🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Florida: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Florida issues no substance abuse counselor licence.

The credentials are private certifications from the Florida Certification Board, an IC&RC member board the Department of Children and Families recognizes under ch. 397: the Certified Addiction Counselor, the Certified Addiction Professional and the Master's Level CAP.

A CAP or MCAP makes you a 'qualified professional' under the statute; the CAC alone does not, because the statute's certification route requires at least a bachelor's degree.

The sources rule out independent practice for the CAC and MCAP; on the CAP they are silent.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Florida, that is the Florida Certification Board (FCB) β€” a private nonprofit certification board recognized by the Department of Children and Families, not a state agency.

At a glance

Credential tiers

Florida Certification Board certifications: Certified Addiction Counselor (CAC, an intermediate practice credential), Certified Addiction Professional (CAP) and Master's Level CAP (MCAP).

A Certified Behavioral Health Technician (CBHT) tier sits below them; its requirements were not among the sources read.

Type and issuing body

Private certifications from the Florida Certification Board (FCB), a private nonprofit IC&RC member board.

No state licence exists; the Department of Children and Families recognizes the statewide certification process under F.S.

397.321(15).

Degree floor

CAC: a high school diploma or GED.

CAP: at least a bachelor's degree in a field related to counseling or behavioral health (Tier I counseling-related degrees or Tier II health and human services degrees).

MCAP: at least a master's degree in a related field.

Supervised hours

CAC: 6,000 work hours with a high school diploma (5,000 with a related AA, 4,000 a related bachelor's, 2,000 a related master's) plus 300, 250, 200 or 100 supervision hours respectively.

CAP: Tier I 2,000 or Tier II 4,000 work hours within the 10 years before applying, verified by current or former employers, plus 250 direct-supervision hours.

MCAP: 4,000 work hours on the same terms plus 200.

Exams

CAC: a 150-item multiple-choice exam, passing score 500.

CAP: a 100-item multiple-choice exam, passing score 74%.

MCAP: a 125-item multiple-choice exam, passing score 74%.

The IC&RC ICADC is earned automatically with the CAC and is optional with the CAP.

Scope and diagnosis

The MCAP may make substance use disorder diagnosis in programs billed under Florida's State Medicaid Plan, and 'The MCAP does not allow for independent practice'; the CAC and ICADC credentials 'do not permit independent practice.'

For the CAP, neither diagnosis nor independent practice is addressed in the sources read.

Other licensees

There is no exemption clause because there is no SUD licence to exempt from.

F.S.

397.311(36) counts chapter 490/491 licensees, physicians, physician assistants and advanced practice registered nurses as 'qualified professionals' in their own right.

The FCB's shortened MCAP-L pathway covers physicians and physician assistants, chapter 490/491 professionals and psychiatric ARNPs only; registered interns are not eligible.

IC&RC reciprocity

Yes: FCB is the IC&RC member board.

The CAC is FCB's reciprocal-level credential, and the directory lists CAP, CAC and MCAP as ADC-level.

Reciprocity runs only between member boards; a NAADAC credential does not transfer.

Renewal & CE

CAP and MCAP: complete 20 hours of continuing education annually and renew every year by June 30.

The CAC renewal period: Not stated in the sources read.

The Florida credential ladder

  1. Certified Addiction Counselor(CAC)Other

    A private certification from the FCB, an IC&RC member board β€” not a state licence.

    FCB calls it 'an intermediate practice credential,' entered at a high school diploma or GED, and says the CAC and the ICADC it carries 'do not permit independent practice.'

  2. Certified Addiction Professional(CAP)Other

    The FCB's bachelor's-level clinical certification.

    FCB's page says holders 'are a qualified professional under Chapter 397, Florida Statutes' and that the credential 'is recognized for billable services under Florida's State Medicaid Plan.'

  3. Master's Level Certified Addiction Professional(MCAP)Other

    The FCB's master's-level certification: it 'may make substance use disorder diagnosis in programs billed under Florida's State Medicaid Plan,' but 'The MCAP does not allow for independent practice.'

No state licence: a recognized private certifier and the qualified-professional hook

πŸ“œ F.S. Β§Β§ 397.311(36), 397.321(15); FCB CAC, CAP and MCAP pages

Florida does not license substance abuse counselors.

The credentials are certifications from the Florida Certification Board, a private nonprofit IC&RC member board, and chapter 397 reaches the work through program licensing rather than practitioner licensing: the department licenses service providers and must recognize a statewide certification process for addiction professionals, which is DCF's recognition of the FCB under Β§ 397.321(15).

The statute's practical hook is the 'qualified professional' definition: the certification route into it requires, at a minimum, a bachelor's degree.

That is why a CAP or MCAP counts as a qualified professional in ch. 397 programs and a CAC alone does not.

An FCB Certified Behavioral Health Technician (CBHT) tier also exists; its requirements were not among the sources read.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œ"Qualified professional" means a physician or a physician assistant licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459; a professional licensed under chapter 490 or chapter 491; an advanced practice registered nurse licensed under part I of chapter 464; or a person who is certified through a department-recognized certification process for substance abuse treatment services and who holds, at a minimum, a bachelor's degree.”

Three floors: high school, bachelor's, master's β€” and the training hours above them

πŸ“œ FCB CAC requirements page; FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025)

The CAC starts at a high school diploma or GED, plus 300 hours of training in CAC-approved topics, at least 6 of them on professional counselor ethics and responsibilities.

The CAP requires at least a bachelor's degree in a field related to counseling or behavioral health: Tier I degrees (Counseling, Psychology, Social Work) carry 150 training hours β€” the standards' table asterisks the Tier 1 figure for 6 hours of professional ethics β€” and Tier II degrees (health and human services fields) carry 250 with no such mark in the table, with training taken within the 10 years before application; degree coursework does not expire.

The MCAP requires at least a master's degree in a related field plus 161 content-specific training hours; a valid CAP holder is credited most of them and only completes the 16-hour Clinical Supervision domain.

Count the hours you already hold against these windows before you pay for new coursework.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œCompletion of 300 hours of training in CAC-approved topics, designed to build foundational skills in addiction counseling. A minimum of 6 hours of training must address professional counselor ethics and responsibilities.”

Hours as written: 6,000 down to 2,000, and what cross-credits

πŸ“œ FCB CAC requirements page; FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025)

CAC work experience runs 6,000 hours with a high school diploma, GED or unrelated degree, 5,000 with a related AA, 4,000 with a related bachelor's and 2,000 with a related master's, with supervision at 300, 250, 200 or 100 hours respectively.

The CAP asks Tier I applicants for 2,000 work hours and Tier II applicants for 4,000, all within 10 years of applying and verified by current or former employers.

Cross-credit is narrow: up to 2,000 hours as either a CAC or as a case manager count toward a Tier II CAP, but the remaining hours must be spent providing CAP-level addiction counseling in the domains of clinical evaluation, treatment planning and counseling; no hours as a BHT, CRSS, CRPS, CRRA or other credential count at all; and Tier I requires all experience at CAP level.

The MCAP requires 4,000 relevant work hours on the same 10-year and employer-verification terms, and only CAP experience hours cross-credit toward it.

Check which of your current hours the next tier will actually take before you count on them.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œA minimum of 10 hours of supervision is required for each performance domain.”

Three FCB exams β€” and the IC&RC ADC rides free with the CAC

πŸ“œ FCB CAC requirements page; FCB CAC page; FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025)

Each tier has its own FCB exam.

The CAC exam is 150 multiple-choice items with a passing score of 500, and passing it earns the IC&RC Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ICADC) credential automatically β€” you keep it only by maintaining the FCB credential, though the IC&RC side does not need separate renewal to practise in Florida.

The CAP exam is FCB's own 100-item multiple-choice exam, passed at 74%; it is not the IC&RC ADC, which CAP applicants have the option to sit for separately if they want a credential that transfers to other IC&RC member states.

The MCAP exam is 125 items, also passed at 74%.

At every tier you may register for the exam only after the board has approved your application, so the paperwork gate comes first.

β€œCertified Addiction Counselors (CACs) will earn the CAC from the FCB and will also automatically earn the IC&RC Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ICADC) credential as part of the certification process.”

The supervision clock: 250 or 200 hours, three a week, ten years back

πŸ“œ FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025); FCB CAC requirements page

The CAP requires 250 hours of direct supervision and the MCAP 200, and both documents cap the rate: supervision may not exceed 3 hours per week or 156 hours per year, and must fall within the 10 years before the application, documented by current or former qualified supervisors.

At the weekly maximum, the 250 hours take well over a year of supervised work to bank, so choose an employer who can actually provide and document supervision rather than one who promises hours you cannot accrue.

The standards read do not spell out who counts as a qualified supervisor, so confirm your supervisor's status with the FCB before relying on the hours.

The CAC's rule is different in kind: whatever your supervision total, at least 10 hours are required for each performance domain.

β€œApplicants must complete 250 hours of direct supervision.”

Diagnosis belongs to the MCAP; independent practice is ruled out for the CAC and MCAP

πŸ“œ FCB MCAP page; FCB CAC page; F.S. Β§Β§ 397.679, 397.6793

The MCAP is the only tier with stated diagnosis language: it meets the requirements for a Master's Level CAP who may make substance use disorder diagnosis in programs billed under Florida's State Medicaid Plan, and even then only inside agencies β€” licensed substance use disorder treatment agencies or community mental health centers.

Whether a CAP may diagnose or practise independently is not stated in the sources read; the CAP page describes direct clinical counseling and Medicaid-billable services without saying either.

The CAC and the ICADC it carries do not permit independent practice; CACs are authorized to provide services in community mental health centers and licensed inpatient or outpatient mental health treatment settings.

One authority does reach the master's tier: a master's-level-certified addictions professional may execute a professional's certificate for emergency admission under Β§Β§ 397.679 and 397.6793.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œThe MCAP does not allow for independent practice. MCAPs are authorized to work in licensed substance use disorder treatment agencies or community mental health centers.”

Moving to Florida: a one-year clock and an IC&RC route

πŸ“œ F.S. Β§ 397.311(36); FCB CAC page; IC&RC member-board directory

An out-of-state certifiant can start work immediately, but the statute starts a clock: certified by a state-recognized process elsewhere at the time of employment with a licensed provider, you may perform qualified-professional functions for one year, and you must meet Florida's certification requirements within that year.

The IC&RC route runs through the FCB itself, the member board: the CAC is FCB's reciprocal-level credential, aligned with the IC&RC's ICADC minimums, and the IC&RC directory lists the CAP, CAC and MCAP as ADC-level, so a matching credential from another member board transfers by application to the FCB, which may add its own requirements.

Florida's directory entry adds that professionals carrying an AADC reciprocal-level credential are eligible to reciprocate into the FCB at the ADC level, because the FCB offers no AADC reciprocal credential.

A NAADAC credential does not transfer β€” the two frameworks have no reciprocity agreement.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

β€œA person who is certified in substance abuse treatment services by a state-recognized certification process in another state at the time of employment with a licensed substance abuse provider in this state may perform the functions of a qualified professional as defined in this chapter but must meet certification requirements contained in this subsection no later than 1 year after his or her date of employment.”

Annual renewal by June 30 on 20 CE hours β€” stated for CAP and MCAP only

πŸ“œ FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026), Table 3; FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025)

The CAP and MCAP run on an annual cycle, not the two-year cycle common elsewhere: 20 hours of continuing education each year, renewal every year by June 30, and the credential expires annually on June 30.

Late renewals get a 30-day grace period, and any renewal submitted in July must include the CE documentation, so assemble your 20 hours before the deadline rather than after.

These renewal terms come from the CAP and MCAP standards documents; the CAC renewal period is not stated in the sources read, which is a gap in the documents read, not evidence that the CAC does not renew β€” confirm the cycle with the FCB before planning CE spending on that tier.

β€œComplete 20 hours of continuing education annually. Renew their credential every year by June 30.”

Dated standards: the CAP pathway took effect February 2026, the MCAP's September 2025

πŸ“œ F.S. Β§ 397.311 (am. ch. 2024-245); FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); FCB MCAP standards (effective September 2025)

Two documents date this page's figures, and they do not share a date.

The FCB's CAP Standard Application Pathway carries an effective date of February 2026 (document updated February 24, 2026); the MCAP standards state an effective date of September 2025 in their footer, so the MCAP's 161-hour training table, 200-hour supervision total and annual renewal terms had been in force for months before the CAP pathway changed.

On the statute side, Β§ 397.311 was amended by ch. 2024-245; the effective date of that amendment is not stated in the text read.

Guides published earlier may carry different CAP or MCAP figures β€” check any older number against the FCB's current standards before you plan around it.

β€œStandard Application Pathway: Effective Date: September 2025”

What this page cannot tell you β€” and three rules beside the hours

πŸ“œ FCB CAP standards (Standard Application Pathway, eff. Feb 2026); F.S. Β§ 397.416; FCB CBHT requirements β€” not read

Three things the sources read do not cover: the DCF program-staffing rules (F.A.C.

65D-30), so this page cannot say how program rules deploy the qualified-professional definition inside licensed providers; the CBHT requirements; and the CAC renewal period.

Two rules in the documents read sit beside the hour totals: CAP and MCAP applicants must pass a Level 2 employment background screening β€” a requirement the FCB standards impose, which they reference to section 397.417(4) F.S. β€” and the FCB verifies the applicant's eligibility to work with the credential's target population through the state's Background Clearinghouse rather than performing the checks itself.

And a grandfather survives in the statute β€” a person certified through a process the former Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services recognized before January 1, 1995 may perform qualified-professional duties without meeting Β§ 397.311(36).

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Florida statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Florida Certification Board (FCB) β€” a private nonprofit certification board recognized by the Department of Children and Families, not a state agency publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Florida.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Florida Certification Board (FCB) β€” a private nonprofit certification board recognized by the Department of Children and Families, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Florida that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Florida?

No state licence exists.

The credentials are private certifications from the Florida Certification Board, which the Department of Children and Families recognizes under F.S.

397.321(15).

What matters legally is the statute's 'qualified professional' definition: a person certified through a department-recognized process with at least a bachelor's degree counts, so a CAP or MCAP reaches it and the high-school-floor CAC alone does not.

Confirm your target role with the employer and DCF's program rules.

Can a Florida certified addiction counselor diagnose?

Only the MCAP has stated diagnosis language: it may make substance use disorder diagnosis in programs billed under Florida's State Medicaid Plan.

The MCAP does not allow independent practice.

Whether a CAP may diagnose is not stated in the sources read, and the CAC pages contain no diagnosis authority.

Professionals licensed under chapter 490 or 491 diagnose under those licences, not through an FCB certification.

Does any FCB credential let you practise independently in Florida?

For the CAC and MCAP, no. The FCB's own pages say the MCAP does not allow for independent practice and that the CAC and the ICADC credentials do not permit independent practice.

MCAPs are authorized to work in licensed substance use disorder treatment agencies or community mental health centers; CACs in community mental health centers and licensed inpatient or outpatient mental health treatment settings.

Whether a CAP may practise independently is not stated in the sources read.

I am certified in another state β€” what transfers to Florida?

Two routes.

First, F.S.

397.311(36) lets a person certified by a state-recognized process elsewhere perform qualified-professional functions for one year from employment at a licensed provider, but Florida certification must be met within that year.

Second, IC&RC reciprocity: the FCB is the member board and the CAC its reciprocal level, so a matching ADC-level credential from another member board transfers by application to the FCB, and the directory notes that AADC-level holders reciprocate into the FCB at the ADC level because it offers no AADC reciprocal credential.

NAADAC credentials do not transfer.

What exams does the Florida Certification Board require?

The CAC exam is 150 items with a passing score of 500.

The CAP exam is FCB's own 100-item multiple-choice exam, passed at 74% β€” it is not the IC&RC ADC, which CAP applicants may add optionally for reciprocity.

The MCAP exam is 125 items, also passed at 74%.

With the CAC, the IC&RC ICADC is earned automatically.

At every tier you register for an exam only after the FCB approves your application.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Florida
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Florida & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Florida Certification Board (FCB) β€” a private nonprofit certification board recognized by the Department of Children and Families, not a state agency.