🧭 Psychologist licensure

Psychologist Licensure Requirements by State

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last updated October 2026

Psychologist requirements are set by each state’s board of psychology, but the path to a psychologist license has the same shape everywhere: a doctoral degree in psychology (PhD or PsyD), an internship and supervised professional experience, the national EPPP exam and often a state law exam, then renewal with continuing education.

The numbers differ: among the states compared below that set a total, supervised hours run from 3,000 in North Carolina to 4,000 in Utah.

Pick your state for its own rules.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours.

Choose a state

Looking for an accredited degree program?

The behavioral health school directory lists schools by state and city.

Once licensed, browse clinical psychologist jobs nationwide.

What are the requirements to become a licensed psychologist?

State boards of psychology ask for the same core things, in the same order: a doctoral degree in psychology, an internship and supervised professional experience (SPE), a passing score on the national exam, and whatever state exam the board adds.

Only the details change at the state line: how many hours, whether any must come after the degree, and which extra exams apply.

The education behind the licence runs from a bachelor's degree into a doctoral program, with or without a master's first.

The full sequence, and how long each stage takes, is in how to become a clinical psychologist.

The licensing steps themselves look like this:

  1. Earn a qualifying doctorate

    A PhD or PsyD in psychology that meets your state board's program rule, which may name APA accreditation.
  2. Complete the internship and supervised experience

    A predoctoral internship plus the rest of the supervised hours your state counts, before or after the degree as its rule allows.
  3. Pass the EPPP and any state exam

    The national Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology, then a jurisprudence, law and ethics or oral exam where the board requires one.
  4. Apply to the board

    Transcripts, verified hours and exam scores, the application fee and, in some states, fingerprints for a criminal background check.
  5. Renew on the board's cycle

    Annual, two-year or three-year renewal with continuing education, including any topics the state mandates.

Psychologist degree and education requirements

The licence that carries the title psychologist rests on a doctorate.

Boards accept both the PhD and the PsyD; how the research and practitioner routes differ is covered in PhD vs. PsyD.

Whether the program must be accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA) is a state rule.

Oklahoma requires an APA-accredited doctorate for graduates on or after January 1, 1997, with narrow exceptions.

Ohio accepts programs accredited by the APA, the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA), ASPPB/National Register designation or NASP.

Virginia makes APA, CPA or board-accepted accreditation mandatory for its clinical, counseling and school doctorates from June 23, 2028.

California does not require APA accreditation; it requires a doctorate in a listed field from a regionally accredited institution.

As of September 2026, the APA Commission on Accreditation lists 440 accredited doctoral programs.

The internship sits inside the doctorate, and boards commonly accept one accredited by the APA or CPA or run by a member of APPIC (the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers): Georgia, Ohio, Virginia and Washington all name them.

Lengths differ: at least 1,750 hours in Texas and Illinois, at least 1,500 hours over 12 to 24 months in Washington, and at least 2,000 hours in Georgia.

How many supervised hours does psychologist licensure require?

There is no national number.

Among the states below that set a total, supervised hours run from 3,000 in North Carolina to 4,000 in Utah, and the bigger difference is when you may earn them.

APA's model act has not required a postdoctoral year since 2010, and some states now accept all supervised hours before the degree.

Read as written in September 2026, the rules of 30 of the 51 jurisdictions still require a postdoctoral year, 18 do not or make it optional, and 3 could not be determined from the texts read.

Eleven states, each cell from that state's own page:

StateSupervised experienceExamsRenewal and CEPSYPACT
ColoradoOne postdoctoral year required; the DPO chart reads it as 1,500 hours over at least 12 monthsEPPP plus a jurisprudence examExpires August 31 of odd-numbered years; 40 Professional Development Hours per cycleMember, in effect
GeorgiaAn internship of at least 2,000 hours, then 1,500 postdoctoral hoursBoth EPPP parts, the Georgia Jurisprudence Examination and an oral examEvery two years; CE hours not stated in the sources readMember, in effect
IllinoisTwo years of at least 1,750 hours each: an internship and a postdoctoral yearEPPP (the ABPP clinical or counseling exam accepted in lieu)Every two years; 24 hours, at least 3 in ethics and, from September 30, 2026, 3 in diversityMember, in effect
New York3,500 hours; no more than 1,750 from the internship, the rest after the doctorateEPPP only; Part 2 not adoptedEvery three years; 36 hours, at least 3 in ethics including New York lawNot enacted
North Carolina3,000 hours; at least 1,500 hours and one calendar year postdoctoralEPPP plus the State Examination; an ethics exam every two years at renewalEvery two years; 24 hours, at least 3 in ethicsMember, in effect
OhioTwo years (3,600 hours), one a predoctoral internship; no postdoctoral year for accredited-program graduatesEPPP plus a board exam on Ohio law, ethics and standards of careEvery two years; at least 23 hours, 4 on conduct, ethics or cultureMember, in effect
PennsylvaniaA postdoctoral year: at least 12 months and 1,750 hoursEPPP plus the Pennsylvania Psychology Law ExaminationEvery two years; 30 hours, at least 3 in ethics and 2 in child abuse recognition and reportingMember, in effect
Texas3,500 hours: a 1,750-hour internship and 1,750 hours as a provisionally licensed psychologist; accredited-program graduates may count extra predoctoral hoursEPPP plus the Texas jurisprudence examAnnual or every two years, as council rule sets; CE hours not stated in the sources readMember, in effect
Utah4,000 hours; any portion may be predoctoralThe two-part EPPP, as the rule reads, plus the Utah Psychologist Law and Ethics ExaminationEvery two years; at least 48 hours, 6 in ethics and lawMember, in effect
VirginiaAn internship plus a 1,500-hour residency that clinical applicants can meet with pre-internship practicum hoursAll parts of the EPPP; no jurisprudence exam foundAnnual; 14 hours a year, at least 1.5 in ethics, laws and regulationsMember, in effect
Washington3,300 hours: a 300-hour practicum plus 3,000 over at least two years; a postdoc only if the hours are not done by the degreeEPPP; a jurisprudence exam after initial licensureAnnual; at least 60 hours every three yearsMember, in effect

Boards also define what counts as a year or a week: Illinois counts a year as not less than 1,750 hours over not less than 50 weeks, and Utah caps a full-time training position at 40 hours a week.

Check your state's page for who may supervise and how often you must meet.

Which exams do psychologists take? EPPP, jurisprudence and oral exams

The national exam is the EPPP, the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology, run by ASPPB (the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards).

All 66 ASPPB member jurisdictions require Part 1 (Knowledge); Part 2 (Skills) is required only where a board adopts it, and ASPPB publishes no list.

Georgia clearly requires both parts, and New York's board states Part 2 has not been adopted.

ASPPB recommends a passing score of 500 on each part.

The exam is changing.

ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027, and from April 1, 2028 it is the only version.

Many boards add a state jurisprudence exam on their own law and rules: Texas, Colorado, Georgia and Pennsylvania among them, Utah as a law and ethics exam, and Ohio as a board exam on its statute, rules and ethics.

Washington has you pass its jurisprudence exam after initial licensure.

Oral exams are still required in Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota and West Virginia.

How the EPPP compares with the counselor, social work and MFT exams is covered in the therapist licensing exams guide.

How many continuing education hours do psychologists need to renew?

It varies by state, and so does the renewal cycle that the hours attach to.

Some boards renew every year, some every two years and some every three, so compare hours over the same period.

Examples from each state's own page:

  • Virginia: 14 hours a year, with annual renewal.
  • Alabama: 20 hours a year, with annual renewal.
  • Illinois: 24 hours every two years.
  • Pennsylvania: 30 contact hours every two years.
  • Delaware: 40 hours every two years, at least 10 face-to-face or live webinar.
  • Utah: at least 48 hours every two years.
  • Vermont: 60 hours every two years.
  • New York: 36 hours every three years.
  • Kentucky: at least 39 hours every three years.

Not every board calls it continuing education (CE): Colorado counts Professional Development Hours under its continuing professional development (CPD) program, and New Mexico requires 40 continuing professional education (CPE) hours every two years.

Most of the states above require ethics hours.

Many states add their own mandated subjects: child abuse recognition and reporting in Pennsylvania, diversity in Illinois from September 30, 2026, cultural inclusion, equity and diversity in Delaware, pain and symptom management plus implicit-bias training in Michigan, and suicide prevention in Nevada and Washington.

Some mandated training comes before the licence.

New York requires coursework in identifying and reporting child abuse, and Pennsylvania puts 3 hours of approved child-abuse training in the application file.

Application and renewal fees are set by each board's fee schedule, as are late-renewal rules, so check your state's page for its board link before a renewal deadline.

Master's-level licences, school psychologists and scope of practice

Some states license master's-trained practitioners through the psychology board under titles such as psychological associate or licensed psychological practitioner.

As of September 2026, 19 jurisdictions have one in law (Delaware's is enacted but not yet issuing), and none of them is the doctoral psychologist licence.

What those licences allow is covered in the master's-level psychology practitioner.

A school psychologist credential is a separate credential with its own rules, not the board licence this page covers.

The licence authorizes the practice of psychology as each state's psychology act defines it.

In Texas, for example, the licence requirement covers both doing the work and holding yourself out as doing it.

Where diagnosis and psychological testing sit across the professions is explained in diagnosis vs. psychological testing.

Prescribing is separate: nine states have enacted prescriptive authority for specially trained psychologists, covered in prescriptive authority for psychologists.

Moving states: PSYPACT and licensure by endorsement

A psychologist license does not transfer on its own.

PSYPACT, the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact, lets a doctoral psychologist licensed in one member state practise telepsychology into other member states, or work in person there for up to 30 days a year.

As of September 2026 it is in effect in 42 states and DC.

How the authorizations work is in PSYPACT explained.

To move and practise full time, you apply to the new state's board for a licence, often through an endorsement route.

Pennsylvania's, added in 2022, asks for a licence in good standing, competency shown by 2 of the last 5 years in practice or 30 qualifying CE hours in 24 months, and updated criminal-history and child abuse clearances.

Each state page lists its own route.

Pay for licensed psychologists is on the clinical psychologist salary page, and open roles are listed on the clinical psychologist jobs board.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you practice psychology with only a master's degree?

In some states, under a different title.

As of September 2026, 19 jurisdictions have a master's-level psychology licence or registration through the psychology board (Delaware's is enacted but not yet issuing), such as the licensed psychological associate in Texas and North Carolina.

These practitioners are not licensed psychologists: the title psychologist rests on a doctorate, and PSYPACT is open only to doctoral licensees.

Can an out-of-state psychology license transfer to another state?

Not automatically.

A licence is issued by one state's board.

PSYPACT lets a doctoral psychologist licensed in a member state practise telepsychology into other member states, or in person for up to 30 days a year, once ASPPB and the compact issue the right credentials.

To move permanently, you apply to the new state's board, usually through an endorsement route that looks at your years of licensed practice and disciplinary record.

Is a school psychologist the same as a licensed psychologist?

No. A school psychologist holds a credential for school work with its own education and exam rules, while a licensed psychologist holds the doctoral licence from the state board of psychology.

Some boards issue both: Texas licenses psychologists and, separately, licensed specialists in school psychology.

Check which credential a job asks for before you apply, because one does not stand in for the other.

Do psychologist license applications require a background check?

Often, yes, but the rule is state by state.

Alaska requires fingerprints for a national criminal history check, Connecticut has required a state and national fingerprint-based check of every psychologist applicant since July 1, 2023, and Pennsylvania puts a criminal history report and a Child Abuse History Clearance in the application file.

Arizona requires a fingerprint clearance card for a temporary licence and at initial renewal.

Your state's page links its board checklist.

Can licensed psychologists prescribe medication?

Only in the few states with prescriptive authority, and only after extra training.

Nine states have enacted it: Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, New Mexico, Utah and Vermont.

Vermont's prescribing starts in July 2029, and Hawaii's law is a pilot at federally qualified health centers.

In the other 42 jurisdictions, psychologists do not prescribe.

A standard psychologist licence never includes prescribing on its own.

Related guides

Each state’s figures come from the statute, rules and board pages cited on its own page.

This is general career information, not legal or clinical advice, and not guidance for anyone seeking treatment: confirm current rules with your state licensing board.