Michigan licenses no substance abuse counselors.
The credentials that count are private certifications from the Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals (MCBAP), an IC&RC member board, and the requirement to hold one comes from MDHHS policy covering the publicly funded PIHP network: treatment staff qualify through an MCBAP credential, an approved equivalent, a development plan, a PIHP exception plan — or licensure in a listed profession working within its scope.
This page walks the path — the DP-C plan, the CADC and CAADC certifications, hours, exams and renewal.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A registered development plan (DP-C, which MCBAP states is not a credential) leading to the CADC and CAADC counselor certifications, with the CCS and CCS-M clinical supervisor certifications above; the MDHHS chart also lists CADC-M, CCJP, CCDP and CCDP-D as acceptable for Treatment Specialists.
Private certification by the Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals (MCBAP), an IC&RC member board — no state licence exists.
The requirement runs through an MDHHS policy (issued 2022-08-15, effective 2022-10-01) covering the publicly funded PIHP network.
CADC: high school diploma or GED — associate, bachelor's or master's degrees in listed disciplines reduce the experience hours.
CAADC: a master's or higher in an approved discipline (counseling, psychology, social work, addiction studies, art therapy, marriage and family therapy).
CADC: 6,000 work hours (high school/GED), 5,000 (listed associate), 4,000 (listed bachelor's) or 2,000 (master's or higher) within the last 10 years, plus 300/250/200/100 supervision hours with at least 10 in each domain.
CAADC: 2,000 work hours plus 100 supervision hours.
The IC&RC exam for the credential sought — ADC for the CADC, AADC for the CAADC — with a 90-day wait after a failed attempt; education, experience and exam must all fall within the previous 10 years.
Certification confers no scope of practice: MDHHS requires PIHP providers to comply with state health care licensing scope-of-practice and supervision requirements.
Whether the credential carries diagnosis authority: Not stated in the sources read.
The policy's Substance Abuse Treatment Specialist definition includes a licensure route — MD/DO, PA, NP, RN, LPN, LP, LLP, TLLP, LPC, LLC, LMFT, LLMFT, LMSW, LLMSW, LBSW and LLBSW holders qualify while working within their licence's specified scope — and states that MD/DO/PA/NP/RN/LPN staff not providing treatment beyond their licence's scope need no MCBAP credential at all.
Whether any requirement applies outside the public-funded network: Not stated in the sources read.
MCBAP is the Michigan IC&RC member board; its CADC maps to the IC&RC ADC and its CAADC to the AADC, so IC&RC transfers run through MCBAP.
Initial applicants must live or work in Michigan at least 51% of the time.
Every credential expires after two or three years — a cycle chosen once on first renewal and permanently locked: 40 CE hours on the two-year cycle or 60 on the three-year, at least 50% specific to the credential's performance domains.
A registered development plan, not a credential — MCBAP's development-plan page says plainly that a DP is a time-limited agreement between an employee and their employer.
Under the MDHHS policy, an employee on a registered, timely development plan meets the credential requirement across the PIHP network while working toward certification; the MDHHS policy says in general a full-time clinical staff person has up to a three-year plan and part-time staff up to a six-year plan, and MCBAP adds that those working part time may be given additional time.
The plan is a bridge to MCBAP's limited counselor certification or the full credential, both of which require the IC&RC exam; MCBAP describes the Limited Certified Counselor step as time-limited, not renewable, and does not require it for the full credential.
Plans are employer-specific and do not transfer.
The entry counselor credential — a private board certification from MCBAP, an IC&RC member board, not a state licence.
High school/GED floor, 300 education hours (180 SUD-specific, 6 ethics), work experience of 6,000 hours at the high school/GED level down to 2,000 with a master's or higher, all within the last 10 years, plus supervision hours from 300 down to 100 and the IC&RC ADC exam.
The advanced private certification: a master's or higher in an approved discipline (counseling, psychology, social work, addiction studies, art therapy, marriage and family therapy), 186 education hours (180 SUD-specific, 6 ethics), 2,000 hours of work experience plus 100 supervision hours, and the IC&RC AADC exam.
Still a certification, not a licence.
The supervisor certification: a master's or higher in an approved discipline, 6,000 work hours including 4,000 of clinical supervisor experience, a current active MCBAP CADC or CAADC to apply (the requirements state Michigan-only credentials are not eligible for a CCS), 200 post-master's supervision hours with at least 10 in each domain, and 30 education hours, five per IC&RC domain.
Michigan issues no substance abuse counselor licence, and the sources read found no statute or rule creating a credential requirement.
The obligation is MDHHS policy: across the PIHP publicly funded network, its Substance Abuse Treatment Specialist definition lists the routes that satisfy it — an MCBAP or IC&RC credential from the chart (CADC-M, CADC, CAADC, CCJP, CCDP, CCDP-D), a registered development plan, a time-limited PIHP exception plan (120 days initially), an approved alternative certification (UMICAD, ASAM for medical doctors, an APA addiction specialty for psychologists), or licensure as an MD/DO, PA, NP, RN, LPN, LP/LLP/TLLP, LPC/LLC, LMFT/LLMFT or LMSW/LLMSW/LBSW/LLBSW holder working within the licence's specified scope.
Every MCBAP rung is a private certification from an IC&RC member board, never a state credential.
The reach is also bounded: MD/DO/PA/NP/RN/LPN staff not providing treatment beyond their licence's scope are Specifically Focused Treatment Staff needing no MCBAP credential, and case-manager, recovery-support and ancillary staff need no MCBAP certification but must be supervised by MCBAP-certified staff.
Whether anything is required outside the publicly funded network: not located in the sources read.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“Certification requirements apply to the entire PIHP provider network for services directed to the prevention and treatment of substance use disorders.”
The CADC rests on a high school diploma or GED plus 300 education hours — 180 specific to SUD, up to 120 related and/or specific, and 6 of ethics — all within the previous 10 years of application; keep attendance certificates, since the document sets proof-of-attendance requirements.
Development plans carry their own entry education: 6 hours of ethics within 90 days (3 on professional boundaries, 2 on the ethics code and 1 on 42 CFR Part 2 confidentiality), and DP applicants attest they will complete 180 SUD-specific and 120 related hours and pass the IC&RC exam to earn the full CADC.
The CAADC requires a master's or higher in an approved discipline plus 186 education hours with the same 180 SUD-specific and 6 ethics split.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“300 total education hours required. Of those: 180 must be specific to SUD; 120 hours may be related and/or specific to SUD; 6 hours of ethics.”
Work-experience hours scale with education: 6,000 at the high school/GED floor, 5,000 with a listed associate degree, 4,000 with a listed bachelor's, and 2,000 with a master's or higher in an approved discipline — all providing counseling to those with SUD.
Hours must have occurred within the last 10 years, paid or volunteer, and one year of full-time work equates to 2,000 hours, so the high school floor represents three years of full-time counseling work and the master's floor one.
Approved disciplines at the associate and bachelor's levels include counseling, psychology, social work, addiction studies, art therapy, marriage and family therapy, criminal justice, human services, nursing, public health and sociology.
The CAADC takes 2,000 hours within the same 10-year window.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“One year of full-time work experience equates to 2,000 hours.”
The CADC examines with the IC&RC ADC exam and the CAADC with the AADC; the CCJP-M is the only credential whose applicants are exempt.
Education, work experience and the exam must each fall within the previous 10 years of application.
Candidates register at least 6 weeks before the exam date and choose remote or in-person testing.
A failed attempt carries a 90-day wait before retesting.
Once an application is complete, an MCBAP Certification Specialist reviews it within 42 business days, with any requested updates due within 45 days — so build the calendar around both windows.
CADC supervision runs from 300 hours at the high school/GED floor to 250 with a listed associate, 200 with a listed bachelor's and 100 with a master's or higher, spread across the IC&RC performance domains with a minimum of 10 hours in each.
For hours toward the full credential, the supervisor must hold one of the listed credentials: CCS-DP, CCS, CCS-M, LMSW, LPC, LP or LLP — so both MCBAP clinical supervisors and certain state licensees can sign.
Development-plan supervision is narrower: the DP application requires that the SUD supervisor hold the CCS, a CCS-M or a CCS development plan — the MDHHS policy words it as a supervisor with a CCS-M, CCS or a DP-S — so the LMSW/LPC/LP/LLP options do not sign for a DP-C holder.
For a candidate choosing a placement, the check is concrete: confirm before starting that the prospective supervisor holds the credential your route needs, because hours signed by anyone else do not count.
MCBAP certification is a credential, not a licence, and carries no scope of practice of its own: the policy says MCBAP's requirements do not replace or supersede state licensure scope-of-practice and supervision requirements for health professionals such as social workers, counselors and psychologists, and MDHHS separately requires PIHP providers to recognize and comply with those state requirements.
Within the network, all services provided by a Substance Abuse Treatment Specialist or Practitioner must be performed under appropriate supervision for billing to occur.
Whether the certification itself carries diagnosis authority: Not stated in the sources read.
Practically, an MCBAP-certified counselor who also holds an LMSW, LPC or similar licence practises — and diagnoses, where that licence authorizes it — under that licence's scope, not the certification's.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“The MCBAP certification requirements do not replace or supersede state licensure scope of practice and supervision requirements for health care professionals such as social workers, counselors, or psychologists.”
MCBAP is Michigan's IC&RC member board, and its counselor certifications are the IC&RC credentials: the CADC maps to the IC&RC ADC and the CAADC to the AADC.
A counselor credentialed by another IC&RC member board therefore moves through MCBAP's reciprocal process rather than any state endorsement — Michigan has no state licence to endorse into.
At initial application, MCBAP requires that applicants live or work in Michigan at least 51% of the time.
Credentials from bodies outside IC&RC do not transfer by reciprocity; NAADAC-issued credentials are not IC&RC reciprocal, and the policy's only named equivalents are UMICAD for treatment, CHES for prevention, ASAM for medical doctors and an APA addiction specialty for psychologists.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“Applicants must live or work 51% of the time in the State of Michigan at the time of initial application.”
Every MCBAP credential expires either two or three years from the date of certification.
On your first Certemy renewal you choose the cycle and are permanently locked into it: 60 CE hours on the three-year cycle or 40 on the two-year, at least 50% specific to the credential's performance domains, no course counted twice within 12 months, and home study acceptable for 100% of the hours.
Renewal fees are $145.00 for a two-year and $200 for a three-year renewal, waived for professionals over 65 with documentation.
A 180-day late window allows renewal with 20 hours of CE per year since the last period began, a re-signed Code of Ethics, the renewal fee and a late fee; after 180 days the credential is lost and you reapply as if you never held it.
CCS and CCS-M renewals additionally require a current active CADC or CAADC and 3 hours per year in the clinical supervision domains.
“sixty (60) hours of continuing education when holding a three (3) year certification or forty (40) hours of continuing education when holding a two (2) year certification 50% must be specific.”
The operative MDHHS policy took effect 2022-10-01, just before this series' 2023 amendment window, and no later policy version appears in the sources read.
MCBAP's credential requirements document carries a September 2026 upload date, so the board's figures on this page are the current ones as read.
The development-plan page adds the structural rule most likely to surprise new entrants: applicants without a degree in behavioral health must first hold MCBAP CPRM certification or an MDHHS State Certified Recovery Coach certification for at least two years before becoming eligible for the CADC development plan.
“must be certified by MCBAP as a Peer Recovery Mentor (CPRM) or an MDHHS State Certified Recovery Coach for at least two years before being eligible for the CADC DP.”
Two limits define this page.
First, the requirement is funding policy, not law: it binds the PIHP publicly funded network, and whether any credential is required to practise SUD counseling in private-pay settings is not located in the sources read, nor is any state statute or administrative rule.
Second, the development plan is employment, not a credential: employer-specific, non-transferable, and not renewable, with eligibility barred for those who already hold an MCBAP specialty credential or have held the same DP in the past 7 years.
If you change employers you must notify MCBAP to pause the plan and refile with the new sponsor, which may not change the expiration date.
MCBAP does not require a DP to obtain a full credential — direct CADC applicants skip it — and an expired DP can put employment in jeopardy, since the policy no longer treats it as meeting the requirement.
“A DP is a time-limited agreement between an employee and their employer. It is not a credential.”
This page summarizes the Michigan statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals (MCBAP) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency; Michigan issues no SUD-counselor licence, and the staff-qualification requirement comes from MDHHS policy publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Michigan.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals (MCBAP) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency; Michigan issues no SUD-counselor licence, and the staff-qualification requirement comes from MDHHS policy before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Michigan that asks for it.
No. Michigan issues no SUD-counselor licence, and the sources read found no state statute or rule creating one.
The credentials that count are private certifications from MCBAP, an IC&RC member board.
The obligation to hold one comes from an MDHHS funding policy covering the publicly funded PIHP network, where the Substance Abuse Treatment Specialist routes are an MCBAP credential, an approved equivalent, a registered development plan, a PIHP exception plan — or licensure in a listed profession working within its scope.
Whether anything is required outside that network: not located in the sources read — check individual employers and payers.
Yes.
The education floor is a high school diploma or GED, which pairs with 6,000 hours of SUD counseling work within the last 10 years; a listed associate lowers that to 5,000 hours, a bachelor's to 4,000 and a master's to 2,000, alongside 300 education hours and supervision hours scaling from 300 down to 100.
Applicants without a behavioral-health degree who want to start on a development plan must first hold CPRM or MDHHS State Certified Recovery Coach certification for two years.
A Development Plan – Counselor: a time-limited agreement between an employee and their employer, registered with MCBAP, which the board states plainly is not a credential.
Under the MDHHS policy, a registered, timely DP-C satisfies the credential requirement in the PIHP network while the employee works toward the CADC — attesting to 180 SUD-specific education hours, the IC&RC exam and more.
It is employer-specific, does not transfer, and under the MDHHS policy's general rule full-time staff have up to three years on it and part-time staff six — MCBAP adds that those working part time may be given additional time.
The certification does not answer that: diagnosis authority is not addressed in the sources read, and MCBAP certification confers no scope of practice.
The MDHHS policy requires PIHP providers to comply with state health care licensing scope-of-practice and supervision requirements, and says in terms that MCBAP's requirements do not replace or supersede them.
A counselor who also holds an LMSW, LPC or similar licence diagnoses, where authorized, under that licence — not the certification.
Yes, through the member board.
MCBAP is Michigan's IC&RC member, and its CADC and CAADC are the IC&RC ADC and AADC credentials, so counselors certified by another IC&RC member board transfer through MCBAP's reciprocal process — there is no state endorsement because there is no state licence.
Initial applicants must live or work in Michigan at least 51% of the time.
NAADAC-issued credentials are not IC&RC reciprocal.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals (MCBAP) — a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency; Michigan issues no SUD-counselor licence, and the staff-qualification requirement comes from MDHHS policy.