New Hampshire certifies peer support workers through a state licensing board, and the credential is substance-use specific: the Certified Recovery Support Worker, or CRSW.
You need a high school diploma or its equivalent, 46 training hours, 500 hours of paid or volunteer work experience with 25 directly supervised, and a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery exam.
Neither RSA 330-C:19 nor the board's eligibility rule, Alc 303.01, requires lived experience.
Medicaid pays for peer recovery support through enrolled peer recovery programs, under supervision the Medicaid rule sets out.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Recovery Support Worker (CRSW) β substance-use only; no state mental-health peer certification was located.
The Medicaid rule separately defines a training-based peer recovery coach, which is a role, not a credential.
The New Hampshire Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals, under the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification β a state licensing board that administers the IC&RC Peer Recovery exam.
At least 46 hours covering the 4 domain areas (Alc 303.03): 16 in ethical responsibility, 10 in advocacy including 6 in suicide prevention, 10 in mentoring and education, 10 in recovery and wellness.
At least 50% from listed providers; no more than 25% online.
At least 500 hours of paid or volunteer work experience within the 10 years before applying, counted only after a board-approved supervisory agreement, with 25 hours of direct supervised work experience (Alc 303.01 - Alc 303.02).
The IC&RC written Peer Recovery (PR) examination (Alc 305.01); applicants apply to and take it with the IC&RC, which sends proof of the passing score directly to the board.
Not required by RSA 330-C:19 or Alc 303.01, both read in full.
The Medicaid rule describes peers who self-identify as having lived experience, defined to include a family member's recovery (He-W 513.02(k)).
State police and FBI fingerprint check, at the applicant's cost (RSA 330-C:20).
The board shall waive a felony conviction if the applicant has corrected the deficiency which led to it, after considering explanation, restitution, probation or parole, fines and plea-agreement compliance (Alc 303.01(b)).
Covered.
Peer recovery support is a covered service through a Medicaid-enrolled peer recovery program, delivered by a trained peer recovery coach (He-W 513.05(r)); a board-certified CRSW can deliver recovery support services through an enrolled outpatient, comprehensive SUD treatment or peer recovery program (He-W 513.05(s)).
Federal vehicle not stated in the rule text read.
24 hours of approved continuing education in the 24 months subsequent to the date of certification or re-certification (RSA 330-C:24 II(c)); the board's website says CE Broker is now mandatory.
A training-based role the Medicaid rule defines for billing peer recovery support through an enrolled peer recovery program: 30 contact hours of recovery coach training plus 16 ethics, 6 suicide prevention and 3 co-occurring hours (He-W 513.05(r)(4)).
It is not a board credential.
The state's peer certification, issued by the Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals under RSA 330-C.
Substance-use only: screening and referral, monitoring health and safety, and recovery support (RSA 330-C:13).
A certification, not a licence.
For Medicaid billing, a CRSW certified for one year who completes 6 hours of supervisory and 6 hours of practical board-approved training under Alc 409.01 may supervise peers delivering SUD recovery support services (He-W 513.04(c)(2)a.4).
New Hampshire's peer credential is the Certified Recovery Support Worker, defined as an individual certified by the office of professional licensure and certification to provide recovery support to persons with substance use disorders.
The credential is SUD-only; no state mental-health peer certification was located.
Scope covers basic screening and referral, monitoring of health and safety, and recovery support (RSA 330-C:13).
The title and the abbreviation CRSW are protected: only persons certified under the chapter may use them.
Keep the Medicaid rule's peer recovery coach apart β a training-based billing role, not a board credential β and check which one an employer or program actually needs.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
β"Certified recovery support worker," or CRSW, means an individual certified by the office of professional licensure and certification to provide recovery support to persons with substance use disordersβ
Neither the statute's initial-certification list nor the board's eligibility rule imposes a lived-experience condition.
RSA 330-C:19 lists the initial-certification requirements β application and fees, English literacy, a high school diploma or its equivalent, board training, and other board criteria β and Alc 303.01(a) lists the eligibility requirements; neither asks for personal or family recovery.
The Medicaid rule frames the service differently: peer recovery support is delivered by peers who self-identify as having lived experience, and He-W 513.02(k) defines that as direct, personal experience with either your own recovery from a substance use disorder or that of a family member.
The board will not ask for your story; a Medicaid-enrolled employer may ask how you self-identify.
βnon-clinical services delivered by peers who self-identify as having lived experienceβ
The rule requires at least 46 hours covering the 4 domain areas: 16 hours of education in ethical responsibility, including ethical boundaries and 42 CFR Part 2 and HIPAA confidentiality laws; 10 hours in advocacy, including 6 hours of suicide prevention training; 10 hours in mentoring and education, including 3 hours of mental health and co-occurring training; and 10 hours in recovery and wellness, including 3 hours of HIV and AIDS training.
At least 50% of the education must be provided, sponsored or approved by listed bodies such as the board, NAADAC, the New Hampshire Training Institute on Addictive Disorders or BDAS, and no more than 25% may be online, with exceptions for online college programs and live, simultaneously interactive training.
One college credit equals 15 contact hours.
The statute separately requires a high school diploma or its equivalent.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βat least 46 hours covering the 4 domain areasβ
You need at least 500 hours of paid or volunteer work experience completed within the 10 years immediately preceding the completion of an application.
The hours only count once they are performed after submission of a supervisory agreement the board has approved under Alc 313.09, so file the agreement before you start logging.
The hours involve direct and indirect services to clients, participants or mentees, performed in a detoxification program, a substance use counseling or treatment program, a recovery community organization, or the substance use aspect of a healthcare, social service or other direct service program.
The supervisor's report form must show no not acceptable ratings across the performance domains.
βTwenty-five hours of the 500 hours required shall be direct supervised work experienceβ
Initial certification requires the IC&RC written Peer Recovery (PR) examination.
Applicants apply to and take the examination with the IC&RC itself, not with the board, and then request that the IC&RC submit proof of a passing score directly to the board.
The exam is international, but the certification decision belongs to New Hampshire: the board issues the CRSW after its own eligibility, work-experience and application requirements are met.
βThe examination to be passed for initial certification as a CRSW shall be the IC&RC written "Peer Recovery" (PR) examination.β
Every initial applicant submits a criminal history record release form and a complete set of fingerprints; the division of state police checks its records and the Federal Bureau of Investigation's, and the applicant bears the cost.
If fingerprints fail twice for insufficient pattern, the office may instead accept police clearances from every city, town or county where the person has lived during the past 5 years.
A felony conviction not waived by the board is disqualifying under RSA 330-C:15, but the rule builds the waiver: the board shall waive a felony conviction if the applicant has corrected the deficiency which led to the act or omission, after considering the applicant's explanation, restitution steps, compliance with probation or parole, payment of fines or restitution, and compliance with any plea or settlement agreement.
Good moral character is judged on the application materials, including misdemeanors involving violence, abuse of a minor or vulnerable person, or substance use related offenses.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βThe board shall waive an applicant's felony conviction, if any, if: (1) The applicant has corrected the deficiency which led to the felonious act or omissionβ
Peer recovery support is a covered service when a Medicaid-enrolled peer recovery program provides it β a recovery community organization accredited by CAPRSS or Clubhouse International, or one under contract with the department or its contracted facilitating organization (He-W 513.02(t)).
The person delivering it is a peer recovery coach with 30 contact hours of recovery coach training plus 16 ethics, 6 suicide prevention and 3 co-occurring hours; the program bills, and the supervising practitioner is listed as the rendering provider.
Services help recipients age 12 and above and families.
Separately, recovery support services under He-W 513.05(s) can be delivered by a board-certified CRSW through a Medicaid-enrolled outpatient program, comprehensive SUD treatment program or peer recovery program, and any of those three bills.
The federal vehicle for the benefit was not stated in the rule text read.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βPeer recovery support shall be a covered serviceβ
For SUD recovery support services, a CRSW must be supervised by an MLADC, an independent-practice LADC who also is a licensed clinical supervisor, a LADC, or a licensed mental health provider β each on the staff of or under contract with a Medicaid-enrolled outpatient SUD program, comprehensive SUD program or peer recovery program β or by a CRSW certified for one year who has taken 6 hours of supervisory training and 6 hours of practical training approved by the board under Alc 409.01.
A peer recovery coach's supervisor must be a practitioner who qualifies under He-W 513.04(c)(2) and is on the staff of or under contract with the peer recovery program, and must have completed the coach training in He-W 513.05(r)(4) plus 6 contact hours of training in the supervision of individuals delivering peer recovery support services.
An MLADC delivering recovery support services requires no supervision.
βA certified recovery support worker (CRSW) shall be supervised by one of the following: 1. An MLADC who is on the staff of or under contract with a medicaid enrolled outpatient SUD program, comprehensive SUD program, or peer recovery programβ
Alc 303.04 gives two reciprocity routes for initial CRSW certification.
An applicant who is currently a certified recovery support worker in another jurisdiction within the IC&RC is certified by the board upon completing the application requirements in Alc 304.01 - Alc 305.
An applicant certified in a jurisdiction outside the IC&RC is eligible if that jurisdiction's application requirements are equal to or more stringent than those in the New Hampshire chapter, and the applicant complies with Alc 304.01 - 304.04.
If you hold a peer credential elsewhere, confirm with the board whether your jurisdiction is an IC&RC member before you apply.
βApplicants for initial certification as a CRSW who are currently certified recovery support workers in another jurisdiction within the IC&RC shall be certified by the board upon completion of the application requirements in Alc 304.01 - Alc 305.β
Certified recovery support workers need 24 hours of approved continuing education in the 24 months subsequent to the date of certification or re-certification, and presenting satisfactory evidence of meeting the chapter's continuing education requirements is a prerequisite to renewal.
The board's website says CE Broker is now mandatory for alcohol and other drug use professionals, so track the hours there.
RSA 330-C:24 addresses continuing education only; the board's renewal rules were not among the sources read.
βFor certified recovery support workers, 24 hours of approved continuing education in the 24 months subsequent to the date of certification or re-certification.β
The board's Alc 300 chapter was amended effective 3/13/2023; the eligibility, work-experience, education and exam rules cited on this page carry that amendment.
RSA 330-C:19 was amended by 2024, 327:9, and RSA 330-C:20 by 2024, 327:10 and by 366:22, effective July 1, 2026; RSA 330-C:24 was amended in 2023 and 2024.
Sections 330-C:6, 330-C:7, 330-C:14-a, 330-C:27 and 330-C:31 through 330-C:33 were repealed by 2025, 161:6, effective Sept.
13, 2025.
2026, 224 rewrites RSA 330-C:14 I to drop the licensed clinical supervisor (LCS) title β the credential He-W 513.04(c)(2)'s independent-practice LADC + LCS supervisor route relies on β and repeals RSA 330-C:18 and RSA 330-C:24 II(b), effective July 1, 2030; the Medicaid rule text read has not been amended to reflect this.
The rules were read on Cornell LII, which may lag new rulemaking.
This page summarizes the New Hampshire statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the NH Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification) publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in New Hampshire.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the NH Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in New Hampshire that asks for it.
No. The credential is the Certified Recovery Support Worker, a certification issued by the Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals under RSA 330-C β a state board credential, not a licence.
The title is protected: only persons certified under the chapter may use the title certified recovery support worker and the abbreviation CRSW.
No state mental-health peer certification was located in the sources read.
Two hour counts, exactly as the rules state them.
Training: at least 46 hours covering the 4 domain areas, including 16 in ethical responsibility and 10 in advocacy with 6 hours of suicide prevention (Alc 303.03).
Experience: at least 500 hours of paid or volunteer work within the 10 years before you apply, including 25 hours of direct supervised work experience, counted only after a board-approved supervisory agreement (Alc 303.01, Alc 303.02).
Not for the CRSW.
Neither RSA 330-C:19 nor the board's eligibility rule Alc 303.01 conditions certification on lived experience; both were read in full.
The Medicaid rule is different: it describes peer recovery support as delivered by peers who self-identify as having lived experience and defines lived experience to include a family member's recovery.
Ask a prospective employer which expectation applies to the role.
Possibly.
A felony conviction not waived by the board is disqualifying under RSA 330-C:15, but Alc 303.01(b) directs the board to waive a felony conviction if the applicant has corrected the deficiency which led to the act or omission, after considering explanation, restitution, probation or parole compliance, fines, and plea-agreement compliance.
Every applicant also completes the state police and FBI fingerprint check at their own cost.
Ask the board before you apply.
He-W 513.04(c)(2) lists five supervisors for a CRSW delivering SUD recovery support services: an MLADC, an independent-practice LADC who also is a licensed clinical supervisor, a LADC, or a licensed mental health provider β each on the staff of or under contract with a Medicaid-enrolled program β or a CRSW certified for one year with 6 hours of supervisory and 6 hours of practical board-approved training.
A peer recovery coach's supervisor must qualify under He-W 513.04(c)(2), be on the staff of or under contract with the peer recovery program, and have completed the coach training in He-W 513.05(r)(4) plus 6 contact hours of supervision training.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the NH Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification).