Idaho licenses counselors on two rungs: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), then Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC), with a Registered Post-Graduate Intern registration before the first license.
The LPC takes a master's degree, 1,000 supervised hours (400 of direct client contact) and the NCE; the LCPC adds 2,000 direct client contact hours under supervision in at least two years and the NCMHCE.
The quirk: since July 1, 2026, an LPC can no longer be a board-approved supervisor.
Idaho is not in the Counseling Compact.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC), licensed under Idaho Code §54-3405A; the first qualification it lists is a valid licensed professional counselor license in good standing.
Registered Post-Graduate Intern — a registration, not a license (IDAPA 24.15.01.100.06), for the supervised practice of counseling while completing supervised experience hours or awaiting examination results.
The first license is the LPC.
A master's degree or higher in counseling or a related field of study, as approved by the board, that includes completion of a practicum of supervised clinical contact (§54-3405(1)(c)(i)); the rule defines the approved program as primarily counseling in nature and CACREP-accredited or substantially similar and board-approved.
No semester-hour figure appears in the statute or rule read.
LPC: 1,000 hours of supervised experience in counseling acceptable to the board, of which 400 must be direct client contact, with 1 hour of individual supervision per 20 hours of direct client contact.
LCPC, on top of the LPC: 2,000 hours of direct client contact experience under supervision in no less than a two-year period, at 1 hour of clinical supervision per 30 direct hours.
One exam per tier: the National Counselor Examination (NCE) for the LPC and the NCMHCE for the LCPC.
No jurisprudence exam appears in the statute or rule read.
Two gates.
LCPC hours: 1,000 of the 2,000 direct-client hours under a licensed clinical professional counselor, the remaining supervision by any supervisor as defined in IDAPA 24.15.01.003.01 — a clinical professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, psychologist, clinical social worker, or psychiatrist, licensed, active, and in good standing.
Registered interns: a board-approved supervisor — a clinical professional counselor or licensed marriage and family therapist with at least 15 contact hours of supervisor training and no discipline in the five years prior.
An LPC could be an approved supervisor only until July 1, 2026.
Idaho has not enacted the Counseling Compact and is not on the commission's member list as of September 2026.
Unresolved: the statute caps 'The fee for biennial renewal' (§54-3411(1)(e)) while the rule's fee table (eff.
2024-07-01, the later text) lists an 'ANNUAL RENEWAL FEE' of $120; the sources read do not resolve the cycle.
CE every 24 months: 6 hours in ethics, 3 in boundaries, and 3 in suicide assessment or intervention; the rule states no total CE figure.
A registration, not a license: IDAPA 24.15.01.100.06 requires it to engage in the supervised practice of counseling while completing supervised experience hours or awaiting examination results, and an individual may not practice as an intern for more than four years from the original date of registration.
A full license to practice professional counseling under Idaho Code §54-3405, with 1,000 supervised hours and the NCE behind it; the statute places no supervision condition on the LPC, and holding it in good standing is the first qualification the LCPC statute lists.
The clinical tier, licensed under Idaho Code §54-3405A: restricted to persons who hold a valid LPC license in good standing and add 2,000 hours of supervised direct client contact experience and the board's clinical examination.
Idaho issues two counseling licenses.
The LPC is defined as a person licensed to practice professional counseling; the LCPC practices clinical professional counseling, and the first qualification §54-3405A lists is a valid LPC license in good standing.
The statute attaches no supervision condition to the LPC — the contrast is Idaho's own associate MFT, whose definition says such a licensee practices only under supervision — but the sources read are silent beyond the two definitions on how the tiers' scope differs.
So do not assume the LPC is a supervised associate-style license, and do not assume it is the LCPC's equal.
Before either license sits the Registered Post-Graduate Intern registration, which cannot outlast four years from original registration unless the board finds good cause.
Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters — see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.
“A post-graduate intern registration is required to engage in the supervised practice of counseling or marriage and family therapy while completing supervised experience hours or while awaiting examination results.”
The degree rule has two layers.
The statute requires a master's degree or higher in counseling or a related field of study, as approved by the board, that includes completion of a practicum of supervised clinical contact.
The rule then defines the approved graduate program as one that is primarily counseling in nature and accredited by CACREP or substantially similar and approved by the Board.
Neither text states a semester-hour minimum, so the credit count is not the gate the board applies — its approval of the program is.
If your program was not CACREP-accredited, 'substantially similar' is the phrase your application turns on, and the sources read do not define how the board measures it; ask before you apply.
Foreign-educated applicants may be asked for a credential evaluation from a NACES member service, with English translations.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
The LPC's requirement is 1,000 hours of supervised experience in counseling acceptable to the board.
The rule splits it: 400 of the 1,000 must be direct client contact, and the experience must include at least 1 hour of individual supervision for every 20 hours of direct client contact.
A supervised graduate practicum or internship can be used — supervised by counselor education faculty, a doctoral student, or a site supervisor approved by an accredited college or university — so the LPC clock can start inside your degree program.
The LCPC stacks on top: 2,000 hours of direct client contact experience under supervision in no less than a two-year period, of which 1,000 must be supervised by a licensed clinical professional counselor, the rest under any supervisor the rule defines — IDAPA 24.15.01.003.01 includes psychologists, clinical social workers, and psychiatrists — at 1 hour of clinical supervision for every 30 hours of direct client contact, with at least half of the supervised hours individual rather than group.
Line up an LCPC early: half the clock depends on one.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
“Four hundred (400) of the one thousand (1,000) hours must be direct client contact and the supervised experience must include a minimum of one (1) hour of individual supervision for every twenty (20) hours of direct client contact.”
Each tier has its own exam, and only one.
The LPC takes the National Counselor Examination prepared by NBCC; the LCPC takes the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination.
Because the LCPC requires the LPC first, a counselor who climbs both rungs sits both exams, in that order.
The intern registration expressly covers people awaiting examination results, so the exam can still be pending while you practice under supervision.
No jurisprudence exam appears in the statute or rule read.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
“The National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE) prepared by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC).”
The rule separates two supervisor gates.
For the LCPC's experience hours, IDAPA 24.15.01.003.01 defines Supervisor as the quoted list of five license types; 1,000 of the 2,000 direct-client hours must still sit with a licensed clinical professional counselor, but the other 1,000 may sit with anyone on that list.
Registered interns are the tighter case: they practice under a board-approved supervisor — a clinical professional counselor or licensed marriage and family therapist with at least 15 contact hours of supervisor training and no discipline in the five years prior.
Since July 1, 2026, a licensed professional counselor can no longer be a board-approved supervisor, and the LPC is not on that list either — neither the intern route nor the non-LCPC half of the LCPC's hours can rest on an LPC's supervision.
On video, the statute defines supervised experience as a face-to-face process; whether supervision by video counts is not stated in the sources read — get the board's position in writing before hours accrue.
For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?
“A clinical professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, psychologist, clinical social worker, or psychiatrist, whose license is active, current, and in good standing and who, when applicable, is approved as a supervisor in the state where the supervisee is practicing.”
The practice of professional counseling is defined broadly: counseling and therapy with individuals, groups, couples and families, assessment, crisis intervention, treatment of mental and emotional disorders including addictive disorders, consulting, research and referral.
Two limits sit in the definition itself.
Specific methods, techniques and modalities are restricted to counselors appropriately trained in their use, and §54-3402 makes it unlawful to practice for compensation — or to use the protected titles — without a license.
What the sources read do not contain is a definition of clinical professional counseling that separates the LCPC's scope from the LPC's; the tiers are differentiated by their licensure requirements, not by a written scope split.
If a job offer or a coverage question turns on what only the LCPC can do, ask the board rather than inferring from the titles.
“The use of specific methods, techniques, or modalities within the practice of professional counseling is restricted to professional counselors appropriately trained in the use of such methods, techniques or modalities.”
A counselor licensed or certified as a licensed professional counselor or licensed clinical professional counselor by an agency in another state, territory or foreign country can be licensed by endorsement.
The statute names no minimum years of licensed practice; what it requires is that the applicant, at the time of application, meets the qualifications established by board rule, so the board's endorsement requirements — not this page — settle what documentation that takes.
Budget the fee: §54-3411(1)(c) caps the endorsement fee at $175.
There is no Compact shortcut: as of September 2026 Idaho is not a member, so examination or endorsement is the route in.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
“Upon payment of the fee enumerated in this chapter, the board may grant a license to any person who, at the time of application, is licensed or certified as a licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical professional counselor, licensed associate marriage and family therapist or licensed marriage and family therapist by an agency located in another state, territory or foreign country and who meets the qualifications established by board rule.”
As of September 2026, Idaho is not on the Counseling Compact Commission's member list and has not enacted the Compact.
That cuts both ways: an Idaho LPC or LCPC cannot use the Compact to practice in a member state, and a counselor licensed in a Compact state cannot use it to practice in Idaho.
The routes in and out are Idaho's own — licensure by examination, or endorsement under §54-3406.
Check the commission and the board for current status before you plan a move around it.
For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.
The renewal cycle is the one open question.
The statute caps 'The fee for biennial renewal' at $350; the rule's fee table — effective July 1, 2024, the later text — lists an 'ANNUAL RENEWAL FEE' of $120.
The sources read do not resolve which cycle the board administers, so confirm with the board before budgeting.
The CE rule is unambiguous about topics if not totals: in each 24-month period preceding renewal, every licensee completes 6 hours in ethics, 3 hours of boundaries, and 3 hours in suicide assessment or intervention; the rule states no total CE-hour figure.
The statute separately caps the original intern registration fee at $25.
“In each twenty-four (24) month period preceding the renewal of a license, all licensees must complete six (6) hours in ethics, three (3) hours of boundaries, and three (3) hours in suicide assessment or intervention.”
Three dated changes.
First, IDAPA 24.15.01 was rewritten with all sections effective July 1, 2024 — a guide citing the old rule text is out of date on the hour, supervision, intern and fee wording.
Second, Idaho Code §§54-3405 and 54-3405A, the LPC and LCPC qualification statutes, were amended by 2024 ch. 101.
Third, the sunset in the supervisor rule fired on July 1, 2026, and LPCs lost approved-supervisor eligibility.
The practical read on anything written before mid-2026: its hour and exam figures can still be right, but any sentence describing an LPC as an eligible supervisor, or citing a pre-2024 rule number, is stale.
“A licensed professional counselor may be an approved supervisor until July 1, 2026.”
This page summarizes the Idaho statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses publishes.
Nor does it cover social work licensure in Idaho, MFT licensure in Idaho, or what therapists earn in Idaho.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Idaho that asks for it.
For hours you earn after graduation, yes.
IDAPA 24.15.01.100.06 requires a post-graduate intern registration to engage in the supervised practice of counseling while completing supervised experience hours or awaiting examination results, caps intern practice at four years from the original registration unless the board finds good cause, and requires a board-approved supervisor and explicit identification as an intern in documentation and advertising.
Hours earned inside a supervised graduate practicum or internship are different: the rule lets that educational experience count toward the LPC's 1,000 hours without any registration.
No. IDAPA 24.15.01.200.02.b allowed a licensed professional counselor to be an approved supervisor only until July 1, 2026; an approved supervisor must now be a licensed clinical professional counselor or a licensed marriage and family therapist — LPCs excluded — with 15 contact hours of supervisor training and no discipline in the five years prior.
The statute's §54-3402 exemption wording still describes an intern "acting under the direct supervision of a licensed professional counselor as established and limited by rules of the board" — the rules are where the board-approved-supervisor requirement lives, and registered interns fall under it.
Ask the board what it means for hours accruing now.
The sources read do not settle it.
Idaho Code §54-3401(11) defines supervised experience as a face-to-face process by which an approved supervisor facilitates professional growth and monitors clinical performance, and it lists audio or video recordings, live supervision and other methods of observation as monitoring tools.
Whether the supervision sessions themselves count when conducted by video is not stated in the statute or the rule.
Treat video-only supervision as unconfirmed, and get the board's written position before the hours accrue.
The LCPC is licensed under Idaho Code §54-3405A, which restricts it to people who already hold a valid LPC license in good standing.
The LCPC adds 2,000 hours of direct client contact experience under supervision in no less than a two-year period, 1,000 of them supervised by a licensed clinical professional counselor, the rest under any rule-defined supervisor — psychologists and clinical social workers qualify — plus the NCMHCE in place of the LPC's NCE.
The statute gives no scope definition that separates the two — beyond the licensure definitions, the sources read are silent on how the tiers differ.
Ask the board what the clinical tier adds.
Not as of September 2026.
Idaho is not on the Counseling Compact Commission's member list and has not enacted the Compact, so a counselor licensed in a Compact state cannot exercise privileges here, and an Idaho LPC or LCPC cannot use the Compact to practice in a member state either.
The routes into Idaho are licensure by examination or endorsement under Idaho Code §54-3406.
Check the commission and the board for current status before relying on any multistate plan.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses.