Indiana licenses psychologists through the Indiana State Psychology Board at the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
The licence takes a doctoral degree the board approved as a psychology program, a jurisprudence exam every applicant must pass, and the EPPP.
Independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders takes the health service provider in psychology (HSPP) endorsement: a 1,500-hour internship plus experience the board currently proves as 1,600 hours over no less than twelve months, 900 of them direct client hours.
There is no master's-level licence.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed psychologist; the health service provider in psychology (HSPP) endorsement; a temporary permit (ten (10) months, non-renewable) while awaiting the EPPP; and a limited scope temporary psychology permit under IC 25-33-1-4.5.
A doctoral degree in psychology from a recognized postsecondary educational institution and from a degree program the board approved as a psychology program at the time the degree was conferred (IC 25-33-1-5.1(a)(4)).
The HSPP application must show completion of a 1,500 hour internship (Form A); internships without APA or APPIC approval go to the board with a supplemental educational form.
Not necessarily.
HSPP route (A) puts the second year after the doctorate; the board also administers route (B) as a minimum of 1,600 hours completed in no less than twelve (12) months including 900 direct client hours, which doctoral-level practicum hours may fill.
A jurisprudence examination no applicant is exempt from (50 questions, 75% to pass, emailed with seven (7) days to complete), then the EPPP; the EPPP passing score was not stated on the page read.
EPPP Part 2 has not been adopted.
None found in the sources read: the board's application list covers the psychologist licence, the HSPP endorsement and the two permits; the chapter list adds two licence sections that were not read (25-33-1-5.3 and 25-33-1-9.5) and the IC 25-33-1-18 legacy certificate conversion.
Member, in effect: IN S 365, enacted March 10, 2022, effective July 1, 2022, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.
None.
No prescriptive authority for psychologists was found in the sources read.
Expires September 1st on even years; two-year validity to August 31st. Only HSPPs owe continuing education: forty (40) hours per two-year period, and in the 2024-26 cycle 6 in ethics with no less than 3 Category I.
A one-time, non-renewable permit, valid ten (10) months, for an applicant seeking approval to sit the EPPP: it is issued once the applicant has met all licensure requirements to be approved for the national exam, and an applicant who has already passed the EPPP is not eligible; a failed exam expires the permit, and on a pass the psychology licence number replaces the permit number (board licensing-information page).
A permit, not a licence, under IC 25-33-1-4.5 for an applicant not currently licensed to practise psychology in Indiana who holds an unsupervised psychology licence in another state; it is nonrenewable and capped at a total of thirty (30) days in any two (2) year period.
The doctoral licence issued under IC 25-33-1-5.1(a); it authorizes the practice of psychology, but independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders takes the HSPP endorsement or the limited licence the board names.
An endorsement added to a licensed psychologist's record, not a separate licence: it authorizes the independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders.
Its conditions include a health-service doctorate, two years of experience and continuing education under IC 25-33-1-5.1(c), plus the board's prerequisite of an Indiana psychology licence or a pending application; subsection (2) was missing from the statute text read, so the list is not complete.
The licence this page follows is the one IC 25-33-1-5.1(a) issues: its requirements list covers age, conduct, a board-approved psychology doctorate, the examination and the fee — no supervised-experience clause.
The chapter also carries two licence sections that were not read — 25-33-1-5.3, which 5.1(a) opens by excepting, and 25-33-1-9.5, a temporary licence for psychologists — so the account here is scoped to the sections that were.
What separates a licence from a health-service career is the endorsement: the board's page tells licensees the HSPP is required for the independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders, and that without it the only routes are practising under an HSPP's supervision while qualifying for the endorsement, or holding the limited licence under IC 25-33-1-18, a legacy conversion of a repealed certificate.
Two permits — one for exam candidates, one limited-scope permit for psychologists not licensed in Indiana — round out the ladder.
For how master’s-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the master’s-level psychology practitioner.
“Licensed psychologists must obtain endorsement as health service providers in psychology to engage in the independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders.”
The degree rule has a timing trap: the program must have been approved by the board as a psychology program at the time the degree was conferred, so approval is judged as of conferral, not later.
Transcripts must show the conferral date, and internships should be listed on the transcript or verified by a program letter.
Graduates of programs without APA, CPA or APPIC approval submit a supplemental form with syllabi for each subject area so the board can review the program against the statute and rules.
The HSPP endorsement adds its own degree line: a doctorate in clinical psychology, counseling psychology, school psychology, or another applied health service area of psychology.
For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
“Possesses a doctoral degree in psychology: (A) granted from a recognized postsecondary educational institution; and (B) from a degree program approved by the board as a psychology program at the time the degree was conferred.”
The endorsement requires at least two (2) years of experience in a health service setting.
Route (A), as written, puts the second year after the doctorate: one year in an organized health service training program plus at least one year after the doctoral degree.
Route (B) keys to a board rule defining sequential and organized experience, the route the board administers today: a minimum of 1,600 hours of supervised experience completed in no less than twelve (12) months including 900 hours of direct client hours, provable by doctoral practicum (Form B), post-internship hours (Form C), or a combination, so practicum hours can fill the requirement and the post-degree year is not required as administered.
The rule text (868 IAC 1.1-13-3.1) was not readable and is unverified.
Form A proves the internship separately: 1,500 hours, with non-APA/APPIC internships reviewed through the supplemental form.
Doctorates received before September 1, 1983 have a preceptorship route: at least 1,800 hours with at least 100 hours of direct supervision — at least fifty (50) on diagnosis, fifty (50) on treatment — within two (2) years.
For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.
“has at least two (2) years of experience in a health service setting that includes: (A) one (1) year of experience that was obtained in an organized health service training program and at least one (1) year of experience that was obtained after the individual received the individual's doctoral degree in psychology; or (B) upon the adoption by the board of a rule defining “sequential and organized”, sequential and organized supervised professional experience in a health service setting in which one (1) year of experience was obtained in an organized health service training program; and”
Every applicant for psychology licensure must pass a jurisprudence examination — the board's page says no applicant is exempt — a 50-question true-false and multiple-choice exam emailed to the applicant with seven (7) days to return it and a 75% pass mark, taken before the board approves the national exam.
The EPPP passing score was not stated on the page read.
Approval to sit the EPPP lapses one (1) calendar year after the board issues it, with no extensions, and a failed attempt carries a sixty (60) day wait before re-approval.
The board has not adopted EPPP Part 2.
That question is time-limited: ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027 and is the only version from April 1, 2028, so check the board's exam page for which version you will sit.
“At this time the Indiana State Psychology Board has not adopted EPPP part II.”
A psychologist who is not yet endorsed can still move toward diagnosis and treatment work, but the supervising credential is fixed: someone accruing post-degree supervised experience in a health service setting does not need the endorsement themselves as long as their supervisor is an HSPP-endorsed psychologist.
The same page governs how the hours reach the board — where doctoral practicum and post-internship hours had multiple supervisors, each submits a form, and a supervisor who oversaw several locations may summarize the total in a supplemental letter.
Once issued, the HSPP renews automatically with the underlying psychology licence.
“If a Psychologist is currently obtaining a post-degree supervised experience in a health service setting, the Psychologist does NOT have to be endorsed as an HSPP as long as he/she is supervised by a psychologist who IS endorsed as an HSPP.”
A licensed psychologist without the HSPP endorsement has narrow room: the board limits diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders to practice under HSPP supervision for the purpose of qualifying for the endorsement, or to the limited licence issued under IC 25-33-1-18 within that licence's scope — a legacy credential, which makes the endorsement the working scope boundary for a clinical career.
The chapter also carries a section titled Prohibition Against Practice Beyond Psychologist's Professional Competence (IC 25-33-1-12).
Prescriptive authority: none was found in the sources read.
For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.
The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Indiana as a member in effect: IN S 365, enacted March 10, 2022, effective July 1, 2022.
The board's own page points applicants to PSYPACT information on the licensing-information page; the enacting statute itself was not among the texts read, so these dates rest on the Commission map.
PSYPACT is doctoral-level only, so it travels with the psychologist licence.
An Indiana psychologist uses ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization to practise telepsychology, or temporarily in person for up to 30 days a year, in another participating state.
For how PSYPACT’s telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.
An applicant holding an active psychology licence in another jurisdiction applies by reciprocity and must meet IC 25-1-21-5; the verification of licensure must come directly from the issuing state — copies of licence cards are not accepted — and every reciprocity applicant still passes the jurisprudence examination.
Two limits matter to a relocating clinician.
The HSPP credential is not included in the reciprocity application: the endorsement takes its own application, its own $100 fee, Form A internship proof and the post-internship documentation.
And for interim practice, the board issues the limited scope temporary psychology permit under IC 25-33-1-4.5 to an applicant not currently licensed to practise psychology in Indiana who holds an unsupervised psychology licence in another state.
“A practitioner may be eligible for licensure under IC 25-33-1-4.5 and may apply to the board for a limited scope temporary psychology permit that, if issued under this section, shall remain valid for a nonrenewable period not to exceed a total of thirty (30) days in any two (2) year period.”
Licences expire September 1st on even years and, once renewed, run two years to August 31st; an initial licence is valid only for the remainder of the renewal period in effect at issuance (IC 25-33-1-10(f)).
There is no inactive status.
A licence lapsed for less than three (3) years renews on payment of the fee; beyond three years, reinstatement runs through IC 25-1-8-6(d) and costs a $200 renewal and application fee plus proof of twenty hours of continuing education for every year the licence was invalid, for HSPP holders.
CE itself attaches only to the endorsement: forty (40) hours per two-year period, and for the 2024-26 cycle 6 hours in ethics with no less than 3 Category I ethics and a minimum of twenty (20) credit hours in Category I courses.
An HSPP issued mid-cycle owes a prorated amount under 868 IAC 1.1-15-10.
“All licenses for the Indiana Board of Psychology expires September 1st on even years. The licenses once renewed will remain valid for two years with the last day of the renewal year to be August 31st.”
Three mechanics end or gate an application.
An application whose requirements are not submitted within one (1) year after filing is abandoned, and a later filing is treated as a new application.
Approval to sit the EPPP lapses one (1) calendar year after the board issues it, and the board grants no extensions.
And disclosure is mandatory: the application requires the applicant's U.S. social security number under Ind.
Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5-11(a).
The psychologist, re-examination, reciprocity and limited-scope permit applications each list a criminal background check; the temporary-permit and HSPP application lists read do not.
Fees: $100 for the psychologist application and for the HSPP endorsement, $50 for a temporary permit or re-examination, and $100 to renew every two years.
This page summarizes the Indiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Indiana State Psychology Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
Confirm every requirement with the Indiana State Psychology Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Indiana that asks for it.
For the licence itself, IC 25-33-1-5.1(a) — the section this page follows — carries no supervised-experience clause; the chapter's other issuance section, 25-33-1-5.3, was not read.
The HSPP endorsement — which you need to diagnose and treat independently — requires two years of health-service experience.
Under route (A) the second year must come after the doctorate; the board also administers route (B), proving a minimum of 1,600 hours over no less than twelve months with 900 direct client hours, which doctoral practicum hours may fill (Form B).
The underlying rule text was not readable, so confirm your hour plan with the board before you rely on it.
Only in the situations the board names: practising under the supervision of a health service provider in psychology for the purpose of qualifying for the endorsement, or holding the limited licence issued under IC 25-33-1-18 within that licence's scope — a legacy conversion of a repealed certificate.
Otherwise the endorsement is the working gate to independent diagnosis and treatment of mental and behavioral disorders.
The board's licensing-information page states the rule and can confirm how it applies to your setting.
Two, in order.
First a jurisprudence examination the board emails after reviewing your file — 50 true-false and multiple-choice questions, seven days to return it, 75% to pass, and no applicant is exempt.
Passing it earns approval to sit the EPPP, which must be taken within one calendar year of that approval; a failed attempt means a 60-day wait.
The board has not adopted EPPP Part 2, and the integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027 — check the board's exam page before you register.
No master's-level psychology licence was found in the sources read.
The board's application list covers the psychologist licence, the HSPP endorsement and the two permits; the chapter's section list adds only sections that were not read — 25-33-1-5.3, issuance of licence, and 25-33-1-9.5, temporary licence for psychologists — plus the IC 25-33-1-18 limited licence, a legacy conversion of a repealed certificate, not a master's route.
A master's-trained practitioner should contact the board directly about what, if anything, their degree qualifies them to hold.
Yes, narrowly.
An applicant not currently licensed in Indiana who holds an unsupervised psychology licence in another state may apply for a limited scope temporary psychology permit under IC 25-33-1-4.5 — valid for a nonrenewable total of thirty (30) days in any two (2) year period.
For full licensure, the reciprocity application requires an active licence elsewhere, verification sent directly from the issuing state, and the Indiana jurisprudence exam; the HSPP endorsement is a separate application with its own fee and documentation.
PSYPACT-authorized telepsychology is a separate route.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Indiana State Psychology Board (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency).