical supervisor (R.S.

37:2708(A)(3), effective January 1, 2022).

The board's 2020 rule still prints 5,760 practice hours, 3,840 supervised hours and 96 hours of face-to-face supervision; whether that 96-hour figure still applies is not confirmed in the sources read.

Confirm your plan with LABSWE before you rely on either set of numbers.

Can LMSW supervision hours be completed by video in Louisiana?

Yes.

Acts 2024, No. 457 added telesupervision to the Practice Act: supervision between a licensed clinical social worker and a licensed master's social worker may be conducted in person or remotely, with telesupervision defined as real-time, face-to-face synchronous interactive conferencing.

Your supervisor must still be an LCSW who is also a board-approved clinical supervisor.

The rule's older provision allowing remote supervision only by board approval for hardship pre-dates the statute, which supersedes it.

I hold an LCSW in another state. How do I get licensed in Louisiana?

Through endorsement under R.S.

37:2712.

You must be credentialed and in good standing with your board based on substantially equivalent educational, supervision and examination requirements, pass an open-book examination on the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act, and pay the fee.

For experience earned out of state, the board accepts a supervisor who was licensed at the time of supervision at a level substantially equivalent to an LCSW-BACS.

No multistate compact license is being issued as of September 2026.

What is a certified social worker (CSW) in Louisiana?

It is a temporary certification, not a license, for master of social work graduates who meet every LMSW requirement except passing the examination; it is held for up to three years while pursuing licensure.

The rule requires the examination within the first six months of certification and annually for the following two and a half years, or the certificate is recalled.

A 2025 act lets CSWs who provided CPST services petition for an extension limited to that work.

When do Louisiana social work licenses renew and how much CE is due?

All licenses, certificates and registrations lapse annually on August 31.

Before each renewal date you need twenty clock hours of board-approved continuing education, including three hours of ethics every two years; licensed clinical social workers must include no less than ten clock hours of clinical content, including diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.

The rule collects CE from July 1 through June 30 and caps distance-learning at ten hours.

A lapse of six months or less renews at a doubled fee.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Louisiana
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Louisiana & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners (LABSWE).