🧭 Psychologist licensure

Psychologist Licensure in Arizona: Degree, Supervised Hours and the EPPP

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Arizona licenses psychologists through the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners on a single doctoral credential.

The rule asks for 3,000 hours of supervised professional experience: a 1,500-hour internship minimum, and the remaining 1,500 from any mix of preinternship hours, extra internship hours or a postdoctoral year, so Arizona writes no postdoc into its rule.

Add the EPPP and biennial renewal, and the state is a PSYPACT member effective July 1, 2020.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Arizona, that is the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners.

At a glance

Licence titles

Psychologist.

A 36-month temporary licence, not renewable, goes to applicants working under supervision for postdoctoral experience (32-2073(B), (E)); a separate short-term temporary licence covers out-of-state licensees when the board requires an additional examination (32-2073(A)).

Degree

A doctoral degree in clinical or counseling psychology, school or educational psychology, or another applied-psychology subject the board accepts, from a regionally accredited institution meeting the program criteria of ARS 32-2071(A).

APA accreditation is not required by name.

Internship

A minimum of 1,500 hours through an APA committee-on-accreditation-approved internship, an APPIC-member internship, or an organized training program meeting the ten criteria in ARS 32-2071(F); the 24-consecutive-month completion window is one of those criteria, set on the training-program route.

Postdoctoral year

Not required.

The 3,000 supervised hours are a 1,500-hour internship minimum plus 1,500 hours in any mix of preinternship experience, additional internship hours or postdoctoral work (ARS 32-2071(D)), so every hour can be earned before the degree.

Exams

The EPPP: 70% on the written examination or a scaled score of 500 on the computer-based examination (ARS 32-2072(A)).

The board may add a state-law exam; whether one is currently given is not stated in the sources read.

No EPPP Part 2 requirement found in the statute read.

Master's-level licence

None found.

Only an exemption lets an employee of a government agency in a subdoctorate position use the title assistant or associate under a licensed psychologist's supervision (ARS 32-2075(A)(2)) β€” an exemption, not a licence.

PSYPACT

Member, in effect: AZ HB 2503, enacted May 17, 2016, effective July 1, 2020, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.

Prescriptive authority

None.

ARS 32-2076 says the chapter does not authorize the practice of medicine.

Renewal & CE

Renewal every other year by the licensee's birth month, on the odd- or even-year cycle the licence number sets (ARS 32-2074(B)).

The CE hour figure: Not stated in the sources read; the statute leaves the amount to the board (32-2074(E)).

The Arizona credential ladder

  1. Temporary licence (postdoctoral supervisee)Pre-licensure

    For an applicant already working under supervision for postdoctoral experience: it runs 36 months from approval, is not renewable, the postdoctoral hours must meet the subsection G rules, and the written training plan is filed with the application (ARS 32-2073(B), (E)).

    A separate, short-term temporary licence under 32-2073(A) covers out-of-state licensees when the board requires an additional examination.

  2. PsychologistIndependent

    The single licence to practise psychology in Arizona: the psychological assessment, diagnosis, treatment or correction of mental, emotional, behavioral or psychological conditions, or purporting to do so (ARS 32-2061(10); 32-2071).

One psychologist licence, plus two temporary licences

πŸ“œ ARS Β§Β§ 32-2061(10), 32-2073

Arizona issues one psychology credential, the psychologist licence, and the statute defines the practice broadly: psychological assessment, diagnosis, treatment or correction of mental, emotional, behavioral or psychological abilities, illnesses or disorders, and purporting or attempting to do so also falls within it, so a job title that implies psychology practice needs the licence.

Two temporary licences sit alongside it.

Under 32-2073(B), the board may issue a 36-month temporary licence to an applicant already working under supervision for postdoctoral experience who meets the degree, coursework and supervised-hours subsections and files the written training plan with the application; under 32-2073(A), if the board requires an additional examination it may issue a temporary licence to a psychologist licensed in another jurisdiction who meets the education, experience and first-examination requirements, running from approval until the last day of the month the additional-exam results arrive, not extendable, renewable or reissuable (32-2073(C), (D)).

From January 1, 2022, a temporary-licence applicant must also have applied for a fingerprint clearance card.

A graduate whose remaining 1,500 hours are preinternship or internship hours never needs the postdoc rung.

For how master’s-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the master’s-level psychology practitioner.

β€œ"Practice of psychology" means the psychological assessment, diagnosis, treatment or correction of mental, emotional, behavioral or psychological abilities, illnesses or disorders or purporting or attempting to do this consistent with section 32-2076.”

A doctorate in applied psychology, on the statute's terms, not APA's

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2071(A), (C), (K), (L)

Section 32-2071(A) asks for a doctoral degree in clinical or counseling psychology, school or educational psychology, or another applied-psychology subject the board accepts, from an institution accredited by one of six named regional accreditors, with the program meeting eight criteria: a labeled psychology program with identified entry and exit criteria, an identifiable psychology faculty, competence demonstrated in eight core content areas, at least the equivalent of three full-time academic years of graduate study (two at the degree-granting institution), a defended dissertation with primarily psychological content, official transcripts, and credit only for regionally accredited coursework.

APA accreditation is not required by name.

Didactic coursework must be complete before supervised experience begins (32-2071(C)), and the degree needs a residency: 18 semester hours within a 12-month consecutive period, or a minimum of 300 hours of documented student-faculty contact (32-2071(K)).

The board may require a respecialization program for applicants from unfamiliar applied areas (32-2071(L)).

For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

β€œAn applicant for licensure shall have a doctoral degree from an institution of higher education in clinical or counseling psychology, school or educational psychology or any other subject area in applied psychology acceptable to the board and shall have completed a doctoral program in psychology from an educational institution that has:”

3,000 hours, and no postdoctoral year required

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2071(D)–(J)

This is Arizona's answer to the postdoc question: the rule does not contain one.

It asks for 3,000 hours of supervised professional work experience, of which at least 1,500 come through an internship meeting subsection F; the remaining 1,500 may be any combination of supervised preinternship experience (subsection E), additional internship hours, or supervised postdoctoral experience (subsection G), so an applicant can finish all 3,000 hours before the degree is conferred.

Graduates of accredited programs count practicum and internship hours on the same terms as everyone else, because the statute builds no accreditation split into the arithmetic.

The clocks the statute sets: the organized-training-program route must finish within 24 consecutive months (32-2071(F)(10)), preinternship hours within 72 months, postdoctoral hours capped at 1,500 within 36 consecutive months, and no more than 40 hours of credit in any week (32-2071(H)).

Twenty years of licensed or certified practice waives subsection F entirely, and ten years waives E and G (32-2071(I), (J)).

The statute text read carries no effective date for this structure.

For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.

β€œEach applicant for licensure shall obtain three thousand hours of supervised professional work experiences. The applicant shall demonstrate clearly how the applicant met this requirement. The applicant shall obtain a minimum of one thousand five hundred hours through an internship as described in subsection F of this section.”

The EPPP, a board option to add a state-law exam, and no Part 2

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2072(A)–(D)

Every applicant must pass the EPPP, the ASPPB national examination, at 70% on the written version or a scaled score of 500 on the computer-based version (32-2072(A)).

The board may approve an applicant who already holds the doctorate to sit for the EPPP before the supervised hours are complete (32-2072(C)), which lets a new graduate bank the exam early; an applicant who fails three times must meet additional board requirements before retaking.

Subsection (B) lets the board implement an additional examination on ethics and state law; whether one is currently administered is not stated in the sources read, because the R4-26 rules were not readable.

No EPPP Part 2 requirement appears in the statute read; from fall 2027 ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers, and from April 1, 2028 it is the only version.

β€œAn applicant for licensure must pass the examination for professional practice in psychology, which is the national examination established by the association of state and provincial psychology boards.”

Who supervises, and how much supervision each 20 hours needs

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2071(E)(4), (F)(3), (5), (6), (G)(1), (2), (5)

The supervision arithmetic is set per 20 hours, and it differs by stage.

Preinternship hours need at least 2 hours of contemporaneous supervision per 20, including at least 1 hour of in-person individual supervision, with at least 50% of the time in psychological service-related activities, at least 25% face-to-face, and at least 75% of the supervision from an independently licensed psychologist designated by the training program (32-2071(E)(4)).

The ten criteria in subsection F, among them at least 25% direct client contact, 1 hour of individual supervision per 20 hours plus 2 weekly learning hours, and at least half the supervision from psychologists, attach to its third route: an organized training program, which is how an internship that is neither APA-accredited nor APPIC-member qualifies (32-2071(F)).

A postdoctoral supervisor must have held an independent-level licence for at least two years, take full legal responsibility for clients, and the supervisee spends at least 40% of the time in direct contact (32-2071(G)).

An associate choosing a postdoc supervisor should check that two-year rule before signing.

β€œSupervision is conducted by a psychologist who is licensed or certified to practice psychology at the independent level in any licensing jurisdiction of the United States or Canada in which the supervision occurs or by a psychologist who is on full-time active duty in the United States armed services and who is licensed or certified by a board of psychologist examiners in a United States jurisdiction, who has been licensed or certified for at least two years and who is competent in the areas of professional practice in which the supervisee is receiving supervised professional experience.”

No master's tier, a short exemption list, and no prescribing

πŸ“œ ARS Β§Β§ 32-2075(A), 32-2076

No licence below the doctorate was found in the statutes read β€” no master's-level licence of any title.

The nearest is an exemption, not a credential: a government-agency employee in a subdoctorate position who uses assistant or associate after the title, supervised by a doctorate-position employee licensed as a psychologist (32-2075(A)(2)).

Other exemptions carry conditions: a DOE-certified school psychologist in a school setting, only for work that is part of their school employment or contract (32-2075(A)(1)); a graduate student at a 32-2071-accredited institution using trainee, intern or extern, only for activities in the supervised program (32-2075(A)(3)); a subsection G supervisee whose supervisor has been licensed at least two years, whose clients are told the services are training, and whose title shows training status (32-2075(A)(6)); university faculty, exempt for salaried faculty duties but not direct services or supervising students who provide them, and only with a 32-2071 doctorate (32-2075(A)(5)); and other licensed professions practising within their scope if they do not claim to be psychologists (32-2075(B)).

Prescribing stays outside the chapter: 32-2076 keeps the practice of medicine for its own licensees.

For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.

β€œThis chapter does not authorize a person to engage in any manner in the practice of medicine pursuant to chapter 13, 17 or 29 of this title, except that a person licensed as provided in this chapter may diagnose, treat and correct human conditions ordinarily within the scope of the practice of a psychologist.”

PSYPACT: in effect since July 1, 2020

πŸ“œ AZ HB 2503; PSYPACT Commission map (September 2026)

The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Arizona as a member in effect: HB 2503, enacted May 17, 2016, effective July 1, 2020.

A psychologist licensed here uses the compact through ASPPB's E.Passport plus a PSYPACT APIT authorization to practise telepsychology, or the Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus a TAP authorization for temporary in-person work capped at 30 calendar days per year, keeping Arizona as the home state where they are physically located while delivering telepsychology.

PSYPACT is doctoral-only under the compact's own rule, which is a clean fit here: Arizona issues only the doctoral licence.

For how PSYPACT’s telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.

β€œArizona - AZ HB 2503 (Enacted on 5/17/2016; Effective 7/1/2020)”

Moving to Arizona: waivers, not a reciprocity chapter

πŸ“œ ARS Β§Β§ 32-2071(I), (J); 32-2072(D); 32-2073(A); 32-2075(A)(4)

The article read contains no general reciprocity or endorsement section, only targeted waivers.

A diplomate of the American Board of Professional Psychology, or a holder of ASPPB's Certificate of Professional Qualification in good standing, is exempt from the national examination (32-2072(D)).

Twenty years of licensed or certified practice waives the internship requirement (32-2071(I)), and ten years waives the preinternship and postdoctoral requirements (32-2071(J)).

A psychologist licensed in another jurisdiction who meets the education, experience and first-examination requirements may hold a temporary licence where the board requires an additional examination, effective from approval until the last day of the month the additional-examination results arrive; it cannot be extended, renewed or reissued (32-2073(A), (C), (D)), and an out-of-state psychologist may work in Arizona within their customary area of practice for up to 20 days per year, with the client or public told of the limited nature of the services and that the psychologist is not licensed in this state, under exemption (32-2075(A)(4)).

Whether the board's unread R4-26 rules add further endorsement routes is not stated in the sources read.

β€œAn applicant who does not satisfy the supervised professional experience requirements of subsection F of this section may qualify on demonstration of twenty years' licensed or certified practice as a psychologist in a jurisdiction of the United States or Canada.”

Renewal by birth month, and the CE figure the sources did not give

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2074(B)–(G); 32-2073(G), (H)

Licences renew every other year by the last day of the licensee's birth month, in odd-numbered years for odd-numbered licences and even for even (32-2074(B)).

A licence that misses the deadline expires, with reinstatement windows that can require proof of competency (32-2074(C)), and every renewal must attach a report of disciplinary actions taken by other boards or ethics committees (32-2074(D)).

Continuing education is required in the amount and during the period the board prescribes (32-2074(E)), but the hour figure sits in rule R4-26, which the sources could not read, so it is not stated in the sources read.

An initial renewal on or after January 1, 2022 also requires a fingerprint clearance card (32-2074(G)).

Licensees who step away can go inactive and renew that status every two years (32-2073(G), (H)).

β€œA person who renews an active license to practice psychology in this state shall satisfy a continuing education requirement designed to provide the necessary understanding of current developments, skills, procedures or treatment related to the practice of psychology in the amount and during the period the board prescribes.”

Rule changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ ARS Β§ 32-2073(J); 32-2074(G)

The fingerprint clearance card is the dated change: from January 1, 2022, temporary-licence applicants and licensees making an initial renewal must have applied for one (32-2073(J); 32-2074(G)).

The research identified no 2023–2026 amendments to this article, and the azleg pages read do not display session-law history, so a recent amendment could sit unlisted.

The effective date of the 3,000-hour, optional-postdoc structure is likewise not in the statute text read.

Before relying on any hour figure or deadline, confirm it with the board.

β€œBeginning January 1, 2022, an applicant for a temporary license pursuant to this section shall have applied for a fingerprint clearance card pursuant to title 41, chapter 12, article 3.1.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Arizona statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

Confirm every requirement with the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Arizona that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a postdoc to become a psychologist in Arizona?

No. ARS 32-2071(D) requires 3,000 hours of supervised professional work experience: a minimum of 1,500 through an internship, and the remaining 1,500 from any combination of preinternship hours, additional internship hours or supervised postdoctoral experience.

The full 3,000 can therefore be earned before the degree is conferred.

Postdoctoral hours, where used, are capped at 1,500 within 36 consecutive months, and no week counts more than 40 hours.

Ask the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners to confirm how your hours will be classified before you rely on them.

What score do you need on the EPPP in Arizona?

A scaled score of 500 on the computer-based EPPP, or 70% on the written version (ARS 32-2072(A)).

The board may approve you to take the EPPP after the doctorate but before your supervised hours are finished (32-2072(C)).

The statute read shows no EPPP Part 2 requirement; note that ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027.

An applicant who fails three times must meet additional board requirements before retaking.

Check the board's exam page for current procedures.

Is there a master's-level psychologist licence in Arizona?

None was found in the statutes read.

The chapter's only near-master's provision is an exemption, not a licence: a government-agency employee in a subdoctorate position who uses assistant or associate after the title, supervised by a doctorate-position employee licensed as a psychologist (ARS 32-2075(A)(2)).

School psychologists certified by the Department of Education are exempt only for work that is part of their school employment or contract, and a graduate student at a 32-2071-accredited institution may use trainee, intern or extern only for activities in the supervised program.

To hold yourself out as a psychologist in Arizona, plan on the doctoral licence.

Can an Arizona psychologist use PSYPACT to practise across state lines?

Yes.

The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Arizona as an effective member since July 1, 2020 (HB 2503, enacted May 17, 2016).

Telepsychology runs through ASPPB's E.Passport plus a PSYPACT APIT authorization; temporary in-person practice uses the Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus a TAP authorization, capped at 30 calendar days per year.

You must remain physically located in your home state while delivering telepsychology, and PSYPACT is doctoral-only.

Confirm authorization requirements with the board before you begin.

When does an Arizona psychology licence renew, and how much CE is required?

Every other year, by the last day of your birth month: odd-numbered licences renew in odd-numbered years, even-numbered licences in even-numbered years (ARS 32-2074(B)).

Continuing education is required in the amount and during the period the board prescribes (32-2074(E)), but the hour figure is not stated in the sources read because the rule chapter was not readable, so check the board's continuing-education page ahead of your renewal.

An initial renewal on or after January 1, 2022 also requires a fingerprint clearance card (32-2074(G)).

Find Clinical Psychologist Jobs in Arizona
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Arizona & Clinical Psychologist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners.