Colorado licenses professional counselors on two rungs: the Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) and, below it, the licensed professional counselor candidate.
The route is a CACREP-approved or board-deemed-equivalent graduate degree with at least 700 hours of supervised field experience, then at least 2,000 hours of post-degree practice including 1,500 hours of face-to-face client contact over at least 24 months, plus the NBCC counselor certification examination and a state jurisprudence exam.
The quirk: renewal runs on a 40-PDH portfolio program, and supervision can be video.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), the independent counseling license; the candidate credential is the only rung below it in the rules read.
Licensed professional counselor candidate.
Board rules call it a candidate registration; DORA's homepage calls candidates license holders.
The statute (C.R.S. Β§12-245-604) was not read, so its legal form is not stated in the sources read.
A master's or doctoral degree from a CACREP-approved program (not less than 60 semester credit hours if enrolled after August 31, 2014), or a board-deemed CACREP-equivalent or credential-agency-evaluated program, with supervised field experience of not fewer than 700 hours.
Post-degree make-up is capped at six semester credits for post-2014 enrollees.
At least 2,000 hours of practice in counseling, including at least 1,500 hours of face-to-face direct client contact, under clinical supervision that is in person or telesupervision, completed in no fewer than 24 months; at least two years of post-master's practice or one year postdoctoral.
Supervision: a minimum of 50 hours for each 1,000 hours of practice, at least 25 of the 50 individual.
Two: the Board-developed jurisprudence examination, required of applicants for both licensure and candidate registration, and the counselor certification examination administered under contract with NBCC.
The rule does not name the NCE or NCMHCE.
Results are valid for up to five years.
No separate supervisor credential.
An LPC, LCSW, marriage and family therapist, psychologist or licensed addiction counselor, licensed where the services were performed, with substantially equivalent experience.
Since September 1, 2021 a professional counselor supervising must also have three years or 3,000 hours of post-graduate clinical experience plus supervision training (4 CCR 737-1.7).
Member per the Counseling Compact Commission, not live, as of September 2026: Colorado is not among the states issuing and accepting compact privileges.
The enacting bill and C.R.S. citation were not located in the sources read.
A Continuing Professional Development portfolio program, not a flat CE list: 40 Professional Development Hours per renewal cycle built from a Professional Practice Survey, a Personal Learning Plan and documented activities; candidates complete 60 PDH from the second renewal.
Cycle length is not stated in the sources read.
The rung below the LPC: board rules call it a candidate registration (4 CCR 737-1.14(D)(1), 1.18) while DORA's homepage refers to Professional Counselor Candidates with an Active Colorado license, and the statute was not read, so the sources read do not settle whether it is legally a registration or a license.
The independent counseling license under the Mental Health Practice Act; the rules read create no clinical or supervisor tier above it.
Colorado's counseling rules create one independent license, the LPC, and one rung below it, the licensed professional counselor candidate.
What that rung legally is was not resolved by the sources read: rule 1.14(D)(1) and rule 1.18 speak of a candidate registration, rule 1.1(E) describes persons licensed as a licensed professional counselor candidate, and DORA's homepage refers to Professional Counselor Candidates with an Active Colorado license.
The statute, C.R.S. Β§12-245-604, was not read.
What is clear is function: the candidate credential is what you hold while accruing the 2,000 supervised hours, it renews, and from the second renewal it carries its own 60-PDH development requirement.
Before you put either word on a form, confirm the credential's current form with DORA.
Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters β see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.
βAll Licensed Professional Counselors and Professional Counselor Candidates with an Active Colorado license must regularly complete CPC requirements to practice professional counseling with that license.β
The default degree is from a program approved by CACREP; if you enrolled after August 31, 2014, the program must comprise not less than 60 semester credit hours.
A non-CACREP graduate has two equivalency routes: a program the Board has deemed CACREP-equivalent on an annual cycle, or an evaluation by a Board-approved credentialing agency.
The equivalency analysis looks for a regionally accredited institution, an integrated counseling curriculum, and supervised field experience of not fewer than 700 hours; for pre-2014 enrollees it checks 48 semester hours (72 quarter) of graduate study for a master's, or 96 semester (144 quarter) for a doctorate.
If your degree falls short β fewer hours, missing coursework in the eight content areas, no 700-hour field placement β the requirements can be completed post-degree, but post-2014 enrollees may complete no more than six semester credits (nine quarter credits) after graduation.
That cap decides, before you apply, whether a thin transcript can be repaired.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
βThe applicant obtained a master's or doctoral degree from a program that was approved by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP). If enrolled after August 31, 2014, the applicant must be enrolled in an approved program comprised of not less than 60 semester credit hours; orβ
The requirement is at least two years of post-master's practice, or one year of postdoctoral practice, under clinical supervision, with at least 2,000 hours of practice in counseling including at least 1,500 hours of face-to-face direct client contact, completed in no fewer than 24 months.
For each 1,000 hours of supervised practice you need a minimum of 50 hours of supervision: at least 25 of the 50 must be individual supervision, in person or by telesupervision, and the remaining 25 may be triadic or group supervision at a maximum ratio of one supervisor to ten supervisees β the rule accepts no other modes.
Post-doctoral applicants may count up to 300 hours of supervised teaching of professional counseling toward the practice requirement.
Plan the calendar as well as the count: experience and supervision older than five years before your application are not accepted absent a showing of good cause, though the rule notes exceptions under the statutes concerning professional counselor candidates, which were not read for this page β ask DORA before assuming hours banked years ago have lapsed.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
βFor each one thousand hours of supervised practice in professional counseling, has received a minimum of fifty hours of supervision.β
Colorado requires a national exam and a state exam.
The national examination in professional counseling is, in the rule's words, the counselor certification examination administered under contract with NBCC; the rule never uses the exam names NCE or NCMHCE, and whether Colorado accepts the NCMHCE was not established in the sources read, so ask the board which administration it accepts before you register.
Every applicant, for licensure and for candidate registration alike, must also pass the Board-developed jurisprudence examination.
Two timing rules help you plan: a student in the last semester or quarter of a graduate program may apply directly to NBCC to sit the exam early, and exam results are valid for up to five years before your application date.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
βApplicants for both licensure and candidate registration shall be required to pass a Board developed jurisprudence examinationβ
Colorado issues no separate supervisor credential.
The board may accept an LPC, a licensed clinical social worker, a marriage and family therapist, a psychologist or a licensed addiction counselor as your supervisor, each licensed in the jurisdiction where your services were performed, with experience substantially equivalent to the scope of a licensed professional counselor.
The general supervision rule adds a floor for professional counselors who clinically supervise: since September 1, 2021 they need three years or 3,000 hours of post-graduate clinical experience as a counselor, plus one of a two-credit graduate supervision course, six clock-hours of supervision training across named content areas, ACS certification, or a counseling doctorate with a supervision component, and three PDH in clinical supervision each renewal period.
Supervision may be in person or telesupervision, and the rule's responsible-direction standard is broad: decisions such as the type, duration and method of your services and the fees and billing procedures are made with the approved supervisor's approval.
For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?
β"Telesupervision" means clinical supervision conducted through audio/video technology such as videoconferencing or telephone.β
Colorado channels endorsement through its Occupational Credential Portability Program, with two doors.
The one-year door: satisfactory proof that you have held for at least one year a current and unrestricted license, in good standing, to practice professional counseling in another jurisdiction with a scope of practice substantially similar to the LPC's under part 6 of the Mental Health Practice Act.
The experience door: a qualifying degree, an attested examination covering competence including psychotherapy, and an attestation of two years of post-master's or one year of post-doctoral supervised practice substantially similar to rule 1.14 β or an attested two years of active practice, meaning at least 20 hours per week averaged over your time in practice with no more than a six-month absence.
Every endorsement applicant also passes the jurisprudence exam and proves they are at least 21 years old.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
βSatisfactory proof that the applicant has held for at least one year a current and unrestricted license, in good standing, to practice professional counseling in another jurisdiction with a scope of practice that is substantially similar to the scope of practice for licensed professional counselors pursuant to Part 6 of the Mental Health Practice Act.β
As of September 2026 the Counseling Compact Commission lists Colorado among its member states, and Colorado is not among the states issuing and accepting compact privileges.
Until the commission lists Colorado as live, a Colorado LPC cannot use the Compact to practise in another member state, and a counselor licensed elsewhere cannot use it to practise in Colorado; the route in remains a Colorado license, by examination or through the Occupational Credential Portability Program.
The commission's fee table records a Colorado jurisprudence requirement for the Compact.
The enacting bill and its C.R.S. citation were not located in the sources read, so this page states membership status only, dated to its retrieval.
For how the compactβs privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.
Colorado does not run a flat CE list.
Renewal, reinstatement and reactivation all run through the Continuing Professional Development program: a Professional Practice Survey, a Personal Learning Plan drafted from it, and documented Board-approved professional development activities worth 40 PDH per renewal cycle, with no more than 20 PDH credited from any single activity.
Licensees licensed for part of a cycle accrue 1.66 PDH per month; up to 5 PDH may carry into the next cycle if earned within six months of expiration and in excess of the 40; documentation is retained at least five years.
A 60-day grace period after expiration allows renewal without a disciplinary sanction for practising on the expired license, with a delinquency fee.
How long the renewal cycle itself is was not stated in the sources read β check DORA for your expiration date.
βLicensees shall complete forty PDH each renewal cycle in order to renew their license. Licensed professional counselor candidates shall complete sixty (60) PDH at the second and all subsequent renewal cycles.β
Three changes fall in the window.
Effective May 22, 2024, licensed professional counselor candidates were added to the Continuing Professional Development program: 60 PDH at the second and every later renewal of the candidate registration.
Rule 1.14, the education and experience rule this page relies on throughout, was amended effective May 15, 2025 (48 CR 07) β that is the text cited here.
And on June 4, 2024 the Governor signed HB24-1004, under which a regulator may consider an applicant's conviction only for a three-year period beginning at the conviction or the end of incarceration; DORA publishes it on the counselor program page as reaching applications for a registration, certification or license.
The pre-amendment text of 1.14 was not read, so this page cannot say what that amendment changed; verify the rule text in force when you apply.
βEffective May 22, 2024, licensed professional counselor candidates shall complete continuing professional development and educational hours prior to a second or subsequent renewal of a licensed professional counselor candidate registration to maintain the licensed professional counselors candidate registration.β
This page summarizes the Colorado statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the State Board of Licensed Professional Counselor Examiners, Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA) publishes.
Nor does it cover social work licensure in Colorado, MFT licensure in Colorado, or what therapists earn in Colorado.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the State Board of Licensed Professional Counselor Examiners, Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Colorado that asks for it.
The sources read do not settle it.
Board rules 4 CCR 737-1.14(D)(1) and 1.18 speak of a candidate registration; DORA's homepage refers to Professional Counselor Candidates with an Active Colorado license; and the statute, C.R.S. Β§12-245-604, was not read for this page.
Functionally, the candidate credential is what you hold while accruing supervised hours, it renews, and from the second renewal it carries 60 PDH.
Confirm the credential's current form with DORA before you rely on either word.
Yes.
Rule 1.14(C)(1)(e) says supervision may be in person or telesupervision, and the rule defines telesupervision as clinical supervision conducted through audio/video technology such as videoconferencing or telephone.
The 2,000 practice hours can accrue under telesupervision, and so can the individual supervision hours, while the non-individual half must be triadic or group supervision at no more than one supervisor to ten supervisees.
Confirm your supervisor is board-acceptable before the hours start.
That was not established in the sources read.
The rule names only the counselor certification examination administered under contract with the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC), and never uses the exam names NCE or NCMHCE.
Before you register for either administration, ask the State Board of Licensed Professional Counselor Examiners which examination it currently accepts, and remember results are valid for up to five years before your application.
At least 2,000 hours of practice in counseling, including 1,500 face-to-face hours of direct client contact, under clinical supervision that is in person or telesupervision, in no fewer than 24 months, on a base of two years of post-master's practice or one year postdoctoral.
Supervision runs at a minimum of 50 hours per 1,000 hours of practice, at least 25 individual.
Hours and supervision older than five years at application are not accepted absent good cause, though rule 1.14(A)(3) notes exceptions under the statutes concerning professional counselor candidates, which were not read β ask DORA.
Not as of September 2026.
The Counseling Compact Commission lists Colorado as a member state, but Colorado is not among the states issuing and accepting compact privileges, so a counselor licensed elsewhere cannot yet bring a compact privilege to Colorado, and a Colorado LPC cannot yet send one in the other direction.
The route in is a Colorado license, by examination or through the Occupational Credential Portability Program.
Check the commission and DORA for current status.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the State Board of Licensed Professional Counselor Examiners, Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA).