🧭 PMHNP practice authority

PMHNP Practice Authority in Wisconsin: Independence, Physician Agreements and Schedule II

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Wisconsin licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses through the Board of Nursing.

By default an APRN practices only in collaboration with a physician or dentist, but 2025 Act 17, effective September 1, 2026, added a board-verified route out: 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting plus 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice with a physician or dentist, each with its own 24 months.

AANP still classes Wisconsin as reduced, a label predating the act.

Schedule II amphetamines are allowed for six listed indications, ADHD among them.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Wisconsin, that is the Wisconsin Board of Nursing.

At a glance

APRN title

Advanced practice registered nurse: the license holder may append "A.P.R.N." to their name and, with the nurse practitioner specialty designation, "N.P." (§ 441.09(3)).

Board

The Wisconsin Board of Nursing, in the Department of Safety and Professional Services (dsps.wi.gov).

AANP practice tier

Reduced, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026) — a label that predates 2025 Wisconsin Act 17 taking effect on September 1, 2026.

AANP's classification, not a legal category.

Transition to practice

Two 3,840-hour requirements, each with its own 24-month clock, verified by the board on application (§ 441.09(3m)(b)): 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting plus 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice with a physician or dentist.

Physician agreement

A documented collaborative relationship with a physician or dentist (§ 441.09(3m)(bm)).

The statute sets no ratio, meeting frequency, chart-review quota or filing requirement; employers may impose more (3m)(c).

Schedule II

N 8.06(3): Schedule II amphetamines and sympathomimetic amines may not be prescribed except for six listed indications, ADHD among them.

The rule predates Act 17; whether it survives the September 1, 2026 transition is not stated in the sources read.

Schedules III–V

No day-supply cap on Schedules III–V appears in the sources read.

N 8.06(2) bars Schedule I outright.

APRN Compact

Not enacted in Wisconsin.

The compact is not in effect anywhere: it needs seven enacting states and five had enacted it as of September 2026.

The Wisconsin credential ladder

  1. Advanced practice registered nurse (nurse practitioner specialty designation)(APRN, N.P.)Other

    The Board of Nursing license under Wis. Stat. § 441.09.

    It authorizes practice of advanced practice registered nursing and, subject to board rules, prescription orders under § 441.09(2)(a) — unless a no-prescribing notation appears on the license under § 441.09(1)(b) 5.

  2. APRN in collaborative practiceOther

    The default condition on the license: practice only in collaboration with a physician or dentist, a relationship the APRN must document (§ 441.09(3m)(a) 1., (bm)).

  3. Board-verified independent APRNIndependent

    Once the board verifies on application that the four § 441.09(3m)(b) conditions are met — 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting, 24 months, 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice in the recognized role with a physician or dentist, 24 months — the APRN practices without being supervised by or collaborating with, and independent of, a physician or dentist, except as provided in (3m)(bg) 1. (invasive pain management) and (3m)(c) (employer-imposed requirements).

Reduced on AANP's map; the statute now carries a route out

📜 Wis. Stat. § 441.09(3m)(a) 1.; AANP State Practice Environment map (05/2026)

AANP's May 2026 map puts Wisconsin in its reduced tier, and the label is AANP's advocacy classification, not a legal category.

It also predates the current statute: 2025 Wisconsin Act 17 took effect September 1, 2026.

The legal default is § 441.09(3m)(a) 1. — an APRN licensed under the section practices only in collaboration with a physician or dentist, with an exception for APRNs holding a certified nurse-midwife specialty designation and for the board-verified route in par. (b).

For a new graduate the practical starting point is collaborative practice; independence is applied for and verified by the board, not carried by the license from day one.

For what AANP’s full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?

“An advanced practice registered nurse licensed under this section may, except as provided in subd. 2. and par. (b), practice advanced practice registered nursing only in collaboration with a physician or dentist.”

Two 3,840-hour requirements and two 24-month clocks

📜 Wis. Stat. § 441.09(3m)(b) 1.–4., (bd)

Board-verified independence under § 441.09(3m)(b) requires four conditions together.

Subdivision 1: 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting — clinical hours completed as a requirement of a nursing program at a qualifying school count, but hours completed to satisfy an APRN education program do not.

Subdivision 2: at least 24 months must have elapsed since the APRN first began completing those nursing-program clinical hours, so the first clock starts with nursing school.

Subdivision 3: 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice in the recognized role with a physician or dentist who was immediately available for consultation and accepted responsibility; additional APRN hours substitute hour-for-hour toward subdivision 1.

Subdivision 4: at least 24 months since the APRN first began practicing in that role.

Out-of-state APRN hours and in-state APRN practice before September 1, 2026 both count (3m)(bd).

“The advanced practice registered nurse has completed 3,840 clinical hours of advanced practice registered nursing practice in that recognized role while working with a physician or dentist who was immediately available for consultation and accepted responsibility for the actions of the advanced practice registered nurse during those 3,840 hours of practice.”

Collaboration, defined and documented — with no ratio or filing rule

📜 Wis. Stat. § 441.09(3m)(bm), (c)

The statute defines the collaboration it requires and puts the documentation duty on the APRN.

It names no form to file, no meeting frequency, no chart-review percentage and no cap on how many APRNs one physician or dentist may work with.

The collaborator must be a physician or a dentist; for the qualifying 3,840 APRN hours under (3m)(b) 3., that physician or dentist must have been immediately available for consultation and must have accepted responsibility for the APRN's actions, so a supervisor's availability is part of what an associate is choosing.

An employer may still impose additional requirements as a condition of employment or relationship (3m)(c), and beyond-expertise situations trigger a professional-standards duty to consult, collaborate or refer (3m)(d).

For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.

“a collaborative relationship is a process in which an advanced practice registered nurse is working with a physician or dentist, in each other's presence when necessary, to deliver health care services within the scope of the advanced practice registered nurse's training, education, and experience. The advanced practice registered nurse shall document such a collaborative relationship.”

Schedule II amphetamines: six listed uses, ADHD included

📜 Wis. Stat. § 441.09(2)(a); § 961.395(1)–(2) (2025 Wis. Act 17 § 171); Wis. Admin. Code N 8.06(1), (2), (3)

Section 441.09(2)(a) lets an APRN issue prescription orders, subject to board rules on prescribing scope and barred drug classes.

Under the existing rule, Schedule I is barred outright (N 8.06(2)), and Schedule II amphetamines and sympathomimetic amines are restricted by indication, not by setting or supervision.

Because treatment of hyperkinesis, including attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, is listed, an outpatient Wisconsin PMHNP can prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants for it under the rule as printed; orders must stay within the prescriber's own areas of competence (N 8.06(1)), and each order carries the board-issued license number (§ 961.395(2)).

The caveat is statutory: N 8 was promulgated under the old § 441.16(3), and § 961.395(1), as amended by Act 17 § 171, now provides that an APRN who may issue prescription orders under § 441.09(2) may prescribe controlled substances only as permitted by the rules promulgated under § 441.09(6)(a) 4.

Whether the N 8.06(3) indications carry over under that cross-reference is not stated in the sources read — confirm with the Board of Nursing before relying on it.

For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.

“May not prescribe, dispense or administer any amphetamine, sympathomimetic amine drug or compound designated as a schedule II controlled substance pursuant to the provisions of s. 961.16 (5), Stats., to or for any person except for any of the following: (a) Use as an adjunct to opioid analgesic compounds for the treatment of cancer-related pain. (b) Treatment of narcolepsy. (c) Treatment of hyperkinesis, including attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. (d) Treatment of drug-induced brain dysfunction. (e) Treatment of epilepsy. (f) Treatment of depression shown to be refractory to other therapeutic modalities.”

What the license carries — and what independence does not lift

📜 Wis. Stat. § 441.09(1)(b) 5., (2)(b), (3)(a) 1., (3)(b) 2.d., (4), (5), (3m)(bg) 1.–3.

The license carries the titles: A.P.R.N. (§ 441.09(3)(a) 1.), N.P. with the nurse practitioner specialty designation (§ 441.09(3)(b) 2.d.).

A no-prescribing notation appears only where the APRN qualified under the January 1, 2026 practising-RN route — satisfying par. (a) 2. b. but not the graduate-program route with national certification in par. (a) 2. a. — or was grandfathered as a § 441.15 nurse-midwife (subd.

1. c.), and held no § 441.16(2) certificate on January 1, 2026; such an APRN may not issue prescription orders (§ 441.09(1)(b) 5., (2)(b)).

Practice requires malpractice liability insurance at all times (§ 441.09(5)), and each biennium at least 16 contact hours of continuing education in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the area of practice (§ 441.09(4)).

Independence does not lift everything: invasive pain-management techniques require collaboration with a physician who specializes in pain management regardless of independence (§ 441.09(3m)(bg) 1.), except for an independent APRN treating in a hospital or hospital-associated clinic (3m)(bg) 2., or holding hospital privileges to provide that treatment without a collaborative relationship with a physician (3m)(bg) 3., subject to (3m)(c).

For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.

APRN Compact: not in Wisconsin, and not in effect anywhere

📜 NCSBN APRN Compact page

Wisconsin has not enacted the APRN Compact; it was not among the enacting states found (Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming).

The compact takes effect only once seven states enact it, and as of September 2026 five had, so no APRN holds a multistate APRN license today.

The Nurse Licensure Compact is an RN compact and gives no nurse practitioner authority in another state.

A PMHNP moving to Wisconsin needs a Wisconsin APRN license, and any collaborative-practice period starts under § 441.09(3m)(a) 1. unless the board has already verified the APRN for independent practice.

2025 Wisconsin Act 17 rebuilt the license and added the independence path

📜 2025 Wis. Act 17 §§ 116, 119–124, 172(2)(b), 173

Act 17 was enacted August 8, 2025 and published August 9, 2025; under § 173 it takes effect on the first day of the 13th month beginning after publication — September 1, 2026.

Section 116 created the § 441.09 APRN license, and §§ 119, 120, 122, 123 and 124 repealed the § 441.16 advanced practice nurse prescriber certificate, the § 441.15 nurse-midwife license and § 441.11 (title, (1) and (3)) — except § 441.11(2), which § 121 renumbered to § 441.09(5m), the licensure exemption for CRNA-designated APRNs.

Holders of a § 441.16 prescriber certificate on August 31, 2026 are granted the APRN license.

The continue-practising clause, § 172(2)(b), let an RN who was licensed and practicing in a recognized role on January 1, 2026 keep practicing while the board took final action on their application — but the paragraph 'does not apply after the first day of the 13th month beginning after the effective date of this paragraph,' so it is time-limited, not open-ended.

Because AANP's map is dated 05/2026, its reduced label describes the pre-Act-17 system.

“This act takes effect on the first day of the 13th month beginning after publication”

The federal layer: DEA registration and telehealth, through 2026

📜 21 CFR 1300.01 (mid-level practitioner); 90 FR 61301 (Fourth Temporary Extension); Wis. Stat. § 961.395(1)

A Wisconsin PMHNP registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration covers only what state law lets the APRN prescribe — the DEA form never widens the state limits.

The DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities, extended by the Fourth Temporary Rule effective January 1, 2026 through December 31, 2026, let DEA-registered practitioners prescribe Schedules II–V remotely without an in-person medical evaluation, but they lift no Wisconsin condition: the collaborative-practice default and the controlled-substance limits still govern, and the flexibilities end December 31, 2026 unless extended again.

Wisconsin's own controlled-substance limit on APRN prescribing is § 961.395(1) — controlled substances only as permitted by the rules under § 441.09(6)(a) 4.

Whether a separate state controlled-substance registration is also required was not stated in the sources read.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Wisconsin statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Wisconsin Board of Nursing publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.

Confirm every requirement with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in Wisconsin that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a PMHNP practice independently in Wisconsin?

Yes, after board verification.

2025 Act 17 added Wis. Stat. § 441.09(3m)(b): the board verifies, on application, that the APRN completed 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting and 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice in the recognized role with a physician or dentist immediately available for consultation and accepting responsibility, with 24 months elapsed on each.

Independence then applies except as provided in (3m)(bg) 1. and (c) — invasive pain management and employer requirements still bind.

Until then, the default is collaboration with a physician or dentist under § 441.09(3m)(a) 1.

AANP's reduced label predates the change.

Confirm with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing.

Can a psychiatric nurse practitioner prescribe ADHD stimulants in Wisconsin?

Yes, for the listed indications.

Board rule N 8.06(3) bars Schedule II amphetamines and sympathomimetic amines except for six uses, among them treatment of hyperkinesis, including attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.

An outpatient Wisconsin PMHNP can therefore prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants for that purpose under the rule as printed.

The carryover question is statutory: § 961.395(1), as amended by Act 17 § 171, limits APRN controlled-substance prescribing to the rules under § 441.09(6)(a) 4., and N 8 was written for the pre-Act-17 certificate — whether the indications carry over is not stated in the sources read, so confirm with the Board of Nursing.

How many hours before independent practice in Wisconsin?

Two separate 3,840-hour totals, each tied to its own 24 months.

The first is 3,840 hours of professional nursing in a clinical setting; nursing-program clinical hours count and at least 24 months must have passed since you began them.

The second is 3,840 clinical hours of APRN practice in the recognized role with a physician or dentist who was immediately available for consultation and accepted responsibility, with 24 months since that APRN practice began.

Out-of-state APRN hours count (§ 441.09(3m)(bd)).

Does Wisconsin cap how many NPs a physician can collaborate with?

No ratio appears in the statute. § 441.09(3m)(bm) defines a collaborative relationship as working with a physician or dentist, in each other's presence when necessary, within the APRN's training, education and experience, and requires the APRN to document it.

The statute sets no meeting frequency, chart-review quota or filing requirement, though an employer may impose additional conditions (3m)(c).

For the qualifying hours, the physician or dentist must be immediately available for consultation and accept responsibility.

Can a Wisconsin PMHNP prescribe stimulants by telehealth?

The federal telemedicine flexibilities run through December 31, 2026: DEA-registered practitioners may prescribe Schedules II–V remotely without an in-person evaluation.

They do not lift Wisconsin's conditions — the N 8.06(3) listed-indication rule for Schedule II amphetamines and the collaboration default still govern, and a DEA registration covers only what Wisconsin allows.

After December 31, 2026 the federal framework depends on another extension or a final special-registration rule, so recheck before assuming continuity.

Find Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Jobs in Wisconsin
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Wisconsin & Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing.