🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Pennsylvania: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Pennsylvania has no state license or state certification for substance abuse counselors.

The Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB), a private IC&RC member board, issues four voluntary certifications: Associate Addiction Counselor (AAC), Certified Associate Addiction Counselor (CAAC), Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) and Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC).

The Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs' 28 Pa.

Code chapter 704 sets staffing qualifications for the counselor position at a licensed facility, and full certification is just one of six qualifying routes alongside degree-plus-experience paths; a separate counselor-assistant position lets someone work in the field before meeting any of them.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Pennsylvania, that is the Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB) β€” a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency. Pennsylvania issues no SUD counselor licence or state certification; the counselor staffing requirement at licensed facilities comes from the Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs (28 Pa. Code ch. 704)..

At a glance

Credential tiers

Associate Addiction Counselor (AAC) leading to Certified Associate Addiction Counselor (CAAC), Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) and Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC) β€” four voluntary PCB certifications.

Pennsylvania has no substance abuse counselor licence.

Type and issuing body

A private, voluntary certification from the Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB), an IC&RC member board, not a state agency.

The Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs' 28 Pa.

Code chapter 704 sets counselor staffing qualifications at licensed facilities but issues no individual credential.

Degree floor

AAC and CAAC: high school diploma/GED (CAAC also accepts an associate degree).

CADC: bachelor's degree.

CAADC: master's degree in a relevant field.

Supervised hours

AAC: 2,000 hours of work experience plus 100 hours of on-the-job supervision.

CAAC: 6,000 hours plus 300 hours.

CADC: 4,000 hours with a relevant bachelor's or 6,000 hours with a non-relevant bachelor's, plus 200 hours.

CAADC: 2,000 hours plus 100 hours.

Every tier requires at least 10 supervision hours in each counselor domain.

Exams

CAAC and CADC: the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors (ADC Examination).

CAADC: the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors (AADC examination).

AAC: no exam is listed.

Scope and diagnosis

Not set by PCB or 28 Pa.

Code chapter 704 β€” the chapter regulates staffing positions at licensed facilities, not scope of practice.

Whether a CADC or CAADC may diagnose or practise independently outside a licensed facility: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

No practice act protects the counselor title.

28 Pa.

Code Β§ 704.7(b)(1)-(5) also lets a licensed physician; an accredited-college degree in a qualifying field β€” a master's with a practicum, a bachelor's with 1,820 hours of clinical experience, or an associate degree with 3,640 hours; or a licensed registered nurse with a nursing degree plus 1,820 hours of counseling experience fill the counselor staffing position without PCB certification.

A counselor assistant (Β§ 704.8-704.10) is a separate, lower-bar position β€” not itself one of these six routes β€” that lets someone start at a high school diploma or GED and work in the field while meeting full counselor qualifications within 5 years of employment (7 years if under 7,500 hours worked).

IC&RC reciprocity

PCB is an IC&RC member board: IC&RC's Member Boards directory lists CAAC and CADC reciprocating at IC&RC's ADC level, CAADC at the AADC level, and CCS at the CS level; AAC is not on that reciprocal-credential list.

Reciprocity runs only into another IC&RC member board offering the same credential at the same level, and that board may add its own requirements; NAADAC credentials do not reciprocate with IC&RC ones.

Renewal & CE

Per PCB's fee table: AAC pays $100 and 40 hours of education relevant to addiction including 3 hours of ethics.

CAAC, CADC and CAADC pay $200 for the same 40-hour, 3-ethics-hour structure.

How often recertification is due, and what happens to a lapsed credential, are not stated in the sources read.

The Pennsylvania credential ladder

  1. Associate Addiction Counselor(AAC)Other

    An entry-level PCB certification open at a high school diploma or GED: 2,000 hours of clinical work experience with 100 hours of on-the-job clinical supervision, plus 100 hours of education/training including 6 hours of ethics; PCB lists no exam for this tier.

  2. Certified Associate Addiction Counselor(CAAC)Other

    A PCB certification for a high school diploma/GED or associate degree: 6,000 hours of work experience with 300 hours of on-the-job supervision, 300 hours of education (100 of them SUD-specific, including 6 hours of ethics), and the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors.

  3. Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CADC)Other

    A PCB certification requiring a bachelor's degree: 4,000 hours of work experience with a relevant bachelor's or 6,000 hours with a non-relevant one, plus 200 hours of on-the-job supervision, 300 hours of education including 6 hours of ethics, and the IC&RC ADC Examination.

  4. Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CAADC)Other

    A PCB certification requiring a master's degree in a relevant field: 2,000 hours of work experience with 100 hours of on-the-job supervision, 180 hours of education, and the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors.

Four voluntary certifications, a counselor-assistant track, and a staffing rule with six ways to qualify

πŸ“œ 28 Pa. Code Β§ 704.7(b), Β§ 704.8(a)

Pennsylvania has no substance abuse counselor licence and no state certification.

PCB issues four voluntary credentials β€” AAC, CAAC, CADC and CAADC β€” that rise with education and experience, and PCB markets the CAAC, CADC and CAADC (not the entry-level AAC) as certifications that meet Pennsylvania's state staffing requirements.

But the actual rule, 28 Pa.

Code Β§ 704.7(b), lets the counselor position at a DDAP-licensed facility be filled six ways: a physician's licence, an accredited-college degree in a qualifying field β€” a master's with a practicum, a bachelor's with 1,820 hours of clinical experience, or an associate degree with 3,640 hours β€” a registered-nurse licence plus a nursing degree and counseling experience, or full certification by a statewide body that belongs to a national certification body or by another state's board β€” not PCB by name.

A separate counselor-assistant position (Β§ 704.8(a)), for someone who doesn't yet meet any of those six routes, lets a person with as little as a high school diploma or GED work in the field while working toward one of them under supervision.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œFull certification as an addictions counselor by a statewide certification body which is a member of a National certification body or certification by another state government’s substance abuse counseling certification board.”

Education hours drop as the required degree rises

πŸ“œ PCB AAC, CAAC, CADC and CAADC credential pages

PCB ties classroom hours to degree level: AAC needs a high school diploma or GED plus 100 hours of relevant education/training including 6 hours of substance-use-disorder ethics.

CAAC needs the same degree floor (or an associate degree) plus 300 hours (100 SUD-specific, 6 in ethics).

CADC needs a bachelor's degree plus the same 300-hour structure (100 SUD-specific, 6 in professional counselor ethics and responsibilities).

CAADC needs a master's degree in a relevant field but only 180 hours of training, including 6 hours of ethics β€” fewer total hours than CADC, though the sources read don't explain why.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œ180 hours of relevant education/training specific to the CAADC domains, including 6 hours in counselor ethics and responsibilities.”

4,000 or 6,000 hours for a CADC, depending on the bachelor's major

πŸ“œ PCB CADC credential page

The CADC's work-experience requirement forks on the bachelor's major: two years full-time (4,000 hours) with a relevant bachelor's degree, or three years full-time (6,000 hours) with a non-relevant one β€” a full extra year for a graduate whose degree isn't in a related field.

On top of the work hours, PCB requires 200 hours of on-the-job clinical supervision with at least 10 hours in each CADC domain, so choosing a supervisor who can document domain-specific supervision matters as much as logging the raw hours.

AAC, CAAC and CAADC follow the same domain-supervision floor at their own hour totals (100, 300 and 100 hours respectively).

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œTwo (2) years of full-time or 4000 hours of part-time work experience in the specific CADC domains with a bachelor's degree OR Three (3) years of full-time or 6000 hours of part-time work experience in the specific CADC domains with a non-relevant bachelor's degree.”

IC&RC's ADC exam for CAAC and CADC, AADC for CAADC

πŸ“œ PCB CAAC, CADC and CAADC credential pages

CAAC and CADC candidates take the same test, the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors (ADC Examination), despite sitting at different degree levels.

CAADC candidates take the more advanced IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors (AADC examination).

PCB's AAC page lists no exam, so the entry-level credential is awarded on education and supervised-hours documentation alone.

A candidate moving from CAAC to CADC as their degree changes should confirm with PCB whether a prior ADC exam pass still counts, since the pages read do not address retesting between tiers.

β€œOnce application is approved, applicant must pass the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors (ADC Examination).”

One clinical supervisor per eight counselors at a licensed facility

πŸ“œ 28 Pa. Code Β§ 704.6(a), (b)(4)

Chapter 704's supervision rule is a facility staffing ratio, not a counselor's personal credential test: a DDAP-licensed treatment project must have one full-time clinical supervisor for every eight full-time counselors or counselor assistants.

A clinical supervisor can qualify several ways, including full certification as an addictions counselor by a statewide certification body plus 3 years of clinical experience in a health or human service agency that includes 1 year of working directly with the chemically dependent person, plus a Department-approved core curriculum training that covers clinical supervision skills β€” so a CADC or CAADC holder who also meets those experience and training conditions is one qualifying path into the clinical-supervisor staffing role.

PCB's own CCS credential appears in the sources read only in the recertification fee table and the IC&RC directory's reciprocity mapping (CCS to IC&RC's CS level); PCB's education, experience or exam requirements for CCS aren't documented in the sources read, so this page does not build out CCS as a fifth ladder rung.

β€œA drug and alcohol treatment project shall have a full-time clinical supervisor for every eight full-time counselors or counselor assistants, or both.”

Scope isn't set by PCB or chapter 704

πŸ“œ 28 Pa. Code Β§ 704.1; PCB CADC credential page

Neither PCB nor 28 Pa.

Code chapter 704 defines a scope of practice for a certified counselor β€” chapter 704 regulates who can hold a staffing position at a DDAP-licensed facility, not what services that person may independently provide, bill for, or diagnose.

PCB's own description of the CADC role ties it to primary, direct, clinical substance-use-disorder counseling that is clinically supervised, which describes a role inside a supervised program rather than an independent-practice licence.

Whether a CADC or CAADC may diagnose, or practise independently outside a DDAP-licensed facility, is not stated in the sources read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œA bachelor’s degree substance use disorder counselor providing primary, direct, clinical, substance use disorder or co-occurring counseling to persons whose primary diagnosis is that of substance use disorder or providing supervision of said counseling.”

Reciprocity runs through PCB, not automatically from any other credential

πŸ“œ IC&RC Member Boards directory (Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania Certification Board)

PCB is Pennsylvania's IC&RC member board, and IC&RC's own Member Boards directory lists PCB's reciprocal mapping: CAAC and CADC at IC&RC's ADC level, CAADC at the AADC level, and CCS at the CS level.

AAC does not appear on that reciprocal-credential list at all, so it is not a portable IC&RC credential.

Reciprocity only helps someone whose current credential is also an IC&RC member-board certification at the matching reciprocal level β€” a NAADAC-issued national certification is a separate system with no reciprocity into an IC&RC or PCB credential.

Someone moving to Pennsylvania with an out-of-state IC&RC credential should apply to PCB directly rather than assume an automatic transfer, since a receiving member board can add its own requirements.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

$200 or $100 to recertify, 40 hours including 3 in ethics β€” the cycle length isn't documented

πŸ“œ PCB Recertification Requirements & Fees page; PCB Recertification FAQs

PCB's own fee table sets recertification at $200 for CAAC, CADC and CAADC holders, who must complete 40 hours of education relevant to addiction including 3 hours of ethics; AAC holders pay $100 for the same 40-hour, 3-ethics-hour structure.

The saved capture of PCB's recertification FAQ page lists questions about the recertification cycle, lapsed credentials and extensions but not PCB's answers to them, so how often recertification is due, and what happens to a lapsed credential, are not stated in the sources read.

β€œCAAC, CADC & CAADC: $200, 40 hours relevant to addiction including 3 hours in ethics”

No changes found; the March 1996 compliance date still governs

πŸ“œ 28 Pa. Code Β§ 704.4(a)

The sources read name no Pennsylvania change to SUD counselor credentialing between 2023 and 2026.

Chapter 704's staffing rule has applied to project directors, facility directors, clinical supervisors, counselors and counselor assistants hired or promoted on or after March 4, 1996, and that compliance date is the only one documented in the text read β€” there is no newer amendment to flag for a counselor checking whether the qualification paths in Β§ 704.7(b) have changed recently.

β€œThis chapter applies to project directors, facility directors, clinical supervisors, counselors and counselor assistants hired or promoted on or after March 4, 1996.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Pennsylvania statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB) β€” a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.

Pennsylvania issues no SUD counselor licence or state certification; the counselor staffing requirement at licensed facilities comes from the Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs (28 Pa.

Code ch. 704). publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Pennsylvania.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB) β€” a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.

Pennsylvania issues no SUD counselor licence or state certification; the counselor staffing requirement at licensed facilities comes from the Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs (28 Pa.

Code ch. 704). before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Pennsylvania that asks for it.

What Substance Abuse Counselor Job Listings in Pennsylvania Show Right Now

From the 18 active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
18
substance abuse counselor jobs in Pennsylvania
Employers hiring
5
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
4
new listings
Listings stating pay
11%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Pay employers post

  • 11% of substance abuse counselor listings in Pennsylvania state any pay at all.

Benefits and work arrangement

  • PTO / Paid Time Offnamed in 94%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 89%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 83%
  • Health Insurancenamed in 72%
  • Continuing Education Budgetnamed in 72%

Source: active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 18 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Pennsylvania?

No. Pennsylvania issues no substance abuse counselor licence or state certification.

The Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB) certifies four voluntary tiers β€” AAC, CAAC, CADC and CAADC β€” but 28 Pa.

Code Β§ 704.7(b) treats full certification as just one of six ways to qualify for the counselor staffing position at a DDAP-licensed facility: a physician's licence, a registered nurse's licence plus a nursing degree and counseling experience, or an accredited-college degree in a qualifying field with a practicum (master's) or clinical-experience hours (bachelor's or associate).

A separate counselor-assistant position lets someone work in the field while working toward one of those six.

What is the difference between AAC, CAAC, CADC and CAADC in Pennsylvania?

All four are voluntary Pennsylvania Certification Board certifications, tiered by degree and hours, not by scope of practice.

AAC is entry-level (high school diploma/GED, no exam).

CAAC (high school diploma/GED or associate degree) and CADC (bachelor's degree) both require the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors.

CAADC requires a master's degree and the more advanced IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors.

None of the four is a state licence.

How many supervised hours does a CADC need in Pennsylvania?

PCB's CADC certification requires 4,000 hours of work experience in the CADC domains with a relevant bachelor's degree, or 6,000 hours with a non-relevant bachelor's degree β€” two years full-time versus three.

On top of that, candidates need 200 hours of on-the-job clinical supervision, with at least 10 hours of supervision in each counselor domain, per PCB's CADC credential page.

Can a Pennsylvania CADC or CAADC transfer to another state?

Only through IC&RC reciprocity, and only into another IC&RC member board that offers the same credential at the same level.

IC&RC's Member Boards directory lists PCB's CAAC and CADC reciprocating at IC&RC's ADC level and its CAADC at the AADC level; the entry-level AAC is not on that list.

The receiving member board can add its own requirements, and a NAADAC-issued national certification does not reciprocate with an IC&RC credential at all.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Pennsylvania
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Pennsylvania & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Pennsylvania Certification Board (PCB) β€” a private IC&RC member certification board, not a state agency.

Pennsylvania issues no SUD counselor licence or state certification; the counselor staffing requirement at licensed facilities comes from the Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs (28 Pa.

Code ch. 704)..