Illinois does not license substance abuse counselors.
The Illinois Certification Board (ICB, also known as IAODAPCA), a private IC&RC member board, certifies them: the CADC at the entry level, the reciprocal CRADC and CAADC above it, and the supervisor-tier CSADC.
The state's grip comes through program rule instead: staff delivering clinical treatment in a DHS/SUPR-licensed program must hold the ICB CADC or a listed licence on hire, with a two-year credentialing window for new staff at licensed designated programs.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
ICB certifications: CADC (Illinois-level), CRADC (IC&RC reciprocal), CAADC (advanced reciprocal) and CSADC (supervisor tier), plus specialty credentials such as the CCJP, CODP I & II and CARS.
Private certification by the Illinois Certification Board, Inc. (ICB, also known as IAODAPCA), an IC&RC member board β not a state agency.
Illinois licenses no SUD counselors; DHS/SUPR licenses treatment programs and sets staff credentials under 77 Ill.
Adm.
Code 2060.
CADC and CRADC: high school diploma or GED.
CSADC: high school/GED plus the CRADC held first.
CAADC: a master's degree in a behavioral science with a clinical application, with at least 12 semester hours specific to AOD topics.
CADC: 1 year (2,000 hours) of paid AOD work experience in the past four years plus 150 supervised practical hours.
CRADC: 3 years (6,000 hours) in the past five years; supervised practical 300 (high school) / 250 (relevant associate) / 200 (relevant bachelor's) / 100 (master's or higher).
CAADC: 1 year (2,000 hours) plus 300 supervised hours.
CSADC: 5 years (10,000 hours) plus 300.
CADC: ICB's CADC/ADC Examination (150 multiple-choice questions, three (3) hours) β ICB's candidate-guide page titles it the CADC (IC&RC ADC) Exam.
CRADC: ICRC Reciprocal (ADC) β the same ADC exam.
CSADC: adds the ICRC Supervisor (CS).
CAADC: ICRC Advanced AADC.
Not defined by ICB β the models set certification criteria, not scope of practice.
Whether an ICB-certified counselor may diagnose: Not stated in the sources read.
In licensed programs, who delivers clinical services and who supervises is set by the program rule, 2060.320 and 2060.325.
Yes β 2060.320(a)(2)-(7): licensed professional counselors and licensed clinical professional counselors, physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, LSWs and LCSWs, licensed marriage and family therapists, PMHNP-BCs and physician assistants with a psychiatry CAQ meet the staff requirement without the ICB credential.
ICB is the IC&RC member board; its directory lists reciprocal credentials in three bands β counselor (CRADC, CAADC, CSADC), criminal justice (CCJP), prevention and peer recovery (CPS, CSPS, CPRS).
The Illinois CADC is not among them.
No state licence, so no endorsement.
Certification encompasses two calendar years; 40 ICB-approved CEUs per period, at least 15 AOD-specific, up to 20 agency in-service.
A CADC who is also a Licensed Private Practitioner submits only 10 AOD-specific CEUs.
CSADCs and CAADCs add 6 CEUs in clinical supervision.
Biennial fees: CADC $170, CRADC $190, CSADC $210, CAADC $220.
A private certification from the Illinois Certification Board (ICB, also known as IAODAPCA), an IC&RC member board β not a state licence.
ICB's entry counselor credential: high school diploma or GED, 225 clock hours of education, 1 year (2,000 hours) of paid AOD work experience in the past four years, 150 supervised practical hours and ICB's CADC/ADC Examination β titled the CADC (IC&RC ADC) Exam on ICB's candidate-guide page β though the CADC credential itself is not IC&RC-reciprocal.
ICB's IC&RC reciprocal counselor certification, examined by the ICRC Reciprocal (ADC) Examination β still a private certification, not a licence.
High school/GED floor, 300 clock hours, 3 years (6,000 hours) of paid AOD work experience in the past five years, and supervised practical hours that scale with education: 300 with a high school diploma down to 100 with a master's or higher.
ICB's advanced reciprocal certification: a master's degree in a behavioral science with a clinical application (at least 12 semester hours specific to AOD topics), 1 year (2,000 hours) of paid supervised AOD-specific work experience in the past four years, 300 supervised practical hours, 180 education hours and the ICRC Advanced AADC Examination.
A CRADC can apply directly for this level.
ICB's supervisor tier, examined by both the ICRC Reciprocal (ADC) and ICRC Supervisor (CS) Examinations.
The applicant must first hold and maintain the CRADC, with 5 years (10,000 hours) of paid AOD work experience in the past seven years β 2 of the 5 years as a clinical supervisor of AOD counselors β 350 education hours and 300 supervised practical hours.
Illinois has no SUD counselor licence.
The Illinois Certification Board, Inc. (ICB) β also known as the Illinois Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse Professional Certification Association (IAODAPCA) β is a private certification board and the IC&RC member for Illinois; rule 2060.120 defines it as the organization that issues a credential to professionals seeking to provide DHS/SUPR licensable services.
The legal hook is the state's program-licensing rule: staff who deliver clinical treatment or early intervention services in a licensed setting are professional staff and must, upon hire, hold the ICB CADC or be a listed licensee.
The two-year window is narrower than the staff rule that contains it: it reaches new staff, interns included, providing clinical treatment or assessment services in a licensed designated program β the court-diversion licence type defined at 2060.530 β who get two years from the date of employment or internship to obtain a credential, and may not work in a clinical supervisory capacity until they do.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βHold certification as a Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor from the Illinois Certification Board (ICB)β
The entry CADC asks for 225 clock hours of education, 100 of them AOD-specific, with named components: 15 hours on AOD treatment services for women and/or their families, 15 on adolescents and/or their families, 6 hours of professional ethics and responsibility, 10 hours on race and equity, and 109 hours across four performance domains.
The CRADC steps up to 300 clock hours, 160 AOD-specific, with the women and adolescents components doubled to 30 each and 134 domain hours.
The CSADC needs 350 clock hours, 190 AOD-specific, including 45 hours on women and/or their families, 45 on adolescents and/or their families, and 30 hours of clinical supervision education.
The CAADC's 180 hours are all AOD-specific β 6 ethics hours and the same 45-and-45 women/adolescents components as the CSADC β and its degree floor is a master's in a behavioral science with a clinical application.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βCAADC requires a Master's degree in a human behavioral science or relevant field with at least 12 semester hours specific to AOD topics.β
Work experience is paid by definition: ICB counts positions where at least 51% of time goes to direct, primary alcohol and other drug counseling, and volunteer work and unpaid internships are not applicable.
The CADC requires 1 year (2,000 hours) of paid AOD work experience in the past four years, plus 150 supervised practical hours.
The CRADC requires 3 years (6,000 hours) in the past five years, with supervised practical hours scaled to education: 300 with a high school diploma, 250 with a relevant associate degree, 200 with a relevant bachelor's, 100 with a master's or higher.
The CAADC requires 1 year (2,000 hours) of paid supervised AOD-specific work experience in the past four years and 300 supervised hours.
The CSADC requires 5 years (10,000 hours) in the past seven years, 2 of the 5 as a clinical supervisor of AOD counselors.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βICB defines qualified work experience as paid, supervised work experience in a position where at least 51% of the applicant's time is spent providing direct, primary alcohol and other drug counseling.β
The CADC is examined by ICB's CADC/ADC Examination: 150 multiple-choice questions, three (3) hours, with official results distributed upon immediate completion.
ICB's own candidate-guide page titles it the CADC (IC&RC ADC) Exam, placing the entry credential on the same ADC examination the reciprocal CRADC requires; the CSADC adds the ICRC Supervisor (CS) Examination and the CAADC steps up to the ICRC Advanced AADC Examination.
Applicants pay the exam fee each attempt and there is no limit on how many times a person can test β but an applicant's file will be closed if the applicant does not retest within one year of obtaining a failing score or fails to complete the application within one year from the date first applied, requiring a new application and fees.
βICB offers the ICRC AOD counselor reciprocal ADC examination (CRADC), the ICRC supervisor CS examination (CSADC), and the ICRC advanced AADC examination (CAADC).β
The program rule, not the board, sets practice supervision: each licensed treatment organization must ensure management and oversight of all professional staff by a clinical supervisor who meets the 2060.320(a) staff requirements β so your employer's clinical supervisor holds the ICB CADC or a listed licence regardless of what your certification asks.
Supervision may be in-person or virtual and include group supervision, and all intervention and treatment professional staff must receive monthly supervision, documented by time, date, duration and supervisory signature.
For the certification itself, ICB expects on-the-job clinical supervision across 12 core skill areas, with no single core skill area performed for fewer than ten (10) hours; supervised hours are face-to-face, and hours spent providing counseling services are not counted as supervision.
βAll intervention and treatment professional staff referenced in this Section shall receive monthly supervision.β
ICB's credential models set certification criteria and say nothing about scope of practice, diagnosis or independent practice β a certification is not a licence and carries no scope by itself.
Whether an ICB-certified counselor may diagnose is not stated in the sources read.
What Illinois does define is the staffing line: the program rule makes staff who deliver clinical treatment or early intervention services in a licensed setting professional staff, holds uncredentialed new hires to supervised practice, bars them from any clinical supervisory capacity until credentialed, and prohibits them from providing clinical treatment or assessment services in a designated program once the two-year window closes without a credential.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βBe prohibited from providing clinical treatment services or assessment services in a designated program after the required two-year period until the requirements of subsections (a) or (b) are metβ
IC&RC does not certify individuals; reciprocity runs between member boards.
ICB is the Illinois member board, and the credentials its directory marks reciprocal are the counselor-tier CRADC (ADC/ICADC), CAADC (AADC/ICAADC) and CSADC (CS/ICCS); the criminal-justice CCJP (CCJP/ICCJP); and the prevention and peer recovery credentials CPS (PS/ICPS), CSPS (PS/ICPS) and CPRS (PR/ICPR).
The Illinois-level CADC is not among them, so an IC&RC counselor transfer into Illinois lands at the CRADC, CAADC or CSADC β never the CADC.
There is no state licence, so there is no state endorsement route.
A NAADAC credential does not transfer β NAADAC appears in the sources only as the issuer of the National Certified Recovery Specialist credential for recovery home staff.
The models add a residency hook for movers: a nonresident pursuing the CRADC, CSADC or CAADC is eligible only if at least 51% of work experience in the last 90 days before application was performed in an Illinois licensed treatment facility.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βA nonresident of Illinois pursuing an international level credential (CRADC, CSADC, and CAADC) is eligible for ICB certification, if at least 51% of the applicant's work experience in the last 90 days prior to application was performed in an Illinois licensed treatment facility.β
ICB certification encompasses two calendar years starting on the date of successful completion of the certification process.
Keeping it takes 40 ICB-approved CEUs earned within the two-year period β an average of 20 a year β at least 15 of them in alcohol and other drug topics, and up to 20 may be agency in-service training programs.
CSADCs and CAADCs must include 6 CEUs of training in how to provide clinical supervision.
A CADC who is also a Licensed Private Practitioner β an IDFPR-licensed physician, psychiatric APN, clinical psychologist, LCSW, LCPC or LMFT β submits only ten (10) AOD-specific CEUs, contingent on that licence's good standing; CRADCs, CSADCs and CAADCs are not eligible.
Biennial fees are $170 for the CADC, $190 for the CRADC, $210 for the CSADC and $220 for the CAADC.
The late fee is printed inconsistently in the sources: $45 in the CADC model's fee schedule and in the IC&RC model's renewal text, but $50 in the IC&RC model's fee table.
A renewal notice is emailed no fewer than 60 days before expiration.
βForty (40) ICB approved continuing education units (CEUs) are required to maintain certification and must be earned within the two-year certification period.β
The rule this page hangs on is brand new: the former 77 Ill.
Adm.
Code Part 2060 was repealed at 49 Ill.
Reg.
5287 and the new Part adopted at 49 Ill.
Reg.
5290, effective April 2, 2025.
ICB revised both counselor models in July 2025 β the CADC model and the IC&RC model for the CRADC, CSADC and CAADC.
Anything citing the old Part numbers or an earlier model edition is out of date; verify against the 2025 texts before you rely on a figure.
DUI work has its own staffing rule.
Staff who provide DUI evaluations, DUI risk education or designated program services must meet the professional-staff qualifications or hold ICB's Assessment and Referral Specialist (CARS) or Certified Criminal Justice Addictions Professional (CCJP) certification β and DUI staff get no two-year window: they must meet those requirements when hired.
Recovery home operators and managers are staffed separately: upon hire they need NAADAC's National Certified Recovery Specialist (NCRS) certification, an ICB peer credential such as the CPRS or CRSS, or another ICB AOD credential β or receive such certification within two years of the date of employment, under the supervision of staff holding one or more of the credentials specified in this subsection.
βNotwithstanding the requirements specified in this Section, staff who provide DUI evaluations and DUI risk education shall meet the requirements specified in subsections (a) or (b) when hired.β
This page summarizes the Illinois statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Illinois Certification Board, Inc. (ICB), also known as IAODAPCA β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Illinois.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Illinois Certification Board, Inc. (ICB), also known as IAODAPCA β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Illinois that asks for it.
No state licence exists: the Illinois Certification Board (ICB, also known as IAODAPCA), a private IC&RC member board, issues certifications, not licences.
The legal pressure comes from the program rule instead: anyone delivering clinical treatment or early intervention services in a DHS/SUPR-licensed program must, upon hire, hold the ICB CADC or be a licensed professional counselor, clinical professional counselor, social worker, MFT, physician, clinical psychologist, PMHNP-BC or psychiatry-CAQ physician assistant.
New staff at licensed designated programs get a two-year window to obtain one.
Yes, for three of the four rungs.
The CADC, CRADC and CSADC all take a high school diploma or GED; a degree narrows the supervised-hour requirement instead of gating entry.
The CAADC is the exception: it requires a master's degree in a behavioral science with a clinical application, including at least 12 semester hours specific to AOD topics.
All qualifying work experience must be paid β volunteer work and unpaid internships are not applicable under the ICB models.
Two years from the date of employment or internship.
The window in 2060.320(f) is written for new staff providing clinical treatment or assessment services in a licensed designated program, the court-diversion licence type defined at 2060.530; it is a program-licensing rule, not a board rule.
Previous work experience in the SUD field, paid or unpaid, counts cumulatively toward the requirement.
Until the credential is in hand, the person cannot work in any clinical supervisory capacity and all clinical or assessment services must be supervised by professional staff; once the two years lapse without a credential, they are prohibited from providing those services in a designated program.
Only through ICB, the IC&RC member board, and only for its directory's reciprocal credentials: counselor-tier CRADC, CAADC and CSADC, the criminal-justice CCJP, and the prevention and peer recovery credentials CPS, CSPS and CPRS.
The Illinois-level CADC is not an IC&RC reciprocal credential, and a NAADAC credential does not transfer.
Nonresidents pursuing the CRADC, CSADC or CAADC are eligible for ICB certification only if at least 51% of their work experience in the last 90 days before application was performed in an Illinois licensed treatment facility.
The sources read do not say.
ICB's credential models set certification criteria and are silent on diagnosis, scope of practice and independent practice β a certification is not a licence and confers no scope by itself.
What the state does define is the staffing line: the program rule determines who counts as professional staff in a licensed program and requires monthly supervision by a clinical supervisor who meets 2060.320(a).
The licensees listed there β counselors, social workers, MFTs, physicians, clinical psychologists, PMHNP-BCs and psychiatry-CAQ PAs β practise under their own licences.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Illinois Certification Board, Inc. (ICB), also known as IAODAPCA β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.