Missouri does not license substance abuse counselors.
The credentials that matter are private certifications from the Missouri Credentialing Board (MCB), an IC&RC member board: MAADC I and II, the CADC, and the reciprocal CRADC and CRAADC.
Work hours must fall within the last 10 years; the CADC, CRADC and CRAADC, and MAADC II on the high-school and associate tracks, add a 300-hour supervised practicum.
What pulls these credentials into required territory is a DMH program rule: a majority of counseling staff in certified programs must be Qualified Addiction Professionals.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
MAADC I, MAADC II, CADC, CRADC and CRAADC on the counseling ladder, plus the RADC-P provisional registration; CCJP, CCDP, CCDP-D and RADC are listed but marked (NA) β not currently offered.
Private certification by the Missouri Credentialing Board, an IC&RC member board β Missouri issues no SUD counselor licence.
The state grip is a program rule: 9 CSR 30-3 requires a majority of counseling staff in DMH-certified programs to be Qualified Addiction Professionals (QAPs).
MAADC I: high school or associate.
MAADC II: any level (the high-school and associate tracks carry the 90 education hours).
CADC and CRADC: high school diploma/HSE floor, with hours falling by degree.
CRAADC: master's.
RADC-P: bachelor's or master's.
Work hours within the last 10 years β CADC: 4,000/3,000/2,000/1,000 (HS/associate/bachelor's/master's); CRADC: 6,000/5,000/4,000/2,000; CRAADC: 2,000 (master's); MAADC II: 2,000/1,000/none; MAADC I: 160/none; RADC-P: 6,000+/4,000+.
The CADC, CRADC and CRAADC, and MAADC II on the high-school and associate tracks, add a 300-hour supervised practicum; the bachelor's and master's MAADC II rows and RADC-P show Practicum None.
The Career Ladder marks the IC&RC test Yes for the CADC, CRADC and CRAADC and No for MAADC I, MAADC II and RADC-P; the reciprocal rungs map to the IC&RC ADC (CRADC) and AADC (CRAADC).
Whether an MCB-certified counselor may diagnose or practise independently: Not stated in the sources read.
In DMH-certified programs, an associate counselor works under the supervisor's authority and the rule gates diagnosis to a licensed diagnostician.
9 CSR 10-7.140(2)(RR) defines qualified substance abuse professional to include a physician or qualified mental health professional licensed or provisionally licensed in Missouri, or a person certified or registered as a substance abuse professional by the Missouri Credentialing Board.
MCB is the IC&RC member board, and reciprocity reaches the CRADC (ADC) and CRAADC (AADC); the CADC is Missouri-level, so holding it is not holding a reciprocal credential.
CADC, CRADC and CRAADC: 40 hours every 2 years, including 6 ethics.
MAADC II: 20 hours annually.
MAADC I: no CE listed β holders must upgrade or reapply before it expires.
A private Missouri-level credential from MCB, not a licence: the entry rung needs 160 work hours with a high school diploma or none with an associate degree, plus 3 ethics hours, a professional development contract and supervisor agreement β and no IC&RC exam, with no CE listed for renewal.
A private MCB credential, not a licence: work hours fall from 2,000 (high school) to 1,000 (associate) to none (bachelor's or master's).
The high-school and associate tracks carry 90 education hours including 3 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months, plus the 300-hour supervised practicum; with a bachelor's or master's it is 3 ethics hours, no practicum and no IC&RC exam.
MCB's private counselor certification β and despite the letters, it is Missouri-level, not the IC&RC reciprocal credential: work hours run 4,000/3,000/2,000/1,000 by degree, with 180 education hours, 6 ethics, a 300-hour practicum and the IC&RC test.
MCB's IC&RC reciprocal credential at the ADC level: work hours run 6,000/5,000/4,000/2,000 by degree, with 300 education hours, 6 ethics, a 300-hour practicum and the IC&RC test.
This β not the CADC β is the rung IC&RC reciprocity reaches.
MCB's advanced IC&RC reciprocal credential at the AADC level, open on the master's page only: 2,000 work hours, 180 education hours, 6 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months, a 300-hour practicum and the IC&RC test.
A provisional registration from MCB, not a licence: the Career Ladder lists it for bachelor's holders at 6,000+ work hours and master's holders at 4,000+, with 3 ethics hours, no IC&RC test and no renewal β it is only valid for 2 years.
The Career Ladder names the counseling rungs MAADC I, MAADC II, CADC, CRADC and CRAADC, with RADC-P as a provisional registration; every one is a private certification from MCB, and none is a state licence.
What gives them legal bite is 9 CSR 30-3, the DMH program-certification rule: a majority of staff who provide individual and group counseling in a certified program must be QAPs, and an associate counselor (AAC) must meet the requirements of the Missouri Credentialing Board or of the appropriate board of professional registration within the Department of Commerce and Insurance.
CCJP, CCDP, CCDP-D and RADC still appear on the ladder but are marked (NA) β not currently offered.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βCADC, CRADC, CRAADC, CCJP, CCDP, CCDP-D, RADC, and RADC-P are considered Qualified Addiction Professional Credentialsβ
MAADC I asks for 3 ethics hours.
MAADC II asks for 90 hours including 3 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months on the high school and associate tracks, or just 3 ethics hours with a bachelor's or master's.
The CADC needs 180 hours with 6 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months, the CRADC 300 with 6 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months, and the CRAADC 180 with 6 ethics and 20 in the last 12 months.
Degrees count only from a school in the US Department of Education's accreditation database, and the ladder's accepted list runs to 14 fields β psychology, social work, criminal justice, sociology, chemical dependency, counseling, nursing, human services, art therapy, family therapy, applied behavioral science, education, communication and public health.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
β180 Hrs/6 Hrs Ethics/20 Hrs in last 12 monthsβ
The ladder's work-experience column is keyed to the 10 years before MCB receives your application, so hours older than that do nothing for you; a counselor who let a career lapse should count forward from the decade mark before applying.
From there the totals step down by degree: CADC 4,000 with high school, 3,000 with an associate, 2,000 with a bachelor's, 1,000 with a master's; CRADC 6,000/5,000/4,000/2,000; CRAADC 2,000 on the master's track; MAADC II 2,000/1,000/none; MAADC I 160 or none; RADC-P 6,000+ or 4,000+.
Separately, the CADC, CRADC and CRAADC, and MAADC II on the high-school and associate tracks, require a 300-hour supervised practicum on a form completed by an MCB Qualified Supervisor β the ladder shows Practicum None for MAADC II with a bachelor's or master's, and for RADC-P.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βWork experience obtained in the last 10 years prior to the day the MCB receives your application.β
The ladder's IC&RC Test column marks Yes for the CADC, CRADC and CRAADC and No for MAADC I, MAADC II and RADC-P, so the associate tiers and the provisional registration are reached without an exam.
The reciprocity mapping in the research ties the CRADC to the IC&RC ADC and the CRAADC to the IC&RC AADC.
The name of the exam as MCB administers it is not stated in the sources read β confirm the current testing arrangement with MCB before you schedule.
For an associate counselor choosing where to practise, the DMH rule defines the relationship: the supervisor reviews and countersigns the AAC's documentation, including the initial treatment plan, treatment plan updates and discharge summaries.
Unless otherwise required by these rules, supervision of counselors must be provided by a QAP who has a degree from an accredited college in an approved field of study, or 4 or more years of employment experience in the treatment and rehabilitation of persons with substance use disorders.
On the certification side, the practicum form for the CADC, CRADC and CRAADC β and for MAADC II on the high-school and associate tracks β must be completed by an MCB Qualified Supervisor, so pick a supervisor who can sign MCB paperwork, not just a workplace mentor.
βAll counselor functions performed by an AAC shall be performed pursuant to the supervisor's authority, oversight, guidance, and full professional responsibilityβ
No practice-protection statute governs these counselors; the operative rule is program certification.
In DMH-certified programs, 9 CSR 30-3.100(2) requires a diagnosis of a substance use disorder by a licensed diagnostician; the rule's list of who may render a diagnosis does not include QAPs, and a master's-level QAP or QMHP appears only in the signature route β a face-to-face meeting followed by sign off by a licensed diagnostician.
Outpatient programs add that treatment plans must be developed and approved by a licensed mental health professional or a QAP (9 CSR 30-3.195(3)(E)).
Whether an MCB-certified counselor may diagnose or practise independently outside that program structure is not stated in the sources read.
The definitions also drift: 9 CSR 30-3 speaks of QAPs, while the current 9 CSR 10-7.140 prints the definition under the name qualified substance abuse professional, covering the licensed-professional and MCB-certified routes.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βA majority of the program's staff who provide individual and group counseling shall be Qualified Addiction Professionals (QAP)β
MCB is the IC&RC member board for Missouri, and its reciprocal credentials are the CRADC at the ADC level and the CRAADC at the AADC level.
A counselor certified at the ADC or AADC level by another IC&RC member board is therefore looking at the CRADC or CRAADC β not the CADC, which is Missouri-level and does not travel in either direction as a reciprocal credential.
Check the credential you hold and the level your current board issued it at before you apply; MCB's applications page is the place to confirm what documentation your route needs.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βCRADC (ADC) and CRAADC (AADC) are the reciprocal credentials; CADC is Missouri-levelβ
The CADC, CRADC and CRAADC renew with 40 total hours including 6 ethics every other year, per MCB's renewal requirements; the ladder's renewal column shows the same 40 Hours - 2 Years.
MAADC II renews annually with 20 hours including 3 ethics, and MAADC I carries no CE β its holders must upgrade to a higher credential or reapply before expiration.
Ethics hours no longer have to be live, and first-time renewal hours are individualized based on when in the cycle you were initially credentialed, so read MCB's renewal letter rather than assuming a full 40.
βAfter renewing the first time, this list represents the number of hours that will be needed to continue renewing your credential every other year.β
The Career Ladder this page rests on is the revision dated March 17, 2026, and MCB revised the CADC and CRADC applications in February 2025, so figures and forms newer than older guides are already in circulation.
On the state side, 9 CSR 30-3 was printed current to February 28, 2026; the rule carrying today's counseling-staff provisions was rescinded and readopted effective December 30, 2021, before the 2023-2026 window, so no recent statutory-style amendment is recorded for Missouri.
This page summarizes the Missouri statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Missouri Credentialing Board (MCB) β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Missouri.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Missouri Credentialing Board (MCB) β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Missouri that asks for it.
No. Missouri issues no SUD counselor licence; the credentials are private certifications from the Missouri Credentialing Board, an IC&RC member board.
The state's grip is program certification: 9 CSR 30-3 requires a majority of counseling staff who provide individual and group counseling in DMH-certified programs to be Qualified Addiction Professionals, which the MCB counseling credentials satisfy.
Confirm current requirements with MCB and DMH.
No β this is Missouri's naming trap.
The CADC is MCB's Missouri-level certification; the reciprocal credential is the CRADC, which maps to the IC&RC ADC, and the CRAADC maps to the IC&RC AADC.
Reciprocity runs between IC&RC member boards, so an IC&RC ADC holder moving to Missouri applies at the CRADC level.
Verify your current credential's level with MCB before applying.
The Career Ladder counts work experience obtained in the last 10 years prior to the day MCB receives your application.
Hours older than a decade do not count toward totals like the CADC's 4,000 (high school) down to 1,000 (master's).
If you are returning to the field after a break, rebuild recent hours before applying, and keep documentation for the 300-hour supervised practicum.
Yes, inside DMH-certified programs and under supervision.
The rule allows an associate counselor (AAC) to provide counseling if they meet the requirements of the Missouri Credentialing Board or of the appropriate board of professional registration within the Department of Commerce and Insurance, and every counselor function they perform runs through the supervisor's authority and responsibility.
The supervisor also countersigns the AAC's treatment plans, updates and discharge summaries, so a supervisory agreement is part of the job from day one.
Yes.
The CADC and CRADC start at a high school diploma or HSE, with higher work-hour totals instead: 4,000 hours for the CADC and 6,000 for the CRADC, plus their education hours and the 300-hour practicum.
Degrees shrink the hours rather than open a door that is otherwise closed.
Confirm the current figures and forms on MCB's credential pages before you apply.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Missouri Credentialing Board (MCB) β a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.