Washington, DC licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses through the DC Board of Nursing at DC Health.
In the statute read, the APRN may diagnose, treat and prescribe; the sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed, and no transition-to-practice gate appears in the four sections read.
AANP classes DC as full practice.
The open question is the rule layer: the grant also reaches rules promulgated under the subchapter, and 17 DCMR was not read, so this page cannot rule out a rule-level condition or state Schedule II limits.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN), the title the subchapter uses throughout (D.C. Code §§ 3-1206.01–.04).
The DC Board of Nursing, part of DC Health.
Full, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).
AANP's label, not a legal category.
None found in the statute read (D.C. Code §§ 3-1206.01–.04); the rules the statute incorporates, 17 DCMR, were not read.
The statute read requires none: the sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed.
The rules § 3-1206.01(a) incorporates, 17 DCMR, were not read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not enacted in DC.
The compact is not in effect anywhere: it needs seven states and five had enacted it as of September 2026.
The license the DC Board of Nursing issues.
In the statute read it carries the § 3-1206.01(a) authorization to diagnose, treat and prescribe; the sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed, and the rules that subsection also incorporates, 17 DCMR, were not read.
AANP's May 2026 map puts Washington, DC in its full practice tier; the label is AANP's advocacy classification, and the statute behind it is § 3-1206.01(a), which authorizes the advanced practice registered nurse to perform actions of medical diagnosis, treatment, prescription and recommendation.
The grant's reach has three limbs: functions the subchapter authorizes, any rules promulgated pursuant to the subchapter, and Chapter 16B of Title 7 (Use of Marijuana for Medical Treatment).
The rules limb matters here: 17 DCMR was not read, so this page describes the statute layer only.
Within it, the sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed, and no section of the four read requires a physician's sign-off.
For what AANP’s full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?
“The advanced practice registered nurse may perform actions of medical diagnosis, treatment, prescription, recommendation, and other functions authorized by this subchapter…”
None found: the four sections read contain no hours, months or years threshold and no intermediate status between licensure and the general authorization.
The sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed, and none of the four sections read sets a supervised first phase.
Two things this page cannot settle: the rules limb of § 3-1206.01(a) — 17 DCMR, not read — could hold a rule-level condition, and the licensure route itself (education, national certification, application) sits outside the four sections read.
As far as the statute read goes, a new graduate and a PMHNP with twenty years in practice hold the same authorization.
The statute read requires no agreement: § 3-1206.02, Requirements of protocols, was repealed by D.C. Law 10-247 (1995), and § 3-1206.03, Collaboration, is stamped [Repealed] on the current code page, which does not name the law that repealed it.
Of the four sections read, what remains in force is the general authorization and the authorized-acts list — no ratio, meeting frequency, chart review or filing requirement appears in the four sections read.
Two cautions belong next to that: the rules § 3-1206.01(a) incorporates, 17 DCMR, were not read, and any oversight an employer adds is a term of employment, not a state-mandated agreement in the statute read.
For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.
“§ 3–1206.02. Requirements of protocols. [Repealed]”
Section 3-1206.04(1) authorizes the APRN to initiate, monitor and alter drug therapies, and no schedule-level limit appears in the statute read.
That is not a clean bill of health: the schedule-specific prescribing rules sit in 17 DCMR chapter 59, which the research could not locate or read, and a DC controlled-substance registration for APRNs was not located either.
This page therefore leaves both Schedule II and Schedules III–V as not stated in the sources read and cannot say whether an outpatient PMHNP may prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants.
Read 17 DCMR chapter 59 and confirm with the Board of Nursing before relying on the absence of a limit.
For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.
The authorized-acts list runs a whole psychiatric practice: initiating, monitoring and altering drug therapies; initiating and referring therapies or treatments; additional functions within the APRN's specialty as determined under rules and regulations the Mayor promulgates — a second rules limb this page cannot verify — and signing, certifying, stamping or endorsing documents that require a physician's signature, in place of a physician, provided it is within the scope of their authorized practice.
That proviso is the statute's own limit on the signature authority.
Federally, the DEA registers the PMHNP as a mid-level practitioner (21 CFR 1300.01), a registration covering only what DC allows, and the DEA/HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended through December 31, 2026, lift no DC rule.
For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.
“An advanced practice registered nurse may: (1) Initiate, monitor, and alter drug therapies; (2) Initiate appropriate therapies or treatments; … (5) Sign, certify, stamp, or endorse all documents that require a signature by a physician…”
DC has not enacted the APRN Compact: it is not among the five jurisdictions that had as of September 2026 (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming), and the compact takes effect only at seven enactments, so no APRN holds a multistate APRN licence today.
Even once seven enact, the compact texts read condition a multistate licence on at least 2,080 hours of APRN practice.
The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and gives no nurse practitioner authority in another jurisdiction: a PMHNP moving to DC needs the DC license.
The research pass located no 2023–2026 amendment to §§ 3-1206.01–.04.
The most recent structural change the sources read record is old: the 1995 repeal of § 3-1206.02 by D.C. Law 10-247.
The four code pages carry the stamp Current through Sept.
5, 2026, with Law 26-177 (effective Sept.
5, 2026) the last codified law — a currency marker for the whole code, not evidence of a change to this subchapter.
What the page cannot see is 17 DCMR, which was not read; check the Board of Nursing before assuming the rule layer is as quiet as the statute layer.
This page rests on the four statute sections the research read and is explicit about what it cannot see.
Not read: 17 DCMR, the rules the general authorization incorporates, including chapter 59's schedule-specific prescribing rules.
Not located: any DC controlled-substance registration for APRNs.
Not read here: the licensure route itself — education, national certification and application rules, which sit elsewhere in the code and the board's rules.
The gaps are why Schedule II and Schedules III–V read not stated above; they are findings about the sources, not findings that no rules exist.
Confirm the current rules with the DC Board of Nursing.
This page summarizes the Washington, DC statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the DC Board of Nursing (DC Health) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.
Confirm every requirement with the DC Board of Nursing (DC Health) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs that asks for it.
The statute read supports independent practice: § 3-1206.01(a) authorizes medical diagnosis, treatment, prescription and recommendation, the sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed, and no transition-to-practice gate appears in the four sections read.
AANP classes DC as full practice.
The qualification this page carries: the grant also reaches any rules promulgated pursuant to the subchapter, and those rules, 17 DCMR, were not read — confirm with the DC Board of Nursing that no rule-level condition applies to you.
Not in the statute read.
The two sections headed Requirements of protocols and Collaboration are repealed: § 3-1206.02 was repealed by D.C. Law 10-247 (1995), and § 3-1206.03 is stamped [Repealed] on the current code page, which does not name the repealing law.
Of the four sections read, none requires an agreement, ratio or chart review.
The rules the statute incorporates, 17 DCMR, were not read; ask the board and read the rules before treating the answer as complete.
The sources read cannot answer that.
The statute read authorizes the APRN to initiate, monitor and alter drug therapies with no schedule-level limit, but the schedule-specific rules, 17 DCMR chapter 59, were not located or read, and no DC controlled-substance registration for APRNs was located.
This page leaves Schedule II as not stated rather than guessing.
Read 17 DCMR chapter 59 and confirm with the DC Board of Nursing before accepting a job that turns on stimulant prescribing.
No, not as of September 2026.
DC is not among the five jurisdictions that had enacted the compact (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming), and the compact takes effect only at seven enactments, so no multistate APRN license exists yet.
A DC move means a DC license: the Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and gives no nurse practitioner authority in another jurisdiction.
Verify your situation with the DC Board of Nursing.
Under § 3-1206.04(5), the APRN may sign, certify, stamp or endorse documents that require a physician's signature, in place of a physician — provided it is within the scope of their authorized practice.
That proviso is the statute's own limit: the signature authority reaches only what the APRN's authorized practice already covers.
The same section authorizes initiating, monitoring and altering drug therapies and initiating and referring therapies or treatments.
Scope questions go to the DC Board of Nursing.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the DC Board of Nursing (DC Health).