Iowa does not license substance abuse counselors.
The credentials in the sources are voluntary private certifications from the Iowa Board of Certification (IBC), an IC&RC member board: tCADC, CADC, IADC and IAADC.
The state-side rule that reaches counselor work is DIAL's program rule 641 IAC 155.21, which requires staff providing screening, OWI evaluation, assessment or treatment services in licensed programs to qualify as an addictive disorder professional.
This page sets out each rung's hours, exams, reciprocity and renewal as the IBC handbook and the rule state them.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
IBC's four counselor certifications: Temporary Certified Alcohol & Drug Counselor (tCADC), Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), International Alcohol and Drug Counselor (IADC) and International Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (IAADC).
Voluntary private certifications from the Iowa Board of Certification (IBC), a private IC&RC member certification board — not a state agency.
No state licence for SUD counselors appears in the sources read; the state-side hook is DIAL's program rule 641 IAC 155.21.
tCADC and CADC: a high school diploma or GED (the CADC education track also asks for 24 semester hours, or 33 quarter hours, of college credit).
IADC: a high school diploma or GED — degree level then sets its experience and supervision hours.
IAADC: a master's degree in a behavioral science (counseling, psychology, sociology, social work, human services and criminal justice are the handbook's named fields).
CADC education track: six months full-time (1,000 clock hours) within the past three years; experience track: one and a half years full-time (3,000 clock hours), also within the past three years; both with at least 500 clock hours across the four domains, a minimum of 20 hours in each and 36 in direct supervision.
IADC: 2,000 (master's) / 4,000 (bachelor's) / 5,000 (associate) / 6,000 (no related-field degree) within the past six years, plus 300/250/200/100 on-the-job supervision hours (high school/associate/bachelor's/master's) with at least 10 in each domain.
IAADC: 2,000 within the past six years plus 300 hours of on-the-job supervision with at least 25 hours in each domain.
IC&RC ADC exam for the tCADC, CADC and IADC; IC&RC AADC exam for the IAADC.
The handbook sets the exam at 150 multiple choice questions, passing at a score of 500 out of 800.
Not addressed in the IBC materials read.
The program rule's diagnosis language belongs to its licensed-professional route — independent professionals authorized by the Iowa Code to diagnose and treat mental disorders — not to IBC certification.
By rule, licensed marital and family therapists, mental health counselors, independent social workers, master social workers and bachelor social workers each qualify as an addictive disorder professional under 641 IAC 155.21(8)“b”(1) without IBC certification — as does another independent professional authorized by the Iowa Code to diagnose and treat mental disorders.
Yes, through IBC, the Iowa IC&RC member board: the IADC and IAADC are eligible for reciprocity with other member boards; the CADC is Iowa-only.
IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards only — a NAADAC credential does not transfer.
Renew every two years with 40 clock hours of continuing education earned during the two-year period, including 3 ethics hours and no more than 20 online; the tCADC does not recertify.
A private temporary certification from IBC — not a state licence — for applicants who meet the CADC education requirement and pass the IC&RC ADC exam but are still finishing supervised experience.
The handbook allows two (2) years to meet the experience and supervision requirement, with no extensions allowed and no recertification, so the rung exists to be upgraded to the CADC or IADC.
Iowa's base counselor certification, still a voluntary private certification from the IC&RC member board — not a state licence.
It is Iowa-only: the handbook makes only the IADC and IAADC eligible for reciprocity, so a CADC does not transfer to another member board.
It requires the Education or Experience Track, a passing Supervisor's Counselor Evaluation (Form 09) and the IC&RC ADC exam.
The international (reciprocal) counterpart of the CADC, still a private IBC certification.
The handbook's list: a high school diploma or GED plus 300 clock hours of education; experience within the past six years of 2,000 hours with a related-field master's, 4,000 with a bachelor's, 5,000 with an associate and 6,000 with no related-field degree; on-the-job supervision of 300/250/200/100 hours (high school/associate/bachelor's/master's) with at least 10 in each domain; a passing Supervisor's Counselor Evaluation (Form 09); and the IC&RC ADC exam.
The advanced rung, a private IBC certification at the IC&RC AADC level: a master's degree in a behavioral science, 2,000 clock hours of supervised experience within the past six years, 300 hours of on-the-job supervision with a minimum of 25 hours in each domain, a passing Supervisor's Counselor Evaluation (Form 09) and the IC&RC AADC exam.
Iowa has no state licence for substance abuse counselors: every credential here is a voluntary private certification from IBC, an IC&RC member board — not a state agency.
What makes the certification matter is DIAL's program-licensing rule: staff providing screening, OWI evaluation, assessment or treatment services must qualify as an addictive disorder professional.
The routes: certification from an organization the division approves (the sources read do not state that IBC holds that approval, so confirm it with DIAL) or a listed licence.
The temporary/provisional and in-process routes bind the same way: meet the credential's requirements, work under a supervisor meeting the qualified routes, and be fully certified or licensed within two years of the date the person began providing licensed program services, continuous from first employment across program changes for the in-process route.
Staff employed before July 1, 2010 and continuously since stay qualified while they remain with that licensed program, keeping 30 training hours every two years, 3 in ethics, under the same qualified supervision.
The 2024-created Board of Behavioral Health Professionals regulates other professions, not SUD counselors.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“screening, OWI evaluation, assessment or treatment services … shall be qualified as an addictive disorder professional”
The CADC starts at a high school diploma or GED on either track.
The education track adds 24 semester hours (or 33 quarter hours) of college credit in substance abuse or a related field — the handbook names counseling, psychology, sociology, social work, human services and criminal justice — plus 150 clock hours of education, including 45 in counseling theories and techniques, 45 alcohol-and-drug-specific, 6 in special populations, 6 in ethics and 3 in racial/ethnic issues.
The experience track asks for the same 150 clock hours without the college credit.
The IADC's education floor is 300 clock hours, with a 90/90/6/3 breakdown.
The IAADC swaps clock hours for a degree: a master's in a behavioral science plus 180 alcohol-and-drug-specific hours, 6 ethics and 3 racial/ethnic.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“Twenty-four (24) semester hours (or 33 quarter hours) of college level credit in substance abuse or its related fields (related fields are Counseling, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Human Services, and Criminal Justice).”
For a CADC on the education track, six months full-time — 1,000 clock hours — of supervised experience in substance abuse counseling within the past three years; on the experience track, one and a half years full-time, or 3,000 clock hours, also within the past three years.
Both tracks require at least 500 clock hours of the experience to spread across the four domains, with a minimum of 20 hours in each Domain and 36 of the hours in direct supervision.
The IADC scales hours to degree: 2,000 with a related-field master's, 4,000 with a bachelor's, 5,000 with an associate and 6,000 with no related-field degree, within the past six years — plus on-the-job supervision of 300 hours for high school applicants, 250 with an associate, 200 with a bachelor's and 100 with a master's, at least 10 in each domain.
The IAADC asks 2,000 clock hours within the past six years.
If you are counting hours now, note the look-backs: three years for both CADC tracks, six years for the IADC and IAADC.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“Six months full-time (or 1,000 clock hours) of supervised experience in substance abuse counseling within the past three years.”
The tCADC, CADC and IADC all rest on the IC&RC ADC exam; the IAADC rests on the IC&RC AADC exam.
The handbook describes the exam as 150 multiple choice questions with a score of 500 out of 800 required to pass, attempts spaced at least 90 days apart, and testing within one year of the pre-registration notice.
A fourth failed attempt triggers a required remedial action plan before a fifth.
IBC's CADC page notes an updated AADC exam built on the 2023 job analysis took effect June 3, 2025, so older AADC study materials may not match the current exam.
“The exam consists of 150 multiple choice questions and is focused on the four domains. A score of 500 out of 800 is required to pass.”
The handbook's rule is by level, and it runs lower than the letters suggest: a CADC may supervise a practicum student or a CADC applicant; an IADC or IAADC may supervise a practicum student, a CADC or an IADC applicant; and an IAADC may supervise applicants at every level, so an IADC applicant needs an IADC/IAADC supervisor and an IAADC applicant needs an IAADC.
There is a fallback for IADC and IAADC applicants who lack such a supervisor: the Supervisor Designate, who needs at least 6,000 hours (three years full-time) of substance abuse setting experience, a letter from their agency of good standing as a supervisor, and an applicable credential or licence — the handbook names the IADC, IAADC, CCDP, CCS, LISW, LMSW, LBSW, LMFT, LMHC, MD, DO and psychologist, among others the board approves — active while the supervision happens.
All supervisors must be objective: no immediate family, relatives, household members or close personal relationships.
Before starting a placement, confirm your supervisor's own credential covers your target level.
“Certification applicants must be supervised by a counselor certified at a level equal to or higher than the level for which the applicant is applying.”
The IBC handbook and CADC page set certification criteria and do not address scope of practice, diagnosis or independent practice, so nothing in them makes an IADC or IAADC a clinician who may diagnose.
The diagnosis language in the program rule belongs to a different route: its qualifying conditions name licensed marital and family therapists, mental health counselors, independent social workers and other independent professionals authorized by the Iowa Code to diagnose and treat mental disorders.
A counselor whose only credential is IBC certification works inside a licensed program's staffing structure, not under a practice act.
What an IBC-certified counselor may diagnose: not stated in the sources read — ask the program and any payer before taking on diagnostic work.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
IBC is Iowa's IC&RC member board, and the handbook makes the IADC and IAADC the two credentials eligible for reciprocity with other member boards.
The CADC is Iowa-only, so a counselor certified at that level elsewhere cannot transfer it in; they apply to IBC for Iowa certification on IBC's own terms.
Reciprocity runs only between member boards, at the matching credential and reciprocal level, and the receiving board can apply its own standards on top.
A NAADAC credential does not transfer into the IC&RC framework.
The handbook adds a residency rule: applicants must physically live and/or work in Iowa at least 51% of the time at application, including for recertification and reactivation.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“Both the IADC and IAADC credential are eligible for reciprocity with members of International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (IC&RC) – see Addendum I for a list of member boards.”
Certification renews every two years, with 40 clock hours of continuing education earned during the two-year period — 3 in ethics, the other 37 in relevant topics — and no more than 20 earned online or by distance learning.
Up to 10 in-service hours may count per period, if IBC-approved.
By category: at least 25 hours in Category A (attending formal trainings), no more than 15 in Category B (teaching other professionals), no more than 15 in Category C (participatory learning and community involvement) and — for IADC and IAADC holders only, with prior approval — no more than 20 in Category D.
Missing the window costs a $50 late penalty within a 45-day penalty period, and certification lapses on the 46th day.
The tCADC is the exception: it does not recertify, so its two-year window is a hard upgrade deadline.
“Certification must be renewed every two years”
2024 Iowa Acts SF 2385 merged the Boards of Behavioral Science, Psychology and Social Work into the Board of Behavioral Health Professionals under the Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing.
The merger did not add a substance abuse counselor licence: DIAL's own page lists the professions the board regulates — behavioral analysis, marital and family therapy, mental health counseling, psychology and social work — and SUD counselors are not on it.
Counselor credentialing stayed with IBC.
The saved handbook copy carries a January 2024 cover; the research pass dates its revision 05.2026 — see the caveats below.
Three caveats belong with the sources.
The rule cited here, 641 IAC 155.21, is read on Cornell LII with an amendment effective November 13, 2019, and the research pass warns that Iowa's rule chapters may have been renumbered in 2024–25 — confirm the current citation on rules.iowa.gov before relying on it with a program or payer.
The handbook copy saved with the sources carries a January 2024 cover, while the research pass dates its revision 05.2026; this page cites the handbook by name without a revision date for that reason.
And IBC controls its own criteria and can revise between editions, so check its current sheets before paying fees or counting hours against these numbers.
This page summarizes the Iowa statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Iowa Board of Certification (IBC) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Iowa.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Iowa Board of Certification (IBC) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Iowa that asks for it.
No state SUD counselor licence appears in the sources read; the credentials are voluntary private IBC certifications (division approval unstated).
DIAL's rule 641 IAC 155.21 makes staff providing screening, OWI evaluation, assessment or treatment services qualify as an addictive disorder professional by: division-approved certification; a listed licence; or temporary/provisional certification or in-process work, both supervised by staff meeting the rule's qualified routes and fully credentialed within two years of first providing licensed program services, continuous across program changes for in-process work.
The pre-July 2010 grandfather route lasts only while they stay with that licensed program, keeping 30 training hours every two years, 3 in ethics, under qualified supervision.
No. IBC is a private IC&RC member certification board; its certifications are voluntary, and no source read makes them a state licence.
The state's Board of Behavioral Health Professionals, created by 2024 Iowa Acts SF 2385 under DIAL, regulates behavioral analysis, marital and family therapy, mental health counseling, psychology and social work — SUD counselors are not on its list.
For program licensing, DIAL's rule counts certification by a division-approved organization among its qualifying routes; whether IBC itself holds that approval is not stated in the sources read.
It depends on the track.
The education track asks six months full-time — 1,000 clock hours — of supervised experience in substance abuse counseling within the past three years.
The experience track asks one and a half years full-time, or 3,000 clock hours.
Both tracks require at least 500 clock hours of the experience to spread across the four domains, with a minimum of 20 hours in each domain and 36 hours in direct supervision.
Through IBC if your credential matches the IADC or IAADC: the handbook makes those two eligible for reciprocity with other IC&RC member boards, so a counselor holding the matching credential from another member board applies to IBC for Iowa certification.
The CADC is Iowa-only and does not transfer.
Reciprocity runs between member boards only, and a NAADAC credential does not transfer into the IC&RC framework.
The tCADC is IBC's temporary certification for applicants who meet the CADC education requirement and pass the IC&RC ADC exam but have not finished the supervised-experience requirement.
The handbook allows two years to meet the experience and supervision requirement, with no extensions allowed and no recertification — the rung exists to be upgraded to the CADC or IADC.
Under DIAL's rule, a temporarily or provisionally certified staff person must be supervised by staff meeting the rule's qualified routes and fully certified or licensed within two years of the date the person began providing licensed program services — a program-side clock distinct from the certificate's own two-year term.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Iowa Board of Certification (IBC) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.