🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in New York: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

New York certifies peer specialists; it does not license them, and there is no single statewide credential.

The mental health track is the NYCPS and NYCPS-Provisional from the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board.

The substance use track is the CRPA and CRPA-Provisional from the New York Certification Board of InUnity Alliance, which OASAS authorizes as the sole CRPA certifier.

Training, hours and exams differ between the tracks, so match the credential to the job you want.

Background checks, billing supervision and reciprocity were not located in the sources read.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In New York, that is the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board (NYPSCB).

At a glance

Credential titles

Mental health: New York Certified Peer Specialist (NYCPS) and NYCPS-Provisional, plus specialty-track designations.

Substance use: Certified Recovery Peer Advocate (CRPA) and CRPA-Provisional, plus CRPA-Family, CRPA-Youth, Veteran Supported Recovery, Criminal Justice Supported Recovery, and the Peer Supervision Professional for supervisors.

All are certifications; New York does not license peer specialists.

Certifier

Two certifiers.

Mental health: the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board (NYPSCB), a non-IC&RC state certification board.

Substance use: the New York Certification Board of InUnity Alliance (formerly ASAP), which OASAS describes as the only entity authorized to oversee CRPA training and certification.

Training

NYCPS: all 13 Academy of Peer Services core courses with post-tests, plus at least 5 additional APS courses (a minimum of 15 hours); no reliable core-course hour total appears in the sources read.

CRPA: 46 hours of NYCB-approved role training plus 4 hours of Medication Supported Recovery training, for a total of 50 hours.

Supervised or work hours

NYCPS: 2,000 hours of peer specialist experience under a qualified supervisor, documented on the Board's form, with no more than 2,000 hours counted per year.

CRPA: 500 hours of supervised volunteer or paid work experience plus 25 hours of mentoring and/or supervision specific to the PR domains.

Exam

NYCPS: no separate exam is named — the assessment is a passed post-test for each of the 13 APS core modules.

CRPA: a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery (PR) Examination, which OASAS places at the upgrade to full certification; nothing in the sources read names an exam for the provisional.

Lived experience

NYCPS: required — must identify as being actively in recovery from a mental health condition or major life disruption and self-disclose the mental health recovery journey.

CRPA: no lived-experience requirement appears in the certifier's or OASAS's requirement lists; OASAS describes CRPAs as drawing from personal experience with substance use, and the board only recommends a recovery-first foundation.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Peer Support is a covered CORE service under OMH's billing guidance — H0038 in 15-minute units, effective February 1, 2022, for HARP and related enrollees — billable as an OASAS service (HF modifier) or an OMH service (HE modifier).

The guidance defers staff and supervisory qualifications to the CORE Services Operations Manual, so which peer credential CORE billing requires and who supervises it were not stated in the sources read.

Renewal & CE

NYCPS: 10 credits for a one-year renewal, 20 for two years, 30 for three years; the application describes 20 hours of peer specialist training for the two-year certification.

CRPA: certifications are valid for 3 years; a CE-hour total was not stated in the sources read.

The New York credential ladder

  1. New York Certified Peer Specialist, Provisional(NYCPS-P)Pre-licensure

    The entry certificate on the mental health track, with its own online application, an upgrade route to the standard NYCPS, and a separate Youth Peer Advocate-to-NYCPS-P application.

    The Board's pages describe the provisional's fees and upgrade path but not its requirement list; the Board's step-by-step guide tells applicants to review the requirements for both provisional and standard certification and choose an application type.

  2. New York Certified Peer Specialist(NYCPS)Independent

    The full mental health credential: a high school diploma or equivalent, all 13 Academy of Peer Services core courses each with a passed post-test, at least 5 additional APS courses (a minimum of 15 hours), 2,000 hours of supervised peer specialist experience, three references and, unless the supervisor is among them, a supervisor's recommendation letter.

    No separate exam is named in the sources read.

  3. Certified Recovery Peer Advocate, Provisional(CRPA-P)Pre-licensure

    The entry certificate on the substance use track: at least 18 years old, a high school diploma or certified equivalency, living or working in New York State at least 51% of the time at application and testing, 50 hours of NYCB-approved training, and agreement to the NYCB Code of Ethical Conduct.

    OASAS says it is valid for 2 years while the remaining requirements are completed.

  4. Certified Recovery Peer Advocate(CRPA)Independent

    The full substance use credential: the provisional requirements plus 500 hours of supervised volunteer or paid work experience specific to the Peer Recovery (PR) domains, 25 hours of mentoring and/or supervision specific to the PR domains, and a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery (PR) Examination.

  5. Peer Supervision Professional(PSP)Supervisor

    The New York Certification Board's credential described as a certification for professional supervisors.

    The sources read name the credential and its audience but not its requirements; check the NYCB's own PSP page before counting on it.

Two credentials, two certifiers, no licence

📜 OASAS Become a Certified Recovery Peer Advocate page; NYPSCB NYCPS application

New York splits peer certification by population, and each side has its own certifier, training, hours and exam.

Mental health peers earn the NYCPS (or the NYCPS-Provisional first) from the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board.

Substance use peers earn the CRPA (or the CRPA-Provisional first) from the New York Certification Board of InUnity Alliance, which OASAS authorizes as the sole CRPA certifier — the quote below is OASAS's own sentence.

Neither credential is a licence; both are certifications.

Because the requirements differ so much between tracks, the first thing to check in any New York peer job posting is which credential the employer means.

Both certifiers also list specialty add-ons — NYCPS specialty-track designations, and CRPA-Family, CRPA-Youth, Veteran Supported Recovery and Criminal Justice Supported Recovery — which were not researched for this page.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

“The New York Certification Board is the only entity authorized by OASAS to oversee the training and certification of Certified Recovery Peer Advocates in New York State.”

Lived experience: the mental health rule, quoted whole

📜 NYPSCB NYCPS application (Peer Status); IUA–NYCB CRPA page

That sentence, quoted whole from the NYCPS application's Peer Status row, is the mental health track's lived-experience rule: active recovery plus self-disclosure of the mental health recovery journey.

The application defines a major life disruption as an event or series of events that leads to interruption in one's health, home, purpose or community.

On the substance use track, the certifier states no minimum recovery time for the CRPA, and OASAS says CRPAs draw from personal experience with substance use.

The NYCB adds a rule that matters if your peer experience began while you were a client: role experience and supervision in a treatment setting while you were receiving services there does not count toward certification, with an exception the board makes for candidates in long-term medication-supported recovery under three conditions — no access to confidential information about other service recipients, no dual role, and recusal when a conflict arises.

“Must identify as being actively in recovery from a mental health condition or major life disruption and self-disclose one's mental health recovery journey.”

Training: APS courses for the NYCPS, 50 NYCB-approved hours for the CRPA

📜 IUA–NYCB CRPA page; NYPSCB NYCPS application

The CRPA quote below gives exact hours: 46 hours of NYCB-approved role training — 10 each in Advocacy, Mentoring/Education and Recovery/Wellness Support, and 16 in Ethical Responsibility — plus 4 hours of Medication Supported Recovery training, 50 in total.

The training must be NYCB-approved.

The NYCPS track counts courses instead: all 13 Academy of Peer Services core courses, each with a passed post-test, plus at least 5 additional APS courses totaling at least 15 hours.

The application lists individual hour values for the core courses in a scanned table, but no reliable core-course total can be read from it, so this page does not give one.

The Academy is the training provider, not the certifier: APS's own page states that the NYPSCB is a separate organization that determines certification requirements and verifies completion.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

“Must complete 46 hours of NYCB-approved role training specific to the Peer Recovery (PR) domains with 10 hours in each of the domains in Advocacy, Mentoring/Education, and Recovery/Wellness Support and 16 hours in the domain of Ethical Responsibility. An additional 4 hours of NYCB-approved Medication Supported Recovery (MSR) training is also required for a total of 50 hours.”

Hours: 2,000 on the NYCPS track, 500 plus 25 on the CRPA track

📜 NYPSCB NYCPS application (Experience Verification Form); IUA–NYCB CRPA page

The NYCPS requirement is 2,000 hours of peer specialist experience — work or volunteer, documented on the Board's Experience Verification Form and verified by the supervisor who oversaw it.

The same form counts no more than 2,000 hours per year, which means even a full-time peer needs at least a year in the role before the requirement is met.

On the CRPA track the totals are smaller and split in two: 500 hours of supervised volunteer or paid work experience specific to the Peer Recovery domains, plus 25 hours of mentoring and/or supervision specific to those domains.

OASAS's own summary of the credential lists the same 500 and 25 hours.

The treatment-setting rule from the lived-experience section applies to these hours too — time accumulated in a program where you were receiving services does not count, subject to the medication-supported-recovery exception.

“Documentation of 2000 hours of peer specialist experience under the supervision of a qualified supervisor”

Exams: post-tests on one track, the IC&RC Peer Recovery exam on the other

📜 IUA–NYCB CRPA page; OASAS Become a Certified Recovery Peer Advocate page

Full CRPA certification ends in a test: a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery (PR) Examination, quoted below from the certifier's requirements.

OASAS's page agrees, listing the IC&RC exam among the minimum requirements and describing passing the Peer Recovery exam as the step that upgrades a provisional to full certification.

No cut score or retake policy appears in the sources read.

The NYCPS track names no separate exam at all — its assessment is built into training, with a passed post-test required for each of the 13 APS core modules.

One caution for anyone mapping credentials across state lines: the exam is IC&RC's, but the sources read do not verify the New York Certification Board's own IC&RC membership, so do not assume IC&RC reciprocity applies here.

“Achieve a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery (PR) Examination.”

Medicaid: Peer Support as a CORE service since February 1, 2022

📜 OMH CORE Benefit and Billing Guidance (updated April 1, 2024)

The best-documented Medicaid route is the CORE benefit.

OMH's CORE Benefit and Billing Guidance records the 1115 MRT waiver transition that moved Peer Support — alongside CPST, PSR and FST — from behavioral health HCBS into CORE Services effective February 1, 2022.

The guidance limits CORE Services to HARP enrollees and HARP-eligible HIV-SNP and MAP enrollees on an LPHA recommendation, and its billing tables list Peer Support under H0038 in 15-minute units, credentialed staff, billable as an OASAS service (HF modifier) or an OMH service (HE modifier).

What the guidance defers to the unread CORE Services Operations Manual: which peer credential CORE billing wants — the NYCPS or the CRPA — and who must supervise billing.

A footnote bridges the tracks: OASAS will allow patients in a 14 NYCRR Part 822 outpatient program receiving peer support services to also receive CORE Peer Empowerment Services, though the in-program billing rule was not read.

Other footnotes name more routes — CCBHC Peer Support comparable to the CORE service and pre-admission MHOTRS Peer Support — whose rules were not read.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

“On October 5, 2021, CMS approved NYS' 1115 MRT Waiver Amendment Request to transition CPST, PSR, FST and Peer Support from BH HCBS to CORE Services, and the transition became effective February 1, 2022”

Supervision: what the sources say, and what they leave open

📜 NYPSCB NYCPS application (Experience Verification Form); OASAS Become a Certified Recovery Peer Advocate page

For the NYCPS, the 2,000 hours must run under a qualified supervisor — but the sources read never define the qualifier.

What the Experience Verification Form does show is practical: it asks whether your supervisor is certified as a NYCPS, whether they know the certification standards and the ethics code, and it records supervision hours with the form's own estimate of typically one to five hours per week.

A recommendation letter from your current or most recent supervisor is also required, unless that supervisor is among the three references.

On the CRPA track, the certifiable requirement is the 25 hours of mentoring and/or supervision specific to the PR domains; OASAS adds the work-environment sentence quoted below.

Who must supervise a CRPA for billing purposes in OASAS programs was not stated in the sources read.

“Peers may work in a variety of settings including OASAS outpatient programs under the supervision of a qualified healthcare professional.”

Moving to New York with an out-of-state credential

📜 IUA–NYCB CRPA page (CRPA-Provisional requirements); NYPSCB renewal page

No reciprocity or endorsement route into either New York peer credential was located in the sources read.

What the sources do state is geographic: CRPA-Provisional applicants must live or work in New York State at least 51% of the time at application and testing, quoted below, and NYS OMH currently funds NYCPS renewal fees for individuals working or living in New York State — the Board's renewal page tells anyone who does not live or work in New York State to submit payment to the NYPSCB before the renewal is processed.

One thread worth pulling if you already hold an out-of-state credential: the CRPA rides on IC&RC's Peer Recovery standards and exam, so it is reasonable to ask the New York Certification Board whether your credential shortens the New York path.

No such route is stated in the sources read, so plan on the full New York requirements otherwise.

“Live or work in New York State at least 51% of the time at the point of application and testing.”

Renewal: credits on the NYCPS track, three years on the CRPA track

📜 NYPSCB renewal page; NYPSCB NYCPS application; OASAS Become a Certified Recovery Peer Advocate page

The NYCPS renews in tiers, quoted below from the Board's renewal page: 10 credits of peer specialist training for a one-year renewal, 20 for two years, 30 for three.

The application states the standard as 20 hours of peer specialist specific training for the two-year certification — 10 hours per year, completed every 2 years — and once a renewal is submitted you cannot add credits to extend the term.

Miss the renewal date and the Board warns the certification may lapse.

Renewal fees in the January 2020 application run $60, $100 and $125 by term, and the Board states the renewal fee is currently funded by NYS OMH for all individuals working or living in New York State.

The CRPA renews on a different clock: OASAS says certifications are valid for 3 years; a CRPA CE-hour total was not stated in the sources read.

“10 CREDITS FOR ONE YEAR, 20 CREDITS FOR TWO YEARS, 30 CREDITS FOR THREE YEARS.”

Changes to watch, 2023–2026

📜 IUA–NYCB CRPA page; NYPSCB website

The substance use side reorganized: ASAP has merged with the Coalition for Behavioral Health and operates as InUnity Alliance — a merger a Spectrum News item dated October 2023, linked from the NYCB's own page, discussed — with the New York Certification Board's team reachable at iuany.org while the asapnys.org CRPA page still carries the requirements.

That page's CRPA performance domains include Harm Reduction alongside Advocacy, Ethical Responsibility, Mentoring/Education and Recovery/Wellness Support, as outlined in the IC&RC Peer Recovery Job Task Analysis; the sources read do not date the addition.

The board also lists the Peer Supervision Professional for supervisors, quoted below, whose requirements were not researched here.

On the mental health side, the NYPSCB homepage advertises a specialty track endorsement, an upgrade route from provisional to standard certification, and a Youth Peer Advocate-to-NYCPS-P application.

The CORE transition's February 1, 2022 effective date predates this window but still governs current billing.

“Peer Supervision Professional (PSP), a certification for professional supervisors”

Applying: references, fees, and how review works

📜 NYPSCB NYCPS application; NYPSCB step-by-step guide page

The NYCPS application is a paper packet: all eight pages signed, an official high school transcript or equivalency verification, three reference letters plus — unless your supervisor is among them — a supervisor's recommendation letter, a government photo ID, and certificates for every training hour claimed.

Reference writers are restricted — the quote below names who cannot write one.

The Board's step-by-step guide describes the review chain: staff check completeness, the Certification Director reviews again, and the Board of Directors votes; applicants are notified within approximately four weeks, and an issued certification is effective the following month.

Fees in the January 2020 application: $150 for the NYCPS, $125 for the NYCPS-Provisional and $75 to upgrade — but the application states an OMH grant is currently paying all initial certification fees for eligible candidates.

The NYPSCB also runs a public verification search listing certifications, specialty designations and adverse actions.

“Letters will not be accepted from: 1) Past or present clinical, medical, case management, or treatment providers 2) Family members”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the New York statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board (NYPSCB) publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in New York.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board (NYPSCB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in New York that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in New York?

No. New York certifies peer specialists and does not license them.

There are two certifications from two certifiers: the NYCPS and NYCPS-Provisional from the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board for mental health peers, and the CRPA and CRPA-Provisional from the New York Certification Board of InUnity Alliance for substance use peers.

A New York peer job will ask for whichever certification matches its setting.

Do I need the NYCPS or the CRPA in New York?

It depends on the population you will serve.

Mental health peer roles ask for the NYCPS from the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board; substance use roles ask for the CRPA from the New York Certification Board, which OASAS authorizes as the sole CRPA certifier.

The tracks differ in everything measurable: APS courses and 2,000 supervised hours versus 50 training hours, 500 work hours plus 25 supervision hours, and only the CRPA has the IC&RC exam.

Check the posting, then confirm with the certifier.

How long does it take to become a NYCPS in New York?

Plan on at least a year of peer work before applying.

The requirement is 2,000 hours of peer specialist experience, and the Board's form counts no more than 2,000 hours per year, so even full-time work takes a year to document.

Add the training first: 13 Academy of Peer Services core courses with post-tests plus at least 5 electives totaling at least 15 hours.

Review takes approximately four weeks, and certification is effective the following month.

Do you have to take an exam to become a CRPA?

Not for the provisional.

After the 50 training hours, OASAS says you are eligible for a provisional certification valid for 2 years while you complete the remaining requirements.

The exam comes at the upgrade: full CRPA certification requires a passing score on the IC&RC Peer Recovery (PR) Examination, along with 500 hours of supervised work experience and 25 hours of mentoring and/or supervision.

No cut score is stated in the sources read.

Does Medicaid pay for peer support in New York?

Yes — Peer Support is covered as a CORE service under the 1115 MRT waiver effective February 1, 2022, for HARP and related enrollees, and OMH's billing guidance lists it under H0038 in 15-minute units, billable as an OASAS service (HF modifier) or an OMH service (HE modifier).

What the sources read do not state: which peer credential CORE's credentialed-staff billing requires — the NYCPS or the CRPA — or who must supervise a billing peer; the guidance defers those qualifications to the CORE Services Operations Manual.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in New York
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More New York & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the New York Peer Specialist Certification Board (NYPSCB).