Georgia certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.
The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) is the sole certification body, issuing four base credentials: Certified Peer Specialist-Mental Health, -Addictive Disease, -Youth and -Parent.
Its CPS page sends applicants to GMHCN, Georgia Council for Recovery and Georgia Parent Support Network to apply and train.
Entry runs through a written application and a scored group interview.
Training hours, supervised hours, background checks and billing supervision are not stated in the sources read.
GMHCN's renewal policy requires 12 continuing-education units per calendar year for CPS-MH holders from Cohorts 1-95.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Specialist - Mental Health (CPS-MH), - Addictive Disease (CPS-AD), - Youth (CPS-Y) and - Parent (CPS-P), plus ancillary add-ons such as Whole Health and Wellness Coach and Forensic Peer Mentor, which DBHDD says do not suffice on their own as a CPS designation.
The Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD), a state agency and the sole certification body under DBHDD policy 01-123 (the policy text itself was not read).
Its CPS page directs applicants to GMHCN (CPS-MH), Georgia Council for Recovery (CPS-AD) and Georgia Parent Support Network (CPS-Y, CPS-P) for application and training.
Training hours: not stated in the sources read.
Entry to the GMHCN CPS-MH training is by scored selection - a written application plus an online group interview, with the 35 highest scoring applicants selected per cohort - and applicants need at least a high school diploma or GED.
Not stated in the sources read.
A credentialing exam is referenced in GMHCN's renewal policy, which speaks of a CPS who has successfully passed their credentialing exam; its format, content and pass mark were not located in the sources read.
Required for every credential, in DBHDD's wording: lived experience with the relevant condition while practicing recovery related to it - mental health (CPS-MH), addiction (CPS-AD), either condition as a youth (CPS-Y, ages 18-30), or raising a young person with either condition, as a parent or legal guardian in a permanent relationship for at least three years (CPS-P).
GMHCN training also requires being well-grounded in recovery with at least one year working towards wellness and recovery.
Not stated in the sources read.
Covered.
DBHDD states Georgia was the first state to request and receive Medicaid reimbursement for Peer Support as a statewide mental health Rehabilitation Option service, in July 1999.
The billing-supervision rule was not located in the sources read; DBHDD's Behavioral Health Provider Manual was not read.
Under GMHCN's policy: a minimum of 12 continuing education units per calendar year, stated for Certified Peer Specialists from Cohorts 1-95, plus one ethics training annually and six CEUs from a GMHCN-sponsored event, submitted by December 31.
A $26 late fee applies after January 15, the certification goes inactive after February 28, and reactivation requires a $105 reactivation fee and any other subsequent fees.
The base credential for a person certified by DBHDD who has lived experience with a mental health condition and is practicing recovery as related to that condition; trained through the Georgia Mental Health Consumer Network (GMHCN).
The base credential for a person certified by DBHDD who has lived experience with addiction and is practicing recovery as related to that condition; trained through the Georgia Council for Recovery.
For a young adult between the ages of 18 and 30 certified by DBHDD who has lived experience of either a mental health condition and/or substance use disorder as a youth and is practicing recovery as related to that condition; trained through the Georgia Parent Support Network.
For a parent or legal guardian, in a permanent relationship of at least three years, certified by DBHDD who has the lived experience of raising a young person with either a mental health condition and/or substance use disorder and has supported that young person in their recovery journey.
Add-ons such as Whole Health and Wellness Coach and Forensic Peer Mentor attach to a base credential; DBHDD states that none of them suffices on its own as constituting a CPS designation.
Georgia's credential is the Certified Peer Specialist, issued by DBHDD in four types: CPS-Mental Health, CPS-Addictive Disease, CPS-Youth and CPS-Parent.
Ancillary add-on credentials - Whole Health and Wellness Coach, Forensic Peer Mentor - may be attached to a base credential, but DBHDD is explicit that they do not constitute a CPS designation on their own.
Read a job posting accordingly: if an employer asks for "a CPS", confirm which of the four base types it requires, since the lived-experience basis differs for each.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βOther ancillary peer credentials may be added to one of these base credentials, such as Whole Health and Wellness Coach (WHWC), Forensic Peer Mentors; however, none of these ancillary credentials suffice on their own as constituting a CPS designation by DBHDD in the absence of the Certified Peer Specialist types listed above.β
Each credential carries its own lived-experience definition.
CPS-MH requires lived experience with a mental health condition while practicing recovery related to that condition; CPS-AD mirrors it for addiction.
CPS-Y is for young adults between the ages of 18 and 30 whose lived experience is of either condition as a youth.
CPS-P is the credential defined by the family route: a parent or legal guardian, in a permanent relationship of at least three (3) years, who has raised a young person with either condition and supported that young person's recovery.
GMHCN adds an eligibility gate for CPS-MH training: you must be well-grounded in recovery, with at least one year working towards wellness and recovery.
βAn individual certified by DBHDD who has lived experience with a mental health condition and is practicing recovery as related to that condition.β
Training hours: not stated in the sources read.
For CPS-MH, GMHCN's qualifications are: willingness to identify as a person living with a mental health condition and use that lived recovery experience to support others; being a Georgian at least 18 years of age; at least a high school diploma or GED; being well-grounded in recovery with at least one year working towards wellness and recovery; and strong reading, comprehension and written communication skills.
Selection has two scored stages and a cut between them: from the written application, open approximately 14 days, only the highest scoring applicants are invited to the interview while the rest are notified they were not selected; the interview runs one to two hours with a group of approximately 5 other applicants.
The 35 highest combined scores per cohort are offered the training within 7-10 business days, and an employment verification form is uploaded if the training is a condition of employment.
CPS-AD trains through the Georgia Council for Recovery and CPS-Y/CPS-P through the Georgia Parent Support Network; their selection processes were not read for this page.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βMust be well-grounded in recovery with at least one year working towards wellness and recovery.β
GMHCN's renewal policy confirms that passing an exam is part of the certification: its inactivity rule runs from the year a CPS passes the credentialing exam.
Beyond that reference, the exam's format, content and pass mark were not located in the sources read.
The scored group interview at the application stage is a selection step for the training, not the credentialing exam itself - expect both, and confirm current exam arrangements with GMHCN or DBHDD before you apply.
βCertifications will become inactive if CEUs have not been completed and/or submitted in any year after a CPS has successfully passed their credentialing exam.β
Peer support is an established Medicaid service in Georgia, and DBHDD frames it as the origin of the national movement: it states Georgia was the first state to request and receive Medicaid reimbursement for Peer Support as a statewide mental health Rehabilitation Option service, in July 1999.
What the page does not give is the billing machinery - service definitions, billable codes and rates sit in DBHDD's Behavioral Health Provider Manual, which was not read for this page, and the supervision required for billing was not located in the sources read.
If you are taking a Medicaid-billed peer job in Georgia, confirm the current billing and supervision requirements against that manual.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βIn July 1999, Georgia was the first state to request and receive Medicaid reimbursement for Peer Support as a statewide mental health Rehabilitation Option service.β
DBHDD closes the transfer door explicitly: peer credentials offered or recognized by national entities are not considered equivalents to, or deeming for, the DBHDD CPS credential.
No reciprocity or endorsement route appears in the sources read.
If you hold a peer certification from another state or a national body, plan on completing Georgia's own application, selection and training process for the credential you want, and ask DBHDD first whether any part of your existing credential counts - do not assume it does.
βWhile other peer credentials may be offered or recognized by national entities, they do not necessarily represent the construct of the DBHDD CPS certification process and, therefore, are not considered as equivalents nor deeming for the DBHDD CPS credential.β
GMHCN's policy runs on a calendar year, and record keeping is the certified specialist's own responsibility.
Only its 12-CEU minimum is limited to Certified Peer Specialists from Cohorts 1-95.
Its other CEU rules are stated for all Certified Peer Specialists, without the cohort limit: one ethics training annually, six of the year's CEUs from a GMHCN-sponsored conference, training or webinar, and up to six from other providers such as the Georgia Council for Recovery, Relias or the Georgia Parent Support Network, with unapproved vendors subject to review.
CEUs do not roll over and are due by December 31.
Submitting after January 15 costs a $26 late fee; missing February 28 places the certification on inactive status, and coming back requires a reactivation application with a $105 reactivation fee and any other subsequent fees.
A CPS-MH inactive longer than 2 years must complete CPS recertification training.
The sources read do not state what applies to cohorts after 95, nor renewal rules for CPS-AD, CPS-Y and CPS-P.
βAll Certified Peer Specialist from Cohort 1-95 are required to have a minimum of 12 continuing education units (CEUs) per calendar year.β
DBHDD marked 2025 as 25 years of Peer Support leadership and practice, reporting approximately 4,600 CPS trained and certified across the Mental Health, Substance Use, Youth and Parent types and well over $20M in Peer Support services provided annually.
Specialty certifications now include Whole Health, Forensic, Addictive Disease (Opioid Misuse) and Deaf & Hard of Hearing lived experience.
No change to the CPS certification rules themselves in the 2023-2026 window was located in the sources read.
βapproximately 4,600 CPS trained and certified Mental Health, Substance Use, Youth and Parent specialists, well over $20M in Peer Support services provided annually, and specialty CPS certifications for Whole Health, Forensic, and Addictive Disease (Opioid Misuse), and Deaf & Hard of Hearing lived experience.β
DBHDD's own policy states its role as the sole certification body for Certified Peer Specialists in Georgia, citing federal CMS SMDL #07-011, the 2007 CMS letter that frames Medicaid peer coverage as a state option.
Certification is offered only to individuals completing training and testing as provided by DBHDD and the certification training body named in the policy, and no other training bodies are recognized.
The policy text itself was not read for this page, so which body it names is not stated in the sources read.
For application and training, the DBHDD CPS page sends readers to a listed organization per credential type - GMHCN for CPS-MH, the Georgia Council for Recovery for CPS-AD, the Georgia Parent Support Network for CPS-Y and CPS-P - so confirm the route for your credential with DBHDD before you pay for any course.
βDBHDD only offers certification to individuals completing training and testing as provided by DBHDD and the certification training body named below. No other certification training bodies, outside of the one listed in the policy, are recognized by DBHDD.β
This page summarizes the Georgia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD), the sole certification body under DBHDD policy 01-123 publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Georgia.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD), the sole certification body under DBHDD policy 01-123 before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Georgia that asks for it.
No. Peer support specialists in Georgia are certified, not licensed.
The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) is the sole certification body under its Policy on Training and Certification of Peer Specialists, 01-123, and its CPS page directs applicants to the training body listed for their credential type, such as the Georgia Mental Health Consumer Network for CPS-MH.
There is no state peer support licence.
GMHCN's qualifications: willingness to identify as a person living with a mental health condition and use that lived recovery experience to support others; being a Georgian at least 18 years of age; at least a high school diploma or GED; being well-grounded in recovery with at least one year working towards wellness and recovery.
Admission is competitive: a scored written application, then a group interview of one to two hours with approximately 5 other applicants, with the 35 highest combined scores per cohort offered training.
Training hours are not stated in the sources read.
GMHCN's renewal policy, as read, limits its minimum of 12 continuing education units (CEUs) per calendar year to Certified Peer Specialists from Cohorts 1-95.
For all Certified Peer Specialists it also requires one ethics training annually and six of the year's CEUs from a GMHCN-sponsored conference, training or webinar.
CEUs are due by December 31 and do not roll over.
Submitting after January 15 brings a $26 late fee, and missing February 28 places the certification on inactive status; reactivation requires an application, a $105 reactivation fee and any other subsequent fees.
DBHDD states that peer credentials offered or recognized by national entities are not considered as equivalents nor deeming for the DBHDD CPS credential, because they do not necessarily represent the construct of the DBHDD certification process.
No reciprocity route appears in the sources read, so plan to complete Georgia's own application, selection and training, and ask DBHDD before counting any outside credential toward it.
Yes.
DBHDD states that in July 1999 Georgia was the first state to request and receive Medicaid reimbursement for Peer Support as a statewide mental health Rehabilitation Option service.
Service definitions, billable codes and rates sit in DBHDD's Behavioral Health Provider Manual, which was not read for this page, and the supervision required for billing was not located in the sources read - confirm current billing details with DBHDD.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD), the sole certification body under DBHDD policy 01-123.