🧭 PMHNP practice authority

PMHNP Practice Authority in Wyoming: Independence, Physician Agreements and Schedule II

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Wyoming licenses psychiatric nurse practitioners as advanced practice registered nurses through the Wyoming State Board of Nursing, and the statute's APRN definition itself includes prescribing all medications except Schedule I drugs.

No physician agreement requirement appears in Title 33.

The statute's transitional rung is a supervised, exam-pending permit for new graduates, not an hours gate, and the renewal statute requires licensees with prescriptive authority to complete three (3) hours of controlled-substance continuing education every two (2) years.

The APRN Compact, enacted in an older form needing ten party states, is not in effect anywhere.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Wyoming, that is the Wyoming State Board of Nursing.

At a glance

APRN title

"Advanced Practice Registered Nurse" and "A.P.R.N."

(W.S.

33-21-134(b)).

Board

The Wyoming State Board of Nursing.

AANP practice tier

Full, per AANP's State Practice Environment map (updated 05/2026).

AANP's label, not a legal category.

Transition to practice

No hours-or-years gate in Title 33.

The transitional status is a supervised, exam-pending permit for new graduates (W.S.

33-21-132(c), (e); G.A.P.R.N. title, W.S.

33-21-136(b)); whether a permit holder may prescribe is not stated, and the Board's APRN qualification rules were not read.

Physician agreement

None in Title 33.

No collaborative or supervisory agreement requirement appears in the statutes read.

Schedule II

Allowed as far as Title 33 goes: all schedules except Schedule I (W.S.

33-21-120(a)(i)(A)); no Schedule II limit appears there, and Title 35 (the state Controlled Substances Act) was not read.

Schedules III–V

Under the same Title 33 authority; no day-supply cap appears in Title 33, and Title 35 was not read.

APRN Compact

Enacted in statute (W.S.

33-21-301/302) in an older form: its own entry clause needs ten (10) party states, and the compact is not in effect anywhere (five enactments known as of September 2026).

The Wyoming credential ladder

  1. New graduate advanced practice registered nurse (temporary permit)(G.A.P.R.N.)Pre-licensure

    The temporary permit of W.S.

    33-21-132(c), issued pending the results of the first board approved national licensure or certification examination offered after graduation: it is not issued to anyone who previously failed the exam, is surrendered on failure, and its holder practices only under the direction and supervision of a registered professional nurse; it issues only one (1) time and is nonrenewable (W.S.

    33-21-132(e)).

    Its reserved title is Graduate Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (W.S.

    33-21-136(b)).

    Whether a permit holder may prescribe is not stated.

  2. Advanced practice registered nurse (psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner)(APRN)Independent

    The Board of Nursing licence a PMHNP practises under (W.S.

    33-21-120(a)(i)): the definition includes prescribing all medications except Schedule I drugs, and no physician agreement appears in Title 33.

    Prescriptive authority carries its own statutory duty β€” three (3) hours of controlled-substance CE every two (2) years (W.S.

    33-21-129(e)) β€” and the Board regulates APRN qualifications by rule (W.S.

    33-21-122(a)(xiv)); those rules were not read.

Full practice, on the statute's own terms

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-120(a)(i); W.S. 33-21-158; AANP State Practice Environment map (05/2026)

AANP's May 2026 map puts Wyoming in its full-practice tier; the label is AANP's advocacy classification, not a legal category.

The legal fact behind it is the statute's own APRN definition: a nurse who may prescribe, administer, dispense or provide nonprescriptive and prescriptive medications, except Schedule I drugs, and who has responsibility for the direct care and management of patients.

A second statute, W.S.

33-21-158, provides that β€” except as otherwise provided by law, and including the definition's Schedule I restriction β€” an APRN acting within scope may fulfill any requirement for a physician's signature, certification, verification, affidavit or endorsement, and nothing in it expands scope.

Nothing in Title 33 inserts a physician between the PMHNP and that authority.

For what AANP’s full, reduced and restricted tiers mean, see can a PMHNP practice independently?

β€œExcept as otherwise provided by law and including the restriction in W.S. 33-21-120(a)(i)(A), an advanced practice registered nurse acting within the scope of the advanced practice registered nurse's practice may fulfill any requirement for a signature, certification, stamp, verification, affidavit, endorsement or other acknowledgement by a physician.”

A supervised, exam-pending permit β€” and a CE duty for prescribers

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-132(c); W.S. 33-21-132(e); W.S. 33-21-129(e); W.S. 33-21-122(a)(xiv)

Title 33's transitional status for a new graduate is a temporary permit: issued pending the results of the first board approved national licensure or certification examination offered after graduation, not issued to anyone who previously failed that exam, surrendered on failure, its holder may practice only under the direction and supervision of a registered professional nurse, issued only one (1) time, and nonrenewable (W.S.

33-21-132(c), (e); its reserved title is G.A.P.R.N., W.S.

33-21-136(b)).

Whether a permit holder may prescribe is not stated.

No hours-or-years gate appears in Title 33.

The Board may also issue a one-time temporary permit of up to ninety (90) days to an APRN currently licensed in good standing in another jurisdiction, on a written application satisfactory to the board (W.S.

33-21-132(a), (b)).

The CE duty attaches to prescribers: licensees who have prescriptive authority owe three (3) hours of controlled-substance CE every two (2) years (W.S.

33-21-129(e), quoted below), and the Board regulates APRN qualifications by rule (W.S.

33-21-122(a)(xiv)) β€” rules not read.

β€œFor licensees who have prescriptive authority the board shall require three (3) hours of continuing education related to the responsible prescribing of controlled substances or treatment of substance abuse disorders every two (2) years.”

No physician agreement requirement in statute

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-120(a)(i); W.S. 33-21-129(e); Wyoming Statutes Title 33, wyoleg.gov (none in statute)

The research section records no collaborative or supervisory agreement requirement in Wyoming statute, and Title 33 contains none: no physician signature to obtain before prescribing, no ratio capping how many APRNs one physician may back, no meeting or chart-review cadence, nothing filed with a medical board.

The statutory costs that do exist sit elsewhere: the licence itself, and β€” under W.S.

33-21-129(e) β€” the three (3) hours of controlled-substance CE every two (2) years for licensees with prescriptive authority.

Because the Board's rules were not read, ask the Board to confirm that no rule-level agreement condition applies.

For who signs these agreements and what they cost, see PMHNP collaborative practice agreements.

Schedule II included: the statute excludes only Schedule I

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-120(a)(i)(A); W.S. 35-7-1013; W.S. 35-7-1014; W.S. 33-21-129(e)

The definition's only drug exclusion is Schedule I, as defined in W.S.

35-7-1013 and 35-7-1014; no Schedule II limit appears in Title 33.

Said plainly: as far as the statutes read, an outpatient Wyoming PMHNP can prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants.

Title 33 sets no quantity or day-supply rule of its own β€” but only Title 33 was read.

Title 35, the state's Controlled Substances Act, was cited here only for its Schedule I definitions, so quantity or registration rules in Title 35 are undisclosed; a separate state controlled-substance registration also stayed not located in the sources read.

Title 33 does attach one prescriber condition: the three (3) hours of controlled-substance CE every two (2) years for licensees with prescriptive authority (W.S.

33-21-129(e), quoted in the transition section).

For the federal DEA rules on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, see prescribing controlled substances by telehealth.

β€œMay prescribe, administer, dispense or provide nonprescriptive and prescriptive medications including prepackaged medications, except schedule I drugs as defined in W.S. 35-7-1013 and 35-7-1014”

The federal layer: DEA registration and telehealth

πŸ“œ 21 CFR 1300.01; 90 FR 61301 (Fourth Temporary Extension)

A PMHNP registers with the DEA as a mid-level practitioner, and that registration covers only what state law allows β€” Title 33 allows every schedule except Schedule I, so Title 33 sets no cap for the DEA form's Schedules II–V listing to exceed; whether Title 35 adds one was not resolved, because it was not read.

Telehealth: the DEA and HHS telemedicine flexibilities run through December 31, 2026 under the Fourth Temporary Extension, removing the federal in-person-exam requirement for remotely prescribing controlled substances.

They lift no state limit, and Title 33 imposes no Schedule II cap to lift.

The permanent replacement is still only a proposed special-registration rule, so re-verify before relying on the flexibilities into 2027.

For how an FNP moves into psychiatric practice, see FNP to PMHNP.

APRN Compact enacted in an older form, not yet in effect

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-301; W.S. 33-21-302; W.S. 33-21-134(b)

Wyoming has enacted the APRN Compact (W.S.

33-21-301/302), and the title statute already contemplates APRNs practicing in this state pursuant to the compact (W.S.

33-21-134(b)).

Wyoming's enacted text is an older form of the compact: its own entry clause, Article X(a), brings it into limited effect only when it has been enacted in ten (10) party states.

The seven-state figure circulates from the versions Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota and Utah enacted; under either threshold the compact is not in effect, because five enactments are known as of September 2026 β€” so no multistate APRN licence exists anywhere today.

The session-law year of Wyoming's enactment was not captured, and the South Dakota Board of Nursing list updated March 30, 2026 naming only DE, ND, SD and UT leaves three possibilities: Wyoming's enactment post-dates the list, the list is stale, or the list reflects that Wyoming's text is a different version.

Until the compact takes effect, practise in Wyoming on a Wyoming licence; the RN-level Nurse Licensure Compact confers no nurse practitioner authority.

β€œThis compact shall come into limited effect at the time the compact has been enacted into law in ten (10) party states for the sole purpose of establishing and convening the commission to adopt rules relating to its operation and the APRN uniform licensure requirements.”

What changed recently: the compact enactment

πŸ“œ W.S. 33-21-301; W.S. 33-21-302

The one 2023-to-2026 change the sources capture is the APRN Compact enactment, whose session-law year was not captured in the sources read.

No amendment to the prescribing definition itself surfaced in Title 33, and the research section records no other recent change.

Because the enactment year is unrecorded and the March 2026 board list noted above leaves the timing and the version question open, check the Wyoming Legislature or the Board of Nursing for the enacting chapter before quoting either a year or a threshold.

Nothing in the sources read alters day-to-day prescribing for a Wyoming PMHNP.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Wyoming statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state PMHNP practice authority series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Wyoming State Board of Nursing publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the PMHNP and psychiatrist roles compare, see PMHNP vs psychiatrist.

Confirm every requirement with the Wyoming State Board of Nursing before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the psychiatric nurse practitioner jobs in Wyoming that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a PMHNP practice independently in Wyoming?

As far as the statutes read, yes.

Prescribing is written into the APRN licence definition itself (W.S.

33-21-120(a)(i)), and no collaborative or supervisory physician agreement appears in Title 33.

Two attachments: licensees with prescriptive authority owe three (3) hours of controlled-substance CE every two (2) years (W.S.

33-21-129(e)), and the Board regulates APRN qualifications by rule (W.S.

33-21-122(a)(xiv)) β€” rules that were not read, so confirm them with the Board.

Can a Wyoming PMHNP prescribe Schedule II ADHD stimulants?

Yes, as far as the statutes read.

The statute's only exclusion from APRN prescribing is Schedule I drugs (W.S.

33-21-120(a)(i)(A)); no Schedule II limit appears in Title 33, so outpatient stimulant prescribing sits within the licence.

Title 35, the state Controlled Substances Act, was not read, and a separate state controlled-substance registration was not located; prescribing controlled substances federally runs on a DEA registration, which NPs hold as mid-level practitioners.

Verify with the Board and the DEA before relying on this.

Does Wyoming require a physician collaboration agreement for NPs?

Not in Title 33.

The statutes read contain no collaborative or supervisory agreement requirement, no physician-to-APRN ratio, and no meeting, chart-review or filing obligation attached to prescribing.

That is the statute layer: the Board of Nursing's rules were not read, so ask the Board whether any rule-level condition applies before assuming the structure is entirely agreement-free.

Can I practice in Wyoming on an APRN Compact multistate licence?

Not today.

Wyoming has enacted the APRN Compact in statute (W.S.

33-21-301/302), but its enacted text is an older form whose entry clause needs ten (10) party states, and the compact is not in effect anywhere β€” five enactments were known as of September 2026.

You need a Wyoming APRN licence from the Board of Nursing.

The Board may also issue a one-time temporary permit of up to ninety (90) days to an APRN currently licensed in good standing in another jurisdiction, on a written application satisfactory to the board (W.S.

33-21-132(a), (b)).

The RN-only Nurse Licensure Compact does not carry nurse practitioner authority across state lines.

How long do the DEA telehealth flexibilities last for Wyoming prescribers?

Through December 31, 2026, under the DEA and HHS Fourth Temporary Extension.

The flexibilities remove the federal in-person-exam requirement for remotely prescribing controlled substances; they do not change state law.

Title 33 imposes no Schedule II cap (Title 35 was not read), so the state layer adds none there, but the long-term federal replacement is still only a proposed rule β€” re-verify before relying on the flexibilities into 2027.

Find Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Jobs in Wyoming
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Wyoming & Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Wyoming State Board of Nursing.