🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Wyoming: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Wyoming certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist credential has been issued by Recover Wyoming β€” a nonprofit and the IC&RC member board for Peer Recovery β€” since February 1, 2021.

The path is 46 training hours in the IC&RC domains, 500 hours of volunteer or paid work within the past two years, 25 hours of supervision, at least two years of your own recovery, and the remote-proctored IC&RC exam.

Certification is valid for two years and renews with 20 hours of continuing education.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Wyoming, that is the Recover Wyoming (a nonprofit; the IC&RC member board for the Peer Recovery credential in Wyoming).

At a glance

Credential titles

Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist (WCPS), with optional Mastery, Whole Health and Forensic Peer Specialist endorsements.

No family, youth or supervisor credential appears in the sources read.

Certifier

Recover Wyoming, a nonprofit that has run Wyoming peer specialist certification since February 1, 2021 and is the IC&RC member board for the Peer Recovery credential.

Training

46 training hours in the IC&RC domains β€” Advocacy 10 hours, Recovery/Wellness Support 10, Mentoring & Education 10, Ethical Responsibility 16 β€” or 36 contact hours if eligible for grandparenting.

Topics must include trauma-informed care, cultural sensitivity, whole health, substance use and mental health.

Supervised or work hours

500 hours of recent volunteer or paid work experience related to the IC&RC domains, completed within the past two years, plus 25 hours of supervision related to the IC&RC domains.

Exam

The online remote-proctored IC&RC exam; the certifier's flyer describes it as multiple choice with a two hour time limit.

Lived experience

"Personal lived experience with substance use disorder and/or mental health experiences and in recovery for at least 2 years" (certification flyer, 1.3.24).

The definition covers your own experience, not a family member's.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Certifier-stated only: the application says meeting the requirements allows the organization you work for to bill Wyoming Medicaid for the peer services you provide, when they are identified in the client's treatment plan and the organization is a Medicaid provider.

The Medicaid rule itself was not read.

Renewal & CE

Every two years, with 20 hours of continuing education earned within the two-year window, of which 6 hours must be peer-specific ethics training; $75 renewal fee.

The Wyoming credential ladder

  1. Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist(WCPS)Independent

    The state's peer specialist certification: at least 46 training hours in the IC&RC domains, 500 hours of volunteer or paid work within the past two years, 25 hours of supervision, at least two years of personal recovery, and a pass on the remote-proctored IC&RC exam; it is valid for two years and renews with continuing education.

  2. WCPS endorsements: Mastery, Whole Health, Forensic Peer SpecialistOther

    Optional additions to the certification β€” Mastery for documented advocacy or leadership accomplishments, Whole Health for approved training of at least 14 contact hours, Forensic for approved training of at least 16 contact hours plus forensic peer work; each endorsement's application is renewed with the two-year certification renewal, and Whole Health and Forensic carry continued-qualification requirements of their own.

One certification from a nonprofit IC&RC member board, plus three endorsements

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification page; certification flyer (1.3.24)

Wyoming has a single peer specialist credential, the Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist, issued by Recover Wyoming.

A Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist Certification Board, made up of Recover Wyoming staff and Board of Directors, determines the application process, reviews initial applications and recertification documents, and issues the certificate.

Three optional endorsements sit on top of the certification: Mastery, Whole Health and Forensic Peer Specialist.

No family, youth or supervisor credential appears in the documents read, so a peer wanting a specialty endorsement is limited to these three.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œEffective 2/1/2021, Recover Wyoming will be in charge of the certification process for Peer Specialists for the state of Wyoming.”

Two years of your own recovery is the qualifying fact

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification flyer (1.3.24); WCPS initial certification application (1.3.24)

The flyer's definition covers your own substance use disorder and/or mental health experiences, with recovery of at least two years, and its expanded definition describes a personal history of substance use disorder or a personal mental health diagnosis, in each case with at least two years engaged in recovery.

The application turns that into an attestation and asks for your recovery date plus a description of how you will use your lived experience to help others.

A family member's experience does not appear in the definition as written.

β€œI have been or am a consumer of mental health, substance use disorder, or dual diagnosis services; I am well grounded in my recovery”

Training: 46 IC&RC-domain hours, 36 under grandparenting

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification flyer (1.3.24); WCPS initial certification application (1.3.24)

Initial training must last at least 46 contact hours across the four IC&RC domains β€” Advocacy 10 hours, Recovery/Wellness Support 10, Mentoring & Education 10, Ethical Responsibility 16 β€” and topic areas must include trauma-informed care, cultural sensitivity, whole health, substance use and mental health.

The application allows 36 contact hours if you are eligible for the grandparenting period, but the documents read do not state who qualifies or until when.

Training can be Recover Wyoming's own or another IC&RC-approved training or curriculum.

You also need a high school diploma or equivalent, attest to being at least 18 years of age, and the flyer requires that you live in Wyoming at least 51% of the year.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œDid the training last at least 46 contact hours? (or 36 contact hours if eligible for grandparenting period)”

500 recent work or volunteer hours and 25 supervision hours

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification flyer (1.3.24); WCPS initial certification application (1.3.24)

Before you apply you document 500 hours of volunteer or paid work experience related to the four IC&RC domains, verified with letters from each agency, and 25 hours of supervision related to the IC&RC domains, verified by each supervisor.

Wyoming issues no trainee or provisional certificate in the documents read: the hours come first, the certification after, which makes the volunteer or job you stack hours in the qualifying step.

One wording difference is worth knowing β€” the flyer's document checklist describes the work hours as over the past year, while the application you sign says the 500 hours must have occurred within the past two years.

If your hours are older than a year, confirm the window with Recover Wyoming before applying.

β€œThe 500 work/volunteer hours must have occurred within the past two years.”

The IC&RC exam, taken online with remote proctoring

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification flyer (1.3.24)

Certification ends in the IC&RC Peer Recovery exam, which the flyer's standards list requires you to pass.

The IC&RC develops and administers the exam; Recover Wyoming's flyer says candidates register for a convenient date and time and take it online with remote proctoring.

The initial certification fee is $175 total, of which $80 registers you as an IC&RC exam candidate and $95 is the certification fee; all fees are nonrefundable, and credit-card payments carry an additional fee.

β€œExam is multiple choice and there is a two hour time limit.”

Medicaid billing runs through your employer, on the certifier's word

πŸ“œ WCPS initial certification application (1.3.24)

Everything on the Medicaid side comes from Recover Wyoming's own application form, which asks whether your organization bills client services to Medicaid.

The application names the employing organization, if it is a Medicaid provider, as the one that bills, and the services must be identified in the client's treatment plan.

The Wyoming Medicaid rule or manual was not read and the funding vehicle is not stated in the sources read, so treat coverage as certifier-stated and confirm it with the employer and Wyoming Medicaid.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œI understand that meeting these requirements allows the organization for which I work to bill Wyoming Medicaid for Peer Specialist services that are provided by me to clients with Medicaid coverage when these services are identified within the client's treatment plan and if the organization is a Medicaid provider.”

Supervision: 25 hours to certify, and an open question for billing

πŸ“œ WCPS initial certification application (1.3.24)

Supervision enters the file twice.

First, initial certification requires 25 hours of supervision related to the four IC&RC domains, verified by letter from each supervisor.

Second, the application asks your employer to name your direct supervisor, to give their licensing credentials if applicable (i.e., LCSW, LPC), and to briefly describe the supervision you will receive β€” a form field, not a rule.

The sources read name no supervisor credential, ratio or frequency for billing, so check supervision expectations with the employing organization before you take a Wyoming peer job.

Moving to Wyoming: reciprocity runs through IC&RC member boards

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming certification page; certification flyer (1.3.24)

Recover Wyoming holds Wyoming's seat on the IC&RC for the Peer Recovery credential, and its flyer credits IC&RC with facilitating reciprocity between member boards β€” so an IC&RC peer credential earned through another member board is what the reciprocity system covers.

The documents read do not set out Wyoming's reciprocity application, fees or terms, so ask Recover Wyoming what it accepts before you repeat training you may not need.

Certification also requires that you live in Wyoming at least 51% of the year, which matters if you plan to keep working across a state line.

β€œRecover Wyoming is the member board for the International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) for the Peer Recovery credential/certification.”

Renew every two years β€” 20 CE hours, 6 of them peer-specific ethics

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming renewal process; Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist Endorsements (Jan 2024); certification flyer (1.3.24)

WCPS certification is valid for two years from the initial certification date, and renewal requires 20 hours of continuing education earned within that two-year window, of which 6 hours must be peer-specific ethics training, plus the $75 renewal fee.

The renewal document bars duplicate courses within a cycle.

Recover Wyoming recommends submitting the renewal application 30 to 90 days before expiration; if you lapse, a $50 reinstatement fee on top of the $75 covers one day to 12 months late, and after 12 months you reapply under all current requirements.

Each endorsement's application is renewed with the certification renewal, and Whole Health and Forensic carry their own continued-qualification requirements β€” Whole Health: presenting the curriculum to at least 8 peers/groups in the previous 24 months with at least 8 weeks of in-person sessions, each at least an hour, and/or WRAP Facilitator Certification with 6 or more people helped develop their WRAP; Forensic: peer work with persons on probation or parole in the previous 24 months including at least eight 1-hour sessions, plus 4+ Forensic CEs or instructing the Forensic training.

β€œ6 hours of the continuing education requirements must be peer-specific ethics training”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ Recover Wyoming application, flyer and endorsements documents (Jan 2024); certification page

The application, flyer and endorsements documents were reissued in January 2024; the research could not date what changed between versions.

Recover Wyoming has held the certification mandate since February 1, 2021, and the current paperwork still carries the grandparenting route β€” 36 contact hours for applicants eligible for the grandparenting period β€” without stating who qualifies or when that window closes.

No dated Wyoming rule change appears in the sources read, so treat the January 2024 paperwork as the current word.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Wyoming statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Recover Wyoming (a nonprofit; the IC&RC member board for the Peer Recovery credential in Wyoming) publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Wyoming.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Recover Wyoming (a nonprofit; the IC&RC member board for the Peer Recovery credential in Wyoming) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Wyoming that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Wyoming?

No. Wyoming certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The credential is the Wyoming Certified Peer Specialist, issued by Recover Wyoming, a nonprofit that serves as the IC&RC member board for Peer Recovery in Wyoming and has run the certification since February 1, 2021.

Because the certification is what the certifier links to Medicaid billing, confirm the exact credential a Wyoming employer expects with that employer.

How many hours do you need for Wyoming peer specialist certification?

Three hour totals, plus the exam: 46 training hours across the four IC&RC domains (Advocacy 10, Recovery/Wellness Support 10, Mentoring & Education 10, Ethical Responsibility 16), 500 hours of volunteer or paid work within the past two years, and 25 hours of supervision in the same domains.

Applicants eligible for the grandparenting period may count 36 training contact hours instead of 46.

Every hour is documented with verification letters submitted to Recover Wyoming.

How long do you have to be in recovery to be a peer specialist in Wyoming?

At least two years, based on your own lived experience.

The certification flyer defines the requirement as personal lived experience with substance use disorder and/or mental health experiences and recovery of at least two years, and the application attests that you have been or are a consumer of mental health, substance use disorder or dual diagnosis services and are well grounded in your recovery.

A family member's experience is not part of the definition as written.

Can you become a peer specialist in Wyoming with a criminal record?

The certification documents read β€” the application, flyer, endorsements and renewal process β€” state no background-check requirement, so the sources read give no bar to quote.

That is not the same as a guarantee: Recover Wyoming's certification board evaluates each application, and employers run their own hiring checks.

Ask Recover Wyoming directly at (307) 421-7261 before you invest in training hours.

Does Wyoming Medicaid pay for peer support specialist services?

Per the certifier: Recover Wyoming's application states that meeting its requirements allows the organization you work for to bill Wyoming Medicaid for the peer specialist services you provide, when the services are identified in the client's treatment plan and the organization is a Medicaid provider.

The state's own Medicaid rule was not part of the sources read, so the funding vehicle is unstated β€” confirm billing with your employer and Wyoming Medicaid.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Wyoming
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Wyoming & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Recover Wyoming (a nonprofit; the IC&RC member board for the Peer Recovery credential in Wyoming).