Connecticut certifies peer support workers; it does not license them.
The Connecticut Certification Board, a private nonprofit IC&RC member board, issues the Certified Peer Support & Recovery Professional (CPSRP) and its family modifier CPSRP+(F), effective June 1, 2026, alongside its IC&RC Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS).
The CPSRP route is an 80-hour training from a DMHAS-approved organization, a passing score on the CCB examination, and 300 hours of supervised employment including 25 hours of direct supervision.
The credential is expressly not a license and does not authorize independent practice.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Support & Recovery Professional (CPSRP), the CPSRP+(F) family modifier, and an optional one-year Provisional credential β all effective June 1, 2026.
The Connecticut Certification Board's Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) is a separate IC&RC-track credential.
The Connecticut Certification Board (CCB), a private 501(c)(3) nonprofit founded in 1980 and a member of IC&RC; it is a certifying board, not a state licensing agency.
Initial training is by DMHAS-approved organizations.
CPSRP: an 80-hour CPSRP training from a DMHAS-approved training organization (the CCB's figure).
CPRS: 50 hours across the four peer domains β at least 10 each in Advocacy, Mentoring/Client Education and Recovery/Wellness Support, 16 in Ethical Responsibility, 4 electives β plus a high school diploma or GED.
CPSRP: 300 hours of supervised employment including 25 hours of direct supervision; 150 supervised volunteer hours in a Recovery Support Specialist or Recovery Coach role are allowable.
CPRS: 500 hours of volunteer and/or paid work plus 25 hours of supervision.
CPSRP: a passing score on the examination at a test center β the documents read do not name the exam's type.
CPRS: a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.
CPSRP: firsthand lived/living experience with a behavioral health condition(s), identifying as in recovery and/or having improved health and wellness.
CPSRP+(F): firsthand lived/living experience as a family member of someone with a behavioral health condition(s), for applicants who do not have lived/living experience of their own.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
The full CPSRP is valid for two years; CCB renewal periods run one, two or three years.
The June 2026 renewal packet lists 10 CEUs per year for CPSRP+(F) (2 CPSRP Ethics & Values, 4 peer/coaching, 4 electives) and 10 hours per year for CPRS including 3 hours of ethics.
An optional one-year credential issued on completion of the 80-hour training and a passing score on the examination, while the applicant works toward the required supervised work hours (CCB CPSRP Application Process, June 2026).
The full credential, valid for two years: the 80-hour DMHAS-approved training, a passing score on the examination, and 300 hours of supervised employment including 25 hours of direct supervision.
The CCB states it is not a license and does not authorize the holder to practice independently.
The family modifier: the same training and hour requirements, but the lived experience is through a family member with a behavioral health condition rather than one's own β and family is not limited to blood, marriage, or adoption.
The CCB's IC&RC-track credential β its application, dated July 2014, is still posted: a high school diploma or GED, 50 domain hours of training, 500 hours of volunteer and/or paid work, 25 hours of supervision, and the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.
The Connecticut Certification Board, a private nonprofit certifying board, created the Certified Peer Support & Recovery Professional and the CPSRP+(F) family modifier effective June 1, 2026, with an optional one-year Provisional credential for applicants who finish training and the exam before the supervised hours.
Its Certified Peer Recovery Specialist application, dated July 2014 and still posted, is separate, and the sources read do not establish whether the CPSRP replaces the CPRS or the two run in parallel β so ask the CCB and any employer which credential a role requires.
The CPSRP documents state the credential is not a license and does not authorize independent practice; the CPRS application likewise says it provides no permission to practice beyond credentials you already hold.
CPSRP applicants must be at least 18, live or work in Connecticut, and provide a state or federal picture identification β the CPRS application instead requires a high school diploma or GED.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βThis Certified Peer Support & Recovery Professional credential is not a license and does not authorize the holder to practice independently.β
The CPSRP definition asks for firsthand lived/living experience with a behavioral health condition of your own and identifying as in recovery and/or having improved your health and wellness; you initial the attestation on the application.
The (F) modifier inverts the basis: it is for firsthand lived/living experience as a family member of someone with a behavioral health condition, and it is expressly for people who do not have lived/living experience of their own.
Family is not limited to relations by blood, marriage, or adoption.
The training is the same for both, so the modifier decides which attestation you sign, not a different course.
βA Certified Peer Support & Recovery Professional is defined as an individual having firsthand lived/living experience with a behavioral health condition(s) and identifies as being in recovery and/or has improved their health and wellness.β
The CPSRP sets one training requirement: complete the 80-hour CPSRP training through a DMHAS-approved training organization and upload the certificate of completion with the application.
The 80-hour figure is the certifier's own application requirement β no state rule sets it.
The older CPRS credential trains differently: a high school diploma or GED plus 50 hours across the four peer recovery domains, with at least 10 hours each in Advocacy, Mentoring/Client Education and Recovery/Wellness Support, at least 16 in Ethical Responsibility, and 4 elective hours.
If you are choosing courses, confirm the provider is DMHAS-approved before you pay.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βComplete 80-hour CPSRP Training by a DMHAS-approved training organizationβ
For the full CPSRP you document 300 hours of supervised employment, which must include 25 hours of direct supervision; 150 supervised volunteer hours in a Recovery Support Specialist or Recovery Coach role count toward the total.
This is the step your supervisor controls: each direct supervisor completes an evaluation form rating the 12 core competencies, a minimum rating of 24 is required, and the supervisor must know SAMHSA's core competencies to sign.
If you worked at more than one site, every supervisor signs for their share of the hours.
The examination date and work hours are flexible, so the one-year Provisional credential bridges the gap while the hours accrue.
The CPRS counts differently: 500 hours of volunteer and/or paid work plus 25 hours of domain supervision.
βComplete 300 hours of supervised employment which includes 25 hours of direct supervision hoursβ
The CPSRP requires a passing score on the examination, and no CPSRP-specific document read names its type or vendor; the CCB's generic certification-steps sheet shows a computer-based examination, but that sheet's flow is written for the CCB's other credentials, with a portfolio and board review.
The CPSRP mechanics are their own sequence: after the CCB approves your application you receive an email about the examination at a test center, and the examination site fee must be received before you can schedule.
If you applied for it, a verified passing score gets the optional one-year Provisional credential emailed to you, and the full CPSRP is emailed once the supervisor verifies the hours and evaluation.
The steps sheet adds that a failing applicant may retake the exam after a 60 day window.
The CPRS instead requires a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.
βA passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination is requiredβ
The CPRS is an IC&RC credential and the CCB is an IC&RC member board, so reciprocity for that credential runs through the IC&RC member boards.
For the CPSRP, no reciprocity route appears in the sources read; what the CPSRP application does require is an attestation that you live or work in Connecticut at the time you apply.
If you hold a peer credential from out of state, email the CCB before you start Connecticut training to ask how it is treated β that is cheaper than paying for a program twice.
βThe CCB is a member of IC&RC, the global leader in the credentialing of prevention, addiction treatment, and recovery professionals.β
The full CPSRP is valid for two years, and the CCB lets you renew in one-, two- or three-year periods.
Its June 2026 renewal packet lists the CPSRP+(F) continuing-education requirement as 10 CEUs per year β 2 in CPSRP Ethics & Values, 4 in peer/coaching and 4 behavioral-health electives β at renewal fees of $25, $40 or $55 for the period chosen.
Most CCB credentials require at least half of renewal training hours from CCB-reviewed and approved education, and training approved by any IC&RC member board also counts as CCB approved.
Late fees are per credential: the CPSRP+(F) application charges $25 for renewals more than 30 days late, while the CPRS application charges $100.
The CPRS renews on 10 hours of peer-recovery continuing education per year, including 3 hours of ethics.
β10 hours of continuing education specific to peer recovery, including 3 hours of ethics, is required FOR EACH YEAR the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist wishes to renewβ
The CPSRP and CPSRP+(F) are brand new β effective June 1, 2026 β and the CCB website carries a CPSRP Grandparenting application, whose terms the documents read do not state.
Whether the new credential replaces the CPRS or the two run in parallel was not established by the sources read; the CPRS application, dated July 2014, is still posted on the CCB site.
Because the CPSRP is this new, read the current CCB documents before you apply rather than relying on older summaries.
To apply for the CPSRP you must be at least 18 years of age, live or work in Connecticut, and provide a state or federal picture identification.
The CCB charges a $50 registry filing fee, a $150 application processing fee and a $150 examination site fee, all non-refundable, and asks you to allow two to four weeks for application review; the registry step comes first, before the application.
After training the order is registry, then the application β and the examination date and work hours are flexible, so the exam and the supervised hours can happen in either order.
This page summarizes the Connecticut statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Connecticut Certification Board (CCB) publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Connecticut.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Connecticut Certification Board (CCB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Connecticut that asks for it.
No. The Connecticut Certification Board issues certifications, not licenses: the CPSRP process states the credential is not a license and does not authorize the holder to practice independently, and the CPRS application says it provides no permission to practice beyond credentials you already hold.
Confirm with the CCB and with any employer which credential a role actually requires.
You complete an 80-hour CPSRP training from a DMHAS-approved training organization, pass the CCB examination, and document 300 hours of supervised employment including 25 hours of direct supervision; up to 150 supervised volunteer hours in a Recovery Support Specialist or Recovery Coach role are allowable.
Your direct supervisor must rate you at least 24 on the evaluation form.
The optional Provisional credential covers one year while you finish the supervised hours.
The lived-experience basis.
The CPSRP is for people with firsthand lived/living experience of a behavioral health condition who identify as in recovery or have improved their health and wellness.
The CPSRP+(F) is for people whose firsthand lived/living experience is as a family member of someone with a behavioral health condition and who do not have lived/living experience of their own.
Family is not limited to blood, marriage, or adoption, and the training is the same for both.
For the CPRS, possibly: it is an IC&RC credential and the CCB is an IC&RC member board, so IC&RC reciprocity is the route for that credential.
For the CPSRP, no reciprocity route appears in the sources read, and the application requires you to live or work in Connecticut at the time you apply.
Email the CCB before starting Connecticut training to ask how your credential is treated.
The full credential is valid for two years, and CCB renewal periods run one, two or three years.
The June 2026 renewal packet lists 10 CEUs per year for CPSRP+(F) β 2 ethics and values, 4 peer/coaching and 4 behavioral-health electives β with fees of $25, $40 or $55 by period.
Most CCB credentials require at least half of renewal training to come from CCB-reviewed education, and IC&RC member-board training also counts.
The CPSRP+(F) application charges a $25 late fee for renewals more than 30 days late; the CPRS charges $100.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Connecticut Certification Board (CCB).