Vermont licenses psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) through the Vermont Board of Nursing, and AANP classes the state as full practice β but not from day one.
26 V.S.A. Β§ 1613(a)(1) requires an APRN with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus to hold a formal agreement with a collaborating provider, and Β§ 1613(a)(3) bars solo practice in a role and population focus whose requirements are unmet.
Prescribing rules were not among the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN).
The Vermont Board of Nursing, under the Office of Professional Regulation.
Full, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).
AANP's label, not a legal category; AANP's November 2025 snapshot lists Vermont among the full-practice states with a time-in-practice requirement.
24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus β 12 months and 1,600 hours for any additional role and population focus β under a formal agreement with a collaborating provider, then notify the Board (26 V.S.A. Β§ 1613(a)(1), (b)).
A "formal agreement with a collaborating provider as required by Board rule" β the statute never names a physician, and the Board rule that would qualify providers was not among the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not enacted in Vermont.
The compact is not in effect anywhere: it needs seven states and five had enacted it as of September 2026.
The licence a PMHNP practises under, issued under Title 26, chapter 28 (Nursing), subchapter 2 (advanced practice registered nurses).
The statute read, 26 V.S.A. Β§ 1613, does not gate the licence itself β it gates where and how the APRN may practise during the transition covered in the next rung.
A status inside the licence, not a separate credential: while the APRN has fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus (fewer than 12 months and 1,600 hours for any additional role and population focus), Β§ 1613(a)(1) requires the formal agreement, and subsection (a)(3) bars solo practice except with regard to a role and population focus in which the APRN has met the requirements.
Once the thresholds are met the APRN notifies the Board (Β§ 1613(b)), and the section read names no continuing agreement: solo practice opens in that role and population focus.
The prescribing rules were not among the sources read, so this rung describes practice authority only as far as Β§ 1613 reaches.
AANP's May 2026 map puts Vermont in its full practice tier, and AANP's November 2025 snapshot lists Vermont among the full-practice states with a time-in-practice requirement.
Both are AANP's advocacy classifications; the legal fact sits in 26 V.S.A. Β§ 1613(a)(3): an APRN still required to practise with a collaborative provider agreement may not engage in solo practice outside a role and population focus in which the APRN has met the subsection's requirements.
Full practice in Vermont therefore has a defined start rather than a first-day status.
Under subsection (a)(1), an APRN below the initial-role thresholds practises with a formal agreement in place; the thresholds and the notification that ends them are the next two sections' subject.
For what AANPβs full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?
βAn APRN required to practice with a collaborative provider agreement may not engage in solo practice, except with regard to a role and population focus in which the APRN has met the requirements of this subsection.β
The trigger sits in subsection (a)(1): an APRN with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus β or fewer than 12 months and 1,600 hours for any additional role and population focus β shall have a formal agreement with a collaborating provider as required by Board rule.
Both figures are the statute's own.
Whether an APRN short of one part but past the other still needs the agreement is not spelled out in the text read; the sentence reads most naturally as requiring both, and the Board can confirm.
The 12-month and 1,600-hour figure is the statute's separate clock for an additional role and population focus; the shorter figure attaches to the additional role, not the initial one.
What the clock unlocks is solo practice in that role and population focus, and the mechanism is notification, not a new credential application: subsection (b) has the APRN notify the Board that the requirements are met, and the sources read name no certificate issued at the end.
βAn APRN with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus or fewer than 12 months and 1,600 hours for any additional role and population focus shall have a formal agreement with a collaborating provider as required by Board rule.β
Two terms sit on the statute's face.
The APRN shall have and maintain signed and dated copies of all required collaborative provider agreements (a)(2), and an APRN required to practise with an agreement may not engage in solo practice except with regard to a role and population focus in which the APRN has met the requirements (a)(3).
Who may serve as the collaborating provider is 'as required by Board rule' (a)(1), and that rule was not among the sources read; ratios, chart review and meeting frequency are likewise not located in the sources read.
Note what the statute never says: it does not name a physician, so the common assumption that a Vermont collaborating provider must be one should be checked against the Board's current rule rather than assumed.
The one statutory relief valve is subsection (c), quoted below: in a declared state of emergency the Board may waive or modify the agreement requirement so the APRN can practise independently.
For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.
βThe Board may waive or modify the collaborative provider agreement requirement as necessary to allow an APRN to practice independently during a declared state of emergency.β
This is the page's open flank, stated as a gap rather than smoothed over: Vermont's prescribing and controlled-substance rules were not among the sources read, so no Schedule II rule can be quoted here and the page cannot say whether an outpatient PMHNP can prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants.
The research records no Schedule II limit located and no state controlled-substance registration located β absences in what was read, not findings that none exist.
Section 1613, the one Vermont statute read, says nothing about prescribing either way.
Treat both answers as questions for the Vermont Board of Nursing, and remember the federal layer beneath: a DEA registration covers only what Vermont allows.
For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.
A PMHNP registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration is derivative: it covers only what the state lets the nurse prescribe, so a DEA form listing Schedules II to V is not a state grant.
The same holds for telehealth.
The DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended through December 31, 2026, let registered practitioners prescribe controlled substances remotely without an in-person evaluation, but they lift no Vermont requirement β including the Β§ 1613 agreement while the transition runs.
Because the Vermont prescribing rules were not among the sources read, a remote-practice job offer in Vermont carries two check-with-the-board items: what the state allows and on what telehealth conditions.
For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.
Vermont has not enacted the APRN Compact: it is not among the five enacting states the research found (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming).
The compact comes into effect only once seven states enact it, so no APRN holds a multistate APRN licence today.
The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN licence and confers no nurse practitioner authority in another state.
To practise as a PMHNP in Vermont you need Vermont APRN licensure and, while the Β§ 1613 requirement runs, practice that fits its agreement rule.
The research records no change to Vermont's rule between 2023 and 2026.
The transition-to-practice section was added in 2011, effective June 1, 2011, and last amended by 2019, No. 91 (Adj.
Sess.), Β§ 16, effective March 30, 2020 β so the 24-month and 2,400-hour thresholds have stood in their current form since before the window this page watches.
The caveat runs the other way: the Board's rules, which carry the agreement terms the statute delegates, were not read, so a rule-level change would not appear here.
Check with the Board before assuming the agreement framework is unchanged.
βAdded 2011, No. 66, Β§ 5, eff. June 1, 2011; amended 2019, No. 30, Β§ 11; 2019, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), Β§ 16, eff. March 30, 2020.β
This page summarizes the Vermont statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Vermont Board of Nursing (Office of Professional Regulation) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.
Confirm every requirement with the Vermont Board of Nursing (Office of Professional Regulation) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in Vermont that asks for it.
Not from day one.
26 V.S.A. Β§ 1613(a)(1) requires an APRN with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus to hold a formal agreement with a collaborating provider, and subsection (a)(3) bars solo practice in a role and population focus that has not met its requirements.
Once the thresholds are met, the APRN notifies the Board and Β§ 1613 names no continuing agreement.
AANP classes Vermont as full practice with a time-in-practice requirement.
Confirm current requirements with the Vermont Board of Nursing.
The sources this page is built from do not answer it: Vermont's prescribing and controlled-substance rules were not among the documents read, so no Schedule II rule can be stated here.
The research records no Schedule II limit located, but that is an absence in what was read, not a finding that no limit exists.
Ask the Vermont Board of Nursing before relying on either answer, and note that a DEA registration covers only what Vermont allows.
The statute does not name a credential.
Section 1613(a)(1) requires a formal agreement with a collaborating provider as required by Board rule, and the Board rule that would identify qualifying providers was not among the sources read.
Treat the supervision arrangement in any Vermont job offer as something to verify against the Board's current rule rather than against the statute alone.
The sources read do not say.
Section 1613(a)(1) counts licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus and states no credit rule for practice begun in another state; the research records none.
The 12-month and 1,600-hour figure is the statute's separate clock for an additional role and population focus, not a relocation credit.
Ask the Vermont Board of Nursing how prior out-of-state practice is treated before you accept an offer.
Not the state rules.
The DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended through December 31, 2026, remove the federal in-person visit requirement for remote controlled-substance prescribing, but they do not lift state practice-authority rules β Vermont's Β§ 1613 agreement requirement still applies during the transition.
Because Vermont's prescribing rules were not among the sources read, confirm both what the state allows and any telehealth conditions with the Vermont Board of Nursing.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Vermont Board of Nursing (Office of Professional Regulation).