Nevada licenses social workers at four levels β Licensed Social Worker (LSW), Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) and Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) β plus a provisional license for exam-pending applicants.
The LCSW requires a Board-approved internship of not less than 3,000 hours of supervised postgraduate clinical social work on a two-to-three-year window, at least 1,000 of them under a Board-approved LCSW, and the ASWB Clinical exam.
The trap: independent is not clinical β the LISW practices independently, but its clinical work counts only inside a Board-approved internship.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).
An LCSW may engage in social work independently or within an agency, engage in clinical social work, and supervise other persons (NRS 641B.240(2)).
Licensed Social Worker (LSW), Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW, added 2021) and Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) β independent, but clinical social work only inside a Board-approved internship.
The associate in social work tier has been closed to new licensees since June 19, 1995.
A baccalaureate or master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited college or university, or a candidate for accreditation, for the LSW; a master's or doctoral degree in social work on the same accreditation terms for the LMSW, LISW and LCSW.
Foreign degrees need the documentation NRS 641B.204 prescribes.
LCSW: an internship of not less than 3,000 hours of supervised, postgraduate clinical social work, completed not earlier than 2 years or later than 3 years after the Board approves the program, with at least 2,000 hours in psychotherapeutic methods and techniques and at least 1,000 hours supervised by a Board-approved LCSW (NAC 641B.150).
LISW: 3,000 hours of supervised postgraduate social work (NRS 641B.230).
LSW: Bachelors Examination, or Bachelors or Masters for an MSW holder.
LISW: Advanced Generalist Examination.
LCSW: Clinical Examination (NAC 641B.105).
The rule names no exam level for the LMSW β not stated in the sources read.
A supervisor approved by the Board: at least 3 years of experience after licensure, a current practice of not less than 15 hours per month in the relevant area, and Board training repeated every 5 years (NAC 641B.155).
Not enacted.
As of September 2026 Nevada is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, and the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.
Licenses renew annually (NRS 641B.280).
Reporting periods run 2 years β the first ends at the second renewal: LSW at least 30 hours (4 ethics, 2 suicide prevention, 10 in field of practice); LCSW and LISW at least 36 hours (4 ethics, 2 suicide prevention, 12 in field of practice), plus 6 hours on cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion every 2 years (NAC 641B.186, .187).
A legacy tier the Board may no longer grant: no new associate in social work licenses on or after June 19, 1995, though licensees who already hold one renew it and may supervise another person engaged in the practice of social work (NRS 641B.210).
A bridge for applicants awaiting the next available examination at the social worker, independent social worker or clinical social worker level β capped at 9 months by statute, with the regulation ending the exam-route provisional social worker license when its 90-day period expires or the holder fails the exam, whichever comes first β or, on the related-field-degree route, up to 3 years; holders practice under supervision (NRS 641B.275; NAC 641B.112).
The entry license, granted on a CSWE-accredited baccalaureate or master's degree in social work and an ASWB examination; an LSW may supervise another person engaged in the practice of social work (NRS 641B.220; NAC 641B.105).
Added in 2021; its independent and clinical practice powers sit inside Board-approved internship programs toward the LISW or LCSW β the license under which Nevada internship hours are earned β and it may also supervise other persons engaging in the practice of social work (NRS 641B.225(2)).
May engage in social work independently or within an agency, but its clinical social work is confined to a Board-approved internship toward the LCSW β independent is not clinical in Nevada (NRS 641B.230(2)).
The clinical license: may engage in social work independently or within an agency, engage in clinical social work, and supervise other persons (NRS 641B.240(2)).
An approval, not a license: for LCSW interns the supervisor is an LCSW, licensed clinical psychologist or qualified psychiatrist with at least 3 years of licensed experience, a current practice of not less than 15 hours per month in the relevant area, and Board training repeated every 5 years (NAC 641B.155).
Nevada issues four social work licenses: the Licensed Social Worker (LSW) at the baccalaureate-or-master's level, the Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) the Legislature added in 2021, the Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) and the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).
The LMSW is built as the internship license β its independent and clinical practice powers exist inside Board-approved internship programs toward the LISW or the LCSW, though the statute also lets it supervise other persons engaging in the practice of social work.
The LISW may engage in social work independently or within an agency, but its clinical social work is confined to a Board-approved internship toward the LCSW, so independent does not mean clinical here.
A fifth tier, the associate in social work, has been closed since June 19, 1995; the people who already hold one still renew it and may supervise another person engaged in the practice of social work.
For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.
βThe Board shall not grant a license to engage in social work as an associate in social work to any person on or after June 19, 1995.β
Every tier's degree rule has the same shape: a social work degree from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, or one that is a candidate for accreditation, or the equivalent from a foreign college or university with the documentation NRS 641B.204 requires.
The LSW accepts a baccalaureate or master's degree in social work; the LMSW, LISW and LCSW require a master's or doctoral degree in social work.
The sources read state no clinical-coursework add-on, field-placement line or concentration beyond the degree itself β what separates the LCSW from the LMSW is the supervised internship and the Clinical exam, not more school.
Because the accreditation clause is written into each tier's own section, a program that loses CSWE accreditation mid-degree is a problem for every license, not just the clinical one.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
The LCSW internship must be not less than 3,000 hours of supervised, postgraduate clinical social work, undertaken in a program the Board approves before it begins β including the setting, the approved supervisor and the written plan of supervision.
It must be completed not earlier than 2 years or later than 3 years after the Board approves the program, and the Board disallows credit for every hour accrued under the program if the license does not issue within 3 years after the program ends.
At least 2,000 hours must be in psychotherapeutic methods and techniques, and at least 1,000 hours must be supervised by a Board-approved licensed clinical social worker; the remainder may be supervised by a licensed clinical psychologist or a qualified psychiatrist.
A program may run at up to three agencies at once, and the Board may accept supervised clinical work done in another jurisdiction within the preceding 3 years if the other board verifies it directly and the Board finds it substantially equivalent.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
βUnless otherwise approved by the Board, an average of 32 hours per week, not to exceed 416 hours in each quarter, of postgraduate hours in the use of psychotherapeutic methods and techniques will be accepted toward satisfying this requirement.β
The rule maps the ASWB examinations for three tiers: an LSW holding a BSW passes the Bachelors Examination, an LSW holding an MSW passes the Bachelors or Masters Examination, the LISW passes the Advanced Generalist Examination and the LCSW passes the Clinical Examination.
The examination level for the LMSW, the tier added in 2021, is not stated in the rule text read β confirm the required exam with the Board before planning around that license.
A student in the final semester of a CSWE-accredited program may take the examination before the degree is awarded, and an initial LSW applicant must pass within 6 months after satisfying the prerequisites.
A failed examination may be retaken every 90 days.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
βExcept as otherwise provided in NRS 641B.270, 641B.272 and 641B.275, before the issuance of a license, each applicant, otherwise eligible for licensure, who has paid the fee and presented the required credentials, other than an applicant for a license to engage in social work as an associate in social work, must appear personally and pass an examination concerning his or her knowledge of the practice of social work.β
The baseline duties: an individual meeting with the intern of at least 1 hour every week unless the Board specifically directs a different schedule or frequency, a visit to the intern's practice site at least once every month when the supervisor does not practice there, and progress reports every 6 months plus a final report.
Supervision may move to telecommunication technologies, but the in-person monthly site meeting survives it, and not more than 24 hours of the total supervision may be group supervision.
Supervisors are approved by the Board, need at least 3 years of experience after licensure, must currently practice not less than 15 hours per month in the relevant area, retrain every 5 years, and may not supervise more than four interns at once without prior approval.
A supervisor may not reside with, be related to, or have had the intern as a client β and the supervisor is responsible for the intern's practice, so every supervision agreement and plan needs Board approval before the hours count.
Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.
βA supervisor of an intern may use telecommunication technologies to supervise an intern remotely, but the supervisor must meet in person with the intern at the site at which the intern practices social work at least once every month.β
The LCSW is the only tier whose listed powers combine independent practice, clinical social work and supervision of other persons without an internship condition.
The LISW shares the independent-practice language for social work generally, but its clinical social work is limited to a Board-approved internship program toward the LCSW β which is why an MSW graduate who wants an independent therapy practice in Nevada needs the LCSW, not the LISW.
The LMSW's independent and clinical practice powers are internship-bound, but the statute hands it a supervision power of its own: it may supervise other persons engaging in the practice of social work (NRS 641B.225(2)(c)).
The LSW may supervise another person engaged in the practice of social work.
For a job search the practical line: agency clinical work under supervision is LMSW and LISW territory, while independent clinical practice belongs to the LCSW alone.
βA person licensed as an independent social worker may: (a) Engage in social work independently or within an agency; (b) Engage in clinical social work as part of an internship program approved by the Board to complete the supervised clinical social work required for licensure as a clinical social worker pursuant to NRS 641B.240; and (c) Supervise other persons engaging in the practice of social work.β
Two routes exist for licensees moving in.
NRS 641B.270 lets the Board grant a license without examination to a person whose home state's licensing requirements, at the time the license was issued, it deems substantially equivalent.
NRS 641B.272, the expedited endorsement, covers an applicant who holds a corresponding valid and unrestricted license in the District of Columbia or any state or territory, with proof of no discipline or investigation, no malpractice liability, fingerprints and a fee; the Board must request missing information within 15 business days and issue the license not later than 45 days after receiving everything, unless it denies for good cause.
The Board may also grant a provisional license while an endorsement application is pending.
Hours count too: supervised postgraduate clinical work done in another jurisdiction within the preceding 3 years can be credited when the other board verifies it directly and the Board finds it substantially equivalent (NAC 641B.150).
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
βUnless the Board denies the application for good cause, the Board shall approve the application and issue a license by endorsement to engage in social work to the applicant not later than 45 days after receiving all the additional information required by the Board to complete the application.β
As of September 2026, Nevada is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions: it has not enacted the compact.
There is no multistate-license route into or out of Nevada, so practicing here takes a Nevada license β by the standard route or the endorsement routes above.
The compact itself has reached activation status, but the commission says multistate licenses are not yet being issued anywhere, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than giving a launch date.
Check the commission's jurisdiction list and the Board before relying on either status.
For the compactβs status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.
Every license renews annually.
Continuing education runs on reporting periods: the first runs from the date of initial licensure to the deadline for the licensee's second renewal, and every period after that runs 2 years (NAC 641B.186).
In each period an LSW completes at least 30 hours (4 in ethics, 2 in suicide prevention and awareness, 10 in the field of practice), while an LCSW or LISW completes at least 36 hours (4 ethics, 2 suicide prevention, 12 in field).
The statute adds a requirement of its own: every 2 years, at least 6 hours of instruction relating to cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion.
The suicide-prevention hours cannot be waived, and the Board will not renew a license without them.
From the second renewal application onward the renewal carries an affidavit of completion, and the documentation backing it must be kept for at least 3 years (NAC 641B.188).
βExcept as otherwise provided in NRS 641B.295, the Board shall, as a prerequisite for the renewal of a license, require the holder to comply with the requirements for continuing education adopted by the Board, which must include, without limitation, a requirement that every 2 years the holder receive at least 6 hours of instruction relating to cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion.β
The structural change is the LMSW itself: the 2021 Legislature added the Licensed Master Social Worker and amended the LSW, LISW, LCSW, provisional-license and renewal sections around it, so the chapter's current shape dates to that session.
On the saved regulation texts, the examination, internship, supervision and continuing-education sections were last amended effective December 30, 2019 (R055-19); their history notes show no amendment inside the 2023-2026 window.
The renewal statute is the exception: its history note records amendments by the 2023 and 2025 legislative sessions, though the saved text shows the current wording, not what each amendment changed.
The compact status did not move: Nevada had not enacted it as of September 2026.
Nevada issues provisional licenses instead of leaving eligible applicants idle before the exam.
The statute directs the Board to set their length by regulation and caps it: no longer than 9 months for the exam-route provisional social worker, independent social worker and clinical social worker licenses, and no longer than 3 years for the provisional social worker license built on a related-field degree plus evidence of enrollment in a CSWE-accredited social work program.
For the exam-route provisional social worker license, the regulation sets a short, unforgiving clock: it is no longer valid when its 90-day period expires or the holder fails the prescribed examination, whichever occurs first, and a person who failed the exam within the previous 5 years is not eligible for it.
No one gets a second provisional license β an invalidated or revoked one cannot be reinstated β and every provisional holder practices under the supervision of a licensee under chapter 641B who is authorized to practice in the intended setting.
This page summarizes the Nevada statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers publishes.
Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Nevada, MFT licensure in Nevada, or what therapists earn in Nevada.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Nevada that asks for it.
Yes, on the Board's terms.
NAC 641B.150 lets an applicant submit supervised, postgraduate clinical social work performed in another state or the District of Columbia within the immediately preceding 3 years.
The board that accepted the work must verify the hours directly to Nevada, and the Board must find the experience substantially equivalent to or exceeding its current standards, as part of a program it approves.
If you are already licensed elsewhere, the NRS 641B.272 expedited endorsement may be faster β confirm which route fits with the Board.
No. At least 1,000 of the hours must be supervised by a licensed clinical social worker approved by the Board.
The remaining hours may be supervised by a licensed clinical social worker, a licensed clinical psychologist, or a psychiatrist licensed to practice medicine and certified by a board recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association (NAC 641B.150).
Whoever supervises, the supervisor must be Board-approved and meet the experience, practice and training requirements of NAC 641B.155.
The rule builds a window around the Board's approval of your program: the work must be completed not earlier than 2 years and not later than 3 years after that approval, though the Board grants specific extensions for good cause.
The stakes run high β the Board disallows credit for all internship hours under the program if the license does not issue within 3 years after the program ends (NAC 641B.150).
Build the exam and application timeline into the window before the hours start.
Yes.
A supervisor may use telecommunication technologies to supervise an intern remotely, and the weekly individual meeting of at least 1 hour moves with it β the rule's in-person default for that meeting yields to the remote allowance.
The meeting the rule pins to the practice site is monthly: the supervisor must meet the intern in person where the intern practices at least once every month (NAC 641B.160).
Not more than 24 hours of the total supervision may be group supervision.
Ask how a supervision plan covers the monthly site visit before you sign it.
Yes: the Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW).
The statute says an LISW may engage in social work independently or within an agency, but its clinical social work is limited to a Board-approved internship program toward the LCSW (NRS 641B.230(2)).
The examination is the ASWB Advanced Generalist (NAC 641B.105).
If your goal is a therapy practice of your own, the LCSW is the license that authorizes clinical social work on its own terms.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers.