🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Washington, DC: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

The District of Columbia certifies addiction counselors as Certified Addiction Counselor I or II (CAC I, CAC II) — it does not issue a licence, and neither tier can practise independently.

CAC I needs an associate's degree and 500 supervised hours; CAC II needs a bachelor's degree but only 180 supervised hours.

Both need a NAADAC-NCC exam and DC's own jurisprudence exam.

The Board of Professional Counseling, part of DC Health's Health Professional Licensing Administration, issues both; DCAPC, a separate board, handles IC&RC certifications.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Washington, DC, that is the District of Columbia Board of Professional Counseling (DC Health, Health Professional Licensing Administration).

At a glance

Credential tiers

Certified Addiction Counselor I (CAC I) and Certified Addiction Counselor II (CAC II).

A third tier, Advanced Practice Addiction Counselor, was repealed effective July 19, 2024.

Type and issuing body

A state certification, not a licence, issued by the DC Board of Professional Counseling under D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.51–.52 and 17 DCMR ch. 87.

DCAPC, a separate board, issues its own IC&RC certifications (CADC, ACADC).

Degree floor

CAC I: an associate's degree in health or human services, or — via the rule's certification-by-waiver route, 17 DCMR § 8702.2 — 2 years of supervised experience while registered as an addiction counselor since July 8, 2007 or later, plus a Board-accepted exam.

CAC II: a bachelor's degree in health or human services (or 5 years documented experience) — 17 DCMR § 8702.4 and D.C. Code § 3-1208.52(a)(1)(A) both set the CAC II floor at a bachelor's.

Supervised hours

CAC I: at least 500 hours, with a minimum of 40 hours in each of 12 listed areas.

CAC II: at least 180 hours, of which at least 120 must include at least 10 hours in each of the 12 core functions.

Exams

CAC I: the NAADAC-NCC Level I examination.

CAC II: the NAADAC-NCC Level II examination.

Initial applicants for both tiers, plus renewal, reactivation, reinstatement, waiver, and endorsement applicants who have not already passed it, must also pass the District jurisprudence examination.

Scope and diagnosis

The Code's definition of the practice of addiction counseling lists diagnosis among seven included activities — including the education and training of persons in the field of addiction counseling — and the rule (17 DCMR § 8799.2) defines "Diagnosis" as a reference to alcohol or drug abuse made for treatment or referral.

Both CAC tiers practise only under supervision.

Whether uncertified practice is prohibited: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

Whether LPCs, LCSWs, LMFTs or other licensees are exempt from CAC certification: Not stated in the sources read.

IC&RC reciprocity

The CAC I/II certification is not an IC&RC credential (Board cert: IC&RC N).

DCAPC is DC's separate IC&RC member board (IC&RC Y) and issues CADC/ACADC certifications independently of the Board of Professional Counseling.

Renewal & CE

Certification expires December 31 of each even-numbered year.

Renewal after the first cycle needs 40 CE hours per 2-year period, including 6 hours ethics, 3 hours trauma counseling, 2 hours LGBTQ cultural competency, and at least 10% in Director-designated public health priorities.

The Washington, DC credential ladder

  1. Certified Addiction Counselor I(CAC I)Other

    A state certification, not a licence, issued by the Board of Professional Counseling to applicants with at least an associate's degree in a health or human services field, or — under the rule's certification-by-waiver route (17 DCMR § 8702.2) — 2 years of supervised experience while registered as an addiction counselor since July 8, 2007 or later, plus a national exam.

    Practice is permanently supervised (D.C. Code § 3-1208.51).

  2. Certified Addiction Counselor II(CAC II)Other

    The higher-education tier: a bachelor's degree in a health or human services field (or 5 years of documented experience) plus a national exam, also permanently supervised (D.C. Code § 3-1208.52).

    It requires fewer logged supervised hours than CAC I.

Two certifications, both permanently supervised

📜 D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.51(a)-(b), 3-1208.52(a)-(b), 3-1208.53

DC certifies rather than licenses addiction counselors, at two tiers: CAC I and CAC II.

Both are certifications issued by the Board of Professional Counseling, not licences, and both practise strictly under supervision.

A third tier, Advanced Practice Addiction Counselor, along with its companion waiver-of-requirements section, was repealed effective July 19, 2024 (D.C. Law 25-191).

DCAPC, a separate board, issues its own IC&RC certifications (CADC, ACADC) — those are not the same credential as CAC I/II, so a DC-specific CAC letter combination should not be read as matching any other jurisdiction's tier.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“A certified addiction counselor I shall practice addiction counseling under the supervision of an authorized health-care professional.”

Associate's degree for CAC I, bachelor's for CAC II

📜 D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.51(a)(1), 3-1208.52(a)(1); 17 DCMR §§ 8702.1, 8702.2, 8702.4

CAC I needs at least an associate's degree in health or human services from an accredited institution, including 10 listed coursework areas at 3 hours each (30 hours total).

The rule's alternative — certification by waiver under 17 DCMR § 8702.2 — instead requires 2 years of supervised experience obtained while registered as an addiction counselor, with that registration obtained on or after July 8, 2007, plus a passing score on a national exam the Board deems acceptable.

CAC II needs at least a bachelor's degree in health or human services, with 12 coursework areas totaling 42 hours (the recovery-process area alone is weighted at 9 hours, not 3), or 5 years of documented experience.

DC Health's own CAC application instructions packet states "Associate's degree" for the CAC II route too — that conflicts with both the rule and the statute, so rely on § 8702.4 and § 3-1208.52(a)(1)(A) for the bachelor's floor rather than the instructions packet's wording.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“graduating with at least a bachelor's degree in health or human services”

500 hours for CAC I, 180 for CAC II

📜 17 DCMR §§ 8703.1, 8703.2

CAC I, the lower-education tier, actually carries the larger hour requirement: at least 500 hours of supervised experience, with a minimum of 40 hours in each of 12 listed practice areas.

CAC II needs at least 180 hours, of which at least 120 must include at least 10 hours in each of the 12 core functions (screening, intake, orientation, assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case management, crisis intervention, education, referral, reporting and consultation).

Both rules set per-area minimums, not just a running total, so a candidate needs to track hours by category as they accrue them, not only the aggregate count.

DC Health's CAC application instructions describe a Temporary Addiction Counseling Practice Form: once an applicant has submitted a CAC application, it lets them work under supervision for up to one year from that submission date while they finish accruing hours or wait to sit the national or DC jurisprudence exam.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“at least five hundred (500) hours of supervised experience, with a minimum of forty (40) hours in each of the following areas”

NAADAC-NCC Level I or II, plus a DC jurisprudence exam

📜 17 DCMR §§ 8704.1, 8704.2, 8705, 8705.1, 8705.3, 8705.4, 8713.2(c)

CAC I applicants must pass the NAADAC-NCC Level I examination; CAC II applicants the NAADAC-NCC Level II examination.

Initial applicants for either tier must also pass the District's own jurisprudence exam on DC's addiction-counseling statutes, rules, and the NAADAC Code of Ethics (§ 8705.1).

The same exam, if not already passed, is also required of applicants seeking renewal, re-activation, or reinstatement of a certification, or certification by waiver of educational requirements under § 8706.1 or 8706.2; endorsement applicants take it under § 8713.2(c) instead.

The Board offers it at least three times a year.

After three failed attempts, a Board-approved refresher course is required before retesting.

“the applicant shall not be eligible to take the examination again until he or she has taken a Board-approved refresher course”

Direct supervision required — and a stale reference to a repealed tier

📜 17 DCMR §§ 8715.1, 8715.2, 8715.3, 8715.7

Neither CAC I nor CAC II can practise without direct supervision by someone meeting § 8715.3's standards — a licensed professional counselor, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, marriage and family therapist, physician, or registered nurse who also holds a NAADAC-NCC or NBCC substance-abuse certification, a current CAC II certification, or at least one year of substance-abuse counseling experience plus at least 100 hours of didactic training in the § 8703.1 areas.

If the agency has multiple locations and no supervisor is available for every site, supervision may run by communication device provided the supervisor still meets with the counselor one hour a week. § 8715.3(a) still lists a now-repealed "advanced practice addiction counselor" as a qualifying supervisor credential — a stale cross-reference to confirm with the Board. § 8715.2 cross-references § 8714 for a supervisor's scope of practice, and § 8715.7 cross-references § 8714.2 for documentation duties; the captured § 8714 text is a verbatim duplicate of § 8713, so what §§ 8714 and 8714.2 actually cover is Not stated in the sources read.

“An addiction counselor I or II shall practice only under the direct supervision of a person meeting the standards of this section.”

Diagnosis is in the statutory definition, but supervision never lifts

📜 D.C. Code § 3-1201.02(1A); 17 DCMR § 8799.2

The Code's definition of the "practice of addiction counseling" lists diagnosis as one of seven included activities, alongside prevention, crisis intervention, referral, direct treatment, follow-up, and the education and training of persons in the field of addiction counseling.

The regulation's own definitions section defines "Diagnosis" as a reference to an individual's alcohol or drug abuse, or to a condition identified as caused by that abuse, made for the purpose of treatment or referral for treatment — and both CAC I and CAC II practise this and every other listed activity only under an authorized health-care professional's supervision.

Whether an unsupervised or uncertified person may lawfully practise addiction counseling in DC at all, and whether LPCs, LCSWs, or LMFTs are exempt from CAC certification, are Not stated in the sources read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“a reference to an individual's alcohol or drug abuse or to a condition which is identified as having been caused by that abuse that is made for the purpose of treatment or referral for treatment”

Endorsement from elsewhere — and why an IC&RC credential is separate

📜 17 DCMR §§ 8713.1, 8713.2

The Board certifies by endorsement an addiction counselor who holds a valid, unrestricted certification in good standing from another U.S. jurisdiction, on proof of that standing, a passing score on the NAADAC or another state-approved exam, and DC's jurisprudence exam under § 8713.2(c).

The Board of Professional Counseling itself is not an IC&RC member board for this credential — the research file's own state table marks CAC I/II "Board cert: IC&RC N."

DCAPC, a separate board, holds DC's IC&RC membership and issues CADC/ACADC certifications on its own track; moving an IC&RC credential into DCAPC does not by itself certify someone as a CAC I or II, which still requires going through § 8713's endorsement route.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“The Board shall issue a certification by endorsement to an addiction counselor who has a valid, unrestricted certification in good standing from another jurisdiction of the United States.”

Even-year renewal, 40 CE hours — waived the first time

📜 17 DCMR §§ 8701.1, 8708.1, 8708.2

Certification expires at midnight on December 31 of each even-numbered year.

From the second renewal cycle onward, renewal requires 40 hours of approved continuing education in the preceding two years, including 6 hours of ethics, 3 hours of trauma counseling, 2 hours of LGBTQ cultural competency or specialized clinical training, and at least 10% of the total in whatever public health priorities DC Health's Director has designated.

That CE requirement does not apply to a certification holder's first-time renewal.

“forty (40) hours of approved continuing education credit during the two-year (2) period preceding the date the certification expires, which shall include the following: (a) Six (6) hours in ethics; (b) Three (3) hours in trauma counseling; (c) Two (2) hours in LGBTQ cultural competency or specialized clinical training”

APAC repealed in 2024 — but a stale reference remains in the rules

📜 D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.53, 3-1208.54; 17 DCMR § 8715.3(a); 17 DCMR §§ 8708.2, 8799.2

D.C. Law 25-191 repealed both the Advanced Practice Addiction Counselor credential and its companion waiver-of-requirements section, effective July 19, 2024.

That repeal has not been fully carried through the certification rules: § 8715.3(a) still names "an advanced practice addiction counselor" as a credential that can qualify someone to supervise a CAC I or CAC II, pointing at a tier the Code no longer recognizes — confirm current supervisor qualifications with the Board rather than relying on that clause alone.

Separately, the continuing-education rule at § 8708.2 and the definitions at § 8799.2 were amended by rulemaking published December 2, 2022; no later amendment to 17 DCMR ch. 87 appears in the text read.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Washington, DC statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the District of Columbia Board of Professional Counseling (DC Health, Health Professional Licensing Administration) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Washington, DC.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the District of Columbia Board of Professional Counseling (DC Health, Health Professional Licensing Administration) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Washington, DC?

DC certifies rather than licenses addiction counselors: CAC I and CAC II are certifications, not licences, and both must be practised "under the supervision of an authorized health-care professional" (D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.51(b), 3-1208.52(b)).

There is no independent DC addiction-counseling credential — the more advanced Advanced Practice Addiction Counselor tier was repealed in 2024.

Whether uncertified practice itself is prohibited is not stated in the sources read.

Why does CAC I require more supervised hours than CAC II in DC?

Because each tier's hour floor is set independently in the rule, not by seniority: CAC I (the associate's-degree tier) needs at least 500 supervised hours with 40 hours in each of 12 areas (17 DCMR § 8703.1), while CAC II (the bachelor's-degree tier) needs at least 180 hours, at least 120 of which cover the 12 core functions at 10 hours each (§ 8703.2).

The text read does not explain the gap — it is simply how each section is written.

Does CAC II in DC require a bachelor's degree or an associate's degree?

A bachelor's degree in a health or human services field, under both 17 DCMR § 8702.4 and D.C. Code § 3-1208.52(a)(1)(A).

DC Health's own CAC application instructions packet lists "Associate's degree" for the CAC II route as well, which conflicts with the rule and statute — rely on § 8702.4's bachelor's requirement, or confirm directly with the Board of Professional Counseling.

Can an out-of-state CADC certification transfer into DC through IC&RC reciprocity?

Not into the CAC I/II certification.

The DC Board of Professional Counseling is not an IC&RC member board; DCAPC, a separate board, holds that role and issues its own CADC and ACADC certifications.

Moving a credential into CAC I or CAC II instead goes through 17 DCMR § 8713's certification-by-endorsement route: proof of a valid, unrestricted certification elsewhere, a passing NAADAC or state-approved exam score, and DC's jurisprudence exam.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Washington, DC & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the District of Columbia Board of Professional Counseling (DC Health, Health Professional Licensing Administration).