🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Nebraska: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Nebraska licenses substance abuse counselors under the Alcohol and Drug Counseling Practice Act, and the licence is required to engage in alcohol and drug counseling or use the counselor title.

You start as a Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor with a high school diploma, 270 hours of education and 300 hours of supervised practical training, then log 6,000 hours of paid clinical work experience and pass a board-approved exam to reach the full Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor.

DHHS's Licensure Unit administers both tiers on the Board's recommendation.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Nebraska, that is the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, on the recommendation of the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling.

At a glance

Credential tiers

Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor (PLADC) leading to the Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC).

Both tiers are licences, not certificates.

Type and issuing body

A state licence under the Alcohol and Drug Counseling Practice Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-303 to 38-321, issued by DHHS on the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling's recommendation.

Degree floor

A high school diploma or its equivalent for both tiers; no college degree is required.

A degree instead substitutes for part of the LADC's supervised-hours total.

Supervised hours

PLADC: 300 hours of practical training across the core functions.

LADC: 6,000 hours of paid, polydrug supervised clinical work experience, capped at 2,000 hours per year, with one optional degree substitution.

Exams

A passing score on a board-approved examination.

DHHS's page requires an active Provisional License before a candidate is eligible to sit for the IC&RC exam.

Scope and diagnosis

Clinical evaluation includes diagnosis of alcohol and drug disorders, but not mental health assessment or treatment; co-occurring clients must be referred out unless already under an appropriate practitioner's care.

Whether a full LADC may practice independently: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

Qualified members of other credentialed professions may practise alcohol and drug counseling consistent with their own scope, alongside six more narrow exemptions in § 38-312.

IC&RC reciprocity

DHHS is an IC&RC member board for the LADC at the reciprocity-eligible ADC level; AADC holders from other member boards reciprocate at ADC.

NAADAC's national certifications are separate and voluntary, and IC&RC states there is no reciprocal agreement between NAADAC and IC&RC boards.

Renewal & CE

Licenses expire September 1 of every even-numbered year.

40 hours of continuing education per 24-month period, at least 20 of them alcohol- and drug-specific.

The Nebraska credential ladder

  1. Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor(PLADC)Pre-licensure

    A licence, not a registration: it authorizes supervised practice while the counselor completes the 6,000 hours toward full licensure, and can be held once for up to six years (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-313(2)).

  2. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor(LADC)Independent

    The full state licence, required to engage in alcohol and drug counseling or hold yourself out as an alcohol and drug counselor; an LADC may also serve as a practical-training or clinical supervisor (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-312, 38-315, 38-317).

Two licence tiers: provisional, then full

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-312, 38-313(2)

Nebraska's Alcohol and Drug Counseling Practice Act makes both of its credentials licences, not certificates: the Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor (PLADC) and the full Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC).

Section 38-312 bars engaging in alcohol and drug counseling, or holding yourself out as an alcohol and drug counselor, without either licence — a bar that is not limited to paid work — subject only to the exemptions the Act lists.

Provisional status is meant to be temporary: DHHS can grant it once for up to six years, and issues a second provisional licence only when unforeseen circumstances kept the counselor from finishing in time.

A provisional counselor also carries a disclosure duty a fully licensed counselor does not: telling every client the licence is provisional and supervised, and naming the supervisor.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“No person shall engage in alcohol and drug counseling or hold himself or herself out as an alcohol and drug counselor unless he or she is licensed for such purpose pursuant to the Uniform Credentialing Act”

270 hours across eight required topics

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-314(1)-(2)

Both PLADC and LADC applicants need only a high school diploma or its equivalent; Nebraska sets no minimum college degree for either licence.

What it does set is 270 hours of coursework, made up of eight named topics with their own hour minimums that add up to the full total: counseling theories and techniques, group counseling, human growth and development, professional ethics, assessment/case planning/case management, multicultural counseling, medical and psychosocial aspects of use and addiction, and clinical treatment issues.

Because no degree is required, an applicant should map coursework against each named topic's own minimum, not just the 270-hour sum, since a shortfall in one topic isn't cured by surplus hours in another.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“two hundred seventy hours of education related to the knowledge and skills of alcohol and drug counseling”

300 provisional hours, then 6,000 paid hours for the LADC — but not just any hours

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-314(3), 38-316(1)-(5)

The PLADC requires 300 hours of supervised practical training across the counselor core functions, with no single function performed for fewer than 10 hours.

The LADC requires 6,000 hours of supervised clinical work experience — paid and polydrug rather than limited to one substance — capped at 40 hours a week or 2,000 a year.

The hours must come from carrying a client caseload as the primary counselor performing assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case management, referral, reports and record keeping, and consultation with other professionals, plus responsibility for the other core functions even if not performed for every client.

Hours don't count from prevention, intervention, or codependency services for clients without a diagnosed alcohol or drug disorder, or from work lacking primary case responsibility or responsibility for all core functions.

An accredited postsecondary degree may substitute for part of the total — an associate's in addictions or chemical dependency for 1,000 hours, a bachelor's or master's-or-higher with a major in counseling, addictions, social work, sociology, or psychology for 2,000 or 4,000 hours — but only one substitution may apply.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“six thousand hours of supervised clinical work experience providing alcohol and drug counseling services to alcohol and other drug clients for remuneration”

A board-approved exam, with the IC&RC named on DHHS's page

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-316(1); Nebraska DHHS Alcohol and Drug Counselor page

The statute itself requires only a passing score on an examination the board approves, without naming an exam.

DHHS's licensing page fills that in for applicants: it lists IC&RC examination eligibility and requires an active Provisional License before a candidate can be registered for the exam.

That sequencing matters for planning — a counselor cannot sit for the exam ahead of being granted provisional status, so the provisional licence has to come first regardless of how far along the education and training hours are.

“In order to take the examination, you must: Have an active Provisional License”

Two supervisor roles, not a separate supervisor credential

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-315(1)-(2), 38-317(1)-(2)

Nebraska names two supervisor roles rather than issuing a separate supervisor credential, and the two roles don't share one credential list.

The practical training supervisor overseeing a PLADC applicant's 300 hours must hold Nebraska LADC licensure, or physician or psychologist licensure with board-determined training, or — only for training completed outside Nebraska — a reciprocity-level IC&RC credential; the supervisor cannot be a family member.

The clinical supervisor overseeing the 6,000-hour LADC experience adds a fourth option the practical-training list lacks: the highest-level credential from a jurisdiction that isn't an IC&RC member, if the board finds its education, experience, and exam substantially similar to Nebraska's own licence.

A clinical supervisor must also be formally affiliated with the program or agency where the work experience is gained, and — separately from the practical training supervisor's own bar — cannot be a family member either.

Supervision intensity differs by stage: one hour of face-to-face evaluative supervision for every 10 hours of practical training, versus one hour for every 40 hours of paid clinical work.

“The practical training supervisor shall not be a family member.”

Diagnosis of alcohol and drug disorders, not mental health treatment

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-311(1)-(2)

The scope-of-practice statute states plainly that clinical evaluation includes diagnosis of alcohol and drug disorders, built on the twelve core functions the Act defines.

That authority has a hard boundary: clinical evaluation does not include mental health assessment or treatment, and a counselor who sees a client with a co-occurring mental disorder must refer that client out, unless the client is already under the care of, or previously assessed or diagnosed by, an appropriate practitioner.

The statute does not say whether a fully licensed LADC may practice independently outside of supervision; that question is not stated in the sources read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“Clinical evaluation does not include mental health assessment or treatment.”

Moving to Nebraska, and why NAADAC alone doesn't transfer

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-319; IC&RC member-board directory (_icrc-member-boards.txt)

Section 38-319 gives DHHS, on the Board's recommendation, three routes to license someone credentialed elsewhere: meeting the Act's own requirements, meeting requirements DHHS determines are substantially equivalent, or holding a current out-of-state licence or certification together with at least 270 hours of alcohol and drug counseling education, at least three years of full-time practice after that initial credential, and a passing score on an alcohol and drug counseling exam.

Separately, IC&RC's own member-board directory lists NE-DHHS as Nebraska's member board, with the LADC as its sole reciprocal credential, offered at the ADC level — so an AADC holder from another IC&RC member board can reciprocate in at ADC, since NE-DHHS doesn't offer an AADC reciprocal tier of its own.

NAADAC's national certifications sit outside that system: NAADAC and IC&RC are separate, unaffiliated organizations, and IC&RC states there is no reciprocal agreement between the two, so a NAADAC credential alone does not transfer into a Nebraska licence through IC&RC reciprocity.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“holds a license or certification that is current in another jurisdiction that authorizes the applicant to provide alcohol and drug counseling, has at least two hundred seventy hours of alcohol and drug counseling education, has at least three years of full-time alcohol and drug counseling practice following initial licensure or certification in the other jurisdiction, and has passed an alcohol and drug counseling examination”

Renewal every even year, with a 20-hour subject floor

📜 Nebraska DHHS Alcohol and Drug Counselor page

Every Nebraska alcohol and drug counselor licence, provisional or full, expires September 1 of each even-numbered year regardless of when it was issued, so a counselor licensed shortly before that date holds a shorter first cycle than one licensed just after it.

DHHS requires 40 hours of continuing education during the preceding 24-month period, with at least 20 of those hours specific to alcohol and drug content and up to the other 20 as general coursework.

“40 hours of continuing education during the preceding 24-month period”

LB905 touches the supervisor sections, but not what changed

📜 Laws 2026, LB905, §§ 6-7 (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 38-315, 38-317); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-318(2), Laws 2022, LB752

Nebraska's 2026 legislature passed LB905, amending both supervisor sections — the practical training supervisor rule at § 38-315 and the clinical supervisor rule at § 38-317 — operative July 1, 2026.

The statute text read for this page is the post-amendment version, but what LB905 actually changed in those sections was not established in the sources read, so don't assume a shift in who may supervise without checking the enrolled bill directly.

Section 38-318 carries its own deeming provision: a provisional mental health practitioner, mental health practitioner, or Counseling Compact privilege-holder is deemed — by that status alone, without separately documenting the coursework — to have met five of the § 38-314(2) education subdivisions.

The source line lists 2022's LB752 as the only later amendment to § 38-318, but as with LB905, the sources read show just the current text plus that citation, not the enrolled bill, so exactly what LB752 changed there is likewise not established here.

“Operative Date: July 1, 2026”

Seven exemptions, including self-help leaders and rehab staff

📜 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-312(1)-(7)

Beyond the exemption for other credentialed professionals within their own scope, the Act carves out six more situations, each with its own condition.

Teaching or research is exempt only when it doesn't involve delivering or supervising counseling to the people who are themselves its intended beneficiaries.

Students, interns, and residents in a qualifying course of study are exempt with no stated supervision condition; postgraduate licensure candidates are separate, exempt only while supervised by a licensed professional under the appropriate board's regulations.

Clergy are exempt only if they do not represent themselves as alcohol and drug counselors.

The self-help exemption is narrow: it covers incidental advice or support, including unpaid group leaders, only for people who don't represent themselves or their group's services as alcohol and drug counseling.

Emergency crisis intervention or referral is exempt outright.

Staff in a state-designated rehabilitation program are exempt only for completing a rehabilitation assessment or preparing, implementing, and evaluating an individual rehabilitation plan — not a blanket exemption for other counseling work they might do.

“The incidental exchange of advice or support by persons who do not represent themselves as engaging in alcohol and drug counseling, including participation in self-help groups when the leaders of such groups receive no compensation for their participation and do not represent themselves as alcohol and drug counselors or their services as alcohol and drug counseling”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Nebraska statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, on the recommendation of the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Nebraska.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, on the recommendation of the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Nebraska that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Nebraska?

Yes.

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-312 requires a licence to engage in alcohol and drug counseling or hold yourself out as a counselor, a bar that isn't limited to paid work.

The Act exempts several situations, among others: credentialed professionals within their own scope, teaching or research not involving counseling delivered to its own beneficiaries, students/interns and supervised postgraduate candidates, clergy, uncompensated self-help leaders, emergency crisis responders, and certain rehabilitation program staff.

Outside those exemptions, the Provisional or full Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor credential is required.

How many hours does it take to become a Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor in Nebraska?

6,000 hours of supervised clinical work experience — paid and polydrug — capped at 40 hours a week or 2,000 a year.

Hours must come from a caseload carried as primary counselor, with responsibility for all core functions; prevention, intervention, codependency work, and hours lacking that don't count.

An accredited degree may substitute for part of the total: an associate's in addictions or chemical dependency for 1,000 hours, or a bachelor's or master's or higher with a major in counseling, addictions, social work, sociology, or psychology for 2,000 or 4,000 hours; only one applies.

Can a NAADAC certification substitute for Nebraska's LADC license?

No. NAADAC's national certifications, such as the NCAC or MAC, are voluntary credentials layered on top of a state licence or certification; they do not replace Nebraska's licensing requirement, and NAADAC and IC&RC are separate, unaffiliated organizations with no reciprocal agreement between them.

Nebraska's DHHS is an IC&RC member board for the LADC, so an IC&RC AADC credential from another member board can reciprocate in at the ADC level, but a NAADAC-only credential does not transfer through that system.

Does a Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor need supervision in Nebraska?

Yes, at two different points.

Before licensure, the 300 hours of practical training required to become a PLADC must themselves be supervised, by someone holding Nebraska LADC licensure, or physician or psychologist licensure with board-determined training, or — only when the training was completed outside Nebraska — a reciprocity-level IC&RC credential; the supervisor can't be a family member.

Once licensed, a PLADC must inform every client that the license is provisional and supervised, naming the supervisor, and the statute bars a PLADC from rendering services without clinical supervision while accruing the 6,000 hours toward the full LADC.

Can a Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor diagnose or practice independently in Nebraska?

An LADC's clinical evaluation authority covers diagnosis of alcohol and drug disorders, but not mental health assessment or treatment; a counselor who sees a client with a co-occurring mental disorder must refer them out unless that client is already under an appropriate practitioner's care.

Whether a fully licensed LADC may practice independently, and what the 2026 LB905 supervisor-rule amendments changed, are not stated in the sources read — confirm current scope directly with DHHS or the Board.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Nebraska
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Nebraska & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, on the recommendation of the Board of Alcohol and Drug Counseling.