Indiana licenses substance abuse counselors at four rungs: a bachelor's-level associate licence and Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC), and a master's-level associate licence and Licensed Clinical Addiction Counselor (LCAC), all under the Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board.
Each full licence needs two years of experience, 150 supervision hours for the LAC and 200 for the LCAC, plus a degree with a 350- or 700-hour practicum and a board-established exam.
Only the LCAC may diagnose, and even then the statute sets extra training gates.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Four state licences: licensed addiction counselor associate (LACA) and licensed addiction counselor (LAC) at the bachelor's level; licensed clinical addiction counselor associate (LCACA) and licensed clinical addiction counselor (LCAC) at the master's level.
A one-year, non-renewable associate temporary permit sits below them.
State licences under IC 25-23.6, issued by the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board through the Professional Licensing Agency.
ICAADA (CADAC IIβV) is the state's private IC&RC member board, a separate body from the licensing board.
LAC and LACA: a baccalaureate or higher degree in addiction counseling or a related area as determined by the board.
LCAC and LCACA: a master's or doctor's degree in addiction counseling, addiction therapy or a related area.
LAC: at least two (2) years of addiction counseling experience including 150 supervision hours (100 individual, 50 group).
LCAC: at least two (2) years including 200 supervision hours (100 individual, up to 100 group).
Hours earned in Indiana count only while licensed as an associate or under the unexpired associate temporary permit (10.5-7(c), (i); 10.5-8(c), (i)).
Each tier requires the applicant to pass an examination established by the board; the statute does not name the exam.
Associate-level applicants may test in the last term of the degree program with a letter of good standing.
Only the LCAC's practice includes providing a mental health diagnosis.
The LAC's practice does not include the use of psychotherapy or diagnosis, and LAC private practice is recognized only for pre-July 1, 2010 grandfathered licensees, in consultation with other licensed professionals.
Licensees may provide factual but not expert testimony.
Each exemption requires that the person not use a title specified in this article.
Within that, the article does not limit services by a licensed or certified health care professional acting within the scope of the person's license or certificate, who has training and experience in addiction counseling β a non-exhaustive list that includes licensed social workers, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors, psychologists, physicians and nurses (10.1-2(a)(1)).
The state board is not an IC&RC member; ICAADA is.
For the state licence, the board shall issue within 30 days to an applicant licensed or certified elsewhere who passed a substantially equivalent exam, has no pending discipline and pays the fee (10.5-9.5).
Associate licences renew two times, with at least twenty (20) hours of continuing education each licensure year.
The full-licence CE figure sits in board rules (839 IAC) that were not read, and the renewal period runs under IC 25-1-2-6, whose length was not read β both Not stated in the sources read.
A one-year, non-renewable permit to practise addiction counseling or clinical addiction counseling for a graduate who meets the education requirements and is pursuing the supervision hours; it expires one (1) year after issuance without regard to how many times the holder passes or fails the exam (IC 25-23.6-10.5-1.5(b)).
The bachelor's-level associate licence: a baccalaureate in addiction counseling or a related area plus the section 5 education.
Supervised experience earned in Indiana counts toward the LAC only while licensed as an addiction counselor associate or while the one-year associate temporary permit is unexpired (IC 25-23.6-10.5-1.5(a); 25-23.6-10.5-7(c), (i)).
A full state licence to practise addiction counseling for compensation.
Its practice does not include psychotherapy or diagnosis, and private practice is recognized only for licensees who entered through the pre-July 1, 2010 grandfather route, in consultation with other licensed professionals as required by the client's individualized treatment plan (IC 25-23.6-10.5-1; 25-23.6-1-5.7(b), (c)).
The master's-level associate licence, for applicants holding a master's or doctor's degree who have completed the section 6 education; clinical experience earned in Indiana counts toward the LCAC only while licensed as a clinical addiction counselor associate or while the one-year associate temporary permit is unexpired (IC 25-23.6-10.5-2.5; 25-23.6-10.5-8(c), (i)).
The top clinical licence: its practice includes providing a mental health diagnosis and psychotherapeutic techniques in settings including private practice, subject to the Chapter 11 diagnosis criteria (IC 25-23.6-10.5-2; 25-23.6-1-5.9; 25-23.6-11-4).
Indiana licenses addiction counselors at four rungs, two bachelor's-level and two master's-level, and protects practice for compensation, not just the title; a knowing violation after July 1, 2010 is a Class A misdemeanor.
The ban does not apply to a person who does not use a title specified in this article and is one of the following: students, interns and trainees; licensed or certified health care professionals acting within scope with addiction-counseling training; nonresidents within the five-day-a-month and fifteen-day-a-year limits; clergy, who may practise for compensation as pastoral addiction counselors; charitable, religious or educational organization employees and volunteers; school counselors; governmental employees in the same job classification; court alcohol and drug program employees; and probation officers.
A settings carve-out lets unlicensed people counsel in DMHA-certified agencies, licensed hospitals and health facilities, home health agencies, community health centers, Department of Correction institutions and community mental health centers if they meet a DMHA-approved credentialing agency's requirements and do not profess to be a licensed addiction therapist or a licensed addiction counselor.
ICAADA is the separate private IC&RC member board.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βpractice as an addiction counselor or clinical addiction counselor for compensation; unless the individual is licensed under this articleβ
The LAC track starts with a baccalaureate or higher degree in addiction counseling or a related area as determined by the board, plus course work across the statute's content areas β addictions theory, psychoactive drugs, addictions counseling skills, ethics and others, which may be combined into a single college-level course β and a supervised practicum in an addiction counseling setting.
The LCAC track requires a master's or doctor's degree, graduate course work such as psychopharmacology and psychopathology, and a supervised clinical practicum of seven hundred (700) hours including 280 face-to-face client contact hours and 35 hours of supervision from a qualified supervisor.
An applicant who already completed a clinical practicum for another licence under this article does not repeat those hours, and a master's-level applicant whose degree did not emphasize addiction counseling may take the course work from an institution accredited by CACREP, COAMFTE, the American Psychological Association's Commission on Accreditation, CSWE or NASAC, recognized by NAADAC or IC&RC, or approved by the board as substantially equivalent (10.5-4(b)).
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βAt least one (1) supervised practicum, internship, or field experience in an addiction counseling setting that requires the applicant to provide at least three hundred fifty (350) hours of addiction counseling services.β
Both full licences ask for at least two (2) years of experience, and the statute defines what counts as experience: time during which at least fifty percent (50%) of your time consists of providing addiction counseling services directly to clients diagnosed with a substance use disorder.
The LAC needs 150 supervision hours inside those two years β 100 individual, 50 group; the LCAC needs 200 β 100 individual and up to 100 group.
If the experience is earned in Indiana, it must be earned while licensed as an associate or while the one-year associate temporary permit is unexpired, so plan an associate licence or the temporary permit before your first counted day; hours accumulated after associate licensure do not expire, and hours accumulated under the temporary permit count until it expires.
Up to one hundred percent (100%) of the supervision may be virtual.
A doctoral internship or a supervised master's-level practicum, internship or field experience may be applied toward the LAC requirement; for the LCAC, only a doctoral internship qualifies.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βAn applicant under section 1 of this chapter must have at least two (2) years of addiction counseling experience that must include at least one hundred fifty (150) hours under supervision, one hundred (100) hours of which must be under individual supervision and fifty (50) hours of which must be under group supervision.β
Each of the four licences requires the applicant to pass an examination established by the board; the statute does not name the exam, and the board's exam pages were not among the sources read.
Students do not have to wait for the degree: someone enrolled in the last term of the last year of a qualifying program may take the associate-level exam after providing a director's letter of good standing.
The one-year associate temporary permit expires without regard to the number of times the holder passes or fails the required examination, so failed attempts do not extend it.
The board may also waive the exam: an LAC applicant needs an out-of-state addiction counselor licence or certificate with a substantially equivalent exam, practice in at least three (3) of the previous five (5) years, an Indiana law-and-rules exam, no violation or pending investigation, and otherwise qualification under sections 1, 3, 5 and 7 of the chapter; the LCAC version (11(b)) drops the three-of-five-years condition, tests on the addiction-therapy laws instead, and requires qualification under sections 2, 4, 6 and 8.
βPass an examination established by the boardβ
For both licences the supervision must come from a qualified supervisor as determined by the board β the statute defers the criteria to board rules that were not among the sources read, so verify a proposed supervisor's qualification with the board before counting hours under them.
Virtual supervision qualifies only if it runs on an electronic platform with synchronous visual and audio interaction in real time and is HIPAA-compliant.
The experience itself may be performed at or away from the supervisor's premises, but except as provided in the virtual-supervision subsection the work may not be performed away from the qualified supervisor's premises when it is the independent private practice of addiction counseling at a place without qualified supervision β the up-to-100-percent virtual allowance is the carve-out that keeps properly supervised virtual work countable.
βVirtual supervision does not include telephone calls, electronic mail, or text messages.β
The tier split runs straight through diagnosis.
The LCAC's practice definition includes providing a mental health diagnosis and using counseling and psychotherapeutic techniques in settings that include private practice.
The LAC's does not, and private practice is recognized only for licensees who obtained the LAC through the pre-July 1, 2010 grandfather route, in consultation with other licensed professionals as required by the client's individualized treatment plan.
Chapter 11 adds a second gate even for the LCAC: an individual licensed under the article may not make a mental health diagnosis without at least sixty (60) clock hours of graduate study in mental health diagnosis, DSM and ICD training, at least 1,000 hours of supervised practice by an appropriately licensed supervisor, as determined by the board, and the licence itself.
Every licensee may provide factual testimony but may not provide expert testimony.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βThe term does not include the use of psychotherapy or diagnosis (as defined in IC 25-22.5-1-1.1(c) or as defined as the practice of psychology under IC 25-33-1-2(a)).β
The board shall issue a licence not more than thirty (30) days after a completed application to a counselor who holds a valid licence or certificate in another state or jurisdiction, passed an examination substantially equivalent to the level requested, has no pending discipline elsewhere and pays the fee.
The board may also issue a temporary permit to out-of-state licensees who have applied, counselors practising in a state that does not license addiction counselors or therapists, certified by a national association the board approves, and who have also applied, and exam-approved graduates who have completed any experience requirement; it expires at the earliest of licence issuance, board disapproval or one hundred eighty (180) days, renewable only for a scheduled holder who misses the next exam with good cause.
Nonresidents authorized in their home state may practise up to five days in any one month or fifteen days in any one calendar year.
IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards, and Indiana's member is ICAADA, not the licensing board, so an IC&RC transfer yields an ICAADA credential, not the state licence.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βThe board shall issue a license to an individual to be a licensed addiction counselor or licensed clinical addiction counselor, not more than thirty (30) days after the application is filed and completed, if the individual:β
An associate licence may be renewed two (2) times, on payment of the renewal fee and completion of at least twenty (20) hours of continuing education each licensure year, and the board may renew it for additional periods based on circumstances it determines.
For the full LAC and LCAC the statute ties validity to the renewal period in effect on the date the licence was issued, subject to IC 25-1-2-6(e), but it states no CE figure: that sits in board rules (839 IAC) that were not among the sources read, so the CE hours for a full licence are not stated in the sources read, and the length of the IC 25-1-2-6 renewal period was not read either β confirm both with the board before planning a renewal-year budget.
βcompleting at least twenty (20) hours of continuing education each licensure yearβ
The code's history lines show IC 25-23.6-10.5-7 and 10.5-8, the two supervised-experience sections, amended by P.L.83-2024 and P.L.130-2025, and the exam section 10.5-9 amended by P.L.83-2024.
The research records the amendments without describing what changed, and guides written before 2024 may quote superseded text, so check the current sections before relying on an older summary.
The current text carries the provisions this page cites: the 100 percent virtual-supervision allowance, the no-expiry rule for associate-earned hours, and the good-standing letter contents for last-term exam takers.
βAs added by P.L.122-2009, SEC.29. Amended by P.L.160-2018, SEC.6; P.L.207-2021, SEC.28; P.L.83-2024, SEC.22; P.L.130-2025, SEC.5.β
This page summarizes the Indiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Indiana.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Indiana that asks for it.
To practise addiction counseling for compensation, the statute requires a licence β with exemptions.
IC 25-23.6-10.1-2(a) exempts a person who does not use a title specified in this article β among others, students, interns and trainees; clergy, who may practise for compensation as pastoral addiction counselors; charitable, religious or educational organization employees and volunteers; school counselors; governmental employees in the same job classification; court alcohol and drug program employees; and probation officers.
Unlicensed people may counsel in the 10.1-3 settings (DMHA-certified agencies, licensed hospitals and others) if they meet a DMHA-approved credentialing agency's requirements and do not profess to be a licensed addiction therapist or a licensed addiction counselor.
No. The statute says the practice of addiction counseling does not include the use of psychotherapy or diagnosis.
Only the LCAC's practice definition includes providing a mental health diagnosis, and even an LCAC must clear IC 25-23.6-11-4: at least sixty (60) clock hours of graduate study in mental health diagnosis, DSM and ICD training, and 1,000 hours of supervised practice by an appropriately licensed supervisor.
If diagnosis matters to your career plan, the LCAC is the licence to target.
Yes.
The LAC and the LACA require a baccalaureate or higher degree in addiction counseling or a related area as determined by the board, plus the content-area course work and a practicum requiring at least 350 hours of addiction counseling services.
The master's or doctorate is required only for the clinical tier, the LCACA and LCAC, whose practicum runs 700 hours with 280 face-to-face client contact hours.
Confirm with the board which related majors it accepts.
Not in Indiana.
If the two years of experience are earned in Indiana, the statute requires the applicant to be licensed as an addiction counselor associate or clinical addiction counselor associate while earning them, or to hold the one-year associate temporary permit, whose hours count until it expires.
Hours accumulated after associate licensure do not expire, so a stalled application does not erase the hours you banked.
Not by itself.
IC&RC reciprocity runs only between member boards, and Indiana's IC&RC member is ICAADA, a private board, not the state licensing board, so an IC&RC transfer gets you an ICAADA credential.
The state licence route for out-of-state counselors is IC 25-23.6-10.5-9.5: a valid licence or certificate elsewhere, a substantially equivalent exam, no pending disciplinary proceeding and a fee, with the board required to issue within 30 days of a completed application.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency).