🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Minnesota: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Minnesota certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

Statute defines three roles: the mental health certified peer specialist, the mental health certified family peer specialist and the recovery peer, the first two requiring a valid certification under 256B.0615 and 256B.0616.

The Minnesota Certification Board, an IC&RC member board, issues its own CPRS (46 training hours) and advanced CPRSR (500 work hours, 25 supervision hours).

Training hours for the state's mental health peer credential are not stated in the sources read.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Minnesota, that is the Minnesota Certification Board (MCB), an IC&RC member board, for the CPRS; the commissioner develops or approves family peer certification and training under 256B.0616 subd. 5, and no body is named in the sources read for certifying individual mental health certified peer specialists.

At a glance

Credential titles

In statute: mental health certified peer specialist, mental health certified family peer specialist, and recovery peer (Minn.

Stat.

245I.04).

The Minnesota Certification Board also certifies the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS), the reciprocal CPRSR, forensic and cultural endorsements, and an Approved Supervisor (Peer Recovery).

Certifier

Named in the sources read: the commissioner develops or approves family peer specialist certification and training (256B.0616 subd.

5); no body is named for certifying individual mental health certified peer specialists.

The Minnesota Certification Board, an IC&RC member board, certifies the CPRS.

A recovery peer's credential may come from MCB, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders, or NAADAC.

Training

The MCB CPRS and CPRSR require 46 hours of training; the forensic endorsement adds 21 hours, the cultural endorsement at least 13, and the Approved Supervisor 3.

256B.0615 subd.

1 conditions coverage on the training under its subdivision 5, but subd.

5 sets no training requirement in the text read, so training hours for the mental health certified peer specialist are not stated in the sources read.

Supervised or work hours

500 hours work experience plus 25 hours of supervision for the MCB CPRSR; the entry-level CPRS lists neither.

No supervised-hours total for the three statutory roles appears in the sources read.

Exam

Passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam or the State-based Peer Recovery Exam for the MCB CPRS; the CPRSR requires the IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam.

No exam is named for the state's mental health peer or family peer certifications in the sources read.

Lived experience

Required on every track: diagnosed with a mental illness and a current or former mental health services client (mental health peer); raised or currently raising a child with a mental illness (family peer); a minimum of one year in recovery from substance use disorder (recovery peer); your own substance use lived experience (MCB CPRS).

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered, as the 2025 edition read (subd.

1 of each statute was amended by 2026 c 88, not incorporated in the sources read): medical assistance covers mental health certified peer specialist services (256B.0615) and mental health certified family peer specialist services subject to federal approval (256B.0616); recovery peer services are covered under 254B/245G, which was not fully read.

Renewal & CE

MCB requires recertification every two years with continuing education including six hours in professional ethics and responsibilities; a total CE-hour figure is not stated on the recertification page read.

No renewal rule for the state's mental health peer or family peer certifications appears in the sources read.

The Minnesota credential ladder

  1. Mental health certified peer specialistIndependent

    Certified under Minn.

    Stat.

    256B.0615 and qualified under 245I.04 subd.

    10; provides individualized peer support under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist.

  2. Mental health certified family peer specialistIndependent

    Certified under 256B.0616 for a parent with experience raising a child with a mental illness; works under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional with the child and family.

  3. Recovery peerIndependent

    A person with a minimum of one year in recovery from substance use disorder holding a current credential from the Minnesota Certification Board, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders or NAADAC; from January 1, 2025, an employee rather than an independent contractor.

  4. Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (MCB)(CPRS)Other

    The Minnesota Certification Board's entry-level state credential: 46 hours of training, a passing score on the IC&RC or State-based Peer Recovery Exam, and the rule to live or work in Minnesota at least 51% of the time.

  5. Certified Peer Recovery Specialist Reciprocal (MCB)(CPRSR)Other

    MCB's advanced reciprocal credential: 46 hours of training, 500 hours work experience, 25 hours of supervision and a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam.

  6. CPRS forensic and cultural endorsements (MCB)Other

    Endorsements that attach to a current CPRS or CPRSR: the forensic one requires 21 training hours, personal lived experience related to the criminal justice system and 2 years or more of compliant probation, and the cultural one at least 13 training hours.

  7. Approved Supervisor (Peer Recovery) (MCB)Supervisor

    For appropriately certified or licensed behavioral health professionals (CPRSR, ADCR-MN, LADC, LPCC and similar): 3 hours of education on MCB's code of ethics, the IC&RC peer recovery domains, relevant Minnesota statutes and supervision concepts.

Three statutory roles, plus the Minnesota Certification Board's own ladder

πŸ“œ Minn. Stat. 245I.04 subd. 10, 12, 18; 256B.0615; 256B.0616; Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page

Minnesota writes three peer roles into 245I.04 rather than issuing one license: the mental health certified peer specialist for adult mental health services, the mental health certified family peer specialist for children's services, and the recovery peer for substance use services.

Each of the first two must hold a valid certification under 256B.0615 or 256B.0616; only the family peer statute names a body for that certification, the commissioner, who under 256B.0616 subd.

5 develops or approves the training and certification process.

The recovery peer instead holds a current credential from MCB, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders or NAADAC.

The Minnesota Certification Board, an IC&RC member board, runs its own ladder alongside that: CPRS, CPRSR, endorsements and an Approved Supervisor.

A recovery peer who receives a credential from a Tribal Nation satisfies the credential requirement when providing services in a tribally licensed program.

Check which track a posting means before you apply.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œhold a current credential from the Minnesota Certification Board, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders, or the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors that demonstrates skills and training in the domains of ethics and boundaries, advocacy, mentoring and education, and recovery and wellness support”

Lived experience: a different definition for each credential

πŸ“œ Minn. Stat. 245I.04 subd. 10, 12, 18; Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page

The mental health certified peer specialist must have been diagnosed with a mental illness and be a current or former mental health services client.

The family peer specialist must have raised or be currently raising a child with a mental illness and have experience navigating the children's mental health system.

The recovery peer needs a minimum of one year in recovery from substance use disorder.

MCB's CPRS goes further: the lived experience must be your own substance use, and the board says outright that having a friend or family member with that experience does not meet the requirement.

β€œA mental health certified peer specialist must: (1) have been diagnosed with a mental illness; (2) be a current or former mental health services client; and (3) have a valid certification as a mental health certified peer specialist under section 256B.0615.”

Training: 46 hours at MCB; no hour total in the state's statute read

πŸ“œ Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page; Minn. Stat. 256B.0615 subd. 1; 256B.0616 subd. 5

MCB sets hour totals for its credentials: 46 hours of training for the CPRS and again for the CPRSR, 21 hours for the forensic endorsement, at least 13 hours for the cultural endorsement and 3 hours for the Approved Supervisor.

For the mental health certified peer specialist, 256B.0615 subd.

1 conditions Medicaid coverage on the training under its subdivision 5, but subd.

5 sets no training requirement in the text read; it only cross-references 245I.04, so the statute read names no training body and no hours.

Family peer training, by contrast, is developed or approved by the commissioner and, under the version effective August 1, 2025, delivered by the commissioner or an approved third-party organization.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œInitial training leading to certification as a family peer specialist and continuing education for certified family peer specialists must be delivered by the commissioner or a third-party organization approved by the commissioner.”

Work hours: 500 and 25 for the CPRSR; none stated for the other credentials

πŸ“œ Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page

The only supervised-work totals in the sources read sit on MCB's CPRSR: 500 hours work experience and 25 hours of supervision, with an upgrade route from the CPRS once you have both.

The entry-level CPRS lists neither, so a new peer can certify first and build the supervised record toward the reciprocal credential while working.

No supervised-hours total for the mental health certified peer specialist, the family peer specialist or the recovery peer appears in the sources read; qualification on those tracks runs through certification and treatment supervision rather than logged hours.

β€œThe Certified Peer Recovery Specialist Reciprocal credential is a reciprocal credential. This credential demonstrates competency for advanced peer recovery specialists that have accrued sufficient supervised experience.”

The IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam, or a state-based equivalent, for the CPRS

πŸ“œ Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page

The CPRS accepts a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam or the State-based Peer Recovery Exam; the CPRSR requires the IC&RC exam specifically.

The forensic and cultural endorsements are training-based and name no exam.

No exam is named in the sources read for the state's mental health certified peer specialist or family peer specialist certifications, so confirm current testing arrangements before you plan around one.

β€œPassing score on IC&RC Peer Recovery Exam or the State-based Peer Recovery Exam”

Medicaid covers peer services, with the programs certified to bill

πŸ“œ Minn. Stat. 256B.0615 subd. 1, 3, 4; 256B.0616 subd. 1, 4

As the 2025 edition read, medical assistance covers mental health certified peer specialist services for recipients eligible under 256B.0622, 256B.0623, 256B.0624 and 256B.0632, and subdivision 3 names the settings: intensive residential treatment services, adult rehabilitative mental health services, and crisis stabilization and mental health mobile crisis intervention services.

The commissioner develops a process to certify peer support specialist programs against federal guidelines so they can bill, freestanding or within existing mental health community provider centers.

Family peer services are covered subject to federal approval, and a family peer specialist cannot provide services to their own family.

Recovery peer services are covered under 254B/245G, which the sources read did not fully cover.

Both coverage subdivisions were amended by 2026 c 88, which the sources read did not incorporate; confirm current text with the revisor.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œMedical assistance covers mental health certified peer specialist services, as established in subdivision 2, if provided to recipients who are eligible for services under sections 256B.0622, 256B.0623, 256B.0624, and 256B.0632 and are provided by a mental health certified peer specialist who has completed the training under subdivision 5 and is qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 10.”

Supervision: who each role works under, plus a program-setting rule

πŸ“œ Minn. Stat. 245I.04 subd. 11, 13, 19; 245G.11 subd. 8

Supervision is named per role.

In 245I.04, the mental health certified peer specialist works under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist (subd.

11), and the family peer specialist under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional (subd.

13).

A recovery peer works under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or mental health professional meeting the subd.

2 qualifications, and that supervisor must meet with the recovery peer face-to-face, remotely or in person, at least once per month (subd.

19).

In 245G-licensed substance use disorder programs, 245G.11 subd.

8 as printed says those services are provided under the supervision of an alcohol and drug counselor, but the revisor notes that the 2023 amendments to this subdivision take effect only upon federal approval, so which version is in force is not stated in the sources read; the subdivision was amended again in 2026.

If you are choosing an employer on the recovery peer track, the monthly face-to-face rule is the one to ask about.

β€œA licensed alcohol and drug counselor or mental health professional providing supervision to a recovery peer must meet with the recovery peer face-to-face, either remotely or in person, at least once per month in order to provide adequate supervision to the recovery peer.”

Moving to Minnesota: the CPRSR is the reciprocal credential

πŸ“œ Minnesota Certification Board peer recovery page; Minn. Stat. 245I.04 subd. 18

MCB's CPRSR is its reciprocal credential, so an IC&RC credential is one route toward Minnesota's recovery peer workforce.

The statute separately lets the recovery peer role rest on a current credential from MCB, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders or NAADAC that demonstrates skills and training in the four named domains, and the person must also have a minimum of one year in recovery from substance use disorder.

Every MCB peer credential carries a residency line: you must live or work in Minnesota at least 51% of the time.

Ask MCB which of its credentials your existing certification maps to before you pay for new training.

β€œMust live or work in Minnesota at least 51% of the time”

Renewal every two years at MCB, with six ethics hours

πŸ“œ Minnesota Certification Board recertification page; peer recovery page

MCB requires recertification every two years, with continuing education in your credential's domains including six hours in professional ethics and responsibilities, earned within the past two-year certification period.

The recertification page read states no total CE-hour figure for the CPRS.

MCB's fees: $225 first-time CPRS certification and $250 first-time CPRSR certification, $180 biennial renewal, $150 retest, and $75 for the CPRSR upgrade, each endorsement and the Approved Supervisor.

No renewal rule for the state's mental health peer or family peer certifications appears in the sources read.

β€œMCB requires recertification every two years in order to maintain the high standards of professional practice and to ensure that certified professionals remain up-to-date in the field.”

Changes 2024–2027

πŸ“œ Minn. Stat. 245I.04 subd. 18(c); 256B.0616 subd. 4, 5 (2025 c 38); DHS 2025 side-by-side

The employment-status rule is the headline: a recovery peer hired on or after July 1, 2024, must not be classified or treated as an independent contractor, and from January 1, 2025 that covers every recovery peer.

256B.0616 subd.

5 was rewritten effective August 1, 2025 by 2025 c 38 and subd.

4 was retitled, and grant funding may now pay for continuing education to certified family peer specialists.

From January 1, 2027, a recovery community organization must require its owners active in day-to-day management and its managerial and supervisory employees to complete compliance training before applying for enrollment and every three years thereafter; an RCO already enrolled as an eligible vendor before January 1, 2027, must document completion by January 1, 2028.

β€œA recovery peer hired on or after July 1, 2024, must not be classified or treated as an independent contractor. Beginning January 1, 2025, a recovery peer must not be classified or treated as an independent contractor.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Minnesota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Minnesota Certification Board (MCB), an IC&RC member board, for the CPRS; the commissioner develops or approves family peer certification and training under 256B.0616 subd.

5, and no body is named in the sources read for certifying individual mental health certified peer specialists publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Minnesota.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Minnesota Certification Board (MCB), an IC&RC member board, for the CPRS; the commissioner develops or approves family peer certification and training under 256B.0616 subd.

5, and no body is named in the sources read for certifying individual mental health certified peer specialists before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Minnesota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist licensed in Minnesota?

No. Minnesota certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

Three statutory roles are defined in Minn.

Stat.

245I.04: the mental health certified peer specialist, the mental health certified family peer specialist and the recovery peer.

Each of the first two must hold a valid certification under 256B.0615 or 256B.0616; only the family peer statute names a body for certification, the commissioner, who develops or approves the training and certification process (256B.0616 subd.

5), while no certifying body for the mental health certified peer specialist is named in the sources read.

The Minnesota Certification Board, an IC&RC member board, certifies the CPRS.

How many training hours does Minnesota peer certification require?

It depends on the credential.

The Minnesota Certification Board requires 46 hours of training for both the CPRS and the CPRSR; the forensic endorsement adds 21 hours and the cultural endorsement at least 13.

For the mental health certified peer specialist, 256B.0615 subd.

1 points to the training under its subdivision 5, but subd.

5 sets no training requirement in the text read, so no hour total appears in the sources read; ask the commissioner of human services before you enroll in anything for that track.

Who supervises a peer support specialist in Minnesota?

It depends on the role and setting.

In 245I.04, the mental health certified peer specialist works under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist, and the family peer specialist under a mental health professional.

A recovery peer works under a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or mental health professional meeting the subdivision 2 qualifications, with at least monthly face-to-face meetings.

In 245G-licensed programs, 245G.11 subd.

8 as printed says those services are under the supervision of an alcohol and drug counselor, but which version is in force is not stated in the sources read; its 2023 amendments take effect only upon federal approval.

Does Minnesota Medicaid pay for peer support services?

Yes, by track.

As the 2025 edition of 256B.0615 read, medical assistance covers mental health certified peer specialist services for recipients eligible under 256B.0622, 256B.0623, 256B.0624 and 256B.0632, with programs certified to bill by the commissioner.

Family peer specialist services are covered under 256B.0616 subject to federal approval.

Both coverage subdivisions were amended by 2026 c 88, which the sources read did not incorporate.

Recovery peer services are covered under 254B/245G, which the sources read did not fully cover, so confirm current details with DHS.

Can I transfer an out-of-state peer certification to Minnesota?

Partly.

The Minnesota Certification Board's CPRSR is its reciprocal credential, so the IC&RC route is one portability path, and MCB requires you to live or work in Minnesota at least 51% of the time.

Separately, the recovery peer role needs a minimum of one year in recovery from substance use disorder plus a current credential from MCB, the Upper Midwest Indian Council on Addictive Disorders or NAADAC that covers the four statutory domains.

No transfer route for the state's mental health certifications appears in the sources read; ask MCB before you assume anything counts.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Minnesota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Minnesota & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Minnesota Certification Board (MCB), an IC&RC member board, for the CPRS; the commissioner develops or approves family peer certification and training under 256B.0616 subd.

5, and no body is named in the sources read for certifying individual mental health certified peer specialists.