🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Delaware: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Delaware runs a two-track system.

The Delaware Certification Board, a private non-profit IC&RC member board, certifies counselors as a CAAC, CADC or CAADC, with work-experience totals falling from 8000 to 2000 hours as the degree floor rises.

The state licence — Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional — restricts the title, not counseling itself: §3043 exempts counselors performing solely within their employer, agency, academic institution or school district when the job does not require a licence, and rule 11.2 requires the licence to deliver telehealth.

The LCDP requires a master's, 3,200 post-master's hours and a certification instead of any state exam.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Delaware, that is the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, Division of Professional Regulation.

At a glance

Credential tiers

Three DCB certifications — Certified Associate Addiction Counselor (CAAC), Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC) — and one state licence, the Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional (LCDP).

Type and issuing body

The LCDP is a state licence issued by the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, Division of Professional Regulation.

The CAAC, CADC and CAADC are private certifications from the Delaware Certification Board, a private, non-profit IC&RC member board — they are not state credentials.

Degree floor

LCDP: a master's degree with a minimum of 30 graduate semester hours in counseling or subjects closely related to counseling (§3044(a)(1)).

DCB: CAAC a high school diploma or GED; CADC a minimum associate's degree in a relevant field; CAADC a minimum master's degree.

Supervised hours

LCDP: 3,200 hours of counseling experience after the master's, 1,600 of them supervised, accumulated in no less than 2 years (§3044(a)(2); rule 4.1.2).

DCB: 8000 hours for the CAAC, 5000 for the CADC, 2000 for the CAADC, with 400, 250 and 100 supervision hours.

Exams

The LCDP has no exam of its own — a qualifying certification substitutes (§3044(a)(3)).

DCB candidates take the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors (CAAC, CADC) or the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors (CAADC).

Scope and diagnosis

The statute does not address diagnosis or independent practice — whether an LCDP may diagnose: Not stated in the sources read.

It defines the work through addiction counseling methods (§3041(1)), and rule 11.2 requires the licence to deliver telehealth services.

Other licensees

§3043(e) exempts persons licensed to practice medicine and surgery, psychology, social work, clinical social work or licensed professional counseling of mental health, or any other profession or occupation, doing work of a nature consistent with their training, if they do not present themselves as holding this licence; §3043(b) exempts a designated employee of a private employer, or an employee or agent of a recognized academic institution, government institution, agency or school district, performing solely with or under the jurisdiction of that employer or agency, when a licence under the chapter is not required for employment.

IC&RC reciprocity

Each DCB credential page calls its credential "an international, reciprocal credential"; IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards.

An IC&RC transfer yields a DCB certification, not the state licence — the LCDP has its own §3045 reciprocity route.

Renewal & CE

The LCDP renews biennially on September 30th of even-numbered years (rule 12.1), with at least 40 acceptable CE hours including 3 in ethics and 3 in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity (rule 12.2.1).

DCB's site gives two dates, June 1 and July 1, 2026, for ending its separate lapsed status.

The Delaware credential ladder

  1. Certified Associate Addiction Counselor(CAAC)Other

    A private certification from the Delaware Certification Board (DCB), an IC&RC member board — not a state credential: a high school diploma or GED, four years of full-time or 8000 hours of part-time work experience, 400 hours of on-the-job supervision, 300 hours of education and the IC&RC ADC exam (DCB CAAC page).

  2. Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CADC)Other

    A private DCB certification at the associate-degree floor — a minimum associate's degree in a relevant field, two and a half years of full-time or 5000 hours of part-time work experience, 250 hours of on-the-job supervision, 300 hours of education and the IC&RC ADC exam; DCB's own site says one LCDP licensure requirement is to hold "a current and valid CADC credential issued by DCB" (DCB CADC page; DCB home).

  3. Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CAADC)Other

    A private DCB certification at the master's floor — a minimum master's degree in a relevant field, one year of full-time or 2000 hours of part-time work experience, 100 hours of on-the-job supervision, 180 hours of education and the IC&RC AADC exam (DCB CAADC page).

  4. Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional(LCDP)Independent

    The state licence, issued by the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals (Division of Professional Regulation) — title protection only: §3040 bars presenting yourself as a licensed chemical dependency professional unless you hold the licence, and §3043(b) exempts a designated employee of a private employer, or an employee or agent of a recognized academic institution, government institution, agency or school district, performing solely with or under the jurisdiction of that employer or agency, when a licence under the chapter is not required for employment (§3040; §3043(b)).

A private certification ladder beside one title-protected licence

📜 24 Del. C. §3040; §3043(b), (e)

Delaware's licence, the LCDP, protects a title rather than a practice: §3040 bars holding yourself out as a licensed chemical dependency professional unless you hold the licence, and §3043(b) exempts a designated employee of a private employer, or an employee or agent of a recognized academic institution, government institution, agency or school district, performing solely with or under the jurisdiction of that employer or agency, when a licence under the chapter is not required for employment.

The three-rung ladder beside it — CAAC, CADC, CAADC — belongs to the Delaware Certification Board, a private, non-profit IC&RC member board, not to the state.

DCB's own site states that one LCDP licensure requirement is "a current and valid CADC credential issued by DCB"; the statute is broader, also accepting a NAADAC NCAC or MAC or a certifying organization acceptable to the Board (§3044(a)(3)).

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“No person shall hold himself or herself out to the public as a licensed chemical dependency professional unless the person is licensed in accordance with this chapter.”

A master's with 30 counseling hours for the licence; a diploma floor for the CAAC

📜 24 Del. C. §3044(a)(1); DCB CAAC, CADC and CAADC credential pages

The LCDP requires a master's degree from a regionally accredited institution with a minimum of 30 graduate semester hours in counseling or subjects closely related to counseling.

The DCB floors fall lower: a high school diploma or GED for the CAAC, a minimum associate's degree in a relevant field for the CADC, and a minimum master's degree for the CAADC.

DCB education requirements run 300 hours for the CAAC and CADC and 180 hours for the CAADC, each including 6 hours of ethics — so only the CAADC carries less training time, while work-experience totals fall as the degree floor rises.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“Received a master's degree from a regionally accredited institution of higher education with a minimum of 30 graduate semester hours in counseling or subjects closely related to counseling.”

3,200 licence hours in no less than 2 years; 8000 down to 2000 on the DCB ladder

📜 24 Del. C. §3044(a)(2); 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §§4.1.2, 4.1.2.1

The licence counts 3,200 hours of counseling experience acquired after the master's degree, 1,600 of them supervised, and rule 4.1.2 requires the 3,200 hours to accumulate in no less than 2 years in a professional clinical setting.

Within the 1,600 supervised hours, at least 1,500 must be in the actual provision of face-to-face direct chemical dependency counseling services and at least 750 must be individual face-to-face client sessions (rules 4.1.2.1 and 4.1.2.1.1); under the chemical-dependency rules, face-to-face includes live video conferencing.

DCB's work-experience totals run opposite to its education floors: 8000 hours for the CAAC, 5000 for the CADC and 2000 for the CAADC, with 400, 250 and 100 hours of on-the-job supervision respectively.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“Subsequent to receiving the master's degree has acquired 3,200 hours of counseling experience, 1,600 hours of which must be under the supervision of a licensed chemical dependency professional.”

No state exam: a qualifying certification takes its place

📜 24 Del. C. §3044(a)(3); 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §4.1.3; DCB credential pages

Delaware's licence has no examination of its own.

Instead §3044(a)(3) requires certification — by NAADAC as a national certified addictions counselor (NCAC or MAC), by DCB as a certified alcohol and drug counselor, or by a certifying organization acceptable to the Board — and rule 4.1.3 sets criteria for other organizations, including national standards, a standardized exam and an ethics code substantially equivalent to NAADAC's.

On the DCB ladder, the CAAC and CADC take the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors and the CAADC takes the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors.

Which exam you sit is decided by the certification you choose, not by the Board.

“Is certified by the National Association for Addictions Professionals, (NAADAC) as a national certified addictions counselor (NCAC or MAC), by the Delaware Certification Board (DCB Inc.) as a certified alcohol and drug counselor, or by a certifying organization acceptable to the Board.”

100 face-to-face supervision hours, and two conflicting caps on group size

📜 24 Del. C. §3044(a)(2); 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §§4.1.2.1.3.2, 4.1.2.2

Of the 1,600 supervised hours, at least 100 must be face-to-face consultation between supervisor and supervisee; all 100 may be individual, or up to 40 may be group.

The group-size caps conflict: the statute allows no more than 6 supervisees while rule 4.1.2.1.3.2 allows 8 — the statute controls, so plan agreements around 6 and confirm with the Board.

Where supervision by an LCDP is not available, the statute accepts a licensed clinical social worker, licensed psychologist, licensed professional counselor of mental health or a licensed physician specializing in chemical dependency.

When the proposed supervisor is not a professional licensed by the Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Counselors — rule 4.1.2.2's own name for this Board — the supervisor must attest to having read and become familiar with the licensure requirements, including the statute and regulations, and either the DCB or NAADAC Code of Ethics, to having been a licensed professional in good standing for at least 5 years, and to being appropriately trained to provide clinical supervision.

“Group supervision, which consists of face-to-face meetings between supervisor and no more than 6 supervisees; provided, no more than 40 hours of group supervision shall be acceptable toward the 100 hour requirement.”

Diagnosis is unaddressed, and the licence reaches telehealth

📜 24 Del. C. §3041(1); 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §§11.2, 11.3

The statute defines the work but not a scope of practice: whether an LCDP may diagnose, or practise independently of other licenses, is not stated in the sources read.

What §3041(1) provides is a definition — a chemical dependency professional uses addiction counseling methods to help an individual or group understand alcohol and drug dependency problems, define goals, and plan action reflecting their interests, abilities and needs.

One consequence of the title-only design is concrete: delivering telehealth services requires a current, valid licence issued by the Board (rule 11.2), and rule 11.3 gives no authority to deliver telehealth to clients domiciled outside Delaware.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“In order to deliver Telehealth Services one must hold a current, valid license issued by the Board.”

Moving to Delaware: substantially similar, five years, or an IC&RC transfer

📜 24 Del. C. §3045; 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §4.2.3; DCB IC&RC membership

The Board grants the LCDP by reciprocity to an applicant licensed and in good standing — a term §3045(a) defines through §3044(a)(4)–(7) — in another state whose standards are substantially similar to Delaware's; rule 4.2.3 puts the burden of proof on the applicant and, for counselors actively licensed in several jurisdictions, accepts substantially-similar standards from any one of them.

Where standards are not substantially similar, §3045(b) offers a second route: a licence in good standing for a minimum of 5 years after licensure in the jurisdiction the applicant is applying from, plus certification by NAADAC, DCB or another national certifying organization acceptable to the Board — provided the applicant meets all other qualifications for reciprocity in the section. §3045(c) also lets a certificate of professional qualification from a Board-approved credential bank substitute for the §3045(a) documentation.

Separately, each DCB credential page describes its credential as "an international, reciprocal credential," and IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards — a transfer to DCB yields a DCB certification, not the state licence.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“Upon payment of the appropriate fee and submission and acceptance of a written application on forms provided by the Board, the Board shall grant a license to each applicant, who shall present proof of current licensure in good standing in another State, the District of Columbia or territory of the United States, whose standards for licensure are substantially similar to those of this State.”

Biennial renewal on September 30, with ethics and diversity CE terms

📜 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 §§12.1, 12.2.1

All LCDP licences renew biennially on September 30th of even-numbered years, online through the Division of Professional Regulation's website.

Each renewal period requires at least 40 acceptable CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics and 3 hours of cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, with proration for initial licensure periods shorter than 2 years.

DCB credentials renew under DCB's own recertification process, and DCB's site gives two dates for ending the separate lapsed status — "As of July 1, 2026" in its banner and "Beginning on June 1, 2026" in its alert — after which credentials are active or expired only: you may re-certify within the first three months of expired status, and after that you must re-apply.

Confirm the operative date with DCB.

“Licensees must complete at least 40 acceptable CE hours, including 3 hours of continuing education in ethics and 3 hours in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the previous licensure period in order to renew their license.”

2023 and 2024 rule amendments, and DCB's 2026 housekeeping

📜 24 DE Admin. Code 3000 (26 DE Reg. 771; 28 DE Reg. 467); DCB home page

The rule 3000 history cites amendments registered at 26 DE Reg.

771 (03/01/23) and 28 DE Reg.

467 (12/01/24); the content of those amendments was not isolated in the sources read, so check the current text with the Division of Professional Regulation.

On DCB's side, from March 1, 2026 it stops providing paper certificates to recertifying credential holders unless you request one on the recertification application for a $25.00 fee, and its home page announces the end of the separate lapsed status under two dates — "As of July 1, 2026" in the banner and "Beginning on June 1, 2026" in the alert — so confirm the operative date with DCB.

“Beginning on June 1, 2026 , there will no longer be a "lapsed" status. Credentials will either be in an active or expired status.”

Fingerprinting and criminal-history screening for the licence

📜 24 Del. C. §3044(a)(6), (a)(9)

LCDP applicants submit fingerprints at their own expense for a state Bureau of Identification report and a federal FBI criminal-history report, and the licence cannot issue until those reports are produced.

A conviction or pending criminal charge for an offense substantially related to chemical dependency counseling bars licensure unless the Board, after consideration of the § 8735(x)(3) factors of Title 29 through a hearing or review of documentation, determines that granting a waiver would not create an unreasonable risk to public safety — an affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum is required; no waiver is available for a felony sexual offense.

The Board may also deny licensure for administrative penalties regarding the applicant's actions as a Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional — fines, formal reprimands, suspensions or revocations (except revocations for nonpayment of license renewal fees), probationary limitations or consent agreements — after a hearing (§3044(a)(4)).

“An applicant may not be licensed as a chemical dependency professional until the applicant's criminal history reports have been produced.”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Delaware statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, Division of Professional Regulation publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Delaware.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, Division of Professional Regulation before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Delaware that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Delaware?

The statute restricts the title, not counseling itself. §3040 bars presenting yourself as a licensed chemical dependency professional unless you hold the licence, and §3043 exempts counselors performing solely within a private employer, academic institution, government agency or school district when a licence is not required for the job.

The one practice gate the sources show is telehealth: rule 11.2 requires a current, valid licence issued by the Board to deliver telehealth services.

Whether any program rule requires DCB certification of unlicensed counselors is not stated in the sources read; confirm with the Board or DCB.

What are the requirements for the LCDP licence in Delaware?

Under §3044: a master's degree with a minimum of 30 graduate semester hours in counseling or closely related subjects; 3,200 hours of counseling experience after the master's, 1,600 supervised, accumulated in no less than 2 years; a qualifying certification — NAADAC NCAC or MAC, DCB CADC, or another organization acceptable to the Board; and state and FBI criminal-history reports.

Renewal is biennial on September 30th of even-numbered years, with 40 CE hours.

Can I transfer my out-of-state addiction counselor credential to Delaware?

Two routes.

For the state licence, §3045 requires licensure in good standing in a state with substantially similar standards, or — when standards are not substantially similar — a licence in good standing for at least 5 years from the jurisdiction you are applying from, plus certification by NAADAC, DCB or another national certifying organization acceptable to the Board, provided you meet all other qualifications for reciprocity in the section; rule 4.2.3 puts the burden of proof on you and lets multi-state licensees rely on any one state's standards.

Separately, a current IC&RC credential can transfer board-to-board to DCB — but that yields a DCB certification, not the LCDP.

Which DCB certification should I start with?

It depends on your education.

The CAAC starts at a high school diploma or GED but requires four years of full-time work or 8000 part-time hours; the CADC drops to two and a half years full-time or 5000 part-time hours with a minimum associate's degree in a relevant field; the CAADC asks one year full-time or 2000 part-time hours of master's-level holders.

Each rung also carries on-the-job supervision hours (400, 250 and 100), education hours (300, 300 and 180) and the IC&RC ADC or AADC exam.

DCB's pages describe each credential as international and reciprocal.

Can my supervision group have 8 people in it?

The texts conflict: the statute caps group supervision at 6 supervisees, while rule 4.1.2.1.3.2 allows 8.

The statute controls, so 6 is the safe planning number — confirm current practice with the Board.

Either way, no more than 40 hours of group supervision count toward the 100 required face-to-face supervision hours, and the entire 100 hours may be met through individual supervision.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Delaware
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Delaware & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, Division of Professional Regulation.