🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Rhode Island: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Rhode Island runs a dual system: the Department of Health licenses Licensed Chemical Dependency Professionals (LCDP) and Licensed Chemical Dependency Clinical Supervisors (LCDCS), while the private Rhode Island Certification Board (RICB) issues the PADC, CADC, CAADC and CCS certifications beneath those licences.

The statute requires current "ACDP or ACDP II" certification, and RICB's own site says its CADC, CAADC and CCS "are prerequisites for licensing" — though the statute itself does not say which of them meets that prerequisite.

Section 5-69-3(b) protects the LCDP/LCDCS titles rather than banning general practice outright.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Rhode Island, that is the Rhode Island Department of Health (Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals).

At a glance

Credential tiers

RICB's private certifications — Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor (PADC), Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC) and Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) — sit beneath and beside the state's own Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional (LCDP) and Licensed Chemical Dependency Clinical Supervisor (LCDCS) licences.

Type and issuing body

A dual system: the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) issues the LCDP/LCDCS licences on the Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals' recommendation (216-RICR-40-05-6 § 6.4.5(A)); the Rhode Island Certification Board (RICB), a private IC&RC member board, issues the PADC/CADC/CAADC/CCS certifications.

Degree floor

RICB's CADC: high school diploma or GED minimum.

RICB's CAADC: master's degree minimum, in a relevant field from a regionally accredited college or university.

The LCDP statute requires current "ACDP or ACDP II" certification (§ 5-69-8(a)(1)) rather than stating its own degree floor.

RICB's own site says its CADC, CAADC and CCS "are prerequisites for licensing"; the statute does not say which of them meets the ACDP/ACDP II prerequisite.

Supervised hours

RICB CADC work experience: 6,000 hours with a high school diploma/GED, 5,000 with an associate's degree, 4,000 with a bachelor's, or 2,000 with a master's, plus on-the-job supervision of 300/250/200/100 hours (minimum 10 hours per domain).

CAADC: 2,000 hours of work experience in the specific AADC domains plus 100 hours of on-the-job clinical supervision (minimum 10 hours per domain).

Separately, the chapter defines "Experience" as 6,000 hours of supervised practice within the 60 months before applying for licensure (§ 5-69-2(13)) — but § 5-69-8's actual licence qualifications never invoke that definition.

Exams

CADC requires the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors (ADC exam).

CAADC requires the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors (AADC exam).

No state exam requirement for the LCDP itself was found — its entry point is the RICB certification prerequisite, not a separate state test.

Scope and diagnosis

The statute defines the practice as developing "a treatment plan of action" and "making referrals" (§ 5-69-2(21)); the LCDCS is licensed "to practice and supervise substance-abuse counseling" (§ 5-69-2(16)).

Diagnosis and private practice: Not stated in the sources read.

The one licensee-only practice found: rule § 6.4.1(C) bars performing auricular acudetox, or using the "acudetox specialist" title, without both NADA-level training and an LCDP or LCDCS licence.

Other licensees

§ 5-69-4(b)(1) exempts qualified members of other professions authorized by Rhode Island law to engage in similar practices; § 5-69-4(b)(2) exempts students/counselors in entry-level internships at a BHDDH-licensed or ICRC/AODA member-board-approved facility, under a training title; § 5-69-4(b)(3) exempts clergy, peer groups and self-help groups doing peer counseling or self-help activities.

None of the three may use the LCDP or LCDCS title.

IC&RC reciprocity

RICB is an IC&RC member board (CADC↔ADC, CAADC↔AADC, CCS↔CS).

Rule § 6.4.3(B)(3) requires the endorsement application submitted to the licensing board to include verification of current certification from the ICRC/AODA member board; if applicable, § 6.4.4(A)(2) separately requires a statement from each state's certification board where the applicant held licensure, and that statement (not the certification verification) is submitted to the Rhode Island ICRC/AODA member board (RICB) itself. § 5-69-8(a)(3) separately lets the licensing board credit a comparable license, certification or reciprocity within Rhode Island or from another state that is "substantially similar."

Renewal & CE

LCDP/LCDCS licences renew every two years, on October 1 of even-numbered years, and require compliance with ICRC/AODA member board requirements (§ 5-69-9); rule § 6.4.5(C) also requires a current RICB certification and its CE.

RICB recertifies every two years; its CE-hour figure was not read.

The Rhode Island credential ladder

  1. Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor(PADC)Pre-licensure

    An entry-level private certification from the Rhode Island Certification Board (RICB), listed among its credentials below the CADC.

    Its specific education, experience and exam requirements were not detailed in the sources read.

  2. Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CADC)Pre-licensure

    RICB's certification: a high school diploma or GED minimum, 300 hours of education and training (120 of them specific to substance use disorders), a degree-scaled work-experience and on-the-job supervision ladder, and the IC&RC ADC exam.

    It is a private credential, not a state licence.

  3. Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CAADC)Pre-licensure

    RICB's master's-level certification: a minimum master's degree in a relevant field from a regionally accredited college or university, 180 hours of education and training in the AADC domains (6 hours each of counselor ethics and responsibilities, confidentiality, communicable diseases, and medication-assisted treatment), 2,000 hours of work experience in the specific AADC domains, 100 hours of on-the-job clinical supervision with a minimum of 10 hours in each domain, and the IC&RC AADC exam.

    Also a private credential, not a state licence.

  4. Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional(LCDP)Independent

    The state licence, issued by the Department of Health on the Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals' recommendation, once an applicant holds current certification as an "advanced chemical dependency professional" or "advanced chemical dependency professional II" (R.I.

    Gen.

    Laws § 5-69-8(a)(1)).

    Section 5-69-3(b) protects the LCDP title; no general ban on unlicensed practice was found in the text read.

  5. Licensed Chemical Dependency Clinical Supervisor(LCDCS)Supervisor

    The supervisor-tier state licence, defined as licensed "to practice and supervise substance-abuse counseling" (§ 5-69-2(16)).

    It carries the same ACDP/ACDP II certification prerequisite as the LCDP, plus completion of the ICRC/AODA member board's clinical-supervisor standards (§ 5-69-8(a)(2)).

  6. Certified Clinical Supervisor(CCS)Supervisor

    RICB's private clinical-supervisor certification, distinct from the state's LCDCS licence.

    RICB lists it among its credentials, but its specific requirements were not detailed in the sources read.

A licence built on top of a private certification

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-2(1)-(2), § 5-69-3(a)-(b), § 5-69-8(a)(1); RICB home page (ricertboard.org)

Rhode Island's own licences are the Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional (LCDP) and the Licensed Chemical Dependency Clinical Supervisor (LCDCS), and both sit on top of a private credential: the statute requires an applicant to already hold current certification as an "advanced chemical dependency professional" (ACDP) or "advanced chemical dependency professional II" (ACDP II) before the Department of Health will license them.

The chapter defines ACDP by the Rhode Island certification board's own requirements and ACDP II by ICRC/AODA standards (§ 5-69-2(1)-(2)) — two different bases, not an old and new name for the same thing.

RICB states on its own site that its CADC, CAADC and CCS certifications "are prerequisites for licensing"; neither RICB's page (which covers counselors and clinical supervisors together) nor the statute says which of the three meets the ACDP/ACDP II prerequisite.

Section 5-69-3(b) is title protection only — it bars using the LCDP or LCDCS title without the licence — and no general ban on practising chemical dependency counseling without a licence was found in the text read.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“No individual shall represent herself or himself as a 'licensed chemical dependency professional,' 'LCDP,' 'licensed chemical dependency clinical supervisor,' 'LCDCS' unless he or she is licensed.”

Two RICB credentials, two very different degree floors

📜 RICB CADC application (2025); RICB CAADC application (2025); R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-8(a)(1)

RICB's CADC requires only a high school diploma or GED, plus 300 total hours of relevant education and training in the ADC domains, 120 of them specific to substance use disorders, with 6 hours each of professional counselor ethics and responsibilities, communicable diseases and medication-assisted treatment.

Its CAADC requires a minimum master's degree in a relevant field from a regionally accredited college or university, plus 180 total hours of education and training in the AADC domains — 6 hours each of counselor ethics and responsibilities, confidentiality, communicable diseases, and medication-assisted treatment.

The state licence takes a different route: § 5-69-8(a)(1) requires current ACDP or ACDP II certification "in accord with the ICRC/AODA member board standards" rather than stating its own degree floor.

RICB's site says its CADC, CAADC and CCS "are prerequisites for licensing," but neither RICB nor the statute says which one satisfies that prerequisite for a given applicant.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“300 total hours of relevant education/training specific to the ADC domains. 120 of the hours must be specific to substance use disorders”

RICB's degree-scaled hours ladder — the chapter's own 6,000-hour definition isn't the LCDP's actual gate

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-2(13), § 5-69-8(a)(1)-(3); RICB CADC application (2025); RICB CAADC application (2025)

RICB's CADC sets a degree-scaled work-experience ladder: 6,000 hours with a high school diploma or GED, 5,000 with an associate's degree, 4,000 with a bachelor's, or 2,000 with a master's, each paired with on-the-job clinical supervision.

Its CAADC needs 2,000 hours of work experience in the specific AADC domains.

Separately, the chapter itself defines "Experience" as six thousand hours of supervised chemical-dependency-counseling practice within the 60 months before applying for licensure (§ 5-69-2(13)) — but that defined term is not among § 5-69-8(a)(1)-(3)'s listed licence qualifications, which instead run on current ACDP/ACDP II certification plus § 5-69-8(b)'s good-moral-character and citizenship conditions, its (b)(3) sanction and (b)(4) felony conditions (each waivable on a no-impairment showing), its (b)(5) competence condition (a subsequent court determination, not a waiver), and its (b)(6) condition that the applicant prove freedom from impairing substance use.

A graduate should treat RICB's degree-scaled hours, not the chapter's standalone 6,000-hour definition, as the figure to satisfy for the certification being pursued.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“Experience" means six thousand (6,000) hours of supervised practice of chemical dependency counseling in a department of behavioral healthcare, developmental disabilities and hospitals licensed or ICRC/AODA member-board-approved facility during a sixty-month (60) period of time immediately preceding the date of application for licensure.”

Two named exams — ADC for the CADC, AADC for the CAADC

📜 RICB CADC application (2025); RICB CAADC application (2025)

RICB's CADC applicant must pass the IC&RC Examination for Alcohol and Drug Counselors, the ADC exam.

RICB's CAADC applicant must pass the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors, the AADC exam — RICB's own application states this directly.

No state exam requirement for the LCDP licence itself was found in the statute or rule text read; the licence's entry point is the RICB certification prerequisite, not a separate state test.

“applicant must pass the IC&RC Examination for Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselors (AADC examination).”

What the chapter defines as "Supervision" — and RICB's separate, operative hours

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-2(24); RICB CADC application (2025); RICB CAADC application (2025)

The chapter defines "Supervision" as no less than one hour per week of individual or group supervision with a clinician licensed or certified in substance-abuse counseling, with education, supervisory experience and ethics approved by the ICRC/AODA member board (§ 5-69-2(24)) — but, as with "Experience," § 5-69-8's actual LCDP/LCDCS qualifications never invoke this defined term.

RICB's CADC ladder sets its own, separate on-the-job clinical-supervision requirement: 300, 250, 200 or 100 hours depending on degree, with a minimum of 10 hours in each domain; its CAADC needs 100 hours, also with a minimum of 10 hours in each specific AADC domain.

An associate should confirm the placement can document RICB's domain-by-domain hours, since the chapter's "Supervision" definition is not stated as the licence's own operative test.

“Supervision" means no less than one hour per week and consists of individual or group supervision with a clinician licensed or certified in substance-abuse counseling with education, supervisory experience, and ethics approved by the ICRC/AODA member.”

Treatment plans and referrals — diagnosis is a gap; acudetox is licensee-only

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-2(16), (21); 216-RICR-40-05-6 § 6.4.1(C)

The statute defines the practice of substance-abuse counseling as applying specific knowledge, skills and counseling theory to define goals and develop a treatment plan of action within the continuum-of-care network, plus networking and making referrals to medical, social-services, psychological, psychiatric or legal resources.

The LCDCS, distinctly, is licensed "to practice and supervise substance-abuse counseling."

Whether an LCDP or LCDCS may diagnose, or practise privately outside an agency setting, is not stated in the sources read — a clinician moving to Rhode Island should confirm both directly with the Department of Health before assuming either is covered.

One practice in the text read is restricted to licensees: rule § 6.4.1(C) bars representing oneself as an "acudetox specialist," or performing auricular acudetox, unless the person holds NADA-level training and is licensed as an LCDP or LCDCS.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“to define goals and develop a treatment plan of action aimed toward the prevention, education, or treatment in the recovery process of substance abuse within the continuum-of-care service network”

Moving to Rhode Island: endorsement runs through RICB, not around it

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-8(a)(3); 216-RICR-40-05-6 §§ 6.4.3(B)(3), 6.4.4(A)

Rule § 6.4.4 sets the endorsement route for an out-of-state applicant: a license application with the documents required by § 6.4.3(B), including verification of current certification at the appropriate level from the ICRC/AODA member board; if applicable, a statement from the certification board in each state where the applicant held licensure, submitted to the Rhode Island ICRC/AODA member board (RICB) itself; and a statement of that jurisdiction's requirements, which the licensing board must find substantially similar to Rhode Island's.

Separately, R.I.

Gen.

Laws § 5-69-8(a)(3) lets the board credit a comparable license, certification or reciprocity within Rhode Island or from another state that is "substantially similar."

No saved source describes how an IC&RC transfer specifically is processed for the licence — the rule only lists the endorsement documents required.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“a statement from the certification board in each state in which the applicant has held or holds licensure to be submitted to the Rhode Island ICRC/AODA member board”

Biennial renewal tied to RICB certification

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-69-9; 216-RICR-40-05-6 § 6.4.5(C)

Licences renew every two years, on October first of even-numbered years, and renewal requires compliance with ICRC/AODA member board requirements along with any additional requirements the licensing board sets, which may include continuing-education standards.

Rule § 6.4.5(C) makes that concrete for RICB-certified licensees: renewal needs a current RICB certification and its continuing education.

RICB itself recertifies every two years, but the CE-hour figure RICB requires was not read, so a licensee should confirm that number directly with RICB rather than assume it matches RIDOH's cycle.

“Licenses shall be renewed every two (2) years on October first of even-numbered years upon payment of a fee as set forth in § 23-1-54; compliance with ICRC/AODA member board requirements; and compliance with any additional requirements that the licensing board may promulgate.”

No statutory change since 2017; RICB refreshed its applications in 2025

📜 216-RICR-40-05-6 (eff. 01/04/2022); RICB CADC/CAADC applications (rev. Sept 2025)

The chapter 5-69 statute's amendment history read ends with P.L.

2017; no 2023–2026 statutory change appears in the text read.

The RIDOH rule, 216-RICR-40-05-6, shows a periodic refile effective January 4, 2022, with no 2023–2026 rule change shown in the sources read.

RICB revised its CADC and CAADC applications in September 2025.

None of this touches the statute's still-unrevised "ACDP/ACDP II" prerequisite language.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Rhode Island statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Rhode Island Department of Health (Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Rhode Island.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Rhode Island Department of Health (Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Rhode Island that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island's licence, the LCDP, is title-protected: the statute bars using the "licensed chemical dependency professional" title without it, but no general ban on practising chemical dependency counseling without a licence was found in the text read.

A licence applicant must already hold current RICB certification.

Separate exemptions cover students/counselors in entry-level internships at a BHDDH-licensed or ICRC/AODA member-board-approved facility (§ 5-69-4(b)(2)) and clergy, peer groups or self-help groups doing peer counseling or self-help activities (§ 5-69-4(b)(3)) — none of them may use the LCDP or LCDCS title.

Confirm directly with the Department of Health whether unlicensed practice under a different title is permitted for your situation.

What is the difference between RICB's CADC and Rhode Island's LCDP?

The CADC is a private certification from the Rhode Island Certification Board (RICB), an IC&RC member board; it is not a state licence.

The LCDP is the state licence the Department of Health issues, and its statute requires an applicant to already hold current certification as an "advanced chemical dependency professional" (ACDP) or "advanced chemical dependency professional II" (ACDP II) — two chapter-defined terms with different bases (§ 5-69-2(1)-(2)).

RICB's own site says its CADC, CAADC and CCS "are prerequisites for licensing"; the statute does not say which of them meets the ACDP/ACDP II prerequisite.

How many supervised hours does an associate need before applying for the LCDP?

The chapter itself defines "Experience" as six thousand (6,000) hours of supervised chemical-dependency-counseling practice during the 60 months immediately before applying for licensure (§ 5-69-2(13)) — but that defined term is not among § 5-69-8's listed licence qualifications, which run on current ACDP/ACDP II certification plus § 5-69-8(b)'s good-moral-character and citizenship conditions, its waivable sanction and felony conditions, its court-determined competence condition, and its freedom-from-impairing-use condition.

RICB's own CADC ladder is degree-scaled: 6,000 hours with a high school diploma or GED, 5,000 with an associate's degree, 4,000 with a bachelor's, or 2,000 with a master's.

Does IC&RC reciprocity bring a CADC certification straight into Rhode Island?

IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards, and RICB is Rhode Island's IC&RC member board for the CADC, CAADC and CCS.

Rule § 6.4.3(B)(3) requires certification verification from the ICRC/AODA member board; if applicable, § 6.4.4(A)(2) requires a statement from each prior-licensure state's certification board, submitted to RICB itself. § 5-69-8(a)(3) separately lets the licensing board credit a comparable license, certification or reciprocity that it finds "substantially similar."

No source read describes exactly how an IC&RC transfer is processed for the licence — confirm the steps directly with RICB and the Department of Health.

Can a Rhode Island LCDP diagnose or run a private practice?

Not according to the sources read: the statute defines the practice of substance-abuse counseling around developing a treatment plan of action and making referrals, and separately licenses the LCDCS to "practice and supervise substance-abuse counseling," but whether either licence covers diagnosis or private practice outside an agency setting is not stated in the text read.

Confirm directly with the Department of Health.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Rhode Island
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Rhode Island & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Rhode Island Department of Health (Board of Licensing for Chemical Dependency Professionals).