New Mexico licenses social workers at three levels: Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW), Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), and the independent tier written two ways, Licensed Independent Social Worker / Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LISW/LCSW).
The top tier takes an LMSW license first, then 3,600 hours of licensed master's-level experience over no more than 60 months, 90 hours of supervision, the ASWB exam clinical or advanced as determined by the board, and the jurisprudence exam.
New Mexico enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact in 2026; membership is pending commission review.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Independent Social Worker / Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LISW/LCSW) — one independent tier with two names (16.63.11.9; 16.63.1.7(B) NMAC).
Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) and Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) — two licenses below the independent tier (16.63.9.8; 16.63.10.8 NMAC).
CSWE-accredited bachelor's in social work (LBSW) or master's in social work (LMSW); the LISW/LCSW applicant must possess an LMSW license (16.63.9.8(B); 16.63.10.8(B); 16.63.11.8(B) NMAC).
3,600 hours of licensed masters level social work experience over no more than a 60 month period, plus 90 hours of supervision, after not less than two years of post-graduate direct/clinical experience under appropriate supervision (16.63.11.8 NMAC).
The ASWB examination at the appropriate license level plus the jurisprudence examination; for the LISW/LCSW, clinical or advanced, as determined by the board (16.63.4.8; 16.63.11.8(E) NMAC).
An independent social worker licensed at the LISW or LCSW level engaged in direct clinical practice, or a board-approved licensed clinical professional; supervising LMSWs licensed after May 1, 2015 takes a three-hour administrative course on supervision and a filed supervision plan (16.63.1.7(A) NMAC).
Enacted 2026 (HB 50, signed Feb.
9, 2026) with deviations from model compact language; membership pending commission review.
No multistate license issued as of September 2026.
Thirty (30) hours of continuing education biennially, six in cultural awareness, within a two (2) year renewal period of July 1 thru June 30 (16.63.12.9 NMAC).
The entry license: a bachelor's degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the ASWB examination, the board's jurisprudence examination and the required course in New Mexico cultures (16.63.9.8 NMAC).
A full license in its own right on a CSWE-accredited master's in social work, the ASWB examination, the jurisprudence examination and the cultures course (16.63.10.8 NMAC) — and the license an independent-clinical applicant must already possess (16.63.11.8(B) NMAC).
The highest level of licensure: the holder functions independently and may supervise LBSWs, LMSWs and other LCSWs/LISWs; the rule writes the tier two ways and treats the titles as one license (16.63.11.9; 16.63.1.7(B) NMAC).
An approval, not a separate license: an LISW/LCSW supervising an LMSW (licensed after May 1, 2015) toward the independent clinical level completes a three (3) hour administrative course on supervision and files an application with curriculum vitae for board approval prior to commencing supervision, together with a supervision plan stating its frequency and type (16.63.1.7(A)(6) NMAC).
New Mexico issues three social work license levels: the Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker, the Licensed Master Social Worker, and the independent tier at the top.
That top tier is written two ways in the rules: the qualification rule pairs them in one title — licensed clinical independent social worker (LCSW) / (LISW) — and the definitions part states that an independent social worker with a clinical specialty is equivalent to an independent clinical social worker (LCSW).
For a clinician reading New Mexico rules or job postings, LISW and LCSW point at the same license, not two tiers.
The definitions part adds the intent behind the title: the LCSW designation captures the ability to practice independently in providing clinical services.
For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.
“This is the highest level of licensure. The licensed clinical independent social worker (LCSW) / (LISW) is to function independently and demonstrate specialized knowledge and skills.”
The LBSW requires a bachelor's degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education; the LMSW requires a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited graduate program; every tier also asks the applicant to be at least 18 years of age.
The LISW/LCSW rule adds no new degree — it requires the applicant to possess an LMSW license, so the master's is already in the file.
What every tier shares beyond the degree is the required course in New Mexico cultures, written into each qualification rule.
The reciprocity rule reaches the same requirement from the other side: an endorsed applicant verifies the cultures condition through a three credit hour course on the transcript, a board-approved course, workshop or seminar, or previous passage of the New Mexico cultural examination (16.63.6.8(E)).
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
The independent clinical route stacks three requirements on top of an LMSW license.
First, not less than two years of post-graduate direct/clinical social work experience under appropriate supervision (16.63.11.8(C)).
Second, the hours the quote names: 3,600 of licensed masters level social work experience, where the 60 months is a ceiling on how slowly they may accumulate — hours gathered outside that window do not meet the rule as written.
Third, supervision: 90 hours during the 3,600-hour period, at least 70 direct, no more than 20 group and no more than 30 interdisciplinary (16.63.11.8(G)).
The rule's ratio explains the total: one hour of supervision documented for every 40 hours worked.
An LMSW counting hours here should track the clock and the ratio from the first day, because both are stated as limits.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
“Individuals licensed as masters social workers (LMSW) and aspiring to achieve licensure at the independent clinical level must complete and document 3,600 hours of licensed masters level social work experience which has been accumulated over no more than a 60 month period.”
Every tier passes the ASWB examination the board adopts at the appropriate license level and the board's own jurisprudence examination.
For the LBSW and LMSW the rule names no ASWB category beyond that phrase — which category fits which license is not stated in the sources read.
At the top, the rule is more specific but still leaves the call to the board: the LISW/LCSW applicant passes the association of social work board examination, clinical or advanced, as determined by the board, together with the jurisprudence examination (16.63.11.8(E)).
Because the choice happens in the board's review of the application rather than in the rule text, an applicant should confirm which examination the board will accept before scheduling.
Sequencing has its own rule: to sit for the ASWB examination, an applicant first submits a completed examination application and supporting documentation to the board (16.63.4.10).
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
“The board adopts as its examination the examination as administered by the association of social work boards at the appropriate license level.”
For an LMSW choosing a supervisor, the definitions part fixes who qualifies: supervision toward the independent clinical level comes from an independent social worker licensed at the LISW or LCSW level who is engaged in direct clinical practice, or a licensed clinical professional approved by the board (16.63.1.7(A)(2)).
Supervisors of LMSWs licensed after May 1, 2015 must complete a three (3) hour administrative course on supervision and file an application with curriculum vitae for board approval prior to commencing supervision, together with a supervision plan stating its frequency and type (16.63.1.7(A)(6)).
Group supervision is rendered to no more than six (6) individuals per group at a time and counts only toward the 20-hour cap (A)(8); interdisciplinary supervision by clinical psychologists, psychiatrists or professional clinical counselors needs a written request, a showing of extraordinary circumstances and board approval before it begins, and counts only toward the 30-hour cap (A)(9).
When the supervisor is an LCSW at the place of employment or an outside supervisor, the parties sign an agreement keeping client information confidential and clinical-care decisions with the agency (A)(10).
Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.
“Direct supervision: means face to face supervision, which may include video-teleconferencing.”
The rule describes the independent tier as functioning independently, with independent judgment, specialized knowledge and skills, in-depth knowledge in at least one client group among individuals, couples, families, groups, communities or organizations, and practice theory and research findings applied across their work.
It is also the supervision tier: the LISW/LCSW may supervise everyone below it and other independent licensees.
An LMSW who is not climbing to the independent level is not outside the framework — the rule contemplates master level social workers practicing clinical social work under an LISW/LCSW engaged in direct clinical practice, or other supervision approved by the board (16.63.1.7(A)(3)).
“The LCSW / LISW may supervise LBSWs, LMSWs and other LCSWs / LISWs.”
A clinician licensed elsewhere comes in through the reciprocity rule by meeting its five conditions: a valid social worker license from another state, territory, the District of Columbia or a foreign nation, held for a minimum of two and one-half years; good standing with no disciplinary action pending or brought against the applicant within the past two and one-half years; a bachelor's or master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program; a passed ASWB examination; and the New Mexico cultures requirement, verified by a three credit hour transcripted course, a board-approved course, workshop or seminar, or proof of previously passing the New Mexico cultural examination.
When the criteria are met, the rule drops any further showing of experience, schooling or degrees — the shortcut the rule states in the quote below.
A clinician planning a move should schedule the cultures piece early; it applies even to experienced licensees.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
“The applicant will not have to further verify the applicant's experience, schooling or degrees if the criteria pursuant to this section are met”
New Mexico enacted a compact bill; membership pending commission review, as of September 2026.
The 2025 bill, SB 105, died; the enacted bill is 2026 HB 50, signed by the governor Feb.
9, 2026 (Chapter 6).
The Legislative Finance Committee's fiscal impact report noted the bill carried no effective date and would go into effect 90 days after the Legislature adjourns, which is May 20, 2026 — and flagged the risk in the quote below.
New Mexico is not on the commission's list of member jurisdictions (swcompact.org, retrieved September 24, 2026), and the commission's May 2026 FAQ said New Mexico passed with material changes and "may have to change something in their legislation before they can become part of the Compact."
Nationally, no multistate social work license has been issued as of the research date — the commission estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 — so the reciprocity rule above remains the route for clinicians moving in either direction.
For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.
“In its review of HB50, the Council of State Governments identified a number of deviations from the model language which could jeopardize New Mexico's participation in the compact.”
Renewal runs on the state fiscal year: all continuing education hours must be earned during the current two (2) year renewal period of July 1 thru June 30, and each independent social worker applies for renewal and pays the renewal fee before July 1 of the renewal year (16.63.11.11).
The CE load is thirty (30) hours biennially with six (6) in cultural awareness; proof of participation or presentation goes in with the renewal request only if the licensee is audited.
The rule offers one exchange rate: a three (3) hour college level course in social work, or courses designed to enhance skills relevant to the social worker's professional activity, is accepted as equivalent to thirty (30) hours, with transcripts sent directly to the board at renewal (16.63.12.10).
“Thirty (30) hours of continuing education will be required biennially. Six (6) of the thirty (30) hours must be in the subject area of cultural awareness.”
The 2026 change is the compact enactment covered above.
The qualification and reciprocity rules this page quotes — 16.63.9.8, 10.8, 11.8, 11.9, 11.11 and 6.8 — each carry the same latest history note: adopted by New Mexico Register, Volume XXXIII, Issue 05, March 8, 2022, effective March 13, 2022, while the continuing-education rules 16.63.12.9 and 16.63.12.10 were last amended on January 17, 2008 and the examinations part (16.63.4.8) in 2006.
Whether the New Mexico register holds any 2023–2026 amendment to 16.63 NMAC was not checked in the research behind this page, so any later change is not stated in the sources read.
The LFC fiscal impact report describes HB 50 as also amending the Social Work Practice Act to require criminal history background checks for licensure applicants, tying the state's own statute to the compact's requirements.
Three procedural rules sit around every tier.
Before sitting for the ASWB examination, an applicant submits a completed examination application and supporting documentation to the board (16.63.4.10).
Each qualification rule also requires proof of any disqualifying criminal convictions as defined in 16.63.13.9 NMAC — what counts as disqualifying lives in that part, which the sources read for this page do not quote.
And the valid license must be displayed and visible to the public in the primary place of social work employment or business, with practice under the name inscribed on the license (16.63.1.11).
This page summarizes the New Mexico statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the New Mexico Board of Social Work Examiners (Regulation & Licensing Dept.) publishes.
Nor does it cover counselor licensure in New Mexico, MFT licensure in New Mexico, or what therapists earn in New Mexico.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the New Mexico Board of Social Work Examiners (Regulation & Licensing Dept.) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in New Mexico that asks for it.
The rule sets a total and a ratio: 90 hours of supervision documented during the 3,600-hour period, with one hour of supervision for every 40 hours worked.
Of the 90, at least 70 must be direct supervision, no more than 20 may be group supervision — rendered to no more than six individuals per group at a time — and no more than 30 may be interdisciplinary supervision by a clinical psychologist, psychiatrist or professional clinical counselor, allowed only on written request and board approval.
Track the ratio from the first LMSW day; the caps are cumulative across the whole period.
Yes, inside the rule's definition of direct supervision.
The rule defines direct supervision as face to face supervision which may include video-teleconferencing, and the definitions part accepts teleconferencing and group supervision within the limits the board sets.
The practical consequence: a New Mexico LMSW is not barred from an LISW/LCSW supervisor by geography alone, but the supervisor's application for board approval goes in prior to commencing supervision and the supervision plan must state the type of supervision, and at least 70 of the 90 hours must still be direct supervision under that definition.
Rule 16.63.6.8 asks for five things: your license held for a minimum of two and one-half years; good standing with no disciplinary action pending or brought in the past two and one-half years; a CSWE-accredited bachelor's or master's in social work; a passed ASWB examination; and the New Mexico cultures requirement, by a three credit hour transcripted course, a board-approved course, workshop or seminar, or previous passage of the state's cultural examination.
If the criteria are met, you will not have to further verify your experience, schooling or degrees.
Confirm current processing details with the board before you move.
The rule leaves the choice to the board: the independent clinical applicant passes the association of social work board examination, clinical or advanced, as determined by the board, plus the state's jurisprudence examination.
For the LBSW and LMSW tiers the text is even less specific — the board adopts the ASWB examination at the appropriate license level without naming a category, and which category fits which license is not stated in the sources read.
Because the determination happens when the board reviews the application, ask the board which examination it will accept before registering with ASWB.
Not yet.
New Mexico enacted a compact bill in 2026 — HB 50, signed Feb.
9, 2026 — but the Council of State Governments identified deviations from model language that could jeopardize the state's participation, the commission's May 2026 FAQ said New Mexico "may have to change something in their legislation before they can become part of the Compact," and New Mexico is not on the commission's member list as of September 2026.
No multistate license is being issued anywhere yet, so the reciprocity rule at 16.63.6.8 remains the route for clinicians moving in or out.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the New Mexico Board of Social Work Examiners (Regulation & Licensing Dept.).