Kansas licenses psychologists through the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.
The psychologist licence takes a doctorate in content primarily psychological, two years of supervised experience β 1 predoctoral internship year and 1 postdoctoral year, per the board's application page β and the EPPP at a scaled score of 500.
Kansas also licenses master's-level psychologists: the LMLP practises under the direction of a qualifying independent practitioner, and the Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist practises independently after 3,000 supervised hours.
A community-based licence serves applicants working in community mental health centers and similar settings.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed psychologist, community-based psychologist licence and temporary licence; master's tiers are the Licensed Master's Level Psychologist (LMLP) and Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist (LCP), and a community-based master's level licence also exists.
The doctor's degree based on a program of studies in content primarily psychological, from an educational institution whose graduate program has standards consistent with those of the state universities of Kansas, or the substantial equivalent (K.S.A.
74-5310(a)(3)).
1 year of the two supervised years must be a predoctoral internship, per the BSRB psychologists page.
An hour total for the internship year: Not stated in the sources read.
Still required as written: the board's application page splits the two supervised years into 1 predoctoral internship year and 1 year of postdoctoral experience.
Hour figures for either year sit in the board's administrative regulations, which were not retrieved.
The EPPP at a scaled score of 500 for the psychologist licence and the LCP; 400 for the LMLP (BSRB pages).
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found, and no jurisprudence or oral exam appeared on the pages read.
Yes, two tiers: the Licensed Master's Level Psychologist (60 graduate hours including a master's degree in psychology, or the doctoral-comprehensive-exam route; 750 practicum or 1,500 postgraduate hours; EPPP 400), supervised for life, and the Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist, who practises independently after 3,000 supervised hours including 1,500 of direct client contact.
Member, in effect: Kansas SB 170, enacted May 17, 2021, effective January 1, 2022, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.
None.
Kansas psychologists do not prescribe.
50 hours total per renewal, with at least 3 hours in Ethics and at least 3 in Diagnosis and Treatment β the same figure the board prints for the LP, LMLP and LCP.
The renewal cycle length: Not stated in the sources read.
A master's-level licence: at least 60 graduate hours including a master's degree in psychology from an institution whose graduate program in psychology is consistent with state universities of Kansas, or a pass at comprehensive or equivalent final examinations in a doctoral program in psychology with 12 semester hours of psychological foundation courses and 24 of professional core courses; plus 750 clock hours of academically supervised practicum or 1,500 clock hours of postgraduate supervised work experience, the EPPP at a scaled score of 400, and practice under the direction of a licensed clinical psychotherapist, licensed psychologist, physician or independently licensed mental-health practitioner whose licensure allows diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders (K.S.A.
74-5363(b); 74-5362(a)).
The independent master's tier: an LMLP (or an applicant meeting all LMLP requirements) who adds not less than two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience β 3,000 hours including 1,500 of direct client contact β may engage in the independent practice of master's level psychology and diagnose and treat mental disorders (K.S.A.
74-5363(c)).
A one-time psychologist licence scoped to employment at a community mental health center, federally qualified health center, psychiatric residential treatment facility or private treatment facility, under independent-level supervision; absent extenuating circumstances it expires on the board's licence decision or 24 months after issuance, and it cannot be renewed or issued again (K.S.A.
74-5310(c)).
The doctoral licence: a doctorate in content primarily psychological, two years of supervised experience (1 predoctoral internship year and 1 postdoctoral year, per the board's application page) and the EPPP at 500 (K.S.A.
74-5310(a); BSRB psychologists page).
Kansas issues the licensed psychologist credential to doctoral applicants, and it licenses two master's tiers: the Licensed Master's Level Psychologist and the Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist.
Neither master's tier may use the title licensed psychologist or psychologist.
The community-based psychologist licence is a restricted variant for psychologists employed by a community mental health center, federally qualified health center, psychiatric residential treatment facility or private treatment facility: absent extenuating circumstances it expires when the board issues or denies the full licence, or 24 months after issuance, and it cannot be renewed or reissued.
A separate community-based master's level psychologist licence (74-5363(e)) shares those employment settings, that expiry and the no-renewal rule; its holder uses the LMLP title, and its supervision rule is its own: practice only under a person licensed to practice psychology or master's level psychology in Kansas, so an LMLP qualifies, with the fee capped at $100 against $225 for the doctoral variant.
Neither licence may be issued to someone previously issued a community-based or temporary licence at that level (74-5310(c)(7); 74-5363(e)(7)).
For how masterβs-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the masterβs-level psychology practitioner.
βNo person may practice psychology under a community-based psychologist license except under the supervision of a person licensed by the board to practice at the independent level.β
The doctoral degree test names institutional standards rather than a specific accreditor (K.S.A.
74-5310(a)(3)): the degree must rest on a program of studies in content primarily psychological, or its substantial equivalent, at an institution whose graduate standards are consistent with the state universities of Kansas.
Applicants must be at least 21 and satisfy the board that they merit the public trust (74-5310(a)(1)-(2)).
The master's tier's main route asks for at least 60 graduate hours including a master's degree in psychology based on a program of studies in psychology from an educational institution having a graduate program in psychology consistent with state universities of Kansas.
A second route takes a doctoral student who has passed comprehensive or equivalent final examinations in a doctoral program in psychology, with 12 semester hours of psychological foundation courses and 24 of professional core courses.
A third route, stated to run until July 1, 2003, took a master's degree with the same coursework.
Every route needs 750 clock hours of academically supervised practicum or 1,500 clock hours of postgraduate supervised work experience (74-5363(b)(4)).
For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
βhas received the doctor's degree based on a program of studies in content primarily psychological from an educational institution having a graduate program with standards consistent with those of the state universities of Kansas, or the substantial equivalent of such program in both subject matter and extent of trainingβ
The statute requires at least two years of supervised experience, a significant portion spent rendering psychological services that satisfy the board's approved standards.
The board's application page is the text that gives those years their shape: 1 year must be a predoctoral internship and 1 year of postdoctoral experience, so the postdoctoral year is still required as written.
The sources read state the requirement in years, not hours β the hour totals sit in the board's administrative regulations (K.A.R.
102-1), which were not retrieved.
Confirm with the BSRB how your internship and postdoctoral hours will be counted before you commit to a placement.
For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.
β2 years of supervised work experience. 1 year must be predoctoral internship and 1 year of postdoctoral experience.β
The board's application page asks applicants to pass a nationally standardized competency examination, the EPPP, at 500.
The master's pages set the LMLP's pass mark at a scaled score of 400 and require LCP applicants to reach the psychologist passing score of 500.
No requirement for EPPP Part 2 (Skills) was found in the sources read, and no jurisprudence or oral exam appeared on the pages read either.
The question is time-limited: ASPPB's single integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027 and becomes the only version from April 1, 2028, so confirm with the BSRB which version you will sit.
βPass a nationally standardized competency examination (EPPP) 500.β
A licensed master's level psychologist may practise psychology only under the direction of an eligible list of independent practitioners β the direction need not come from a psychologist, but it must come from a licensee whose credential allows diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.
For an associate choosing a supervisor, that list is the whole decision.
The statute also binds every licensee under the master's level psychologists act, LMLP and LCP alike, to a medical-consultation duty: when a client shows symptoms of a mental disorder, the licensee consults the client's primary care physician or psychiatrist about whether a medical condition or medication may be causing or contributing to the symptoms, unless the client waives it in writing, and may keep evaluating and treating until the consultation is obtained or waived.
βshall have the right to practice psychology so long as such practice is under the direction of a licensed clinical psychotherapist, a licensed psychologist, a person licensed to practice medicine and surgery or a person licensed to provide mental health services as an independent practitioner and whose licensure allows for the diagnosis and treatment of mental disordersβ
The Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist is Kansas's independent master's licence.
The applicant must already be an LMLP or meet every LMLP requirement, add 15 credit hours of coursework supporting diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with the American Psychiatric Association's diagnostic and statistical manual, and complete a graduate-level supervised clinical practicum with not less than 350 hours of direct client contact, or additional postgraduate supervised experience as determined by the board.
The experience core is not less than two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience under a board-approved clinical supervision plan: 3,000 hours including 1,500 of direct client contact, at least 100 hours of face-to-face clinical supervision, 50 of them individual.
The exam is the psychologist-level EPPP score.
Once licensed, the LCP practises independently and diagnoses and treats mental disorders, and the medical-consultation duty restated in (c)(3) reaches the LCP too β while the statute still bars both master's tiers from the titles licensed psychologist or psychologist.
For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.
βmay engage in the independent practice of master's level psychology and is authorized to diagnose and treat mental disorders specified in the edition of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric association designated by the board by rules and regulationsβ
Kansas is a PSYPACT member in effect: the commission's map, read in September 2026, records Kansas SB 170 as enacted May 17, 2021 and effective January 1, 2022.
The BSRB's psychologists page carries a PSYPACT section, though the compact statute itself was not among the sources read, so the status here rests on the commission map.
PSYPACT is doctoral-only, so a Kansas LMLP or LCP cannot use it β it matters to licensed psychologists practising telepsychology into, or temporarily in person in, a participating state.
For how PSYPACTβs telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.
An out-of-state psychologist takes the board's LP Reciprocity route: either the state that licensed you has substantially equivalent requirements to Kansas's, or you are licensed and in good standing with an absence of disciplinary actions of a serious nature, at least the last 12 months of continuous licensure as a psychologist at the doctoral level with a similar scope of practice, and a doctoral degree in psychology.
Master's-level psychologists have their own LMLP/LCP reciprocity application.
For short engagements, a psychologist already licensed at the independent level can take an out-of-state permit allowing 30 days of practice in the year the permit is active; the master's level has a matching LCP out-of-state temporary permit.
βThis is for psychologists currently licensed in another state and seeking to be licensed in Kansas.β
The board's renewal pages set the same continuing-education figure for every psychologist credential: 50 hours total, of which at least 3 must be in Ethics and at least 3 in Diagnosis and Treatment.
The cycle length β whether those 50 hours run per year or across a longer period β is not stated on the pages read, so check your renewal packet before scheduling CE.
Licensees may open an optional CE Broker account to upload documentation of their hours.
βLP - 50 hours total; at least 3 hours in Ethics and at least 3 hours in Diagnosis and Treatmentβ
The psychologists' licensing statute, K.S.A.
74-5310, was amended by L.
2023 ch. 90 Β§30, the master's licensure statute, K.S.A.
74-5363, by L.
2021 ch. 88 Β§30 and L.
2023 ch. 90 Β§35, and the act's definitions statute, K.S.A.
74-5361, by L.
2023 ch. 90 Β§34.
The sources read do not show which provisions those amendments changed, so this page restates the statutes as they now stand; consult the session laws or the board if a specific amendment's effect matters to your application.
This page summarizes the Kansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
Confirm every requirement with the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Kansas that asks for it.
Yes, as the requirement is written.
The statute asks for two years of supervised experience, and the BSRB's application page splits them: 1 year must be a predoctoral internship and 1 year of postdoctoral experience.
The page states the rule in years, not hours; the hour figures sit in the board's administrative regulations, which were not among the sources read.
Confirm with the BSRB how your internship and postdoctoral hours will be counted before you commit to a placement.
Only at the LCP tier.
The Licensed Master's Level Psychologist practises under the direction of a licensed clinical psychotherapist, a licensed psychologist, a physician, or an independently licensed mental-health practitioner whose licensure allows diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.
The Licensed Clinical Psychotherapist may engage in the independent practice of master's level psychology after 3,000 hours of postgraduate supervised experience including 1,500 hours of direct client contact.
Neither tier may use the title licensed psychologist or psychologist.
The board's application page sets a scaled score of 500 for the psychologist licence.
The LMLP exam passes at 400, and LCP applicants must reach the psychologist passing score of 500.
No requirement for EPPP Part 2 was found in the sources read, and no state jurisprudence or oral exam appeared on the pages read.
ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces the two-part exam for first-time takers from fall 2027, so check the board for the version you will sit.
If you hold the doctoral licensed psychologist credential, yes: the PSYPACT Commission map, read in September 2026, lists Kansas as a member in effect since January 1, 2022.
PSYPACT is doctoral-only, so an LMLP or LCP cannot practise under it.
A licensed psychologist uses ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization to practise telepsychology or work temporarily in person in a participating state.
50 hours total for each renewal, with at least 3 hours in Ethics and at least 3 hours in Diagnosis and Treatment.
The board prints the same figure for the LP, LMLP and LCP credentials.
The pages read do not state the renewal cycle length, so confirm with the BSRB whether your 50 hours run annually or across a longer period before your licence comes due.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB).