Texas licenses social workers at three levels, the LBSW, LMSW and LCSW, and adds two specialty recognitions: non-clinical Independent Practice Recognition and the Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP).
The clinical license is the LCSW: a CSWE-accredited MSW, 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience over at least 24 months with 100 hours of supervision from a Council-approved LCSW supervisor, the ASWB Clinical exam and the Council's jurisprudence exam.
The quirks: the 24 months are a floor even when the hours finish early, and licensees moving in have real endorsement routes.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).
An LMSW who plans to apply for the LCSW may not open an independent practice providing clinical social work (22 TAC 781.402(c)).
LBSW and LMSW, plus two specialty recognitions: non-clinical Independent Practice Recognition and Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP).
A temporary license before the exam exists for LBSW and LMSW applicants only.
LMSW and LCSW: a CSWE-accredited MSW, or a doctorate in social work acceptable to the Council, with a transcript showing a completed field placement.
LBSW: a CSWE-accredited BSW.
3,000 hours of supervised professional clinical experience over at least 24 months, with a minimum of 100 hours of supervision from a Council-approved supervisor.
Supervision must run 24 full months even if the hours finish sooner.
LBSW: Bachelors.
LMSW: Masters.
LCSW: Clinical.
Every applicant also completes the Council's jurisprudence examination and submits proof with the application.
An LCSW who is a Council-approved supervisor: two years in their licensure category plus a 40-hour supervisor training program.
On-the-job clinical supervision from an LPC, psychologist, LMFT or psychiatrist does not count toward the LCSW.
Not enacted.
As of September 2026 Texas is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, and the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.
Biennial, with 30 continuing education hours per renewal period, including 6 in ethics and 3 in cultural diversity or competency; approved supervisors need 6 in supervision, which may count toward the 30.
Up to 10 unused hours carry forward.
A license issued before the exam, valid for up to six months, to an LBSW or LMSW applicant who meets every other requirement, used with the licensed title or initials followed by the word Temporary; LCSW and specialty-recognition applicants are not eligible (22 TAC 781.411).
The baccalaureate license, on a CSWE-accredited BSW and the ASWB Bachelors exam; an LBSW can later add non-clinical Independent Practice Recognition.
A full license in its own right and the license under which LCSW hours are earned; an LMSW who plans to apply for the LCSW may not open an independent practice providing clinical social work (781.402(c)).
A specialty recognition on an LBSW or LMSW, not a separate license, that lets the holder practise independently in non-clinical social work (781.403(g)); it does not authorize clinical practice.
A specialty recognition whose holders may supervise non-clinical experience toward Independent Practice Recognition (781.404(b)(5)(B)); the current qualifications for a new LMSW-AP were not stated in the sources read.
The clinical license, reached by re-categorizing an LMSW after 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience over at least 24 months and the ASWB Clinical exam.
An approved status, not a license, granted on application and fee after two years in the licensure category and a 40-hour training program; only an LCSW with this status may supervise hours toward the LCSW (781.404(a)(3), (b)).
Texas issues three social work licenses by degree level: the Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW), the Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) and the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).
The specialty recognitions are designations on a license, not licenses of their own.
Independent Practice Recognition lets an LBSW or LMSW practise independently in non-clinical social work; it takes 3,000 hours of supervised full-time social work experience over a minimum two-year period, earned while fully licensed, with 100 hours of supervision.
The Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP) appears in the supervisor rule, whose holders may supervise non-clinical experience, but the current qualifications for a new LMSW-AP were not stated in the sources read.
The distinction to carry into a job search: an LMSW with Independent Practice Recognition can run a non-clinical practice, and the LCSW is the clinical license.
Moving from LMSW to LCSW is a re-categorization of your existing license, filed once the supervision requirements are met.
For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.
The LMSW and LCSW share the same degree requirement: a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program, or a doctoral degree in social work from an accredited institution acceptable to the Council, plus a university transcript documenting a completed field placement in social work.
The transcript line matters most for doctoral applicants, since the Council must find the doctorate acceptable and the field placement has to appear on the transcript itself.
The LBSW requires a baccalaureate degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program.
Because the LCSW rule repeats the LMSW's degree requirement and adds no coursework, what separates the two licenses is supervised clinical experience and the Clinical exam, not more school.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
The LCSW requires 3,000 hours of supervised professional clinical experience over a period of at least 24 months, and a minimum of 100 hours of supervision with a Council-approved supervisor over the course of those hours.
Supervision has to keep pace with the work: it occurs in proportion to the hours actually worked, and no more than 10 hours of supervision may be counted in any one month or 30-day period.
The 24 months are a floor, not an estimate.
A full-time LMSW who reaches both the 3,000 hours and the 100 supervision hours early still has to continue qualifying supervision until 24 full months have passed from the start date.
Hours from a non-clinical job can count if you work at least 4 hours a week providing clinical social work as the rules define it.
And the clock starts only on a regular license: a temporary licensee may not begin supervision toward independent clinical practice until the regular license is issued.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
βEven if the individual completes the minimum of 3000 hours of supervised experience and minimum of 100 hours of supervision prior to 24 months from the start date of supervision, supervision which meets the Council's minimum requirements shall extend to a minimum of 24 full months.β
Each license maps to one ASWB exam: the Bachelors exam for the LBSW, the Master's exam for the LMSW and the Clinical exam for the LCSW.
Every applicant also completes the Council's jurisprudence examination and submits proof of completion at the time of application.
The examination rule requires a passing ASWB score before the date of the application, so an LMSW heading for the LCSW should plan to pass the Clinical exam before filing for re-categorization and confirm the order with the Council.
A licensee from another state who passed the same exam there cannot be required to retake it.
The Council may also waive the examination, on written petition, for a certificate or license from another state issued before January 1, 1986.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
βApplicants must have received a passing score on the ASWB national examination prior to the date of the application.β
Hours toward the LCSW must be supervised by a Licensed Clinical Social Worker who is a Council-approved supervisor.
That is narrower than the clinical supervision an LMSW gets on the job, which an LPC, psychologist, LMFT, LCSW or psychiatrist may provide but which the rule says is not related to qualification for licensure; ask an employer which kind it offers.
An approved supervisor has practised two years at their licensure category and completed a 40-hour training program, which since September 1, 2023 follows a set breakdown of 3, 3, 12, 12 and 3 hours.
Sessions can be one-on-one or in groups of two to six, in person or by HIPAA-compliant audio or web technology, though the Council favors same-place supervision for a substantial part.
A supervisor may not be employed by you or be a family member, and one already paid for supervisory duties may not charge you.
You both sign a supervision plan; the supervisor keeps the log and files the verification form.
Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.
βSession may transpire in the same geographic location, or via audio, web technology or other electronic supervision techniques that comply with HIPAA and Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 611, and/or other applicable state or federal statutes or rules.β
Texas draws its sharpest line at independent practice.
An LMSW on the path to the LCSW may not open an independent practice offering clinical social work; the supervision rule describes the LMSW's clinical work under clinical supervision, either on the job or under an LCSW supervision plan.
An LBSW or LMSW may practise independently in non-clinical social work once they hold Independent Practice Recognition, or while under a supervision plan for independent practice, in which case the Council-approved supervisor remains responsible for the supervisee's acts or omissions.
The same rule says the Council may use 1996 IRS guidelines on behavioral control, financial control and the relationship of the parties to decide whether a professional is an independent contractor or an employee, so how a contract role is structured can matter.
Supervisees who bill clients or payers must show their licensure category and that they are under supervision.
βAn LMSW who plans to apply for the LCSW may not open an independent social work practice to provide clinical social work to clients.β
Texas social work rules give licensees from elsewhere two routes.
If you have held a substantially equivalent license in good standing in another jurisdiction for the year immediately before you apply, you are deemed to have met the experience requirement; the degree, exam and jurisprudence requirements still apply.
Separately, the Council may license someone currently licensed elsewhere to independently practise social work if it finds sufficient experience and competence, the applicant has passed the exam appropriate to the category sought and the Texas jurisprudence exam, and the license is in good standing; in weighing experience it may consider supervision that would count where it was received.
If you earned supervision in another jurisdiction, that jurisdiction's regulator verifies it, or you can ask the Council to accept alternate verification.
A guide that says Texas offers no endorsement or temporary license is repeating the Texas counselor program's statement, not these social work rules.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
βIf an applicant for a license has held a substantially equivalent license in good standing in another jurisdiction for one year immediately preceding the date of application, the applicant will be deemed to have met the experience requirement under this chapter.β
As of September 2026, Texas is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions: it has not enacted the compact.
There is no multistate-license route into or out of Texas, so practising here takes a Texas license, by the standard route or the endorsement routes above.
The compact itself has reached activation status, but the commission says multistate licenses are not yet being issued anywhere, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than giving a launch date.
Check the commission's jurisdiction list and the Council before relying on either status.
For the compactβs status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.
Renewal is biennial, and each renewal period requires 30 hours of continuing education.
A licensee with supervisory status also needs 6 hours in supervision, which can count toward the 30, and supervisor status renews with the biennial license renewal.
Up to 10 hours not needed for renewal can carry forward to the next period.
Since January 1, 2024, at least fifty percent of your hours must come from listed provider types, including professional associations, government entities, accredited colleges, hospitals and Council-approved supervisors; the Council does not pre-approve providers, so checking is your job.
Passing the jurisprudence exam earns 1 ethics hour, self-study is capped at 1 hour, and proof must be kept for at least 3 years after the renewal period.
βThe 30 hours of continuing education must include 6 hours in ethics and 3 hours in cultural diversity or competency.β
The Texas Register notes on the saved rules show amendments in the window, though the saved text is the current wording and does not show what each amendment changed.
Section 781.401, the qualifications rule, was last amended effective June 15, 2023.
Section 781.404, the supervision rule, was amended effective June 15, 2023 and March 27, 2024, and its set 40-hour supervisor-training breakdown took effect September 1, 2023.
Section 781.412, the examination rule, was amended effective March 27, 2024.
Section 781.501 on continuing education was amended effective June 15, 2023 and March 27, 2024, and its requirement that at least half of CE hours come from listed providers took effect January 1, 2024.
The compact status did not change: Texas had not enacted it as of September 2026.
An applicant who meets every requirement except the exam may obtain a temporary license.
The holder must take the exam within six months of issuance, use the licensed title or initials followed by the word Temporary, and stop using it if they fail; a temporary license is granted once in a lifetime per license category.
An applicant for LCSW or specialty recognition is not eligible, so in practice it serves LBSW and LMSW applicants, and time on it does not start the LCSW clock.
Read it beside the examination rule, amended effective March 27, 2024, which says applicants must have passed the ASWB exam before the date of application.
The two rules sit awkwardly together; ask the Council whether it still issues temporary licenses before you plan a job start around one.
βPrior to examination, a licensure applicant may obtain a temporary social work license as long as the applicant meets all the requirements, except the licensing examination, for the license category the applicant seeks.β
This page summarizes the Texas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council) publishes.
Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Texas, MFT licensure in Texas, or what therapists earn in Texas.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Texas that asks for it.
From the 32 active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesnβt mention one may still offer it.
Browse 32 jobs βNot toward the LCSW.
22 TAC 781.404(a)(2) lets an LPC, psychologist, LMFT, LCSW or psychiatrist provide an LMSW's clinical supervision on the job, but says that supervision is not related to qualification for licensure.
LCSW hours need an LCSW who is a Council-approved supervisor under a signed supervision plan (781.404(a)(3); 781.402(b)).
If your employer's supervisor is not an approved LCSW, arrange approved supervision separately, with the agency's written approval, and confirm the plan with the Council.
No. Under 22 TAC 781.404(b)(9)(E), even if you complete the 3,000 hours of supervised experience and the 100 hours of supervision before 24 months from the start date of supervision, qualifying supervision must continue to a minimum of 24 full months.
No more than 10 supervision hours count in any one month, so the 100 hours also have to be spread out.
Plan your Clinical exam and re-categorization application around the 24-month date, and check timing with the Council.
Not if you qualify under 22 TAC 781.401(a): holding a substantially equivalent license in good standing in another jurisdiction for the year immediately before you apply means you are deemed to have met the experience requirement.
Section 781.418 also lets the Council license someone currently licensed elsewhere to practise independently, if they show sufficient experience and competence, have passed the appropriate exam and the Texas jurisprudence exam, and are in good standing.
You cannot be made to retake an exam you already passed.
Confirm which route fits with the Council.
Yes, under the rule text.
22 TAC 781.404(b)(9)(A) lets supervision take place in the same location or by audio, web technology or other electronic techniques that comply with HIPAA and Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 611.
Subsection (D) adds that the Council favors formats where supervisor and supervisee are in the same place for a substantial part of the supervision time, and the format must be described in your supervision plan.
Write the delivery method into the plan before the hours start.
The rules provide one.
22 TAC 781.411 lets an applicant who meets every requirement except the exam obtain a temporary license, valid until they attempt the exam or six months pass, once per license category in a lifetime.
LCSW and specialty-recognition applicants are not eligible.
The examination rule, 781.412(b), also says applicants must have passed the ASWB exam before the date of application, so ask the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners whether temporary licenses are currently issued before you rely on one.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council).