Michigan licenses psychologists under the Public Health Code through the Michigan Board of Psychology, part of LARA's Bureau of Professional Licensing.
The full Psychologist (LP) licence takes a doctoral degree from a designated or accredited program, not less than 1 year of postdoctoral experience, and the EPPP.
The master's-level Limited Licensed Psychologist practises under a fully licensed psychologist's supervision.
Michigan joined PSYPACT effective March 29, 2023, and its practice definition excludes prescribing.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Psychologist (LP) and the master's limited psychologist (LLP), plus the temporary limited licences of MCL 333.18223(3)-(4) β for master's applicants and for enrolled doctoral students, which the guides call the Temporary Educational Limited License.
A doctoral degree in psychology or a doctoral degree in a closely related field, from a program with ASPPB's national register designation, APA or CPA accreditation, or a similar designation approved by the board (MCL 333.18223(1)(a)).
The board's Supervision Evaluation form certifies an internship that was an integrated part of the doctoral degree; an internship hour total is not stated in the sources read.
Yes.
The statute requires not less than 1 year of postdoctoral experience, and the board's form sets a minimum of 2,000 hours completed in a minimum of 1 year, during a period of no more than 2 consecutive years.
Nothing in the sources read lets internship or practicum hours stand in for it.
The EPPP; the passing score is not stated in the sources read.
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found, and no state jurisprudence or oral exam was found in the texts read.
Yes: the Limited Licensed Psychologist, on a master's degree in psychology, a 500-hour practicum, 2,000 hours of post-master's experience over at least 1 year, and the EPPP β practising under the supervision of a fully licensed psychologist.
Member, in effect: Michigan H 5489, enacted December 22, 2022, effective March 29, 2023, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.
Doctoral-level only, so it does not extend to an LLP.
None.
MCL 333.18201(1)(b) says the practice of psychology does not include the practice of medicine such as prescribing drugs.
Every 2 years, on not less than 30 hours of continuing education β at least 3 in ethics and 2 in pain and symptom management β plus 1 hour of implicit-bias training for each year of the licence cycle.
A temporary license granted to a master's-track applicant for the purpose of obtaining the 1 year of supervised postgraduate experience the limited license requires; since March 31, 2018 it is valid for 24 months and may be renewed for 1 additional 24-month term (MCL 333.18223(3)).
The temporary license of MCL 333.18223(4) for an individual enrolled in a qualifying doctoral degree program; since March 31, 2018 it is valid for 24 months and may be renewed for 3 additional 24-month terms.
The board's guides call it the Temporary Educational Limited License (or Educational Limited License) and publish a "Doctoral Temporary Educational Limited" guide for it.
The master's-level limited license: it allows the holder to engage in the practice of psychology while under the supervision of a fully licensed psychologist, on a master's degree in psychology, a 500-hour practicum, 2,000 hours of post-master's experience in at least 1 year, and the EPPP.
The full license to engage in the practice of psychology, on a doctoral degree from a designated or accredited program, not less than 1 year of postdoctoral experience, and the EPPP (MCL 333.18223(1)).
The Public Health Code sets the full Psychologist (LP) licence and, separately, a limited licence for master's-level practitioners (MCL 333.18223(2)), plus temporary licences for the two training routes (MCL 333.18223(3)-(4)).
A master's-track temporary licence exists to earn the 1 year of supervised postgraduate experience the limited licence requires, and it runs 24 months with one additional 24-month renewal; a doctoral student's temporary licence carries three additional 24-month renewals.
The doctoral temporary licence of subsection (4) is what the guides call the Temporary Educational Limited License β the psychologist guide shortens it to the Educational Limited License β and the board publishes a "Doctoral Temporary Educational Limited" guide for it.
Each temporary licence is a step toward a licence, not a licence in itself: the LLP is the master's rung, and the LP is the independent one.
For how masterβs-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the masterβs-level psychology practitioner.
βThe master's limited psychologist license allows a licensee to engage in the practice of psychology, while under the supervision of a fully licensed psychologist.β
The statute accepts a doctoral degree in psychology or in a closely related field, so long as the program carries ASPPB's national register designation, APA or CPA accreditation, or a similar designation from an entity the board approves β and includes education and training appropriate to the practice of psychology.
A grace clause covered programs that were in the process of obtaining the designation or becoming accredited before August 1, 2011 and obtained it on or before August 31, 2020.
The master's route has its own degree line: a master's degree in psychology from a regionally accredited college, university, or institution approved by the board, with education, training and experience appropriate to the practice of psychology.
The LARA guides add application mechanics β transcripts sent directly from the school and a Certification of Education Form.
For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
βHas obtained the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards' national register designation, has been accredited by the American Psychological Association or the Canadian Psychological Association, or has obtained a similar designation from or been accredited by an entity approved by the board.β
Michigan's statute requires the postdoctoral experience in terms: not less than 1 year, in the practice of psychology, in an organized health care setting or other arrangement the board establishes.
The board's Supervision Evaluation form, which documents the hours, puts numbers on it β a minimum of 2,000 hours, completed in a minimum of 1 year, during a period of no more than 2 consecutive years.
For the internship half of doctoral training the form asks only that the applicant completed an internship that was an integrated part of the doctoral degree, and it states no hour total.
Nothing in the statute, the guides or the form as read lets graduates of accredited programs count internship or practicum hours toward the postdoctoral year, so a Michigan applicant should plan on the post-degree hours and confirm the count with the board before relying on any earlier experience.
For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.
βHave not less than 1 year of postdoctoral experience in the practice of psychology in an organized health care setting or other arrangement, as established by the board.β
Both the psychologist and master's limited psychologist guides require the EPPP; the passing score is not stated in the texts read, and the administrative rules that would carry it were not retrieved.
No EPPP Part 2 requirement appears in the sources read β a statement that has a shelf life, because ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces the two-part exam for first-time takers from fall 2027 and becomes the only version from April 1, 2028.
No Michigan jurisprudence or oral exam was found in the texts read either.
Licensure adds two training requirements: one-time training in identifying victims of human trafficking meeting the standards of Administrative Rule 338.2525, and 2 hours of implicit-bias training within the 5 years immediately preceding issuance.
βYou are required to pass the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).β
For the 1 year of supervised postgraduate experience that qualifies a master's-track applicant, the statute requires supervision by a psychologist with a license other than a limited license β or, if none is available, by a psychologist with at least a master's degree in psychology and at least 3 years of experience in the practice of psychology, or by any other individual the board approves.
The limitation the board places on the licence itself is narrower: supervision by a psychologist who has a license other than a limited license, with no fallback stated.
The Supervision Evaluation form sets the contact each stage requires: practicum experience supervised at least 2 hours per week, and post-degree experience met individually, in person or by two-way real-time audiovisual technology, each week for a minimum of 4 hours a month.
A practising LLP who cannot find such a supervisor asks the board for a variance, with a written request filed at least 30 days before the board meeting.
βIf Post Degree Experience: I have met with the applicant individually and in-person or via 2-way real-time audiovisual technology each week, for a minimum of 4 hours a month.β
The board must place two limitations on a master's limited licence: supervision by a psychologist holding more than a limited licence, and a bar on advertising or representation that would lead the public to believe the holder is engaging in the practice of psychology.
The limitations fall away for duties performed as an employee of a governmental entity or of a nonprofit serving benevolent and charitable purposes.
Nothing in the sources read creates a route from the LLP to independent master's practice β the step up is the full LP, with the doctorate, the postdoctoral year and the EPPP.
The practice definition itself excludes medicine: psychologists in Michigan do not prescribe.
For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.
βThe limitations must require supervision by a psychologist who has a license other than a limited license and must prohibit advertising or other representation to the public that will lead the public to believe the individual is engaging in the practice of psychology.β
The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Michigan as a member in effect β H 5489, enacted December 22, 2022, effective March 29, 2023.
The board's own page links a PSYPACT information PDF that was not read, so the status here rests on the Commission map.
PSYPACT authorizations are built on a full, unrestricted licence based on a doctoral degree, so a Michigan LLP cannot practise under the compact; an LP can use it for telepsychology or temporary in-person practice in another participating state through ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the PSYPACT authorization, following the scope of the state where each client sits.
For how PSYPACTβs telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.
The endorsement file asks for verification of licensure sent directly to the Bureau by the licensing agency of every state or country in which the applicant holds or ever held a licence, showing no pending proceedings or sanctions in force, and for EPPP scores transferred electronically through PSY|PRO.
Foreign-educated applicants who graduated from a non-accredited institution need a credential evaluation from a NACES member agency.
Supervision completed in another country can count, provided the supervisor is a licensed psychologist who can verify the requirements on the Psychology Supervision Evaluation.
And for post-degree experience the guide is explicit that the supervisor does not need to hold a licence in the state where the experience took place β useful for an applicant whose supervised year happened outside Michigan.
βYes, for post degree experience, the supervisor does not need to hold a license in the state where the experience takes place.β
Both the LP and the LLP renew on a 2-year cycle, attesting to the same continuing-education block: at least 30 board-approved hours, a minimum of 3 in ethics and 2 in pain and symptom management.
On top of that, each renewal cycle carries 1 hour of implicit-bias training per year of the licence cycle, and the one-time human-trafficking training must be certified at renewal.
Licensees keep their own CE records for at least 4 years β the board runs a random audit after each renewal period β and CE Broker tracking is available but optional.
A licence lapsed for less than 3 years can be relicensed on proof of 30 hours of continuing education completed within 2 years of the date of application, including 3 in ethics and 2 in pain and/or symptom management; a lapse beyond 3 years, without a licence in another state or Canadian province, means sitting the EPPP again.
βLicensees are required to earn not less than 30 hours of continuing education in the 2-year period immediately preceding the application for renewal. At least 2 of these hours must be in pain and symptom management, and at least 3 of these hours must be in ethics.β
MCL 333.18201, the part's definitions section, was amended by 2022 PA 254 effective March 29, 2023 β the same date PSYPACT went effective in Michigan β though the sources read do not isolate what the amendment changed.
The board's psychologist and master's limited psychologist licensing guides were revised on January 26, 2026, and are the operative statements of the application, endorsement and renewal requirements on this page.
The 24-month term limits on the temporary licences date from 2018 and predate this window, but they still govern anyone entering a training route now.
This page summarizes the Michigan statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Michigan Board of Psychology (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
Confirm every requirement with the Michigan Board of Psychology (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Michigan that asks for it.
From the 21 active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesnβt mention one may still offer it.
Browse 21 jobs βYes.
MCL 333.18223(1)(b) requires not less than 1 year of postdoctoral experience in the practice of psychology in an organized health care setting or other arrangement established by the board.
The board's Supervision Evaluation form quantifies it: a minimum of 2,000 hours, completed in a minimum of 1 year, during no more than 2 consecutive years.
Nothing in the sources read lets internship or practicum hours count toward it, so confirm your hour plan with the board before you rely on pre-degree experience.
No route for that appears in the sources read.
The Limited Licensed Psychologist practises under a fully licensed psychologist, because the statute requires the board to impose supervision and public-representation limitations on the licence β limits that fall away only for government or benevolent-nonprofit employees.
To practise independently as a psychologist, an LLP steps up to the full LP: a doctoral degree, the 1-year postdoctoral requirement and the EPPP.
The EPPP, for both the psychologist and the master's limited psychologist licence; the passing score is not stated in the sources read.
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found β and note ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces the two-part exam for first-time takers from fall 2027 β and no state jurisprudence or oral exam was found.
Applicants also complete one-time human-trafficking training and 2 hours of implicit-bias training within the 5 years before issuance.
A fully licensed psychologist can: the PSYPACT Commission map, read in September 2026, lists Michigan as effective since March 29, 2023.
The compact is doctoral-only, so a master's-level LLP cannot practise under it.
A Michigan LP needs ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization (APIT for telepsychology, TAP for temporary in-person work, capped at 30 days per year), and must follow the scope of the state where each client is located.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Michigan Board of Psychology (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing).