Rhode Island licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses through the Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education, and the licence carries independence: § 5-34-3(2) defines the practice as an independent and expanded scope of nursing, with no transition-to-practice gate and no physician agreement in the sections read.
AANP classes Rhode Island as full practice.
The twist is § 5-34-49(e): for psychiatric/mental-health-focus APRNs it shall include Schedule II stimulants yet shall not include Schedule II — how the two lines reconcile, and whether (e) reaches a PMHNP at all, is not resolved in the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) is the statute's licence title; the certified nurse practitioner (CNP) is the role a psychiatric nurse practitioner holds (§ 5-34-3(1)).
The Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education, within the RI Department of Health.
Full, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).
AANP's label, not a legal category.
None in the sections read: §§ 5-34-3 and 5-34-49 contain no hours or years gate and no provisional status.
Prescribing is a board-granted authority (§ 5-34-49(a)), conditioned by (b) on a completed educational program including pathophysiology, pharmacology and physical assessment, within the APRN's role and population focus — a coursework condition, not an hours or years period after licensure.
None required: no collaboration, supervision or protocol requirement appears in §§ 5-34-3 or 5-34-49.
§ 5-34-49(d)(1) gives certified nurse practitioners Schedules II–V "that are established in regulation" — a regulation this page did not read. § 5-34-49(e) says a psych/mental-health-focus APRN's privileges shall include Schedule II stimulants yet shall not include Schedules I, II and V; read together, the carve-out appears to allow stimulants and no other Schedule II.
Whether (e) reaches a PMHNP (a CNP) or only the psychiatric and mental health nurse clinical specialist of § 5-34-3(15) is not resolved in the sources read — confirm with the board.
For certified nurse practitioners, § 5-34-49(d)(1) covers Schedules II–V as established in regulation (not read here).
Under (e), a psych/mental-health-focus APRN's privileges shall include controlled substances from Schedule III and IV "that are prescribed in regulations", and (e)(2) excludes Schedule V as written.
Which line governs a PMHNP is the same unresolved question.
Not enacted in Rhode Island.
The compact is not in effect anywhere: it needs seven states and five had enacted it as of September 2026.
The single licence a PMHNP practises under: § 5-34-3(2) defines the practice as an independent and expanded scope of nursing, § 5-34-3(5) puts prescriptive privileges inside the CNP role, and §§ 5-34-3 and 5-34-49 impose no physician agreement and no post-licence transition period.
Prescribing rides on the § 5-34-49(a) board grant and (b)'s education-and-population-focus conditions.
The one open question is which drug schedules § 5-34-49(e) allows a PMHNP.
An optional add-on, not a separate licence: § 5-34-49(d)(2) says a certified nurse practitioner "May be certified to prescribe controlled substances from Schedule I" — the one schedule the CNP baseline privileges in (d)(1) do not list.
How certification is applied for is not stated in the sources read.
AANP's May 2026 map puts Rhode Island in its full practice tier.
The label is AANP's advocacy classification; the legal facts behind it sit in the chapter itself.
Advanced practice registered nursing is defined as an independent and expanded scope of nursing that may include advanced assessment, diagnosing, prescribing and ordering, and the certified nurse practitioner definition adds that the practice includes prescriptive privileges.
Prescribing is a board-granted authority: § 5-34-49(a) has the board grant prescribing, ordering, dispensing and furnishing authority, and under (b) an APRN may prescribe when they have completed an educational program including courses in pathophysiology, pharmacology and physical assessment and are within the APRN's role and population focus.
Neither section read adds a physician agreement, an hours threshold or a setting limit — the one open question, the psych/mental-health carve-out, concerns which drug schedules, not who supervises you.
For what AANP’s full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?
“'Advanced practice registered nursing' means an independent and expanded scope of nursing in a role and population focus approved by the board of nurse registration and nursing education that includes the registered nurse scope of practice and may include, but is not limited to, performing acts of advanced assessment, diagnosing, prescribing, and ordering.”
The research checked §§ 5-34-3 and 5-34-49 and found no transition rule: no hours, no years, no provisional status, and no certificate or registration issued at a milestone.
Prescribing runs on the § 5-34-49(a) board grant: under (b) an APRN may prescribe pursuant to applicable state and federal laws when they have completed an educational program including courses in pathophysiology, pharmacology and physical assessment, within the APRN's role and population focus.
The condition (b) adds is a coursework condition — not an hours or years period served after licensure, as far as the sections read go.
A new graduate who holds the Rhode Island APRN licence practises under the same statute as a PMHNP with twenty years in practice: both prescribe under the same (a) grant and (b) conditions.
There is no supervised period to serve and nothing to age out of.
None required in the sections read: §§ 5-34-3 and 5-34-49 contain no physician agreement, no ratio, no meeting frequency, no chart-review rule and nothing filed with a medical board.
What stands in its place is professional accountability written into the definition of the practice itself: each APRN answers to patients, the profession and the board for recognizing the limits of their knowledge and experience, planning for situations beyond their expertise, and consulting with or referring patients to other healthcare providers as appropriate.
Collaboration is judged against the patient's needs, not enforced through a document a physician signs.
For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.
“Each APRN is accountable to patients, the nursing profession, and the board of nursing for complying with the requirements of this chapter and the quality of advanced nursing care rendered; recognizing limits of knowledge and experience; planning for the management of situations beyond the APRN's expertise; and for consulting with or referring patients to other healthcare providers as appropriate.”
Section 5-34-49(d) states the certified nurse practitioner baseline: privileges include legend medications and controlled substances from Schedules II, III, IV and V as established in regulation — a regulation not read here — plus an optional Schedule I certification.
Subsection (e) carves out APRNs with the population focus of psychiatric/mental health: privileges shall include certain psychotropic and certain legend medications, Schedule II stimulants, and Schedule III and IV controlled substances as prescribed in regulations, and shall not include Schedules I, II and V or legend medications outside (e)(1).
Whether (e) governs a PMHNP — a CNP in that population focus — or only the § 5-34-3(15) psychiatric and mental health nurse clinical specialist, the sources read do not resolve.
The page picks no reading: (e)(1) expressly includes Schedule II stimulants while (e)(2) lists Schedule II among its exclusions without a stimulant exception; read together, the carve-out appears to allow stimulants and no other Schedule II — the page's harmonised reading, not a board's.
A separate state controlled-substance registration was not located in the sources read.
For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.
“Prescriptive privileges for APRNs with the population focus of psychiatric/mental health: (1) Shall include prescription of certain psychotropic and certain legend medications, controlled substances from Schedule II classified as stimulants, and controlled substances from Schedule III and IV that are prescribed in regulations; (2) Shall not include controlled substances from Schedules I, II, and V and those certain legend medications not included in subsection (e)(1).”
An APRN who prescribes controlled substances registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration reaches only the schedules Rhode Island allows: the DEA form lists Schedules II to V, but it cannot widen § 5-34-49.
The DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended through December 31, 2026, let registered practitioners prescribe Schedules II to V remotely without a prior in-person evaluation, and they lift no state limit.
The Rhode Island sections read contain no telemedicine rule for APRN controlled-substance prescribing, so any state-side telehealth condition is not stated in the sources read — confirm with the board, and re-check near the end of 2026 when the federal extension expires.
For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.
Rhode Island has not enacted the APRN Compact.
The compact takes effect only once seven states enact it, and as of September 2026 five had (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming), so no APRN holds a multistate APRN licence today.
The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and gives no nurse practitioner authority in another state.
To practise as a PMHNP in Rhode Island you need a Rhode Island APRN licence from the Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education — and because the compact is not in effect, remote work into Rhode Island rests on Rhode Island licensure, not on any multistate credential.
The section histories record no 2023–2026 amendments.
Section 5-34-49 was enacted by P.L.
2013 chapters 83 and 93 — the psych/mental-health prescribing carve-out dates to that enactment — and its history shows no amendment since.
Section 5-34-3, the definitions section, was last amended by P.L.
2014 chapter 528.
Whether any 2025 or 2026 bill touched APRN practice authority was not researched, so check the Rhode Island General Assembly before assuming the text is still current.
This page summarizes the Rhode Island statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (RI Department of Health) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.
Confirm every requirement with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (RI Department of Health) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in Rhode Island that asks for it.
From the 11 active psychiatric nurse practitioner listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active psychiatric nurse practitioner listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 11 jobs →As far as the sources read go, yes. § 5-34-3(2) defines advanced practice registered nursing as an independent and expanded scope of nursing, § 5-34-3(5) puts prescriptive privileges inside the certified nurse practitioner role, and no transition-to-practice gate or physician agreement appears in the sections read.
Prescribing is the § 5-34-49(a) board grant, exercised under (b)'s education-and-population-focus conditions.
AANP's May 2026 map classes Rhode Island as full practice.
The sources here are two statutory sections; confirm current requirements with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education.
The text points that way, with two caveats.
Subsection (e)(1) expressly includes Schedule II stimulants in a psych/mental-health-focus APRN's privileges, while (e)(2) lists Schedule II among its exclusions without a stimulant exception — read together, the carve-out appears to allow stimulants and no other Schedule II.
But (d)(1)'s Schedules II through V are those "established in regulation", and no regulation was read; and whether (e) governs a PMHNP at all is unresolved.
Confirm your formulary position with the board before relying on any reading.
No, not in the sections read.
Neither § 5-34-3 nor § 5-34-49 contains a collaboration agreement, a physician ratio, a meeting frequency, a chart-review rule or a filing requirement.
The statute's definition instead makes each APRN accountable for recognizing the limits of their knowledge and experience and for consulting with or referring patients to other healthcare providers as appropriate — a professional duty exercised case by case, not a document a physician signs.
This is the open question.
Subsection (e) says a psych/mental-health-focus APRN's privileges shall include certain psychotropic and certain legend medications, Schedule II stimulants, and Schedule III and IV controlled substances as prescribed in regulations, and shall not include Schedules I, II and V — (e)(1) names stimulants while (e)(2) excludes Schedule II with no stimulant exception, so the carve-out appears to allow stimulants and no other Schedule II.
Whether it reaches a PMHNP or only the § 5-34-3(15) psychiatric clinical specialist role is not stated in the sources read.
Ask the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education before relying on any reading.
The federal layer runs through December 31, 2026: the DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities let registered practitioners prescribe Schedules II to V without a prior in-person evaluation, and they lift no state limit.
The Rhode Island sections this page is built from contain no telemedicine rule for APRN controlled-substance prescribing, so any state-side telehealth condition is not stated in the sources read.
Confirm with the board, and re-check near the end of 2026 when the federal extension expires.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (RI Department of Health).