🧭 PMHNP practice authority

PMHNP Practice Authority in South Dakota: Independence, Physician Agreements and Schedule II

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

South Dakota licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as certified nurse practitioners (CNPs) through the Board of Nursing, and AANP classes the state as full practice.

Prescribing starts at licensure and the statute expressly includes Schedule II drugs, so an outpatient PMHNP can prescribe ADHD stimulants.

The gate is a collaborative agreement: to practice without one, a CNP files a Practice Verification Form verifying a minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours in the CNP role.

South Dakota enacted the APRN Compact in 2024; it is not in effect yet.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In South Dakota, that is the South Dakota Board of Nursing.

At a glance

APRN title

Certified Nurse Practitioner (CNP), licensed as an APRN.

Board

The South Dakota Board of Nursing.

Every CNP must hold an active South Dakota nursing license to practice.

AANP practice tier

Full, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).

AANP's label, not a legal category β€” and AANP's own snapshot counts South Dakota among the FPA states with a time-in-practice requirement.

Transition to practice

A minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the role of a CNP, verified to the Board office on a Practice Verification Form, to practice without a collaborative agreement.

Physician agreement

A collaborative agreement until the 1,040-hour form is filed.

Who may be the collaborator, and the agreement's terms (ratio, chart review, meetings): not stated in the sources read.

Schedule II

Allowed.

SDCL 36-9A-12(4)(b) names Schedule II expressly and no NP-specific Schedule II limit appears in the sources read β€” an outpatient PMHNP can prescribe ADHD stimulants.

Schedules III–V

No NP day-supply cap appears in the sources read.

The Board's page describes South Dakota controlled-substance schedules II through IV in SDCL 34-20B.

APRN Compact

Enacted in 2024; not in effect.

Seven states are needed and the Board's page (updated 3/30/2026) counts four, so no multistate APRN license exists today.

The South Dakota credential ladder

  1. Certified nurse practitioner (CNP), licensed as an APRN(CNP)Other

    The Board of Nursing licence a PMHNP practises under (SDCL 36-9A-12).

    Prescribing β€” including controlled drugs through Schedule II β€” starts at licensure, within the CNP's licensed role and focus area.

  2. CNP practicing under a collaborative agreementOther

    The default until the hours threshold is met: per the Board's CNP Practice page, the CNP practices with a collaborative agreement in place.

    Separately, SDCL 36-9A-13.1's duty to collaborate with other health care providers and refer or transfer patients as appropriate applies to every CNP, before and after the form is filed.

  3. CNP with a Practice Verification Form on fileIndependent

    Once a minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the role of a CNP are verified to the Board office, the CNP practices without a collaborative agreement; the Board's verification site shows a CNP's practice-authority status.

Full practice: the statute grants scope without naming a supervising physician

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-9A-12; AANP State Practice Environment map (05/2026); AANP TIP snapshot (November 2025)

AANP's May 2026 map places South Dakota in its full practice tier, and AANP's November 2025 snapshot counts South Dakota among the FPA states with a time-in-practice requirement.

The label is AANP's advocacy classification; the legal fact behind it is SDCL 36-9A-12, which grants the certified nurse practitioner, within the CNP role and population focus, an advanced scope β€” advanced assessment, ordering and interpreting diagnostics, establishing primary and differential diagnoses, prescribing β€” with no supervising or delegating physician named in the section.

What stands between a new CNP and practicing without a collaborative agreement is not a delegation statute but the hours threshold covered below.

For what AANP’s full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?

β€œIn addition to the registered nurse scope of practice ... and within the certified nurse practitioner role and population focus, a certified nurse practitioner may perform the following advanced practice registered nursing scope: (1) Conduct an advanced assessment; (2) Order and interpret diagnostic procedures; (3) Establish primary and differential diagnoses; (4) Prescribe, order, administer, and furnish therapeutic measures ...”

1,040 licensed practice hours, verified on a Practice Verification Form

πŸ“œ South Dakota Board of Nursing CNP Practice page (updated 6/16/2026)

The exit from the collaborative agreement is administrative, not a certificate: a Practice Verification Form on file with the Board office verifying a minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the role of a CNP.

Two limits of the sources read matter to a new graduate counting hours.

The 1,040-hour figure comes from the Board's page; the research could not locate the statutory section behind it (SDCL 36-9A-12.1 returns Not Found).

And who may be the collaborator during those 1,040 hours is not stated either β€” the administrative rule ARSD 20:62:03:08, Collaborative agreement, exists per search but was not read.

Confirm both with the Board before assuming a particular first job's hours will count.

β€œTo practice without a collaborative agreement, a CNP must have on file with the Board office a Practice Verification Form verifying a minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the role of a CNP.”

The collaboration duty: broad statute, unwritten terms

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-9A-13.1; SDCL 36-9A-1(6) as quoted on the South Dakota Board of Nursing CNP Practice page

SDCL 36-9A-13.1 puts the duty on every certified nurse practitioner to collaborate with other health care providers and to refer or transfer patients as appropriate.

The Board's page quotes SDCL 36-9A-1(6), which defines collaboration as β€œthe act of communicating pertinent information or consulting with a licensed physician or other licensed health care provider with each provider contributing the provider's respective expertise to optimize the overall care delivered to the patient”; SDCL 36-9A-1 itself was not read.

That definition describes the act of collaboration, not the party to the collaborative agreement: neither text says who may serve as the collaborator during the 1,040 hours, and the sources contain no term of the agreement itself β€” no ratio, chart-review percentage, or meeting frequency.

A PMHNP choosing a first South Dakota job should ask the employer and the Board who may serve as the collaborator during the 1,040 hours rather than assume either way.

For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.

β€œThe certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife shall collaborate with other health care providers and refer or transfer patients as appropriate.”

Schedule II expressly included: outpatient stimulants are prescribable

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-9A-12(4)(b); South Dakota Board of Nursing CNP Practice page

SDCL 36-9A-12(4)(b) authorizes CNPs to prescribe pharmacological agents including controlled drugs or substances listed on Schedule II in chapter 34-20B β€” the statute names Schedule II expressly, and no NP-specific Schedule II day-supply, quantity, or setting limit appears in the sources read.

An outpatient South Dakota PMHNP can therefore prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants; the Board's page confirms prescribing runs from licensure, within the CNP's licensed role and focus area.

To order controlled substances the Board requires registration with the federal DEA, the South Dakota Controlled Substance Registration (the page does not name the issuing agency), and the South Dakota Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

The page also points to ARSD 20:62:03:11 for drug-sample documentation and guidelines for treating chronic, non-cancer pain, and describes state controlled-substance schedules II through IV in SDCL 34-20B.

For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.

β€œPrescribe, procure, administer, and furnish pharmacological agents, including over the counter, legend, and controlled drugs or substances listed on Schedule II in chapter 34-20B”

The federal layer does not change the South Dakota picture

πŸ“œ 21 CFR 1300.01 (mid-level practitioner); 90 FR 61301 (Fourth Temporary Extension); SDCL 34-52 via the Board's CNP Practice page

A PMHNP registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration covers only what South Dakota allows β€” here that works in the prescriber's favor, since the sources read show no state Schedule II limit for the DEA registration to run up against.

Telehealth has a state layer: the Board expects every provider serving patients located in South Dakota by telehealth to follow SDCL 34-52, which covers the provider-patient relationship, examination, prescribing, informed consent and medical records.

Federally, the DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities β€” extended through December 31, 2026 by the Fourth Temporary Extension β€” let registered practitioners prescribe Schedules II-V remotely without an in-person evaluation, but they lift no state rule.

For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.

β€œAll health care providers, including nurses, are expected to adhere to the requirements in SDCL 34-52 when providing services to patients located in South Dakota through telehealth.”

APRN Compact: enacted 2024, not in effect anywhere

πŸ“œ South Dakota Board of Nursing APRN Compact page (updated 3/30/2026)

South Dakota's legislature adopted the APRN Compact in 2024, per the Board's page.

The compact takes effect only when seven states enact it; the Board's page (updated 3/30/2026) counts four β€” Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota and Utah β€” and the research file's cross-state reading of the compact texts also found Wyoming's statute enacting it, making five of the seven needed as of September 2026.

No APRN holds a multistate APRN license today, and under the compact's own text a future one would require at least 2,080 hours of APRN practice.

The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and carries no nurse practitioner authority: a PMHNP moving to South Dakota needs a South Dakota CNP license on South Dakota's terms.

β€œThe compact is not in effect yet; seven states need to join before it will be implemented. Currently, four states have joined, Deleware [sic], North Dakota, South Dakota, and Utah.”

The 2024 Compact adoption is the recent change; otherwise quiet in the sources read

πŸ“œ South Dakota Board of Nursing CNP Practice page (updated 6/16/2026); SDCL 36-9A-12 source note (SL 2017, ch 171); SDCL 36-9A-13.1 source note (SL 2017, ch 171)

The one 2023–2026 change the research found for South Dakota is the 2024 APRN Compact adoption, which changes nothing for practice until a seventh state enacts.

The source notes on SDCL 36-9A-12 and SDCL 36-9A-13.1 show their most recent amendments in SL 2017, ch 171, and the Board's CNP Practice page was updated June 16, 2026 with no new practice-authority condition noted.

Because the 1,040-hour rule rests on a Board page whose statutory section was not located, re-check that page when you license β€” a rule that lives on a board page can move.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the South Dakota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the South Dakota Board of Nursing publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.

Confirm every requirement with the South Dakota Board of Nursing before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in South Dakota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a PMHNP practice independently in South Dakota?

Yes, once the hours threshold is met.

A South Dakota CNP practices under a collaborative agreement until the Board has a Practice Verification Form on file verifying a minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the CNP role.

After that form is filed, the CNP can practice without the agreement, though the statute's duty to collaborate with other providers and refer or transfer patients as appropriate continues.

AANP classes South Dakota as full practice.

Confirm your status with the South Dakota Board of Nursing.

Can a psychiatric nurse practitioner prescribe ADHD stimulants in South Dakota?

Yes.

SDCL 36-9A-12(4)(b) expressly includes Schedule II controlled substances from chapter 34-20B in the CNP's prescriptive scope, and the sources read show no NP-specific Schedule II limit β€” no day-supply cap and no setting restriction.

An outpatient PMHNP can prescribe Schedule II stimulants such as ADHD medications, within the CNP's licensed role and focus area.

Prescribing controlled substances also requires the federal DEA registration, the South Dakota Controlled Substance Registration, and enrollment in the South Dakota PDMP.

How many hours before a South Dakota CNP can drop the collaborative agreement?

A minimum of 1,040 licensed practice hours within the role of a CNP, documented to the Board office on its Practice Verification Form.

That figure comes from the Board's CNP Practice page; the statutory section behind it was not located in the sources read, and the sources do not say who may be the collaborator during those hours.

Ask the Board directly what documentation it accepts before counting on a particular job's hours.

Is South Dakota in the APRN Compact?

It has enacted the compact, but no nurse can use it yet.

The legislature adopted the APRN Compact in 2024; the compact takes effect only after seven states enact it, and the Board's page (updated 3/30/2026) counts four β€” Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota and Utah.

The research file's reading of the compact texts also found Wyoming's statute enacting it, for five of seven as of September 2026.

No multistate APRN license exists today, and the RN-only Nurse Licensure Compact does not carry nurse practitioner authority.

What registrations does a South Dakota PMHNP need to prescribe controlled substances?

Three, per the Board's CNP Practice page: registration with the federal DEA, the South Dakota Controlled Substance Registration, and the South Dakota Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

The page does not name the agency that issues the state registration, so confirm with the Board when applying.

Prescribers serving patients located in South Dakota by telehealth must also follow SDCL 34-52, and the Board points to ARSD 20:62:03:11 for drug-sample documentation and chronic non-cancer pain guidance.

Find Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Jobs in South Dakota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Dakota & Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the South Dakota Board of Nursing.