Utah licenses substance use disorder counselors in four tiers under a 2024-2026 rewrite of Utah Code 58-60 Part 5: the entry-level SUDC, the Advanced SUDC, the supervised Associate Master Addiction Counselor, and the independently practicing Master Addiction Counselor (MAC).
DOPL issues all four; AUSAP, a separate private organization, holds Utah's IC&RC membership.
The 2026 statute set the ASUDC's hours at 500, but DOPL's rule, unchanged since January 2024, still lists 4,000 — confirm current figures with the division before relying on either alone.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Four state licences, lowest to highest: Licensed Substance Use Disorder Counselor (SUDC), Licensed Advanced SUDC (ASUDC), Associate Master Addiction Counselor, and Master Addiction Counselor (MAC) (Utah Code § 58-60-504).
The rule also names CSUDC/CASUDC certificate-level categories for CE and title-restriction purposes; their current statutory basis was not located in Part 5.
All four are state licences under the Mental Health Professional Practice Act, issued by the Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Utah Department of Commerce, in collaboration with the Substance Use Disorder Counselor board.
AUSAP, a separate private organization, is Utah's IC&RC member — not DOPL.
SUDC: no degree stated in the text read, only prerequisite courses plus a 200-hour substance use disorder education program and a supervised practicum.
ASUDC: a bachelor's degree (or two academic years of an approved master's curriculum).
Associate MAC: no degree, hours or exam — only an application, fee, suicide-prevention training and background check (§ 506(3)).
MAC: a master's or doctoral degree in SUD/addiction counseling or an approved subject, and the statute separately lists an associate's degree or 18 credit hours.
ASUDC: "at least 500 hours of supervised experience while licensed as a substance use disorder counselor" (statute effective 2026-07-01).
MAC: 1,200 direct client care hours obtained after completing the associate's-degree-or-18-credit-hour item in § 506(1)(d)(ii) — not after the doctoral/master's-degree item in (1)(d)(i) — including at least 100 supervision hours and 25 observation hours, no more than 25 group-supervision hours; producing that (1)(d)(ii) transcript adds a further 200 hours under (1)(g).
Associate MAC: no hours requirement stated (§ 506(3)).
The rule, unchanged since 2024-01-25, still states 4,000 hours for the ASUDC and 2,000 for the SUDC; the newer statute governs — confirm current figures with DOPL.
The rule's exam list (R156-60d-302c) is keyed to "58-60-506(1)(d)" — the current MAC transcript subsection, not a current SUDC or ASUDC exam requirement — and predates the current numbering.
Current § 506(6) (SUDC) sets no exam at all. § 506(4)(d)(iii) (ASUDC) and § 506(1)(h) (MAC) each defer to an exam "the division makes by rule," but no rule-listed exam specific to the current MAC licence was located; after one failed attempt, a MAC applicant may instead complete 500 additional direct client care hours plus two recommendation letters.
Confirm current exam requirements with DOPL.
SUDC may not diagnose mental illness — including substance use disorder itself — or perform psychological testing, and works only as an agency employee under a mental health therapist's general supervision.
The ASUDC's own definition imports that same SUDC service list before adding assessment, treatment planning and SUDC supervision (§ 502(6)(a)); the sources read do not otherwise address independent ASUDC practice. § 512(1) says the MAC alone may practise — including mental health therapy — without supervision (an Associate MAC may also perform mental health therapy, but only under supervision, §§ 502(8), 512(2)), but § 502(7)(b), in the definitions section as amended in 2026, still describes MAC practice itself as under an ASUDC's or SUDC's supervision — a conflict the sources don't resolve; confirm with DOPL.
Not stated in the sources read.
Section 58-60-107, the Part 1 section that would list any exemption for physicians, psychologists, LCSWs, LMFTs or LPCs, was not among the sources read.
DOPL is not an IC&RC member board; AUSAP, a separate private organization, is.
Utah's own statute lets current NCAC II, IC&RC AADC, or NCC AP/NBCC master-addiction-counselor certification substitute for parts of the ASUDC or MAC application — a state certification-in-lieu-of route, not IC&RC-to-DOPL reciprocity.
CE is tracked over a two-year cycle beginning October 1 of each even-numbered year (R156-60d-304(1)); the licence's actual renewal date is set in R156-1-308a, which is not among the sources read.
Per CE cycle: 40 hours for SUDC or ASUDC, 20 hours for the rule's CSUDC/CASUDC categories, including 6 ethics/law/technology hours and 2 suicide-prevention hours.
MAC and Associate MAC continuing education: not stated in the sources read — the rule predates those licences.
The entry state licence: practice only as an employee of a substance use disorder agency under a licensed mental health therapist's general supervision, and the definition itself excludes diagnosing (including substance use disorder) and psychological testing (Utah Code §§ 58-60-502(9), 504(4)).
A broader licence, but not an independent one: its own definition (§ 502(6)(a)) first incorporates the SUDC's agency-employee, general-supervision services under § 502(9)(a)-(b), then adds screening and assessment including co-occurring mental health issues, treatment planning, and — with at least two years' experience — supervising a SUDC.
Manualized therapeutic interventions still require a mental health therapist's supervision, diagnosis and approved treatment plan (Utah Code §§ 58-60-502(6), 504(3), 508(2)).
A licence, not a registration, needing only an application, fee, suicide-prevention training and background check — no degree, hours or exam (§ 58-60-506(3), incorporating (1)(a)-(c) and (1)(i)).
To the extent the individual has completed § 506's education requirements, it authorizes master-addiction-counselor or ASUDC-level work only inside employment at a public agency or private clinic and under a qualified licensed mental health therapist, and it may not engage in unsupervised master-addiction-counselor practice (Utah Code § 58-60-512(2)-(3)).
The tier § 512(1) says may practise "without supervision, in private and independent practice," limited only by the licensee's education, training and competence — the only tier authorized to practise, including mental health therapy, without supervision (an Associate MAC may also perform mental health therapy, but only under supervision) — but the definitions section, as amended in 2026, still describes "practice as a master addiction counselor" itself as under the supervision of an advanced substance use disorder counselor or a substance use disorder counselor.
The sources read do not resolve that conflict (Utah Code §§ 58-60-502(7)(b), 512(1)); confirm with DOPL.
Utah issues four substance use disorder counselor licences — SUDC, ASUDC, Associate MAC, and MAC — all under the Mental Health Professional Practice Act, all administered by DOPL in collaboration with the Substance Use Disorder Counselor board.
The rule also defines CSUDC, CASUDC and intern-level CSUDCI/CASUDCI labels for CE tracking and title restriction, but no Part 5 statute section read assigns those categories a current independent licensing basis, so this page treats them as the rule's own bookkeeping, not a confirmed fifth and sixth rung.
Whether unlicensed practice is barred beyond just using a protected abbreviation is not stated in the sources read; what the rule establishes is narrower — using the ASUDC, CASUDC, CSUDCI, CSUDC or SUDC abbreviation without the licence the rule pairs with each is unprofessional conduct (R156-60d-502(1)).
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“The division shall issue substance use disorder counselor licenses to individuals qualified under this part in the classification of: (1) master addiction counselor; (2) associate master addiction counselor; (3) licensed advanced substance use disorder counselor; and (4) licensed substance use disorder counselor.”
The SUDC needs certified transcripts on prerequisite courses (human growth and development, general psychology, a 2-hour suicide-prevention course) plus completion of a substance use disorder education program, including at least 200 hours of SUD-related education and a supervised practicum.
The ASUDC needs a bachelor's degree or higher in substance use disorders, addiction or a related counseling subject, or two academic years of a National Addictions Studies Accreditation Commission-approved master's addiction-counseling curriculum and practicum.
The Associate MAC licence itself requires no degree at all: § 506(3) limits its qualifications to the application, fee, suicide-prevention training and background check under §§ 506(1)(a)-(c) and (1)(i).
The MAC's own text lists both a doctoral or master's degree in SUD/addiction counseling (or an approved counseling subject) and, separately, an associate's degree or higher or 18 credit hours in SUD/addiction counseling — the section read does not make clear whether the second item is an alternative floor or an additional one, so both are quoted here rather than resolved.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“an associate's degree or higher, or 18 credit hours, in substance use disorder or addiction counseling and treatment”
The statute effective July 1, 2026 requires the ASUDC applicant to document "at least 500 hours of supervised experience while licensed as a substance use disorder counselor."
The MAC applicant needs at least 1,200 direct client care hours obtained after completing the associate's-degree-or-18-credit-hour item in § 506(1)(d)(ii) — not the doctoral/master's-degree item in (1)(d)(i) — including at least 100 clinical supervision hours and 25 observation hours, no more than 25 group-supervision hours; producing that (1)(d)(ii) transcript adds a further 200 hours under § 506(1)(g).
Whether (1)(d)(ii) is an alternative to (1)(d)(i) or an additional floor is left unresolved (see the education section above).
A separate 3,000-hour or two-year supervision requirement applies only if federal CMS rules require it for Medicare eligible-professional status.
Utah Admin.
Code R156-60d-302b, unchanged since January 25, 2024, still states 4,000 hours for the ASUDC and 2,000 for the SUDC, citing subsections since renumbered or removed.
The statute postdates the rule; record both figures and confirm the current one with DOPL.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“at least 500 hours of supervised experience while licensed as a substance use disorder counselor”
Utah Admin.
Code R156-60d-302c opens "Under Subsections 58-60-506(1)(d) and 58-60-115(5)(b)" — but current § 506(1)(d) is the MAC applicant's transcript subsection, not a current SUDC or ASUDC provision, so the rule's own citation predates the current numbering of § 506.
Current § 506(6), the SUDC's own qualifications, requires only prerequisite-course transcripts and the 200-hour education program with a practicum; it sets no exam requirement at all. § 506(4)(d)(iii) (ASUDC) and § 506(1)(h) (MAC) each defer instead to "the examination requirement the division makes by rule," but no rule-listed exam specific to the current MAC licence was located — R156-60d-302c's NCAC/MAC/AADC options sit only under its own "advanced substance use disorder counselor" and "substance use disorder counselor" categories.
After one failed attempt, a MAC applicant may instead complete 500 additional direct client care hours (25 supervision, 5 observation) and submit recommendation letters from the applicant's direct clinical supervisor and another licensed mental health therapist who observed the applicant's care and who is not that supervisor.
Confirm current exam requirements with DOPL.
“document at least one examination attempt that did not result in a passing score”
A SUDC's supervisor must be a licensed mental health therapist who is qualified by education or experience to treat substance use disorders, currently working in the field, and who reviews assessment procedures, provides the SUD or other mental health diagnosis, and supervises and approves the treatment plan — capped at six supervisees absent a written board-and-division exception.
A licensed ASUDC with at least two years of experience, currently working in the SUD field, may also supervise a SUDC, under the same six-person cap.
"Direct supervision" itself means at least one hour of supervision for every 40 hours of client care, face-to-face unless the division approves otherwise; "general supervision" is left to a division rule not located in the sections read.
“provide direct supervision for not more than six persons, unless granted an exception in writing from the board and the division”
By definition, an SUDC works only as an agency employee under a therapist's general supervision, and SUDC practice "does not include" diagnosing mental illness — including substance use disorders — mental health therapy, or psychological testing.
The ASUDC's definition (§ 502(6)(a)) incorporates that same SUDC service list, then adds co-occurring assessment, treatment planning, and supervising a SUDC; manualized interventions still need a therapist's supervision, diagnosis and plan.
The sources don't otherwise address independent ASUDC practice.
Associate MAC practice is confined, only "to the extent" education requirements are met, to employment with a public agency or private clinic under a qualified therapist, and may not be unsupervised (§ 512(2)-(3)); that role can include mental health therapy, since it's MAC practice under a clinical supervisor (§§ 502(8), 512(2)).
Only the MAC may practice "without supervision, in private and independent practice," limited only by education, training and competence (§ 512(1)) — but § 502(7)(b), part of § 502 as amended in 2026, still describes MAC practice itself as under an ASUDC's or SUDC's supervision.
The sources don't reconcile that conflict; confirm with DOPL.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“may engage in practice as a licensed master addiction counselor without supervision, in private and independent practice or as an employee of another person, limited only by the licensee's education, training, and competence”
A MAC applicant may substitute current certification in good standing as a master addiction counselor from the National Certification Commission for Addiction Professionals or the National Board for Certified Counselors — or an equivalent certification the division recognizes by rule — for the degree, hours and exam route (§ 506(2)).
An ASUDC applicant may substitute current NCAC II certification (NCC AP) or Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor certification (IC&RC) — or a certification of "substantive equivalence" to either, as the division determines by rule — for the § 506(4)(d) education, the 500 hours and the exam (§ 506(5)).
Both are statutory certification-in-lieu-of routes into the state licence, not IC&RC-to-DOPL reciprocity: DOPL itself is not an IC&RC member board.
AUSAP, a separate private organization, holds Utah's IC&RC membership, so a counselor moving to Utah on an IC&RC transfer alone gets an AUSAP certification, not a DOPL licence.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“as an Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (AADC), from the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium”
Every Part 5 licence renews on a two-year cycle whose date is set in R156-1-308a, not among the sources read (R156-60d-303(1)); CE is tracked over a separate cycle beginning October 1 of each even-numbered year (R156-60d-304(1)).
Per CE cycle, the rule requires 20 hours of continuing education for CSUDC, 40 hours for SUDC, 20 hours for CASUDC, or 40 hours for ASUDC, including six hours in ethics, law or technology and two hours in suicide prevention.
Excess hours carry over to the next cycle — up to five for CSUDC/CASUDC, ten for SUDC/ASUDC.
The rule sets no CE figure for MAC or Associate MAC; it was last changed before those licences existed.
“20 hours for CSUDC; 40 hours for SUDC; 20 hours for CASUDC; or 40 hours for ASUDC”
The 2024 General Session, chapter 420, created the Master Addiction Counselor and Associate Master Addiction Counselor licences and the § 512 scope-of-practice section, effective May 1, 2024.
The 2026 General Session, chapter 64, effective July 1, 2026, rewrote §§ 502, 506 and 508, including the ASUDC's current 500-hour supervised-experience figure.
Section 509's confidentiality exemptions were separately amended in 2023 (chapter 329).
DOPL's rule, R156-60d, was last changed January 25, 2024 — before the 2026 amendments — so its § 302b hour figures and its CE table predate the newest statute language; whether DOPL has amended the rule since is not stated in the sources read.
Two gaps are worth naming directly.
Whether Utah exempts other licensed mental health professionals — physicians, psychologists, LCSWs, LMFTs, LPCs — from SUD-counselor licensure would be addressed in § 58-60-107, a Part 1 section outside the sources read, so it is not stated here.
And the rule's CSUDC, CASUDC, CSUDCI and CASUDCI labels appear in R156-60d's CE table and its title-restriction list, but no Part 5 statute section read gives them a current licensing basis alongside the four § 58-60-504 classes; treat them as the rule's own category, not a confirmed additional rung, until DOPL's current statutory basis for them is located.
This page summarizes the Utah statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Department of Commerce publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Utah.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Department of Commerce before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Utah that asks for it.
DOPL issues four SUD-counselor licences — SUDC, ASUDC, Associate MAC and MAC — under Utah Code 58-60 Part 5.
Utah Admin.
Code R156-60d-502(1) makes it unprofessional conduct to use the ASUDC, CASUDC, CSUDCI or CSUDC/SUDC abbreviations without holding the matching licence or certificate, but that rule predates the MAC and Associate MAC licences and does not name their abbreviations.
Whether a broader unlicensed-practice ban exists beyond that abbreviation restriction is not stated in the sources read; confirm the current requirement with DOPL.
No. Utah Code § 58-60-502(9)(c) says practice as an SUDC "does not include" diagnosing mental illness, including substance use disorders, or performing psychological testing.
An SUDC works as an employee of a substance use disorder agency under a licensed mental health therapist's general supervision, and that therapist provides any diagnosis.
The statute effective July 1, 2026 requires "at least 500 hours of supervised experience while licensed as a substance use disorder counselor" for the ASUDC (§ 58-60-506(4)(d)(ii)).
Utah's rule, R156-60d-302b, still lists 4,000 hours for the ASUDC and hasn't been updated since January 25, 2024.
The newer statute governs; confirm the current figure with DOPL before relying on the rule alone.
No. DOPL, the licensing division, is not an IC&RC member board.
AUSAP, a separate private organization, holds Utah's IC&RC membership and issues its own certifications.
Utah's own statute lets NCAC II, IC&RC AADC, or NCC AP/NBCC master-addiction-counselor certification substitute for parts of the ASUDC or MAC application, but that is a state certification-in-lieu-of provision, not IC&RC-to-DOPL reciprocity.
Utah Code § 58-60-512(1) says only the Master Addiction Counselor may practice "without supervision, in private and independent practice" and perform mental health therapy; an Associate MAC may also perform mental health therapy, but only under supervision. § 502(7)(b) nonetheless still defines "practice as a master addiction counselor" itself as under an ASUDC's or SUDC's supervision — a conflict the sources read don't resolve.
The Associate MAC, ASUDC and SUDC tiers all work inside an employment or supervision structure the statute defines; confirm the MAC's actual practice authority with DOPL.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Department of Commerce.