Louisiana runs every addiction counselor credential through one body: the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA).
The ladder is licensed addiction counselor (LAC) at the top, certified addiction counselor (CAC) and registered addiction counselor (RAC) beneath it, with the counselor-in-training status and the addiction treatment assistant paraprofessional credential below those.
Degree floors fall as the hours rise: a master's degree and 2,000 hours for the LAC, a bachelor's and 4,000 for the CAC, no degree and 6,000 for the RAC.
Only the LAC has a fully independent scope.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Addiction treatment assistant (ATA, paraprofessional) and counselor-in-training (CIT, a status) sit below the registered addiction counselor (RAC), certified addiction counselor (CAC) and licensed addiction counselor (LAC); the certified clinical supervisor (CCS) is a specialty certification.
State credentials under La.
R.S.
37:3387–3390.2, issued by the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority, the single authority the statute names.
LASACT, a private board, is the IC&RC member — not ADRA.
LAC: master's in a human services or behavioral science discipline.
CAC: bachelor's in those fields.
RAC: no degree (an associate substitutes 1,000 of its 6,000 hours).
CIT: 180 substance-abuse-specific educational hours; ATA: none stated in the sources read.
LAC 2,000 hours (one year); CAC 4,000 hours (two years); RAC 6,000 hours (3 years) — plus 300 performance hours in the KSAs/12 core functions, under a certified clinical supervisor with a minimum of one contact hour per week.
Written and oral examination requirements established by the ADRA, which indicates the requirements that govern each testing cycle and designates the tests.
No exam is named in the rule or the sources read.
The LAC is the only rung with a fully independent scope; the CAC's one exception is a prison or other custodial environment.
CAC and RAC may not render a diagnostic impression; the sources read do not address diagnosis by a CIT or ATA.
Rule LXXX-301(C) bars psychological testing.
LAC diagnosis: Not stated in the sources read.
Yes — La.
R.S.
37:3390.1(A)-(B) leaves persons licensed under other laws alone, and names clergy and Christian Science practitioners delivering medical, psychotherapeutic, counseling, social work, psychological or educational services to substance abusers and their families.
ADRA is not the IC&RC member board — LASACT is.
ADRA's own route is reciprocity without examination for a substantially equivalent out-of-state credential (37:3390.2).
There is no NAADAC-to-IC&RC reciprocity.
LAC/CAC/RAC renew every two years on 48 board-approved continuing education hours (37:3388).
The CIT status renews every 12 months on at least 20 CE hours or active degree pursuit, capped at 72 months (37:3388.1).
A paraprofessional who serves in a supportive role within the therapeutic process, working under the direct supervision of a licensed, certified, or registered counselor (La.
R.S.
37:3387.4).
A status, not a credential: temporary supervised preparation intended to progress into the LAC, CAC or RAC, renewed every 12 months up to a 72-month aggregate (La.
R.S.
37:3387.3; LAC 46:LXXX-707).
A state registration with no degree requirement; the RAC may not practice independently or render a diagnostic impression, and works under a licensed addiction counselor or other qualified mental health professional (La.
R.S.
37:3387.2).
A state certificate for bachelor's-level counselors, barred from independent practice except when providing addiction counseling services in a prison or other custodial environment (La.
R.S.
37:3387.1).
The licence: an LAC may practice autonomously, independent of any other professional association or supervision (La.
R.S.
37:3387(A)(2)).
A specialty certification the rules require for the supervised work experience of the LAC, CAC and RAC and for the CIT's 300 hours of direct clinical supervision, with CCS guidelines the ADRA posts on its website (LAC 46:LXXX-701/703/705; LXXX-707).
Louisiana is a state-credential state: the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority issues every rung — the licensed addiction counselor (LAC) licence, the certified addiction counselor (CAC) state certificate, the registered addiction counselor (RAC) state registration, the counselor-in-training status and the addiction treatment assistant paraprofessional credential — plus the certified clinical supervisor (CCS) and certified compulsive gambling counselor specialty certifications.
The chapter's legal force is title protection: no one may hold themselves out as holding one of these credentials without board recognition, and the board can enjoin violators and impose penalties (37:3390(C)-(D)).
Other licensed professionals are expressly left alone (37:3390.1).
LASACT, a private board, is Louisiana's IC&RC member; its certifications are not ADRA credentials.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“It is the intent of the legislature that there be a single authority issuing credentials for addictive disorder counseling and prevention professionals in Louisiana.”
The LAC requires a master's degree from an accredited institution in a human services or behavioral science discipline, or another discipline the board deems appropriate; the CAC requires a bachelor's in those fields; the RAC requires no degree at all.
On top of the degree, all three counselor tiers need the same coursework: a minimum of 270 clock hours, at least 180 of them specific to substance abuse with up to 90 in related courses, and at least 6 hours of professional ethics that may not be obtained through in-service training.
The rules let an applicant whose degree is in another discipline apply to ADRA for a waiver.
A counselor-in-training instead documents 180 substance abuse addiction specific educational clock hours (LXXX-707).
ADRA's website adds a practical gate: substance-abuse/addiction-specific hours count only if the course title contains the actual words "substance abuse", "addiction" or "drug abuse"; otherwise the applicant must submit a syllabus showing what portion is addiction-specific.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“education-has successfully completed a minimum of 270 clock hours of education with a minimum of 180 hours specific to substance abuse and up to 90 hours in related courses or areas of study.”
The LAC takes 2,000 hours (one year) of supervised work experience, the CAC 4,000 hours (two years) and the RAC 6,000 hours (3 years), so the no-degree registration carries the largest hour total on the ladder.
All three also need a minimum 300 performance hours in the KSAs/12 core functions — at least 10 hours in each core function for the LAC and RAC, and at least 20 per function for the CAC as printed in its rule.
Work experience must be paid or voluntary direct counseling services to individuals diagnosed as having one or more addictive disorders, at least one alcohol or substance abuse related; unsupervised work will not be considered.
An associate degree in a human services or behavioral science discipline substitutes for 1,000 hours of the RAC's 6,000.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“experience-documents and verifies evidence of having successfully completed 2,000 hours (one year) of supervised work experience providing addictive disorder counseling services.”
Each statute tier requires a written examination, and the rules add written and oral examination requirements established by the ADRA — an application is not reviewed for test eligibility until complete, including a case study in the event an oral examination is required.
Which tests satisfy the requirement is ADRA's call, identified on a testing cycle events schedule; the rule names no exam, and the sources read do not name one either.
A candidate who fails the written exam can extend the application period by completing ADRA-approved test preparation training before the next consecutive cycle, and after three written examination failures the ADRA may impose further conditions on training or clinical experience.
Confirm the current cycle's requirements with ADRA before scheduling.
“The ADRA shall determine the scope of the examination(s) to provide the opportunity for the candidate to demonstrate competency in the field for which he seeks certification, or shall designate the examination(s) which satisfy the ADRA requirements.”
For the LAC, CAC and RAC, the supervised work experience must be provided by a certified clinical supervisor; where no CCS is available, the candidate applies to ADRA for a waiver.
A CAC or RAC must also register their supervisory licensed addiction counselor or qualified mental health professional with the board, and the statute requires that contact be regular and documented (37:3387.1(A)(2); 37:3387.2(A)(2)).
The counselor-in-training route splits the supervision: the work-experience hours — 2,000, 4,000 or 6,000 depending on the credential sought — may be earned under the supervision of any credentialed addiction professional or an agency, while the CCS provides the 300 hours of direct clinical supervision at a minimum of one hour per week, and 37:3387.3(B)(4) requires the CIT to work under the direct supervision of an LAC, CAC or RAC, or a qualified mental health professional when none is available.
A CIT's work experience is capped at 2,000 hours in any calendar year (LXXX-707(C)(6)(b)).
Confirm before a placement who signs each component of your hours.
“The supervision required herein must be provided by a certified clinical supervisor with a minimum of one contact hour per week.”
The LAC alone has a fully independent scope: the statute says it may practice autonomously, independent of any other professional association or supervision.
The CAC may not practice independently except when providing addiction counseling services in a prison or other custodial environment.
The statute says a counselor-in-training may not practice independently (37:3387.3(B)(3)); the rule then draws the working line — no independent work before the 300 hours of direct clinical supervision, then screening, intake, orientation and client education independently while a credentialed addiction professional is in the building or available by phone, the remaining eight core functions under a credentialed addiction professional's direct supervision and only after per-function CCS sign-off, and all 123 TAP 21 competencies signed off before CIT testing (LXXX-707(D)).
CAC and RAC may not render a diagnostic impression; the sources read do not address diagnosis by a CIT or an ATA.
The rule also bars addictive disorder counselors from practicing medicine, social work or psychology or interpreting psychological tests.
Whether the LAC itself may diagnose is not stated in the sources read.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“The certified addiction counselor may not practice independently, except when providing addiction counseling services in a prison or other custodial environment.”
ADRA may grant any credential or status without examination to an applicant holding a valid out-of-state credential it determines is substantially equivalent, and it decides which Louisiana credential and corresponding scope the newcomer receives.
IC&RC reciprocity does not run to ADRA: it works only between IC&RC member boards, and Louisiana's member is LASACT, a private certification body.
An IC&RC transfer therefore produces a LASACT certification, not an ADRA credential — a clinician moving to Louisiana for the state credential applies through 37:3390.2.
NAADAC's national certifications do not reciprocate with IC&RC credentials at all.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“The board shall have the authority to determine which status or credential, and corresponding scope of practice, authorized by this Chapter should be allowed to an individual seeking reciprocity.”
The LAC, CAC and RAC renew their credentials every two years on 48 board-approved continuing educational hours.
The counselor-in-training status renews every 12 months on a minimum of 20 board-approved CE hours, or documentation that the holder is actively pursuing a qualifying degree, and the rule caps CIT status at 72 months in the aggregate.
Letting a credential lapse has teeth: an untimely renewed credential is deemed suspended, and a suspended holder is prohibited from exercising that credential's scope of practice until it is renewed or reinstated.
“Each licensed, certified, and registered addiction counselor shall renew his credentials every two years.”
The statutes were last amended by Acts 2020, No. 328, and the LII copies of the counselor rules read for this page show promulgation at LR 31:649 (March 2005), with the CAC and RAC rules amended at LR 40:1005 (May 2014) and the CIT rule at LR 39:2275 (August 2013).
One caveat: ADRA's website — reached when the credential-lookup research captured it, even though the research file for this series recorded the domain as unreachable — links a rules compilation dated January 6, 2026 that this page did not read, so no 2023–2026 rule amendment can be ruled out from here.
The rule leaves each testing cycle's examination requirements to ADRA; treat the ADRA site as the tie-breaker for anything a candidate cannot confirm in the rule text.
Every counselor tier's candidate must be a legal resident of the United States, at least 21 years of age when the application is received, not in violation of the board's ethical standards, and — in the statute's own wording — without substance abuse or compulsive gambling in the previous two years.
A felony conviction or a guilty or nolo contendere plea is disqualifying, but the board may waive it on review of the individual's circumstances.
The lower rungs loosen the age floor: 18 for a counselor-in-training and 16 for an addiction treatment assistant, whose abstinence look-back is the previous six months.
Each candidate signs ADRA's professional and ethical accountability form and provides three letters of recommendation.
“Is not now and has not been a substance abuser or compulsive gambler during the previous two years from the date the application is received.”
This page summarizes the Louisiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA), the state agency under La.
R.S.
37:3386.2 publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Louisiana.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA), the state agency under La.
R.S.
37:3386.2 before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Louisiana that asks for it.
Louisiana issues state credentials through ADRA, and the chapter's legal force is title protection: "No one may hold himself out as having a credential or status authorized by the provisions of this Chapter who is not so recognized by the board" (La.
R.S.
37:3390(A)).
The LAC is the state licence for autonomous practice; the CAC and RAC are a state certificate and a state registration for supervised practice.
Practicing under one of those titles without board recognition exposes you to an injunction and penalties under § 3390(C)-(D).
Yes — the registered addiction counselor (RAC) requires no degree.
You still need the 270 clock hours (at least 180 substance-abuse-specific), the 300 performance hours in the KSAs/12 core functions, and 6,000 hours (3 years) of supervised work experience under a certified clinical supervisor.
An associate degree in a human services or behavioral science discipline substitutes for 1,000 of the 6,000 hours.
The CAC requires a bachelor's and the LAC a master's, with 4,000 and 2,000 supervised hours respectively.
Both work only under a licensed addiction counselor or a qualified mental health professional, whom they must register with the board, with supervisory contact that is regular and documented.
The supervised work experience itself must be provided by a certified clinical supervisor (CCS) with a minimum of one contact hour per week; if no CCS is available, you may apply to ADRA for a waiver.
Neither credential may render a diagnostic impression.
The sources read do not say.
The statutes forbid the CAC and RAC from rendering a diagnostic impression and say nothing either way about the LAC, whose defined scope is making referrals, counseling family members, and using the KSAs and core functions of addictive disorder counseling.
The rule also bars every addictive disorder counselor from ordering, administering or interpreting psychological tests.
Ask ADRA before assuming diagnosis authority sits inside the LAC scope.
Not directly into the state credentials.
IC&RC reciprocity runs only between IC&RC member boards, and Louisiana's member is LASACT, a private certification body — ADRA is not one.
An IC&RC transfer therefore gets you a LASACT credential, not an LAC, CAC or RAC.
For the state credentials, La.
R.S.
37:3390.2 lets ADRA grant a credential without examination to a holder of a valid out-of-state credential it finds substantially equivalent, and ADRA decides which credential and scope you receive.
There is no NAADAC-to-IC&RC reciprocity.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA), the state agency under La.
R.S.
37:3386.2.