Virginia licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses under a joint license from the Boards of Nursing and Medicine, and AANP classes the state as restricted.
Every nurse practitioner practises under a written or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team physician until they complete the equivalent of at least three years of full-time clinical experience and receive an attestation permitting practice without an agreement.
Prescribing Schedule II through VI is statutory with no days-supply cap in the statutes read β but an NP under a practice agreement prescribes only as the agreement authorizes.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Advanced practice registered nurse, licensed jointly by the Boards of Nursing and Medicine as a nurse practitioner; the psychiatric-mental health advanced practice registered nurse category is named in Β§ 54.1-2957.01(E)(2).
The Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine, within the Virginia Department of Health Professions.
Restricted, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).
AANP's label, not a legal category.
The equivalent of at least three years of full-time clinical experience under a practice agreement; the NP may practise without an agreement, in the certified practice category, upon receipt of an attestation from the physician or a qualifying nurse practitioner, and the Boards then issue a new license with the designation.
Reduced to three years effective July 1, 2024 (HB 971; the date is SECONDARY).
A written or electronic practice agreement with at least one patient care team physician until subsection I is met, with periodic health-record review at a frequency the parties determine.
A physician serves at most six APRNs, or up to 10 psychiatric-mental health APRNs.
Statutory authority covers Schedule II through VI (Β§ 54.1-2957.01(A)); no Schedule II days-supply cap or stimulant-specific limit appears in the statutes read.
An NP under a practice agreement may prescribe only the controlled substances the agreement authorizes, and the agreement may restrict.
Same statutory authority (Schedule II through VI); no day-supply caps for Schedules III to V appear in the statutes read.
The practice agreement states which controlled substances an NP under it may prescribe.
A separate state controlled-substance registration was not located in the sources read.
Not enacted in Virginia.
The compact is not in effect anywhere: it needs seven states and five had enacted it as of September 2026.
The licence every PMHNP practises under β practising as an APRN without the joint licence is unlawful (Β§ 54.1-2957(B)).
Until subsection I is met, practice runs on a written or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team physician, and prescribing controlled substances must be authorized by that agreement (Β§ 54.1-2957.01(B)).
The statute lets an NP who has completed the equivalent of at least three years of full-time clinical experience practise, in the practice category in which they are certified and licensed, without a practice agreement upon receipt of an attestation from the patient care team physician or a qualifying nurse practitioner; the attestation copy goes to the Boards with a fee, a new license with the designation follows, and practice stays subject to subsection I's scope-of-training, consultation and referral conditions.
AANP's May 2026 map puts Virginia in its restricted tier.
The label is AANP's advocacy classification; the legal fact behind it is the practice-agreement requirement in Β§ 54.1-2957(C).
Read the subsection whole: the same two sentences that require the agreement also define the exit, because an NP who meets subsection I may practice without one.
So the statute does not frame the restriction as career-long: it ends when the NP meets subsection I and can practise on an attestation, which is the transition this page walks through next.
The licence underneath is joint: the Boards of Medicine and Nursing jointly prescribe the APRN regulations, and practising as an APRN without that joint licence is unlawful (Β§ 54.1-2957(B)).
For what AANPβs full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?
βEvery nurse practitioner who does not meet the requirements of subsection I shall maintain appropriate collaboration and consultation, as evidenced in a written or electronic practice agreement, with at least one patient care team physician. A nurse practitioner who meets the requirements of subsection I may practice without a written or electronic practice agreement.β
The gate is the equivalent of at least three years of full-time clinical experience, as the Boards determine; upon receipt of an attestation, the statute permits practice without an agreement in the practice category in which the NP is certified and licensed (Β§ 54.1-2957(I)).
That experience means postgraduate delivery of health care directly to patients pursuant to a practice agreement with a patient care team physician.
The attestation comes from either the patient care team physician or an attesting nurse practitioner who assumed management and leadership of an NP under subsection G and has met the subsection I requirements for at least three years, stating the qualifying-agreement team practice, the attester's routine practice within the NP's certified population and category, and its length.
It goes to the Boards with a fee; failing that, the Boards may accept other evidence under their regulations.
Endorsement applicants may attest to the equivalent of three years under their prior state's laws (E).
The three-year figure dates to HB 971 (eff.
2024-07-01, SECONDARY); the prior figure is not stated in the sources read.
βUpon receipt of such attestation and verification that a nurse practitioner satisfies the requirements of this subsection, the Boards shall issue to the nurse practitioner a new license that includes a designation indicating that the nurse practitioner is authorized to practice without a practice agreement.β
Practice agreements must provide for periodic review of health records, possibly with site visits, at a manner and frequency the parties determine, plus provider input in complex cases and emergencies and for referrals.
The APRN keeps evidence of the agreement for the Boards on request, and a hospital or health-system APRN may satisfy the requirement through clinical-privileges documents.
Collaboration and consultation may be delivered by telemedicine.
The ratio is the PMHNP-specific fact: six APRNs per physician, ten for psychiatric-mental health APRNs.
If the physician dies, retires or otherwise cannot serve and no new practice agreement is possible, G buys time: on notice to the Boards, 60 days of continued practice on previously authorized drugs with access to appropriate provider input; the designee shall grant a second 60 days on evidence the NP seeks a new physician and physician input; then the Boards may permit practice under the management and leadership of an NP who meets subsection I, routinely practised in the NP's certified category, and has been authorized to practise without an agreement for at least three years.
For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.
βPhysicians shall not serve as a patient care team physician on a patient care team or enter into a practice agreement with more than six advanced practice registered nurses at any one time, except that a physician may serve as a patient care team physician on a patient care team with up to 10 advanced practice registered nurses licensed in the category of psychiatric-mental health advanced practice registered nurse.β
Say it plainly: an outpatient Virginia PMHNP can prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants.
Section 54.1-2957.01(A) gives every licensed APRN authority to prescribe Schedule II through Schedule VI controlled substances and devices, and no Schedule II days-supply cap or stimulant-specific restriction appears in the statutes read.
The condition is the agreement: an NP who does not yet meet subsection I may prescribe controlled substances only as the practice agreement authorizes, and every agreement shall include the controlled substances the APRN is or is not authorized to prescribe β it may restrict that authority.
The agreement must be signed by the physician or clearly state the physician's name, and the NP must give the Boards evidence of being party to it at the time of writing a prescription.
Once the NP is authorized under subsection I to practise without an agreement, prescribing no longer rides on one.
A separate state controlled-substance registration was not located in the sources read.
For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.
βIn accordance with the provisions of this section and pursuant to the requirements of Chapter 33 (Β§ 54.1-3300 et seq.), a licensed advanced practice registered nurse shall have the authority to prescribe Schedule II through Schedule VI controlled substances and devices as set forth in Chapter 34 (Β§ 54.1-3400 et seq.).β
A PMHNP registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration covers only what Virginia lets the NP prescribe: a DEA form listing Schedules II to V does not override the practice agreement's list or any other state condition.
The DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended through December 31, 2026, let registered practitioners prescribe Schedules II to V remotely without a prior in-person evaluation, and they lift no Virginia requirement β an NP practising by telehealth still works inside a practice agreement until the subsection I designation issues.
Virginia's own statute is telehealth-friendly on the collaboration side: the collaboration and consultation the practice agreement requires may be provided through telemedicine, as described in Β§ 38.2-3418.16.
Re-check the federal layer near the end of 2026, when the extension expires.
For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.
Virginia has not enacted the APRN Compact.
The compact takes effect only once seven states enact it, and as of September 2026 five had (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming), so no APRN holds a multistate APRN licence today.
The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and gives no nurse practitioner authority in another state.
To practise as a PMHNP in Virginia you need the joint APRN licence from Virginia's Boards of Nursing and Medicine β and because the compact is not in effect, remote work into Virginia rests on Virginia licensure, not on any multistate credential.
HB 971 (2024 Acts c.
404), effective July 1, 2024, reduced the clinical practice requirement to three years and, under subsection G's circumstances β a patient care team physician who can no longer serve and no new physician agreement possible β let an NP who has held the autonomous practice designation for at least three years assume management and leadership of another NP, per a Virginia Board of Nursing executive director's message (SECONDARY, reposted by VaCNS); the research labels the 2024 date secondary, and the pre-2024 figure is not stated in any source read.
Two 2025 chapters also amended Β§ 54.1-2957: c.
557, which was read, concerns certified nurse midwives, independent practice and organized medical staff β not the nurse practitioner practice-agreement rules β and c.
544 was not read.
The code's own history line records all three: 2024, c.
404; 2025, cc.
544, 557.
This page summarizes the Virginia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Virginia Department of Health Professions) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.
Confirm every requirement with the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Virginia Department of Health Professions) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in Virginia that asks for it.
From the 25 active psychiatric nurse practitioner listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active psychiatric nurse practitioner listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesnβt mention one may still offer it.
Browse 25 jobs βNot from day one, but yes after three years.
Every nurse practitioner practises under a written or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team physician until they complete the equivalent of at least three years of full-time clinical experience and receive an attestation, from the physician or a qualifying nurse practitioner, permitting practice without an agreement in the practice category in which they are certified and licensed.
The Boards then issue a new license carrying the designation.
AANP still classes Virginia as restricted on its May 2026 map.
Confirm your status with the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine.
Yes.
Virginia statute authorizes every licensed APRN to prescribe Schedule II through Schedule VI controlled substances, and the statutes read contain no Schedule II days-supply cap or stimulant-specific limit.
The caveat is the agreement: an NP who does not yet qualify for the no-agreement designation prescribes only the controlled substances the practice agreement authorizes, and agreements may restrict prescriptive authority β check yours before assuming any drug is in scope.
Once the NP is authorized under subsection I to practise without an agreement, prescribing no longer depends on one.
Six advanced practice registered nurses at any one time, or up to ten if they are licensed in the category of psychiatric-mental health advanced practice registered nurse β the higher psychiatric cap is the line a PMHNP's physician will work under.
Beyond the ratio, the practice agreement must provide for periodic review of health records, including possible site visits, at whatever manner and frequency the APRN and physician determine, plus input from other providers in complex cases and emergencies.
An APRN licensed elsewhere who applies for a Virginia license by endorsement may practice without a practice agreement under subsection I if the application attests that they have completed the equivalent of at least three years of full-time experience, as determined by the Boards, under the laws of the state that licensed them.
Without that attestation, plan to practise under a Virginia practice agreement and count qualifying clinical experience toward the designation.
The agreement ending does not end the practice.
If no new practice agreement is possible, the NP may β on notice to the Boards β continue treating patients without a patient care team physician for an initial period not to exceed 60 days, prescribing only previously authorized drugs with access to appropriate provider input; on evidence the NP seeks a new physician and physician input, the designee shall grant a second 60 days.
Then the Boards may permit practice under the management and leadership of an NP who meets subsection I, routinely practised in the NP's certified category, and has held the no-agreement designation for at least three years.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Virginia Department of Health Professions).